X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal El Refugio Reviews

Palguin 540, Pucon, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
599 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great place to stay!

  • 7th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

A nice cosy building in a good location with friendly staff. Very wide beds! But the sheets where so old they had gotten so thin and worn they really needed to change.. The kitchen sink in the morning was full of water, food and dishes right up to the edge so not really easy to cook breakfast in the morning. Toilets and showers weren't very nice either, but at least real rooms and not cubicals. Rated the security bad since lots of the lockers in our dorm were missing doors or hinges for padlocks


89%

great hostel. smaller than its brother ChiliKiwi but cozier and more intimite. tons of Info and great staff. Take in mind the domes (tents) can get very hot during a summer day, but night time is alright.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wr stayed in the dome outside and it was wicked! The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. My boyfriend injured his foot coming down the volcano and the staff were sooooooooo kind in looking after him. Awesome place


80%

Excellant , very helpful staff. Good location, good value. But do not come expecting to sleep at night. People were up until after 2 am laughing and partying. Staff locks themselves in their space after 11pm so they not disturbed.


100%

Greatest hostel in Chile. Always clean and respect all his guests


94%

I loved staying at El Refugio! The staff were super helpful and the atmosphere was great! It was also a great location since it was so close to many of the buses. I would definitely recommend this hostel to friends traveling to Pucón.


89%

I'll keep this short and just list the things I'm most interested in when booking a hostel. 1. The outside hot water worked the whole time, (although the shower head was broken) 2. Lots of lockers, and lockers to store your gear if you go on a trek. 3. We slept terribly every night! Not the fault of the hostel, the bar next door did loud and I mean Loud karaoke/music each night starting around midnight until around 3-7AM. We were in the outside area, perhaps the inside area would be quieter.


91%

Great place to stay at Pucón, is very well located! The service is always friendly and helpful!

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I had a great stay at this hostel! Positive: The staff was super friendly. They helped me out by suggesting the best tours/hikes in the area! Negative: The possibility to store any private food from the supermarked was limited! Would stay again!


80%

Overall, a solid hostel. Good location near the bus terminals (although it's hard to have a bad location in such a small town). Needed a key to enter. Staff was all very friendly and helpful, as were other travelers. Make sure to bring your own lock or two for storage lockers, dorms, private rooms. Rooms and bathrooms needed a deep cleaning.


94%

They were really friendly.


100%

One of the best hostels I ever been. I meet wonderful people as well. The girl at the front desk Wieleke from Holland is the most kind person ever, lovely girl. It is very very nice.... they have a dog and a cat they make the place much better...


89%

Amazing staff and guests as well. The atmosphere was really good and the hostel location too. The recommendations were really helpful all the time. We really enjoyed staying there. Improvement suggestions: overall cleanliness, kitchen stuff and WiFi connection.


89%

Really cosy hostel, staff were extremely helpful and friendly and having two kitchens really was handy. You can book all the great activities right from the hostel, and they were cheaper than from agencies. Highly recommend staying here! Muy bien!


43%

The communication skills of the staff are very poor, and it is not only that their English is bad. For example, we did a reservation in the morning to visit the volcano they day afterwards which they confirmed to be ok. However, later they day, when I did a double check to see everything was ok, the woman from the hostel said they she couldnt do the reservation because there was a double booking. In my opinion she should have told it me earlier so we could have time to find another place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear travellers! We are proud that we can communicate with our guests on both, english and spanish. We could speak spanish if you didnt understand our english. We are also sorry that you couldnt go with us to Villarica volcano, but we gave you pretty good discount to make up for it, We are even more sorry that you dont appreciate it. Our communication is pretty decent, as you can read in other rewievs. However, we will try harder to work on communication with less communicative guests. Saludo:)

80%

Sometimes it´s the places what makes it special, sometimes it´s the people. Rarely I sticked so much to a place like to this one. The 2 guys, Denis & Tin, made my stay unforgettable. They were so much fun, great energy and they did a brilliant job! Thank you! xxx


91%

Great hostel! Very friendly and nice staff and very helpful. Hostel was very cute and homey. They had a dog and cat which I loved! I stayed in the three person tent in the back and it was very cool, not cold at all and fairly comfortable. I very much enjoyed my stay here and would stay again!


94%

Located right in front of the bus terminal, it's a good hostel, small and cozy, has two kitchens, nice staff, good atmosphere, a hammock, cool patio to chill with tables... breakfast not included but coffee and tea are available all day. Very good value for money, specially in Pucon. Would definitely stay there again.


94%

Spent four nights here with a friend, great cosy atmosphere and the staff where very friendly. The hostel was cleaned like clock work every morning. From the information at the hostel we climbed villarrica and cycled to the different lakes. Great place to stay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Pucon Hostels

Please give us your feedback