X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Machin Reviews

Calle Valverde 9, 4, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
597 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location is close to the metro and also the famous Plaza Sol where the Bear-push-Tree statue is. The room is quite neat and there's a bathtub at the corner of the room which seems strange but not bad at all. :) Would recommend to couple travelers or group travelers.


51%

The location of the hostel is wonderful, in the very centre of the city and with 2 tube stations very close. Such a pity that the staff is horrible, i booked a double bed and when we got there they said that the double bed rooms were all booked and that they only had a twin room; they said that we could unite the beds so that it would be a double bed, which is obviously not the same. So i suggest you to find a hostel/hotel in the zone of the Gran Via but not to choose this one!!!

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

dMachin is a pleasant and clean establishment and we were very satisfied with it all an the kindness of the personel and we will return there again on our next Madrid visit.


91%

I live in USA and I'm used to travel to big cities and as a pleasure and vacations this hostel exceed my expectations with excellent location in Madrid center , outstanding service , I highly recommend this hostel to other travelers , definitely a place to stay during your visit to Madrid

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Good value for our four-night-stay at the winter time! We arrived a little late (around 1:00 am) but this was not a problem for staff. The hostel, itself, was tidy and quiet, but the street made some noise from the bars - I recommend earplugs for night. It was also a bit cold, but the cleaner brought us an extra blanket when we leaved a note requesting for it. It was a shame that there were no other cooking-devices than a microwave at the hallway. We liked very much our own TV in the room!


37%

I risked to be electrified due to a damaged plug. The owner's wife (the only there at that moment) didn't react at all at the event. Plus the room was invaded by ants. It was the noisiest owner's family ever: wasn't able to take a nap: they were screaming (instead of talking) all the time and when the owner family was cooking, the entire place was loaded of smell..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Customer, I cant understand your bad opinion about the incident from the outlet, you were using an charger for your phone no approved for the European Community , your charger made a short circuit and burned, despite his mistake we decided give you like gift a new ORIGINAL charger for your mobile. Our outlet was not the cause. On the other hand, that week we had more rooms available, you did not tell us anything to change the room by noises. Once again my sincere apologies. Manager.

80%

Overall hostel is good and value for money.


69%

Good things: LOCATION - almost on the Gran Via main street, close to everything, good price for double bed room for Madrid standards Bad things: VERY LOUD - there is a lot of bars in the street, also in the hostel there was one kid who made a noise, ROOM - very strange, shower inside and sink without hot water, beds are not so comfortable, STAFF - we saw only one guy was friendly but with very bad english


100%

The staffs were really attentive and disponible, the place was clean and with everything we needed. The location is perfect. It was an awesome stay!

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, just off Gran Via and about 30 seconds from the metro. Friendly staff, comfy beds, pretty good value for money overall.


86%

Good Value




View all Madrid Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback