Hostelworld.com

Hostal Providencia

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1016 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1016 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • FloraWilliams
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
6.3

It's a very big hostal, which makes it a little sterile and unfriendly. You are one of hundreds staying there. Lacks personality. It's nice if you want to stay in a hotel like place. There are only 2 kitchens one of which closes at 22:30 which doesn't really make sense and means everyone is cooking in a tiny kitchen. It's a bit annoying. It's clean and tidy though and has great wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.7

Good place, free eggs at breakfast, good location, fantastic wifi. Everything else was a bit mediocre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.6

We stayed at basic private double room with shared bathroom: Good: good price, good security. the location is impeccable. As visible minorities, we felt really safe walking around the neighborhood even at midnight. Good restaurants on the way to the Metro station. Staff are generally helpful, but sometimes the flow of visitors may overwhelm them. Bad: with any hostals, noise is always an issue. old wooden floor creaks when walking. noisy guests on our first two nights made sleeping hard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.4

הוסטל מהממם ומשופץ ממש נהנו! רק שמרוב שהוא גדול לא מגיעים מים חמים לכל הקומות וזה טיסה ביאס

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.3

Good hostel. Close to lots of cafes and restaurants. Staff was nice and let me have breakfast before I checked in after a long red eye. Pretty clean bathrooms. Rooms were good. Kitchens are very small. Got food stolen from me when I had it in a bag with my name on it- not the hostels fault but still I wasn't too happy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel, staff is super friendly and the armosphere is great! Totally recomend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! And thanks for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed the hostel and hope to see you next time you're in Santiago! Un abrazo del equipo Hostal Providencia!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location, size of hostel means staff are sometimes overwhelmed with questions, but always friendly and courteous. Good breakfast. Room was clean, quiet and had a great shower!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
2.9

The staff are really slow to check people in, when asked to extend another night we were moved to another room at a higher price with a smaller room despite the staff saying it would be a more comfortable stay and larger. There is way too many people staying here and the staff cannot keep up. No tables to eat on during breakfast, dirty toilets etc

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks for your comments. At some points during the day in high season there can be a wait to check-in. I'm really sorry if you had to wait - I hope you enjoyed the fast wi-fi and free tea meanwhile though? We hope to improve this with high-tec solutions as they come available, some waiting time at some point is inevitable but I'm sorry you found it too much. I'm sorry you didn't have your own table at breakfast - right now we are trying to convince more people to share tables in fact. Our values and ideals as a hostel are for people to share their travelling experiences with the other guests, to meet people and create bonds - I'm sorry if this was uncomfortable for you. I'm especially sorry if you found a toilet that was dirty. I hope you reported it to reception? (There are signs in every single one of the 25 asking you to do so) We have a large cleaning staff who work very hard every single day of the year to keep everything clean every day, but in between things can happen which we don't see! Thanks for your comments, we do appreciate them and are always trying to improve.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Really great hostel, comfy beds, helpful staff, rooms and bathrooms cleaned daily and a general good vibe! The hostel felt really safe and the rooms were well sized.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, and thanks for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Santiago! Salud!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jan 2017
10.0

Stayed at Providencia for about 11 days and was happy the whole time. The kitchen and bathrooms were kept very clean and organized. The breakfast they offer is well worth the value. They also organized some events making it easier to meet people :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We're trying hard to put on a great breakfast, everyone knows it's the most important meal of the day! We're really happy you noticed our efforts! The nightly events in the hostal are now a permanent feature, we know how it is when you're traveling, so do our best to get everyone together so everyone can make the most of their stay. Happy travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.