X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Licanantay Reviews

Guillermo Rivera 316, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
390 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

It seemed like I was staying in a friendly drug addicts house. Everybody is very nice but there's just so much dirt everywhere it drove me a bit crazy. I dropped my, already filthy looking, pillow off my bed and when I picked it up,it had a layer of dust on it. When I left I also noticed there was dust on everything. The breakfast is dull, cereal then bread and Jam. The same issue of the gas running out happened to me, cold showers aren't fun. I'm sure this is a fun place if you're a bit 'hippy'


54%

Met some amazing people here which made the stay better, but the hostel is pretty foul. The common room is tiny and crammed at the best of times, everything is disgustingly filthy, the kitchen and the bathrooms. Hot water was a luxury for 2 seconds when it worked. And it's constantly cold, no heating throughout the whole hostal. But cheap and friendly. The woofers were the best part of this hostel.


71%

Its a tiny little place. If the hot water runs out (which it will) ask for the gas to be changed. Hopefully its not in the middle of your shower. The breakfast area only seats 6 people. The bread was not so good and they offered cereal and box milk. The coffee we had a pot boiling on the stove to pour into (hopefully) a clean glass. We also ran out of cups in the middle of day- just gone, not in sink and couldnt find any to clean. The staff was very friendly. Cant go wrong here!


69%

The hostel is not clean in any way -bathrooms, floors, kitchen, beds, tables, ... you get the idea. If you are happy to save 1000CLP per night and deal with it, you're welcome. I moved two streets away for the same price into a 'palace'. The staff are very pleasant but they seriously need a housekeeper in there.


100%

I recommend this hostel, maybe not everyone has the same taste, I enjoy the best time with Chilean people and I'm very happy

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very comfortable bed, simple but decent breakfast. Great location.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Not much hot water, common room is far too small


91%

One of my favourite hostels in South America. The staff are so chilled and lovely. good security, and sweet location just up from the main drag. they had peanut butter for breakfast! a great surprise. Beds are comfortable and rooms are spacious. This hostel has a sweet character. wish I could come back!


97%

Loved the staff, the people, and the location. Facilities were very okay

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I really recommend this place. Location is good and hostel really fits the boheme atmosphere of the district. Also the staff was great, very helpful and a good company

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel is located in a great area just a little further up the road from all the main bars and clubs. It's in a typical Valparaiso style house, which is great as long as you're not looking for a really new hostel (which we weren't). The first night we didn't go out and as the building is quite old, most of the c"bar noise made it into the room and was hard to sleep. However beds are probably the most comfy we've had and 2 doonas a bed was great! Was a bit dead in the hostel but it is low season!


91%

Sociable hostel, good for lone travellers

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a great stay! Would definitely recommend it

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

A Really good relaxed and colourful hostel. We stayed in the 12 bed dorm which, although it only had five of us in, was so big i dont think it would have felt crowded. Breakfast was simple but good and the staff, when they we there, were really helpful.


94%

good place good staff I liked a lot and enjoy valparaiso I recommend this place

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is amazing. Comfy beds, cool people, nice kitchen, amazing view, great location. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Fun hostel with good breakfast and nice location. The staff are very friendly but must of them are volunteers who dont know a lot more than the basics about the town. Apart from that it is a cool place to hang out, which makes it easy to meet new people.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I like this hostel, and I've enjoyed my stay here. But I'm sitting in my room as I write this and im going to describe what is happening: - A few mins ago, a boy cycled across the hallway on a bike, knocking everything down in his way - Currently, on the laptop screen, there's pornography videos being played - In the main living room, someone has just let off the fire extinguisher everywhere - I can hear people chanting and glass smashing - Just saw someone snort cocaine off the the table

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Andrew, as response your information we have put signs around stating drugs are illegal and not accepted in the hostel, whilst we are a more relaxed venue, we don`t condone that. The extinguisher and porno espisode has been dealt with too. Although we try and ensure every guest has a great stay we can`t control every aspect of every persons stay, we regret we did`t see it immediately and were able to stop it. Thanks again we hope to see you again oneday, happy travels we enjoyed having you!

43%

We chose this hostel because of the reviews. They drastically understated the level of cleanliness.. Rooms are dirty as were the kitchen and bathrooms. Beds were ok. Building is drafty so very uncomfortable to stay in the cold weather. Location is really good, however- close to bars and plazas. There were lots of couples sharing beds in our 12 bed dorm. Just basically not a clean place. Not sure if it's ever been cleaned.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you didn`t have a great stay. We have just had a change in workers, I think your time was when we were teaching the new staff... But again shame you didn`t enjoy your time with us, we get dissappointed if people leave unimpressed after our efforts. All the best for your future travels.

77%

It's like staying at your friend's gross apartment. The staff are very nice and friendly but seem pretty aloof when it comes to running a hostel. In the kitchen there were spilled powders and bits of food nobody bothered to clean up from both the counter and floor for two days. There were dishes and bits of garbage on top of lockers and under beds. My room had a balcony that staff and guests go to and smoke, annoying and smell enters the room. At least it's cheap, but you get what you pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you didn`t have a great stay. We have just had a change in workers, I think your time was when we were teaching the new staff... But again shame you didn`t enjoy your time with us, we get dissappointed if people leave unimpressed after our efforts. All the best for your future travels.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(287 results)


View all Valparaiso Hostels

Please give us your feedback