Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Pakay

  • Av. Antisana y Manuel Maria Rosales, Barrio 30 de, Tena, Ecuador

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 115 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 115 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Tony is amazing! Book a tour with him. He is very knowledgeable and the waterfall hike with him was by far our favorite activity!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2017
9.1

Lovely setting. Beautiful garden. Dry toilets which take some getting used to! Great atmosphere and helpful staff. Tremendous breakfast included in the price. Liked the pets especially the younger of the two cats! Rafting trip was a great day out on the Jatun Yaku. A day to remember! The only downside was the town of Tena, which I found a bit uninspiring, and the people not especially friendly. However, all in all, it was a very successful 5 days. Job done!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • annabelleor
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th May 2017
9.1

Really cool place, rooms and bathrooms are clean. Breakfast was good and fulfilling. The owner, Tony, is amazing! Book a tour with him, you will absolutely love it. Would totally recommend that hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joshgallo
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
9.7

Perfect location, just outside of town but close enough to walk or take a cheap taxi. The owner Tony is cool an either takes you or arranges all sorts of expeditions. Rooms were very clean. I'm allergic to cats and there are a few but it didn't seem to affect me too much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
9.7

Beautiful hostel, helpful staff. They have composting toilets which were a little weird to get used to and smelly at times. The city of Tena isn't too great, but we took an hour bus away to Ahuano and went to the Amazoonico animal rescue center which was fun. This hostel includes a great breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our time at Hostel Pakay. The hostel is within walking distance of town, but the amazing gardens which surround the building make you feel like you are in the jungle. The hostel offers many tours and trips which can be booked upon arrival. Tony was able to organise rafting and kayaking trips for us at short notice, which was greatly appreciated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
10.0

Wonderful facility and environmentally friendly. Staff is a joy to be around and welcomed us with open arms. Very clean and supplies nets for sleeping. I would go back to visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
7.7

The hostel is very nicely located just outside of town. I really enjoyed being slightly up out of town with more of a jungle atmosphere without the expensive lodge price. It felt safe to walk to and from town at night. The wifi doesnt reach the area with private rooms but you can easily sit in the hammocks near the dorms. The staff was the only downside to the hostel. They were super unhelpful and unfriendly. No help with finding our next hostel in town, no help with taxi, no help with tour

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
7.4

This place is really cool, a jungle location, lots of natural areas with birds. We stayed one night, it was nice, the staff was ok, not super friendly but not unfriendly either. The breakfast was awesome. The hammocks were awesome too. Overall a good experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • annie66884356
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2017
7.7

The staff, although helpful, are not very friendly. They never really smile and we had a very weird first impression with the woman on staff who just stared at us instead of saying Hello. Everything else (cleanliness, location, value) is fine, but really is it so hard to smile? Also, I wouldn't stay here if you're allergic to cats since there was one in our room (on our pillow) when we arrived. Diego is a great tour guide so if you do a tour he will make sure you have a great time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.