Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Providencia

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Hostal Providencia Located at Vicuña Mackena 92-A, , Santiago.
Hostal Providencia
Chile
Santiago 7500910 Vicuña Mackena 92-A
87% 817
-33.4412271 -70.6339466
Hostal Providencia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel with everything you could possibly need. Helpful staff and tourist agency. Good central location. Pretty big so lots of people to meet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.4

Great Hostal. Staff were great and really went out of there way to help. Facilities were good - bar, laundry machines, coffee/vending machine etc. The only issue is the hot water - it's really inconsistent and sometimes it's freezing cold. I think if hot water was repaired it would be 10/10. Thanks to everyone at the Hostal providencia for a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
6.9

We stayed in a private room with ensuite which was very comfortable, warm and clean. The reception staff are really friendly and helpful, although they are always really busy which makes it difficult to communicate/ book tours etc. The bar is advertised to shut at 11pm every night, however we were staying directly above it and felt the music actually got louder at 11pm each night and continued well after the closing times. Breakfast was understaffed and under catered, very dirty & unhygienic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
9.1

Best staff. Super helpful and multilingual. Best hostel experience in my years of traveling. Bring USD to pay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

A fun hostel with lots to do! Great location and activities going on every day and night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jun 2016
10.0

Very friendly hostel. Some rooms are a bit quirky with very narrow doors. Great breakfast and good bar at night. They organise a lot of events and meal nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2016
9.7

The place is so clean, the location is great and the breakfast is so good. It's massive, so it doesn't have that intimate party vibe that other hostels have, but it's a great base. There are several kitchens where you can make your own food and it's only about a 20 minute walk to delis and markets, and a 5 minute walk to bars and clubs. I'd pay the extra dollar and get a standard room as each bed comes equipped with its own light and charging station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jun 2016
6.6

Huge hostel, so bad atmosphere. Cold showers. Staff were okay. You're not allowed to bring in your own alcohol to the communal area. Breakfast is good. It's fine, but not the nicest or funnest place. Would have been an okay stop over if there had been hot water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for your opinion! What a shame the shower you used was cold!?! Did you ask in reception where the next nearest one was to your room? We have 25 communal bathrooms with showers throughout the hostel, there will have been one nearby with hot water - please ask us next time! It's true you can´t bring in alcohol from outside, but we do find everyone enjoys the bar, especially the free cocktail nights twice a week! The bar couldn't exist if we didn't have this policy as it has to work financially too. What a shame you didn't enjoy the atmosphere? We are working hard(!) to make the hostel a fun place to be, this week we had a wine "tasting" session, every night we put on activities in the bar to get people together, and we are coming up with new ideas all the time! Thanks again for your opinion, I hope next time you're in Santiago you can come by and give us any more ideas!

16th Jun 2016
7.1

Good hostel, a lot of people's from time to time. The breakfast is also good including eggs and fruits. Wifi is fast and works in the dorms. The hostel is massive though, but it's alright.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.9

Didn't actually stay here because we had to catch a flight but staff were very accommodating and let us use facilities and leave our bags. Nice people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.