X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Jacaranda & Home Reviews

Almirante Montt 327, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
41 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very clean hostel, rooms are nice, in the tourist area of Cerro Alegre. The common area was a bit small, and there was not much going on when I was there. All in all, a nice hostel.


100%

We had such a nice time staying with the guys of Jacaranda hostel. We stayed in the home part of the hostel and they made us feel so welcome, gave us useful tips of the city and recommendations of food places. The location is ideal on the Happy Hill the prettiest hill in Valparasio. We extended our stay because it was so nice.


86%

If you're looking for a clean, quiet place with good beds to stay: this is your place. If you're looking for a place with a more social atmosphere, you should look elsewhere. Hostel was really clean, kitchen had nearly everything (with the exception of a lighter). Staff was friendly, but it was not always clear if and where they were present. All major attractions are within a walking distance.


77%

I stayed in a dorm, which are in another building than the double rooms. It was new and clean, but I wouldn´t call it a hostel. The owner was nice and helpful, but after 12 it felt like I was on a high school trip. You cannot use the kitchen after 12 and are not allowed to talk to each other, not even whispering. When I was exchanging contact information with another guest the owner stood next to us to make sure I´d go to bed. If you want a peaceful quiet stay it´s your place to go.


100%

an excellent choice! great location, very spacious and very clean, has basic amenities and very comfortable beds and most importantly it is very economical

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A large house, very comfortable but basic facilities all, I REALLY LIKED THIS PLACE,the guys working at the hostel are very friendly and help you at all,does not include breakfast,but the kitchen has plenty of free food that you can use and save money,very comfortable bed,large security lockers,many tips information and maps,is an economical and clean hostel,is a big city and this hostel in a prime location!surrounded by the best of Valparaiso and also a sector very quiet, is a friendly hostel

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel has a great location, Gerardo and Charlotte are very friendly, bedrooms for 4 persons are too big! warm water all day! very clean, large kitchen with free food (rice, pasta, tomato sauce, oil, balsamic vinegar, tea, coffe sugar, butter, jam) has a small garden in which there are types of green tea, it is a very low budget hostel for everything that gives,The guys do a great introduction to the city and also give you a map with all excellent tips to enjoy this ,100% recommend Jacaranda

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location near the best shops and restaurants.


100%

Hostal Jacaranda is a excellent place to meet people, very quiet for sleeping, you have a kitchen with food to use and breakfast so you can prepare your when you want! that is a very big house with very large bedrooms, plus a beds very you comfortable! has 4 showers! comfortable is cheap and clean .... very well located, very simple ... but very good choice of design!

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

You have everything near the hostel,museums,galleries,restaurants,elevators,main boulevards & avenues of the city, is located in an excellent location,has a reasonably economic value,has a kitchen in which no food for you to use!Mi bedroom was very large with a big window!gave me a lot of information from the city and a large map(the best map I saw in america)very friendly all very sweet charlotte and joshcka many tips,the kids help you in everything! is highly respected goodsleep,peopleFRIENDLY

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I spend a few days in jacaranda amazing hostel! Now I travel with friends I made in jacaranda!'s a great house with a great energy! gerardo charlotte joshcka and help you in everything you need, has very comfortable beds and large security lockers, a large living room where you can play games or share a delicious meal with which prepare food in the house,there basil in the garden, so prepare pasta for new friends were amazing! me staying a week in this incredible city full of culture and music

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

arrive with my partner in this hostel, we were well, a long introduction to the city, an excellent map, which lost 2 times 2 times and gave me a map! Gerardo Charlotte and are very friendly! Gerardo has many tips for going out to bars, is 20 minutes from the beach, is in a very safe place, we play one bedroom with city views (all bedrooms you have windows overlooking the city) very comfortable beds, a large kitchen, spacious bathrooms and many showers!'s a simple, nicely decorated

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

nice house, well located, a very safe place in this great city! the staff is very friendly! have a lot of information from the city, exelentes maps, children have many tips to enjoy the city, besides these 20 minutes from Viña del Mar ... very convenient, is a very economical place and is located in an excellent location

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

a very quiet, very friendly staff, rather have all the necessary amenities to make your stay perfect, located in the best place in valparaiso, also very economical for all it offers,bedroom overlooking the church and exelentes beds, and most importantly, you can sleep peacefully at night or in the day ....!

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is small and looks and feels more like an appartment with several rooms which serve as 4-bed dormatories. It offers great value for the price and is located perfectly in the old part of town on the Cerro Alegre. However, the rooms' window opens to the cobblestone street which can be very noisy until late in the evening/night. If you're a light sleeper, you might have problems. Also it could be a little bit cleaner, especially in the bathrooms and the latter ones are nothing special.


100%

very comfortable and spacious bedrooms, large bathrooms, a large kitchen, Gerardo and Charlotte are very friendly, Gerardo came with us morel nights at different bars, was very kind to show me the gay bars in this great city, plus you do not need to go vineyard sea ​​as it is very close, very good team

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

was an excellent experience, it's a big house, is located in the most important sector Valparasio, is a very nice, joschka and gerardo place are very friendly, you have a exelentes maps for the city, have many tips for a night out to where you want, unsa are located in very safe area so it is easy to return home late, they make your stay feel like home

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

excellent hostel to meet people, the staff has many tips to enjoy the city, excellent map of the city, is a very large and very comfortable home, each bedroom is very spacious and comfortable, exelentes beds, is an worried much in the passenger is comfortable and you feel at home, it is a very safe place with huge lockers in the bedroom, bathroom with three showers, and a small organic garden (basil, oregano, hot pepper, mint, herbs for tea) and very important meal free!

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

jacaranda hostel is an excellent mansard to spend a few days in valparaiso, the info you gave me to visit the city was perfect, the hostel is well located and close to Restaurants and cafesy is very friendly, the streets are beautiful and amazing perspectives .the staff is very helpful and will help you with what you need, sleep was very pleasant, comfortable and clean.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

was a weekend excellent in valparaiso, known many people in this hostel, the boys have many tips, Charlotte & Joschka are excellent people, the staff always helps you and is there for what you need, has beautiful details the hostel, is very comfortable and very big, my bedroom for 6 people was very comfortable with a large window, slept very well very comfortable beds, excellent atmosphere

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Benin
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Valparaiso Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback