Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Hogar Cuencano

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 157 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 157 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Hostal Hogar Cuencano Located at Hermano Miguel 4 36 and Calle Larga, , Cuenca.
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Ecuador
Cuenca Azuay 593 Hermano Miguel 4 36 and Calle Larga
82% 157
-2.9029672 -79.0018272
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2016
2.6

Three words, AVOID THIS PLACE! All I can say is the woman owner of this place is a scam artist. If you use the kitchen at all, she will tell you that you need to pay $2. She will then lie and say all hostels will be getting rid of their kitchens so we have to pay. In the morning, she yelled at me that the kitchen was messy, but it wasn't my mess! There were 2 other people that cooked in there. She was the rudest hostess I've ever met. I couldn't get out of there fast enough! And filthy bathrooms

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Such a lovely family that are very helpful and kind. Would recommend this place to anyone. The breakfast next door is cheap and there are tons of food options close to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
7.1

Good location, friendly staff, clean but small (cramped) rooms. Cheaper to book directly with hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2016
8.6

Clean, safe hostel located in downtown Cuenca close to restaurants, cathedrals etc. Main issue was the noise at night, all rooms open into the internal staircase and the walls seemed very thin. There is a cafe next door with cheap $2 breakfast and good kitchen to prepare own food. Airport and bus terminal were less than $2 taxi ride away. I would recommend the hostel as a cheap, safe, clean place to stay for a couple of nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

We had a very nice stay at Hostel Hogar, the stuff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had a decent shower, hostel guests can also use a their kitchen. The hostel is located close to the city centre, just few blocks away from the main square.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.6

It's an ok hostel. The room we got was dark, no external window. This made it have this damp smell. After we used the shower the first time there was a puddle in there until we left. Also you can here everything when people talks in the hallway The staff was ok, mainly the guy but the lady "asked" us to leave 1 hour before the actual check-out because she had to clean. And they charged us 12% extra tax but never gave us any bill. The location was the best part of it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Feb 2016
9.1

Really pretty, clean hostel with nice private rooms and a great rooftop terrace. Very central in the old area, near the markets and main squares and sites. Would highly recommend. Only negatives were that we were not allowed to use the kitchen after 10 pm, even to make a quiet pot of tea, and when we checked out, the receptionist tried to charge extra tax that was already included in the original price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2016
9.1

We had great time at Hostal Hogar. We loved the staff. They were very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked. The water was not very hot in one I our rooms but we moved to a room where the water was very hot. The rooftop terrace was a really nice place to relax and have a beer. I would recommend it to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2016
10.0

We've stayed here twice now. The location is excellent . The owners are so helpful and kind and their staff is very efficient. The shared kitchen is always a place to meet fellow guests. It's no frills.....just a good safe clean place to hang your hat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.