Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal El Refugio

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
Hostal El Refugio Located at Palguin 540, , Pucon.
Hostal El Refugio
Chile
Pucon 9 th. region Palguin 540 Palguin 540
90% 662
-39.2773476 -71.9729590
Hostal El Refugio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th May 2016
8.9

Loved this place. Very chilled and cosy house right next to the bus station and few minutes walk to town. Internet was great and the kitchen was easy to cook in. Would stay here again if/when I return to Pucon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emmawatts
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th May 2016
8.9

Hostel el refugio is a lovely place to stay (we stayed in the tent which was cool and not too cold!). Staff were super helpful, two kitchens which is good, very close to town (everything is close in pucón though!). Couldn't really fault the place:) and very cute cat and dog to entertain travellers 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
8.0

Very friendly staff offering lots of information and good advice. Great location. Cons were showers not powerful and bathrooms dated. Small hostel so noise carries and very small kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.3

The living room is very cosy, with a stove, a cat and a dog included. Hostel staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful! Could really feel at home here. They also offer tours. Though some disadvantages as well: very small dorms, the bed sheets and pillows were clean but old and used (should be renewed), the bathroom could use a make-over as well. They offer lockers during and after your stay. Location was great, next to the bus station and almost at the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.7

I planned to stay a few days, but ended up staying a whole week and was sad to leave! The hosts were awesome and had lots of info about activities around Pucon. The overall vibe was social and friendly, a great place to stay as a solo traveler. The domes out back are a great deal, as long as it's not too cold!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.4

I booked a private room with shared bath. This hostel was excellent. A smaller hostel but designed well to meet other travelers and hang out. The furnace in the living room adds a cozy touch. Charly and Loren were great staff and very helpful for all of my needs. For me it was either chili kiwi or el Refugio and I was happy with my choice once I was able to compare the two in person. If you're going for bigger and louder go to chili kiwi; if looking for more chill than book Refugio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

THE BEST HOSTEL. A home away from home. The friendliest staff you could ask for. Gatotix and Negra make the best pseudo pets. All the information you could need on what to do in Pucon explained by the lovely staff. A cosy fire to come back to with sofas and a hammock in the communal area. It's the perfect sized hostel. Small enough that people tend to make the effort to get to know each other, still with great facilities. Our favourite hostel yet. Thanks Laurena and Charles. You guys are great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.9

Really great cosy friendly atmosphere that made it easy to make friends to explore the town with. Super central, comfy beds, good lockers, but no breakky and only a tiny kitchen which filled up fast every night. Really friendly staff in the evenings. Would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.