Hostelworld.com

Hostal Providencia

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 734 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 734 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
Hostal Providencia Located at Vicuña Mackena 92-A, , Santiago.
Hostal Providencia
Chile
Santiago 7500910 Vicuña Mackena 92-A
89% 734
-33.4412271 -70.6339466
Hostal Providencia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.9

Hostel Providencia is huge! Ideal if you like sociable hostels with lots of people, less ideal if you prefer a quieter scene. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The facilities are good, and there was always a shower free when I wanted one. Breakfast is varied - there is bread, toast, cereal, eggs and fruit. The location is really good, a few minutes walk from a metro station and very close to the Bellavista district where there are lots of restaurants and bars. Overall a good stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.7

Great location. You can do a lot of things just walking around like going to Cerro Santa Lucía, Cerro San Cristóbal, the Zoo, historic downtown and bars at Bellavista. If you don't wanna walk, the subway station is less than 5 minutes from the hostel. I definitely recommend to book the rooms located at the new part of building. Bathrooms are bigger and more comfortable and the bedrooms are cleaner and airy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Great location near Baquedano station and close to Parque Forestal. Huge hostel and every corner is clean! The breakfast is sufficient and the receptionists are very friendly as well as helpful. Would definitely stay here again! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Apr 2016
4.6

*please note the price advertised on hostel world is not the price you will pay at the desk* the management is playing some sort of tax evasion game and if you don't have US dollars you will be paying more (20% extra). Paying in Chilean pesos will incur a 20% tax. Staff seemed pissed off with this policy so it was a blunt welcome. The hostel is massive so it's hard to meet anyone and the vibe was lame. Breakfast was good and some staff were nice. Room very basic but clean. Not enough bathrooms.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
8.3

This hostel has a great location. I enjoyed being able to walk to the parks and nearby restaurants. The downside to this hostel (as some reviews have mentioned) is that its layout isn't really conducive to meeting other travelers. There are a lot of travelers but the place is big and spread out with no centralized location (unless you smoke). I think it just depends on the person because I personally prefer the smaller hostels with a cozier feel. All in all a decent stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice hostel in a great location within walking distance to BellaVista bars, restaraunts and shops. Staff are excellent and really helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. It's a big hostel which I didn't find to be too sociable, but a nice place to stay none the less.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
5.7

I was so dissapointed about this place , first I really organized guy so. I sent a message to The hostel to organize my pick up Service from the airport , they confirmed The Service but nobody showed up so I called The hostel and they told me there's no any Service for me and they told me to take the cab by myself , no any Customer Service support at The hostel and The guy named Sebastián from Chile , he is The worst unfriendly recepction guy, he tríed to overcharge The room in a bad way..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2016
6.9

Was great that it had a tour info spot very helpful! About a 20 min walk into town centre! Breakfast provided which was awesome! Hot water bathrooms were ok. Our room was very noisy on top on the outdoor area and also across from the bathroom so our room smelt of cigarette even with the window closed due to being on top of the outdoor area! Overall pretty good :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Mar 2016
9.4

Overall we really enjoyed this Hostal. Great breakfast and nice planned activities making it easy to meet people. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
8.9

Great hostel only a few blocks for a central metro station on the same line as the bus station. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and the beds were very comfy with good access to a bathroom and we each had a lock for the door and large lockers so your stuff felt quite safe. It is a very large hostel but never felt to crowded. They have events on most nights which are good ways to meet other people. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make an effort to learn your name.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.