X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Licanantay Reviews

Guillermo Rivera 316, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
365 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fun hostel with good breakfast and nice location. The staff are very friendly but must of them are volunteers who dont know a lot more than the basics about the town. Apart from that it is a cool place to hang out, which makes it easy to meet new people.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I like this hostel, and I've enjoyed my stay here. But I'm sitting in my room as I write this and im going to describe what is happening: - A few mins ago, a boy cycled across the hallway on a bike, knocking everything down in his way - Currently, on the laptop screen, there's pornography videos being played - In the main living room, someone has just let off the fire extinguisher everywhere - I can hear people chanting and glass smashing - Just saw someone snort cocaine off the the table

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Andrew, as response your information we have put signs around stating drugs are illegal and not accepted in the hostel, whilst we are a more relaxed venue, we don`t condone that. The extinguisher and porno espisode has been dealt with too. Although we try and ensure every guest has a great stay we can`t control every aspect of every persons stay, we regret we did`t see it immediately and were able to stop it. Thanks again we hope to see you again oneday, happy travels we enjoyed having you!

43%

We chose this hostel because of the reviews. They drastically understated the level of cleanliness.. Rooms are dirty as were the kitchen and bathrooms. Beds were ok. Building is drafty so very uncomfortable to stay in the cold weather. Location is really good, however- close to bars and plazas. There were lots of couples sharing beds in our 12 bed dorm. Just basically not a clean place. Not sure if it's ever been cleaned.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you didn`t have a great stay. We have just had a change in workers, I think your time was when we were teaching the new staff... But again shame you didn`t enjoy your time with us, we get dissappointed if people leave unimpressed after our efforts. All the best for your future travels.

77%

It's like staying at your friend's gross apartment. The staff are very nice and friendly but seem pretty aloof when it comes to running a hostel. In the kitchen there were spilled powders and bits of food nobody bothered to clean up from both the counter and floor for two days. There were dishes and bits of garbage on top of lockers and under beds. My room had a balcony that staff and guests go to and smoke, annoying and smell enters the room. At least it's cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you didn`t have a great stay. We have just had a change in workers, I think your time was when we were teaching the new staff... But again shame you didn`t enjoy your time with us, we get dissappointed if people leave unimpressed after our efforts. All the best for your future travels.

29%

The place was pretty dirty when we stayed there and staff didnt really know what was going on as they had only been working there a week or so.


34%

Very dirty and very noisy. The staff was not helpful at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you didn`t have a great stay. We have just had a change in workers, I think your time was when we were teaching the new staff... But again shame you didn`t enjoy your time with us, we get dissappointed if people leave unimpressed after our efforts. All the best for your future travels.

34%

This hostel was a disappointment after reading about all the great reviews. The staff were not very helpful in assisting with anything related to Valparaiso and it seemed like they did not know what they were doing. The kitchen and bathrooms were terrible condition. There were only 3 showers and the not water was temperamental. The only good thing about this hostel was the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you didn`t have a great stay. We have just had a change in workers, I think your time was when we were teaching the new staff... But again shame you didn`t enjoy your time with us, we get dissappointed if people leave unimpressed after our efforts. All the best for your future travels.

100%

The staff is amazing! have a lot of fun! Cool hostel. Wery good Breakfast. near the Bars, and walking distans to everywhere in Valpaz, and to the buses! So i recommend this Hostel!


100%

Very great Hostel experience. Great location, informative and helpful staff,


94%

A beautiful hostel in a great location. It is simple but special,

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a lovely time in this hostel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave me many ideas in how to spend a good time in ValParaiso. I look forward to go back to Chile next year and I will definitely go back to the same Hostel. I highly recommend.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very well located, friendly staff, nice old house

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The hostel is situated in a touristic centre where almost all the attractions are within walking distance.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff are amazingly friendly and the atmosphere is really good with always something happening

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I really recommend this place. Location is good and hostel really fits the boheme atmosphere of the district. Also the staff was great, very helpful and a good company


91%

Excellent hostel with a nice kitchen and an excellent staff.


94%

Cool hostel, very friendly staff, nice common rooms where I was able to meet some really great people, spacious rooms and breakfast that is actually served to you. All in all, this hostel definitely contributed to the great time I had in Valparaiso.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location, nice staff, excellent stay


94%

Cannot really fault this place, it´s pretty cool. We booked 1 night and ended up staying for 4!! One of the coolest hostels we stayed in over the last 10 months or so.


94%

This was a great spot to stay, close to some great traditional food spots as well as mexican, cake shops and new modern chilean (pinmenton! Fav food in Chile so far!) Bars etc were great too, you don`t have to travel far from hostel. Felt safe, central, relaxed and fun. Recommend!

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(271 results)


View all Valparaiso Hostels

Please give us your feedback