X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Po Reviews

Urriola 379, Valparaiso, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
54 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The terrace was awesome, as was the common space. Decent kitchen and really cool staff who were very helpful and fun. The location is perfect and the vibes were good. Buena onda, definitely will come back here!


80%

Takes about 10 min by bus to get to the hostel. Hostel is based on the bottom of a hill within walking distance to the old town of Valparaíso (great bars, coffee shops and resatrants) We enjoyed the hostel a lot apart of the cold showers and the average breakfast (bread, 2 types of jam, butter and instant coffee).


83%

Nice staff, friendly atmosphere, hot showers and good location. There is not that much space in the kitchen though, so you might have to wait if it's really crowded.


66%

I was walking back to the hostel after buying dinner (just 2 blocks away), and was robbed. Both my iPhone & wallet were stolen from me. The girl working behind the desk was really nice to help me file a police report and gave me just enough pesos to get to the bus terminal. Other than that, the hostel itself is nice. Breakfast is the usual bread, butter, jam & some fruits. Anyways, beware of Valparaiso. It's dangerous!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Karen! Valparaiso is as dangerous as any city could be. The hostel has one of the best locations as it is one of the safest places in town. One can be robbed in any place and any country. Hope you are more calm down now and keep enjoying your trip. Regards

94%

Really nice hostel, great location and good atmosphere. Beds were comfy and didn't queue for bathrooms. Only 2 power points in an 8 bed dorm was a struggle though


86%

It's located in a pretty good area of Valparaiso, close to the main bits. Has a good rooftop area and big communal area. Kitchen is quite small though so if you're Gordon Ramsey you might be disappointed. We liked it.


91%

Hostal Po is a great place to stay, its in a great location and has everything you need, 4 bathrooms, 2 kitchens (kitchens are small as are 2 of the bathrooms and hot water is a bit temperamental post 11am), big bedrooms, the lounge is a great place to meet others and the roof terraces is the best. They offer free breakfast and wifi, the staff are there to help you out when needed and there is the best empanada place across the street. I'd definitely recommend a stay at Hostal Po


89%

We had a wonderful stay at Hostel Po! It's a beautiful hostel, with wicked comfortable beds. We met a lot of awesome travelers and had a fantastic weekend! There is a ton of stuff to do nearby. As far a we wandered it seemed we were always close to Hostel Po! The showered are hot and have second water pressure!! Would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rebecca! Thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you soon!

89%

Had a really great stay here. The roof top patio is really awesome and we were able to meet a lot of super cool people. Duvets on the beds were a plus. Kitchen is quite small but well stocked. Breakfast was descent. Check out is at 12:00 which is nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hilary! Thanks for your comments. Hope to see you again here. Regards

80%

Hostel po is a great hostel. Very nice and extremely clean! You also get duvets on the beds :) It's in a great location, the only thing is the atmosphere isn't great (when we stayed anyway) no one really spoke to each other even though there are really good communal areas including a huge rooftop terrace! Not really the hostels fault. I suppose! Has a good kitchen and free tea and coffee all day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Trish! Thanks you for your comments! The atmosphere depends on the day, the mood of the guests and other factors. It is usually the opposite of what you said, but sometimes it is very quiet and you can't do much about it. Hope to see you again and that way you can experience how the hostel is when you get good vibes here. Regards :)

86%

Calm hostel in a good area with nice and helpful staff and a great terrace! Basic breakfast. The rooms have big lockers and they and the bathrooms are very clean. Not so the small kitchen, which would need a cleaning lady. It would be perfect to have Wifi at the terrace!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

Hostal Po was a nice, quiet hostel. I liked how quiet it was because that is more of my style, but there were very few people there to meet and not a real party or gathering environment. Clean, nice staff, comfy beds, and PRIME location. Super close to bars, restaurants, the historic downtown, and the markets.


71%

The hostal was very quiet with little or no atmosphere. The staff seemed a little careless, they had very little interest in working there, let alone helping people, there was one guy on our first day that was helpful. Breakfast is quite average, bread, fruit, jam, the usual. Rooms were spacious and comfortable with big lockers, kitchen is tiny and quite dirty also. Word to the wise, keep your receipt as we were asked were we checking out or had we paid when we had one more night and had paid!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry you had a bad impression. Staff are always happy to work here and enjoy their work. We always have positive comments about that and also about the atmosphere. But one should remember that the atmosphere is a joint-effort. Nedless to say that we apologize for the kitchen which was dirty those days and for the person who forgot you had paid. Best regards Hostal Po

89%

really nice place from travelers for travelers! will come back!

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

stayed for 3 nights in a 6-bedroom dorm. the hostel is very beautiful thanks to the many wall paintings. the beds in the dorm were very comfy as well. We would say that this place has a lot of potential but it's not quite coming out yet. Exept for the great host Paul, all the other staff members don't make any effort towards making this hostel a nice place to stay. The breakfast is poor and is mostly served on a small table with leftovers from the night before. The kitchen is small and dirty.


69%

I thinkthis hostel would be great. When i stayed there were a couple of things which made it less great, like broken internet and extremely noisy and inconsiderate french guests, however these were not the hostel's fault really. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and one spoke English. The floors and doors are noisy as everything is made of wood, the kitchen is small, but has everything you need and there are tea and coffee available all day long at no extra cost.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel in a charming old house well located close to the port and metro. Friendly and helpful staff and a nice common area to hang out in. Breakfast is basically until everyone eat, the dorm is clean and so are the bathrooms. You get a key for the frontdoor so you can enter the hostel anytime. I would recommend it.


91%

Great hostel with very relaxed friendly atmosphere. Love all the artwork inside.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is in a great location, but not easily found/noticable from the street. The murals throughout the hostel were beautiful and fun. The room was very loud from the street noise and other guests. The staff was very unprofessional during check in and payment; they didn't ask for reservation numbers and we had to ask to pay them (and then they didn't provide a receipt until asked). When we attempted to check out there was no staff to be found. Needless to say, I was disappointed overall.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • genasturgon2220
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hostal Po is definitely one of the best hostels in Valparaiso, if not the best. The graffitis all over the place are amazing, the facilities and the rooms are clean and the staff is nice and ready to help for anything. The owner knows everything about the city, speaks several languages and is always around to chat with you.The location is perfect, you are right in the center, close to every pubs and supermarkets. I had an incredible stay in Valparaiso thanks to Hostal Po!


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Valparaiso Hostels

Please give us your feedback