X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Machin Reviews

Calle Valverde 9, 4, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
538 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Considering the location, very quiet, and also impressed by the cleanliness. Great value. Will almost certainly be back.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything good and good bed :), the only cons are the rooms are on the 5th floor(elevator work sometimes), just one toilette for all rooms and there is no common place.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Ok, you get what you pay for. My room didn't have a big window so it felt claustrophobic sometimes. But it was clean and the location was perfect. Busy street but close to the metro and shops.


89%

Excellent location (just a few meters from Gran Vía street/metro station). This is for people looking for a quite place (It's not a hostel so there aren't noisy people hanging around)


80%

The two receptionists that I talked with during my two days stay were very gentle and helpfull. The hostel is 50 (or so) meters away from the main street "Gran Via" and very close to the subway but it's very calm. Not fancy, small rooms and old furniture but extremely clean. Both bathrooms were always clean (and i mean always). 70 euros total, two persons, two nights, good value for money. If I come back i will choose this hostel again

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

So this hostel is great for cleanliness and was relatively quiet. I even got fresh towels each day. But don't stay here if you're looking to meet other hostel travelers, cause theres no common area or free brochures. Also my room had a window that opened to the hallway and it was incredibly hot in there. Probably not bad in the winter...but in 34 degree madrid it was brutal.


86%

kitchen could have been better equipped, cutlery and plates would be nice.


80%

More of a hotel then a hostel. The staff were friendly whilst staying there and location was pretty good. Only downfall was that my partner left his ereader there even though he was willing to pay for them to post it, they refused send it to another country and became quite rude in emails.. Guess they got a free ereader.


86%

The location is very accessible and very safe. The staff here are also very friendly!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the best placea where I have been stayed.


94%

Nice hostel, very clean. Secure, cool staff. I would definitely come back.


89%

The hostel is gorgeous! The rooms were full of beautiful, dark-wood furniture. The staff were very friendly, and one spoke english very well. The bathrooms were clean and well-kept. The kitchen was very basic, you couldn't cook in there if you wanted to but you can heat up left-overs in the microwave (so don't plan on cooking!!). There is a bar right outside of the hostel that is really loud on weekends, but you can deal with it if you are used to noise. Overall, I really enjoyed it!


71%

Well, this place is well located, and that's all. Well, it is also clean and safe. But staff will give you no information, no assistance, not even a smile. They say they have A/C, but just when they think its hot enough, otherwise it will be denied to you. * Please note that this place is located in front of a really NOISY bar, so, you will not be able to sleep until 6:00am, when party is ending * This is not a bad option, but you may find something better for sure.


100%

Quite perfect, must say

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed here during our overnight layovers to and from Morocco. It's very clean and convenient, just off Gran Via and an easy walk to Puerta del Sol, restaurants, and cafes.


94%

Very good place to stay, I do recommend it,

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is good if you are with someone. The room is shared and clean. It wasnt the biggest, but we didnt find any problem. We recomend the hostel.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This place was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at and was great for the price too.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Madrid Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback