X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Licanantay Reviews

Guillermo Rivera 316, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
277 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

If you want to party then this would be a good hostel to stay at. The staff are friendly and there are a lot of bars around here. If you want a quiet hostel though I'd recommend staying somewhere else.


100%

This place feels like home, located in a great area for street art and dining. The staff is awesome and very welcoming, the kitchen is nice if you wish to cook and you cannot beat the price.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The beds are really comfy, staff helpful and I met cool people. Recommended!


86%

The spanish couple in charge of the hostel are amazing: lively, helpul... The atmosphere was aweome, there´s a very nice bar with live music at the bottom (can be a bit noisy but that didnt bother me). I recommend !! Cheers

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Loud until 6am:( Musty. On the whole clean and breakfast acceptable.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location. Basic hostel, but cant argue for the price.


74%

With this hostel... you get what you pay for.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

It was basic, relatively clean and acceptable for cheap accommodation but I was accidentally overcharge (I should have checked) a few dollars. I booked online paid a portion upfront but when I went to pay I was charged 6500 pesos instead of 6000 and my prepayment wasn't factored in. It amounted to about $3.50 US. Hardly the end of the world but would have gotten better accomodation for that extra money. I wouldn't go back. Friendly staff but disorganized and poorly managed.


71%

Nice hostel with a good location. The kitchen was good with all equipment needed and the beds the most comfortable ones on the whole trip! Bad/broken lockers though and no reception which can be bad if u arrive in the middle of the night.. They had no computer for the bookings so u bring your reservation nr. Really good price for what you get.


91%

Central location, with all the major places of interest within walking distance. Fully equipped kitchen and free wi fi excellent. Laundry service quick, efficient and cheap! The breakfast is a bit poor and the staff is not always detectable, but in general I think is one of the most comprehensive and cost-effective solutions for exploring the beautiful Valparaíso... Very recommended!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Good location, comfy beds, nice atmosphere!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very welcoming made me feel at home. Lovely communal feel lots of sharing of food. Staff are amazing I came for 2 nights and stayed for 2 weeks.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

this hostel was really dirty and due to being on top of a bar that plays music so loud that it vibrates your bed until 4 in the morning, sleeping was difficult. it was tiny and people gather outside on the street as there is no other outdoor area. hot water was also sparce. you get what you pay for though i guess. the other guests were lovely on the plus side

  • 26th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Get what you pay for. Hot water comes and goes, slightly dodgy linen etc. Having said that, good location, friendly staff, decent wifi and nice atmosphere.


89%

I stayed for some days here and I would rally recommend it! Very helpful and friendly staff, good atmosphere, it is a great place to get to know some people and to spent a good time in Valparaiso!! I will come back, thats for sure!


69%

staffs are not kind enough. There's no reception. but, good point is its price.


57%

Very dirty and no warm water. But great location and chill atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, At the check in we explain to every guest how to turn on the water heater, you could always ask the staff too for any help. We try to keep clean the shared areas including the dorms but some guests don't take care about keeping clean the kitchen, bathrooms or dorms after using it. We will try to make it better. Have a nice trip Kind regards

49%

When i arrived at 11.00 no one opened the door. The 'reception' was still sleeping and an other guest opened the door after I knocked for 10 minutes on the door. Not very hospitable. The rooms are very small and its pretty noisy.


46%

We had previously reserved a night at this hostel, and had stated that we would arrive in the morning. We were stuck for 1h30 outside, banging on the door, shouting through the windows, trying to wake up someone working there. A customer opened the door for us saying that we had woken up the residents and she didn't know where the owner was. When we spoke to the person working there, we received no apology, and there was no sign of our reservation. A squat you pay to sleep in. Ideal for parties.

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Only stayed one night here but it was fine. Definitely a hippy hostel, so it's great if you're into that atmosphere. Not really a professional check-in/check-out office or system and smells like incense but it was nice and relaxed with a good kitchen and breakfast.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(210 results)


View all Valparaiso Hostels

Please give us your feedback