X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Po Reviews

Urriola 379, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
107 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Had a great time here, friendly staff- they know all the good parties to go to. Cool little rooftop to hang out with the other backpackers - it's quite low so the view isn't great. It's at the bottom of the hill so easy to get to the main part of the hill but also the harbour. Not the cleanest, most comfortable place but you don't really go to Valparaiso to rest...


86%

I really loved how this hostel was full of art, from the facade to the bathrooms. The atmosphere was good and the staff was really helpful, giving me great tips about what to see and do in Valparaiso in the short time I had.


74%

When we arrived to the hostel and went to our room we found a dead bedbug straight from our bed. We told about that to receptionist and he let us to change a room and gave us a free night. We didn't got any bites but later our friend got many bites and one other fellow traveller. So beware they probably have a bedbug problem there! Other than that the hostel was nice with good breakfast and nice rooftop terrace. Not the cleanest hostel to be honest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi We need to clear it up! We don't have a bedbugs problem! There was 1 traveller who brought these with him to that specific room and we had to do a chemical cleaning. Everything is back to normal. It was a problem just for a few days because we realized quickly. Regards Administration

83%

Great central location and a good breakfast.


74%

Rooms are a bit cramped and noisy (not street noise, just other guests talking loudly in common areas at all hours). Nevertheless, Po has a great location, great vibe/atmosphere, and great staff. Would definitely stay again.


94%

I booked for three nights and ended up staying for 5. This place is addictive and the staff are absolutely fantastic. The beds are really comfortable. The area is great. I highly recommend this gem of a hostel.


71%

Not great atmosphere and the staff isn't very friendly or helpful. Great location though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Our staff is always friendly and prepared to help. It is sad that you had that impression. Hope you have a nice trip! Regards

83%

Meh. Arrived 6am from an overnight bus and pretty surprised they wouldn't let us have any breakfast. Rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am so sorry but breakfast is for next morning, if you are a traveller you should know that. However, you were offered to have breakfast at the end if there was enough bread. Our staff is always nice and never rude. Regards and good luck!

91%

The hostel has a mad roof top, we changed hostels to Hostel Po because we could see the roof top from our beds and we had a massive case of FOMO(fear of missing out) because everyone looked so happy just chilling on the rooftop drinking and swinging in the hammock. Although I missed out on breakfast from being to hungover apparently Michael cooks an excellent breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the showers were clean. Excellent location and everything was in walking distance.


37%

Pros- location and security was good. Common areas were nice. Cons-Private room was like a prison cell, shared bathrooms were disgusting and tiny. The two female staff were very rude (for example I asked politely if she could order us a cab to the bus terminal as it was late at night and she acted as though I had ruined her day after she suggested to take a local bus!). The guy was quite nice though! The overall atmosphere was a bit depressing, couldn't wait to get out of there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry that you felt that way, most of our guests feel like home and enjoy here. You can see the 90% of positive comments. We will continue trying to improve the experience. Regards and good luck!

89%

Really lovely place. Great communal space and fantastic roof terrace.


91%

Awesome hostel. Great atmosphere with a cool roof terrace where you can chill with other guests. The place has loads of cool artwork and is set out more like a house so feels really welcoming and cosy. Fantastic staff too! Thanks Sally, Richard and Gabby for a really fun stay! Definitely stay here if you are in Valparaiso!!


74%

Nice deck and very centrally located. Some excellent street art outside and inside the hostel. Dorms could use a bit more airflow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We open the dorm windows every day but same people staying on rooms close them. However, we will try to do it more ofen. Regards

89%

Comfy beds, cool roof terrace, nice sized hostel. Pretty laid back vibes when I was there but doesn't claim to be a party hostel. Location is perfect.


94%

Hostel Po really reflects the personality of Valparaiso - it's colourful, quirky and old school. It has all the makers of a good hostel - helpful lovely staff, a good communal area, good recommendations and a hair dryer when you need it. Breakfast wasn't much - bread and fruit, but it hit the spot. Also has an awesome rooftop terrace with fabulous views over this great city. Bed was ok. Shower not good, didn't get very hot. Wifi worked. However I'd go back.


94%

Fab hostel, great staff Good location Excellent roof terrace Had a wicked time Breakfast could be more exciting!!!


69%

The room was not very warm. Dormitories seems to be much better than private room. But I had a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Charles! Thanks for your comment. We always have more covers for double rooms. You should have asked us. Hope you have a good and safe trip. Regards

77%

Small but cosy hostel in central Valparaiso, roof terrace a bonus. The only downside is breakfast, which is pretty average.


86%

Great staff, location and atmosphere, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The drawbacks are very tiny kitchens and lukewarm to cold showers. If you can get over those two things its great!


83%

Overall, an excellent hostel. Had a ton of fun with the great people and staff and the atmosphere was fantastic, especially the upstairs deck. Really cool. Good showers and facilities and in a good location for seeing the great street art. Good hostel :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Valparaiso Hostels

Please give us your feedback