X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Hogar Cuencano Reviews

Hermano Miguel 4 36 and Calle Larga, Cuenca, Ecuador

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
133 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Found it a ittle expensive but all else was great.


91%

everything we could want as tourists (variety of restaurants, tour buses, grocery store, etc) was within easy walking distance.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendliest most helpful hotel people we have ever encountered

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff is very good. The room did not have street noise as it was very much on the interior of the building, At the same time the sounds from other rooms were fairly audible.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location (right in the center of historic Cuenca). A pleasant family run hostel with basic, simple, rooms but more than adequate. Reliable and plentiful hot water. Breakfast not included (many local options for about $3). Good WiFi. Very quiet (but if there are noises you her them; have a quiet after 10 policy). Owners and children speak English. (Not provided but the family also owns a finca with the best tasting coffee I've ever had; better than Panama's $100/ib Geisha coffee.)


100%

Our stay was amazing. The staff are very kind and the location is perfect. Bathroom and bedroom perfectly clean. Thanks a lot¡!


63%

This was a basic hostel, good location though on weekends the noise was a little excessive. Did have a small issue with a leaking room but was sorted the next day after being reported. Staff where very helpful and friendly, but there aren't really any common areas here


89%

Location, staff was very good. It was nice that staff speaks English. I like hostasl with a window that I can see outside. This hostal you never know if's sunny or cloudy no windows to outside. Overall good.


89%

Clean, safe and centrally-located hostel. Very much recommended for couples staying for a long term.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Nicaragua
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel, very friendly owners, would recommend it to others. One annoyance - the shared bathroom was flooded with water for a while and the toilet was not put together - the toilet rings was on the floor besides it.


83%

"No frills" place to stay but it is cozy, friendly, safe, accommodating and in a great location. Stayed for 10 days with consistently good service, from reliability of daily cleaning to availability of staff. For the price it is better than expected!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks Mr.i hope we can serve you again in a near future

100%

We had a private room for 4 nights. We liked the room with its huge and comfortable bed a lot. Bathroom and shower (hot!) is good as well. You can also use the kitchen and in-house loundry service. Owner and staff are very friendly and helped a lot with DIY daytrips (eg. to Cajas). For breakfast we went to Café Nocallacta in Calle Larga (highly recommended, esp. the coffee!) The location of the hostel can't be better!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for been with us it was a pleasure to serve you

80%

Nice, clean, quiet hostel. A few minutes to city center, big supermarket. On weekends quite loud due to parties around the hostel. No lockers but seemed no problem, no common room and unfortunately kitchen has only little equipment. Staff helps with everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks it was nice to have you with us thanks again

91%

Spent two nights here and would recommend it! Great location, quiet but near many restaurants, bars, the river, etc. Kind and helpful staff that lent us umbrellas during a downpour. Nice comfortable beds and a small rooftop terrace!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks it was a pleasure to serve you and we hope we can serve you again in a near future thanks again

94%

If you are looking for a nice hostel in a brilliant location in the Old Town, but don't mind that there are no communal areas, this is ideal for you! The owners are very friendly and helpful and speak very good English which helped us! We had a private room with en suite - perfect for travelling couples.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Stayed 3 nights on the second floor. Twin room with private bathroom. Very quiet, comfortable beds. No noise from other guests. Plenty of hot water, good WiFi. Internal courtyard covered above but open at the sides so no trapped smells etc. Good cheap breakfast at the hostals cafe next door. Secondhand bookshop beside offering 2 to 1 on returns. 5 mins walk from the main square. Owner friendly and spoke good english. .

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Cuenca Hostels

Please give us your feedback