Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Mariposas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Feb 2017
7.7

Located on the Maripossa hill the hostel is still within walking distance of the downtown area of Valparaiso. Although it can be a struggle to go uphill the view from the terrace of the city makes up for it. The accommodation is very spacious and there are many areas to hang out and you be not surprised to meet guests chilling out on the roof top. The facilities available are OK, just link your devices to both routers as WiFi strength is sketchy in some areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

Only stayed one night but enjoyed it. Beautiful house with great communal spaces! 2 kitchens, 2 large living rooms and a huge outdoor terrace (with amazing view!). Staff super helpful and friendly too. Only downside is its a fair way out of town - 20 mins or so walk up hill. Sounds fine but it was annoying if you want to head back in the evening to a few bars, or need the supermarket etc. But overall, a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
8.6

It is a little out of the wau but once you familiarize yourself with the 612 bus and the colectivos it is fine. Beautiful rooftop with an amazing view of the city. Also, they provide the most important thing for backpackers, free laundry!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Fab and homely, not central to the action but 612 bus makes it easy in minutes. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel. Great service great view great staff. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

A wonderful hostel, where I felt home from the first moment on. I would definitely chose this again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.9

We were welcomed by Eduardo who gave us the tour, the Hostel had a great layout and an amazing view.Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hostel is a bit of walk to town but Eduardo gives you all the information on how to get around. Had a great stay and would definitely stay again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Mariposas was an amazing place, and my first hostel experience. The facilities were just what we needed. I never waited for a bathroom and the facilities were super clean. Eduardo is amazing and helped with anything you needed, he even hosted a BBQ on thursday where we all brought some food and his staff made amazing choripan and pebre. The location wasnt the best, but it was right by the bus and colectivo route - so it was very easy to get anywhere you wanted to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay! Within walking distance from the city centre & Concepcion neighbourhood, quiet because uphill, clean, good showers with hot water, spectacular view & awesome roof terrace and Eduardo is the best host ever! That's why I booked three more nights. I definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Unique little hostel. Great veiws of the bay and very friendly staff. Out of the way from the main tourist area, but it's easy to reach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.