Hostelworld.com

Hostal El Refugio

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 652 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 652 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
Hostal El Refugio Located at Palguin 540, , Pucon.
Hostal El Refugio
Chile
Pucon 9 th. region Palguin 540 Palguin 540
89% 652
-39.2773476 -71.9729590
Hostal El Refugio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.7

I planned to stay a few days, but ended up staying a whole week and was sad to leave! The hosts were awesome and had lots of info about activities around Pucon. The overall vibe was social and friendly, a great place to stay as a solo traveler. The domes out back are a great deal, as long as it's not too cold!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.4

I booked a private room with shared bath. This hostel was excellent. A smaller hostel but designed well to meet other travelers and hang out. The furnace in the living room adds a cozy touch. Charly and Loren were great staff and very helpful for all of my needs. For me it was either chili kiwi or el Refugio and I was happy with my choice once I was able to compare the two in person. If you're going for bigger and louder go to chili kiwi; if looking for more chill than book Refugio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

THE BEST HOSTEL. A home away from home. The friendliest staff you could ask for. Gatotix and Negra make the best pseudo pets. All the information you could need on what to do in Pucon explained by the lovely staff. A cosy fire to come back to with sofas and a hammock in the communal area. It's the perfect sized hostel. Small enough that people tend to make the effort to get to know each other, still with great facilities. Our favourite hostel yet. Thanks Laurena and Charles. You guys are great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.9

Really great cosy friendly atmosphere that made it easy to make friends to explore the town with. Super central, comfy beds, good lockers, but no breakky and only a tiny kitchen which filled up fast every night. Really friendly staff in the evenings. Would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Mar 2016
9.7

We loved this hostel! We stayed in the dome tent in the garden but it was super clean, cosy and had plenty of space with lockers too! The staff were absolutely amazing really welcoming, went through everything they offered really thoroughly and generally nice to chat to! Great location right next to bus stations, best activities we've done our whole trip. Everyone was really nice at the hostel respecting that people had to get up early but also really chatty. Nice cosy living area! OUR FAV! Xxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.7

Loved my stay at Hostal El Refugio! It's quite a small place (only 5 rooms) which makes it feel really homey and welcoming. The staff are super knowledgeable and I totally recommend the Volcano tour (very safe and the cheapest in town!) and following the treasure map to the end of the waterfall. One of the nicest places I've stayed in across South America!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
6.9

Staff and location are great. Wifi is horrible (go to a cafe instead). Fridge and kitchen are way too small. Be careful booking the Volcano through their tour operator. They failed to go on both days even though other operators were successful. I never made it to the Volcano which was a major disappointment. :((

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
8.6

Great hostel with really helpful staff. When we checked in we were informed of all the activites etc available and could make all our bookings. The dorms and common areas are all spacious enough with the usual facilities etc. Kitchen is maybe a bit small but there is a second outdoor cooking area out the back. It could probably use an extra bathroom or two (or separate showers / toilets). Would certainly stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever been to. Not only was the atmosphere super cozy and comfortable (complete with a dog, kitty, hammock, indoor hanging chair and wooden fire stove), but the staff, which included WorkAway volunteers, were incredibly helpful. I booked my Volcano Villarrica trip and kayaking through the hostel for great prices. Spacious dorms and hot showers. Stay here!! If El Refugio is booked, try their sister hostel Chili Kiwi--right on the lake and same kind of amazing environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2016
8.6

We enjoyed this hostel - it's a little crowded though, not too much space for cooking but everyone was friendly and a good place to meet people!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.