Hostelworld.com

Hostal Mayapan

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.4

Stayed only for 1 night before leaving for the airport but could of happily stayed for more days. Stayed in all female dorm and liked that the bathroom and showers were in the room. Reception super helpful and gave extra blankets no problem and booked an airport transfer shuttle which is better value for money $220 than getting taxi/bus to the central bus station and then Ado Bus to the airport. Good location to the beach, as its an old shopping centre didn't much much of social atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
3.7

Paid for a four bed dorm got a five bed, tried to put us in a 12 bed dorm instead . High turnover of guests Unclean toilets womens was locked whole time due to not being cleaned

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Dec 2016
7.1

You get what you pay for

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
8.0

I stayed in the 4 person room for 3 nights. For the price it could not be beat. It had a hot water shower and 2 bathrooms for 5 people. I did find a view bugs in the bed but it was the least of my worries. Location was 10 min walking to the beaches & hottest clubs in Cancun. The beach behind the Mandela was my preferrence, slightly less people and more beach. Transportation is easiest with the Buses, less then US $1. Everything is more expensive near the all-inclusives. walk 10min to find better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Dec 2016
8.0

Lovely staff and good location. Strange set up though. As it's an old shopping complex, it was really spread out and there was no real common area to socialise. Just lacked a bit of atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Nov 2016
3.7

Had one of the staff barge into our room late at night while we were sleeping. Not very impressed ! Would not recommend for single female travellers

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
8.3

Remember to get off at Caracol Beach area if you take a bus. The hostel is a good place for budget travelers. But it's a bit noisy at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
4.3

We did not even stay there afterall because the place was badly advertised. We paid for a private 4 bed dorm but they tried to place us in a 20 person dorm that looked awful. We found a nice hotel room that was about 50usd two steps from this hostal. It had AC and 2 king beds it was a much better deal. In the end I lost my deposit...the staff sorry to say was not very bright as he did not try to provide an alternative even though private rooms were available. He did not seem to care about us

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
10.0

Like nothing you will ever experience... ✌🏼️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
7.1

I was the only person in the hostel mixed room. Felt extremely uncomfortable and there was no atmosphere. I left my things, left to the beach, returned... Did not want to be here any longer and asked if I could get a refund and find another place. They said no. I kept asking for a manager and they didn't let me contact them, but offered I stay at a another smaller room that had one other girl in it. I Met the girl and she made my night pleasant.The location was the only good thing. Won't return.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.