Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Hostal Rana Located at Calle 10a No.10-31, , Villa de Leyva.
Hostal Rana
Colombia
Villa de Leyva Calle 10a No.10-31
81% 278
5.6330693 -73.5258722
Hostal Rana
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Oct 2016
7.7

We were there in low season and were the only ones staying at the hostel, so we didn't spend much time there. The owner has a gordito dog (black lab-ish) named Pepe who loves to be petted. We stayed in a private double with ensuite which was clean, the bed was fairly comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.3

I had a lovely stay at La Rana. La senora was helpful, friendly, and accomdating. I stayed in a private room with a private bathroom and I was very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • taraegriffin663
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Oct 2016
8.3

Don´ t arrive late, otherwise you won´ t have the bed you reserved...back hurts now from the couch. Otherwise nice place, friendly people. Que no llegas tarde, yo llegue tarde y cuando llegue ya no estaba mi cama en el dormitorio y toco quedar en un sofa cama, además no tenia puerta entonces dolio mi espalda el siguente día. Aparte que esto el lugar fue chevere y la gente amable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
6.9

Great location walkable from the train station. Spacious bunk room. However my biggest issue was with the lack of running water. I woke up and the water was brown. When the water was clean again finally, the hot water heater was not working. The water was not just a bit cold, it was freezing cold. I think having clean, running water is essential.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2016
10.0

Hostal rana is a paradise within paradise. Maria, the owner is a special lady and really cares about your experience in villa de leyva...the town, the hostal is a great laid back experience, and a perfect place to decompress after bogota or any prior city. Plus Pepe the hostal dog is the cutest, friendliest dog I've ever met.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.4

It was a great stay except the cold water from 8 am on ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent, helpful staff. Only downside was the WiFi did not work in dorm. I enjoyed my stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

excellent place to stay, staff is open to help and to give good advices about what to do and see at the town. very comfortable and amazing toilets with hot water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.4

I enjoyed staying at this hostel. Located in the very centre of Villa de Leyva this place is spotlessly clean and well kept (everyone noticed that). Cozy, small courtyard is a good place just chill, read a book or just chat with others. The owner can be a bit moody at times, but generally is helpful and friendly. I accidentally locked my locker and left the key inside. She was quick to sort the problem. I definitely recommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
7.1

Hostel is clean and centrally located but other than that, not much going for it. The layout is odd-- dorm rooms are far from the bathrooms and there is no apparent check-in/ reception area so that was a little confusing. It was under construction when I visited so maybe things will get better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.