Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Mariposas

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
Hostal Mariposas Located at 234 Salamanca, , Valparaiso.
Hostal Mariposas
Chile
Valparaiso 234 Salamanca
96% 166
-33.0515235 -71.6178022
Hostal Mariposas
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jan 2017
10.0

You pay slightly more but you get an ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE view of the city (ocean, hills). There's a reason this hostel has the highest rating on Hostelworld in Valparaiso. You can easily take the 612 bus to the hostel from the bus station and to Concepcion Hill so don't worry about it being far away. Hostel owner is incredibly nice (let me check out 2-3 hours later so I could enjoy the city since I was there for one night; wish I had longer!!). The common area is great to socialize. COME HERE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Jan 2017
9.7

Great kitchen facilities and georgous views from the terrace. Great atmosphere and owner Eduardo and all volunteers were so helpful, friendly and fun. Bus stop to get to tourist area and bus station right at top of the road. Thoroughly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
9.7

Such a lovely hostel! Eduardo and the team were lovely and really helpful. We were treated to a BBQ as soon as we arrived! The roof top is an amazing space with an amazing view. The location is a bit out of the centre but easy and fun to get the bus and collectivos from the end of the street and you wouldn't get the same view from down in the town! One of the best we've stayed in - we didn't want to leave! Thanks Eduardo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.3

This was a nice hostel , the only problem was the location it was a bit out of the main touristy area. We had a private double room and it was very spacious and comfortable. Good facilities with 2 kitchens and free laundry which is super handy after been travelling for ages! Our host was super friendly and made us feel very welcome and offered great advise on Valparaiso.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

We absolutely loved our stay here. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly, as well as a BBQ most nights with drinks on the beautiful terrace. A slight uphill walk to get there but so worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel a little way out of town. Easy to access by cheap public transport from centre of town. Eduardo is a great host who helps with every aspect of your stay in valparaiso. Hostel cleaned all the time and there are two good kitchens. Roof top terrace is incredible!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gmbettencourt8484
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 66 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

Eduardo is an excellent manager-kind, welcoming, helpful, and knowledgeable. The hostel was clean and a spacious layout. A bit far from the action, but the view makes it worth it and transportation is plentiful (don't try to take the city elevator to the neighborhood-it was out when I was there). My only negative was when the owner Kent said some terrible, hateful things about Middle Eastern people/countries outside my window one day. Thankfully he wasn't around that often.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
9.4

Hostel Mariposas was fantastic!!! Kent (the owner) and Eduardo are so hospitable, Kent in particular will tell you all about his life in the States and abroad and its really fascinating. We were there on New Years Eve, and the hostel put on an asado (a bbq) and provided champagne for everyone at the hostel. The staff was accommodating and the space was very large-- two kitchens and a wonderful terrace outside overlooking Valpo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels we've stayed in. Stayed over New years and had a great time. The staff and owner are legends. The photo of the rooftop is nowhere near as good as the area itself. Definitely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
10.0

This is one of those rare places where you almost tear when you have to leave - because it's like leaving your family. Eduardo the manager makes you feel like you belong there. And if you are lucky enough to catch the owner Kent when he is in town, you are in for a treat. Think of a much friendlier version of Ron Swanson ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.