X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Forestal Reviews

Coronel Santiago Bueras 122, Barrio Lastarria, Santiago, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1092 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Hostal forestal is an excellent place to stay, all the people are very helpfull. You can meet people from all over the world wich make your travel more exiting.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Free beer on a Thursday, lovely staff and great location!


63%

The room we got was dirty and old, it was very different from the picture we can see on the website. The website said that the hostal was newly renovated, our room (number 4) was not for sure !

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel has very comfortable beds and nice common areas with sofas and also a little inner courtyard. The breakfast was very good, typical chilean with bread, avocado, jam and cake. The bathrooms were a little dirty and while I was showering there was warm water for about 2 minutes and then cold water. The staff in the hostel is super friendly and helped me with all the questions I had.


49%

- had Bedbugs found at night, so we had to change Bed/Room - second Bed was not clean enough anyway, a lot of hair in it - prices were ok, but the Beds have to be clean to have fun

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Hostel is well located with good staff and good kitchen facilities. Only problem is a bit of a mess in assigning beds. Every night there was a different person in our dorm who found he's bed had been double booked and had to go to the staff in the middle of the night to resolve the situation. Other then that the hostel itself is very nice and worth a visit.


74%

It was not a room, it was a closet where it was difficult to put his affairs. It was difficult to access the electrical outlet The table lamp had not bulb This room is useful for troubleshooting a night, not to stay several days The bathroom was not very clean A lot of noice the night

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Gilbert: I'm sorry about this situation. We are working on improving the hostel's conditions. And I know that this room in which you're staying is a small room. In fact we assign this room only for passengers who are staying just for a few days. We sincerely appreciate your comment about your experience in Hostal Forestal. Greetings.

77%

Helpful English speaking reception staff. Nice place to stay after a long flight.


89%

Atmosphere top !

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • French Polynesia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Location and staff were awesome. Breakfast was just ok. No hot water in sink and hot water in shower was intermittent.


83%

Great place to meet up to begin our travels. Showers imtermitent hot/cold. Good breakfast, clean rooms with lockers and good atmoshpere. Stayed 3 nights, great base to explore from.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Some of the bathrooms could be nicer and wifi is spotty. The staff was really friendly & helpful.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel was a great stay and really nice people and a convenient location and a really fun night socializing and playing pool one evening and overall really good

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location and friendly staff. The common areas were nice, good breakfast, free coffee... overall good value for what you pay. The negative point was that we had to pay more when we arrive than expected, I think due to taxes or something when paying in CLP, so be aware of that.


91%

water from the shower is hot or cold not have warm

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The people were really, really nice and the location cannot be beat. Considering I paid $15.00 at night for a person room, I can not be too picky. The only thing I would suggest is that their comforters be washed more as mine was suspect. Also, the shower water temperature is near impossible to get into a comfortable state. However, I would go back again. The people and the atmosphere is worth it!

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Santiago Hostels

Please give us your feedback