Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Providencia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 974 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 974 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Hostal Providencia Located at Vicuña Mackena 92-A, , Santiago.
Hostal Providencia
Chile
Santiago 7500910 Vicuña Mackena 92-A
86% 974
-33.4412271 -70.6339466
Hostal Providencia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Good if you're looking for a party hostel. The room we had was a private with no air circulation whatsoever, so it got very stuffy and hot. No fan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
5.7

Worst hostel I have ever stayed at. They have quiet hours but no one seems to follow them and the walls are thin so good luck getting sleep. Bathrooms at time smelled like sewage. Some of the staff were accommodating, the rest were very uninformative. Breakfast wasn't always on time and on some days there would be music playing loudly while it is served (back to the sleep issue). To top it all off, not a social atmosphere that you would normally see and take part in when staying at a hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.1

We stayed here on two separate occasions, the first time the room was nice but only had a couple plugs for the whole room. The second time there was 2 plus by each bed so that was great! The breakfast is good however only 1 out of 3 nights there was eggs, we also heard a rumour there was sometimes avocado! Good outside areas to relax but not always enough space. Comfortable beds and nice clean showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Smelled like smoke and not the cleanest. Gets loud at night. Good location and staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Dec 2016
10.0

Best hostelni have stayed at so far in South America. Great people, great staff, amazing breakfast and really clean 😊😊😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
8.9

Excellent location, friendly staff, good breakfast compared to other cities in Chile. Big and nice common area, but since the bedrooms don't have an outlet to charge the phone, everyone was hooked on their phones in the common area which made it hard to socialize. Cold showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! All the rooms do have sockets - but some more than others! Next time you can book in our "Superior" dorms which have a USB socket on each bed with an LED light! I hope you let reception know the shower was cold when you used it? We are constantly checking our installations, but need to know if something's not working! Thanks for your comments, Happy travels,

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Great Hostel. Big but awesome. Lots little areas to chill in and connect with ppl. The staff are lovely here :) good location too. Do keep your wits about you in the city.. Its a city so be safe. Thanks guys! We had a fab time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Dec 2016
10.0

Located right next to a downtown metro station, this is a great place to stay! The staff is all very friendly and even though the hostel is very large, it has many nice areas to hang out and meet fellow travelers. If I ever go to Santiago again, I would definitely stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! And thanks for your review! We enjoyed having you! Having cool people arrive from all over the world is what keeps our jobs interesting! We hope to see you next time! Peace!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
8.6

Overall had a good stay in a twin room. Small, but had everything you needed. It's worth noting that sounds bounces a lot here, and so even late at night just a few people talking outside made the room quite loud. Great breakfast and daily activities! Staff was also super helpful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for your review! If you want a bit more privacy next time book one of our "Superior" rooms which are more isolated and tranquil. That's great you enjoyed the activities in the bar! We're mixing some free Pisco Sours in the bar right now! It's really nice to hear you appreciated the staff's help - we all know how it is being new to a city so try our best to allow you to get the most out of your stay. Safe travels and we hope to see you again someday!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Dec 2016
9.1

Nice & helpful staff, located in the city center!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your review! We're glad you had a good time! All the lovely guests that arrive are what inspires us so thanks for coming! We'll be here the next time you're in Santiago! Safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.