Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal El Refugio

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 754 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 754 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.7

My stay at the Hostel was really nice, i felt like home. The staff was very helpfull! It's a nice place to hang out and meet other people. The bathrooms are clean and the rooms are nice. I would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Mar 2017
8.6

Really good hostel if you are after cheap. Good location and helpful staff. Ended up staying another night as i enjoyed the first couple. Wifi was slow though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.6

Great hostel. Very cute and cosy, loved the living room with its woodburner and hammock chair! Bunk room was lovely - didn't feel too crowded and beds were so comfortable. One of the best sleeps i have had in south america Bathrooms were clean and showers good. The only downsides were breakfast not being included as at most hostels. Also the kitchen could have been better stocked. Volunteer staff were friendly though and I'd stay here again if I went back to Pucon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Feb 2017
10.0

I really loved staying here! I booked for 2 nights but extended to 4. I stayed in the dome tent which has nice beds inside and good value for money, yes it can be cold at night but there are plenty of extra blankets in the room to use so that's perfect :-) Really nice small hostel where you can meet lots of other travellers. The staff are really nice and friendly and happy to help when needed. Will definitely recommend to anyone going to Pucon. Thank you :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

Super friendly owner and staff. Quite and relaxing stay, but also a nice patio to hang out in and have a beer or what you like with other guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.7

Awesome place with a real cosy feel, great friendly and helpful staff! All facilities are good and it's in the centre of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Feb 2017
7.4

Stayed one night in the double with shared bathroom. Really friendly guy greeted us and showed us around. Our room was nice, pretty comfortable although being next to the main common room it was quite noisy. Kitchen didn't seem that clean and not loads of room to eat dinner so ended up eating out. Shared bathroom was pretty dated and not that clean but the shower was hot and powerful. Great location - opposite the main bus terminals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
6.0

Keep in mind that the cheapest room in actually a tent!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.3

Great location near to local bus station and a couple of the major bus terminals. Reception staff were friendly and let us use facilities and store bag when we arrived at 8am. Generally (after a mix up with bus times) the staff were super helpful and happy to answer our questions and ring up hostels for our next location. The atmosphere at the hostel was really good. We had a private room as that was all they had available, so security wasn't an issue. I'd stay here again if returning to Pucon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
6.9

Decent hostel there were a few negative points. If your sleep in the domes outback there is a hostel next door that parties all the time till late and you won't sleep before 3 am. The staff are nice enough but generally don't care about creating a fun happy atmosphere and won't talk to you unless you talk to them. The cleaning lady is kinda of a grouch and on a few occasions she cleaned the room and put other peoples stuff else where making them think they lost those things.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Be respectful. The cleaning lady is a wonderful person.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.