Hostelworld.com

Hostal El Refugio

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Feb 2017
6.0

Keep in mind that the cheapest room in actually a tent!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.3

Great location near to local bus station and a couple of the major bus terminals. Reception staff were friendly and let us use facilities and store bag when we arrived at 8am. Generally (after a mix up with bus times) the staff were super helpful and happy to answer our questions and ring up hostels for our next location. The atmosphere at the hostel was really good. We had a private room as that was all they had available, so security wasn't an issue. I'd stay here again if returning to Pucon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
6.9

Decent hostel there were a few negative points. If your sleep in the domes outback there is a hostel next door that parties all the time till late and you won't sleep before 3 am. The staff are nice enough but generally don't care about creating a fun happy atmosphere and won't talk to you unless you talk to them. The cleaning lady is kinda of a grouch and on a few occasions she cleaned the room and put other peoples stuff else where making them think they lost those things.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
7.7

Stayed for 1 night in 3 bed tent. Good lockers in the tent but obviously you can't lock it and it's not the easiest to clean! Communal areas were good though and staff did their best to keep things clean and tidy. Location is right next to the buses and very central. Supermarkets close by and there are 2 good hostel kitchens for cooking. We had a late bus the next day & were able to check out, store bags & use the hostel facilities for the day until we had to get our bus

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.9

Nice hostel, homely feel. They offer activities such as treks up the volcano for lower prices than other agents in Pucon. Excellent location right next to the bus stop and the beds were comfy. The place could be a bit dirty but it didn't really detract from our stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
28th Jan 2017
6.0

Our private double room was small, but very comfortable. However the kitchens were both very small and incredibly dirty. The people staying there didn't seem to respect common spaces so frequently left a mess or dirty dishes behind them. Kitchen wasn't wiped down properly and there was a cat that would climb on work surfaces. Dirty dish towels and never any room in the fridge which smelled anyway. Stayed 3 days and moved to another hostel in the end because we didn't like to cook there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
10.0

The staff is very helpful and nice, from the minute you walk in you already are welcomed and shown all that there is to do in the area. They facilitate all activities and have some awesome recommendations. Loved our stay and felt at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.7

Refugio hostel is a great place to stay! It's right near the Main Street and it's easy to walk anywhere in the town of Pucon itself. It's also located next to the buses that take you out to see the sights in the surrounding areas. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help you! Just one thing, the hostel does not provide breakfast so make sure you factor that in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.9

Great location and a really cool vibe. The in,y issue we had was finding enough utensils etc in the kitchen when making dinner, however it was busy & im pretty sure they were full. But a great stay & would definitely recommend in Pucon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2017
10.0

We spent a few amazing days at el Refugio- the staff was very sweet, welcoming and super helpful. The atmosphere in the hostel was warm and relaxed. And the beds in a cozy tent under a beautiful plum tree were cozy and comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful stay :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.