Hostelworld.com

Hostal Mariposas

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Feb 2017
8.6

It is a little out of the wau but once you familiarize yourself with the 612 bus and the colectivos it is fine. Beautiful rooftop with an amazing view of the city. Also, they provide the most important thing for backpackers, free laundry!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

A wonderful hostel, where I felt home from the first moment on. I would definitely chose this again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.9

We were welcomed by Eduardo who gave us the tour, the Hostel had a great layout and an amazing view.Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hostel is a bit of walk to town but Eduardo gives you all the information on how to get around. Had a great stay and would definitely stay again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay! Within walking distance from the city centre & Concepcion neighbourhood, quiet because uphill, clean, good showers with hot water, spectacular view & awesome roof terrace and Eduardo is the best host ever! That's why I booked three more nights. I definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Unique little hostel. Great veiws of the bay and very friendly staff. Out of the way from the main tourist area, but it's easy to reach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
8.3

We stayed three nights, one night they hosted a BBQ and it was a great time! Staff were so friendly! And the view absolutely stunning! And the location is very accessible hey the easy to use bus system. The wifi was also top notch. The facilities altogether weren't bad, room/common areas clean, just complaints on the shower head/water temperature.. we enjoyed our stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.7

Hostel Mariposa's has been the highlite of our trip to Chile so far. The atmosphere was great, there was a BBQ on the rooftop patio our first night and we easily spent more time at the hostel than in the town. It's a bit of a trek up the hill if you walk from the bus depot, it's not right in the action but a very short trip to get to it. The pillows were bad but the beds were comfortable enough and we felt it was solid value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jan 2017
10.0

This is the nicest hostel we stayed in throughout Chile. The double room was big and clean and there are so many bathrooms we only had to share with one other person. The hostel has great atmosphere and there was always something happening on the roof terrace. The owner was very helpful and hospitable. The location is a little bit away from the main attractions of Valparaiso but I preferred that as Mariposa is a nicer, cleaner, quieter neighbourhood with very close access to the main bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
10.0

You pay slightly more but you get an ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE view of the city (ocean, hills). There's a reason this hostel has the highest rating on Hostelworld in Valparaiso. You can easily take the 612 bus to the hostel from the bus station and to Concepcion Hill so don't worry about it being far away. Hostel owner is incredibly nice (let me check out 2-3 hours later so I could enjoy the city since I was there for one night; wish I had longer!!). The common area is great to socialize. COME HERE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.4

The rooms and facilities are big and clean. The view from the rooftop is spectacular. The best part though is the boss Eduardo and the people who work and stay there. I felt incredibly welcome there. Muy buena onda! (If it looks fully booked on HW, send an inquiry directly to the hostel, because it might appear fully booked when it's not)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.