X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Nilo SL Reviews

C/ Josef Anslem Clave 17, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
361 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Excellent location, the room has no AC and it was not cleaned when we stayed.


60%

We had a room with a balcony overlooking Josef Anslem Clave. Otherwise the Hostel is a bit musty, the shared toilets on 1st floor were often not clean. No air-conditioning. You reach the hostel after a flight of stairs. Problem if you are carrying heavy luggage. The location is great though. Metro nearby and right next to Las Rambla and Gothic Quarters. About 20 minutes walk from the beach. One tip, if you are on 1st floor & using shared toilet/bathroom, then head upstairs. Much cleaner & nicer.


77%

We stayed for three nights at Hostal Nilo the weekend just been. It is in a fantastic location, right at the bottom of Las Ramblas and close to the port. There is someone on the desk 24 hours a day which is really helpful. The facilities are fine but basic but if you aren't spending much time there it's perfect.


66%

Great location right at the end of Ramblas. We had a private room with ensuite, it was basic accommodation but for the price was what we expected. Would recommend if you're looking for somewhere to sleep rather than spending more time at the room. The fan was a great unexpected bonus.


94%

Can't really ask for a better located, affordable hostel. Would recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and ideally located hostel to stay in Barcelona.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Location is excellent! Close to Rambla, gothic centre and to the beach. The facilities are really old..you can stay here longer time, but the bed was really old and we were missing the air conditioner, there was only ventilator. The walue for money was good

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Not much to say really, pretty average place but a great location. Shared bathroom was fine, bed was fine. Bedroom basic but no problems.


83%

Basic but clean..would stay again if only for location!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Shower were awful, no toilet paper, Loud street traffic, room smells terrible. location is the only plus.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

the staff is not really friendly especially that guy who works at night, other two are ok... our room was the hell, we had only one bed seemed to be for one person but we bought a double bed....moreover, it was so soft that when someone moved during sleeping other peson moved automatically with him.... disaster, we didnt sleep at all.... bathroom is not very clean but with flipflops ok... next timei would rather pay more for better hostel


60%

Kind of dilapidated.It needs some serious renovation work.But the location is great.Right next to Las Ramblas,the Gothic Barrio ...The beach is quite a walking distance though.No breakfast.Wifi only at the reception.Only 1 small towel in the room.1 thing that bothered me.The smell of pot on the 2nd floor.More like a youth hostel. Barcelona is an expensive city .If you are on a budget and just need a bed to sleep then this is the place for you.But 25 eu a night/sg room might still be too much.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The location is brilliant, however there is no air conditioning, a fan is provided though so it's not too bad. The shower is very average though no constant temperature or holder in the wall. But it's location more than makes up for this


89%

Fantastic hostel in a perfect location - in between Barcelona city centre and a short walk to the beach. Private room with private bathroom. Great staff. Let down slightly by the maid always leaving the balcony door open after cleaning - it was fine but could have been a risk for a break in. Otherwise very good and great value for money, thank you!!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Location is awesome, it is close to the beach and city center. Staff is nice. They change towels everyday and clean the room which is awesome. No internet in the rooms though, you have to go downstairs and use wifi in the lobby.


83%

Really nice and helpful staff!! I did not expect that our room will be cleaned every day, that was brilliant. Unfortunately we had a little friend in our bathroom, but besides that it was a great stay and i am sure I am going to chose the same hostal for my next stay in Barcelona again!'


63%

An attention that made me feel that I was bothering him during check in, rude and unfriendly. I never asked him another question again (a middle aged man with an English accent)


80%

The hostel is only few steps from metro. We located a double room and it was old but clean. We only spend one night, but it's a good place to stay.


71%

Great location, good wifi in lobby. Good value but noisy. Rooms very basic and smelly.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very cute hostel! The only issue was that our air conditioner didn't work so the room was very hot. Great location, 5 minute walk to Prado San Sebastian

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The location was good, near everything! But the cleanliness was low; there were holes in the blankets (from cigarettes), the smell in the room was very bad. But all in all, if you want a cheap place to sleep and otherwise explore Barcelona, it's okay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Barcelona Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback