Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.7
Hostal Rana Located at Calle 10a No.10-31, , Villa de Leyva.
Hostal Rana
Colombia
Villa de Leyva Calle 10a No.10-31
84% 267
5.6330693 -73.5258722
Hostal Rana
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.4

It was a great stay except the cold water from 8 am on ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent, helpful staff. Only downside was the WiFi did not work in dorm. I enjoyed my stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2016
10.0

excellent place to stay, staff is open to help and to give good advices about what to do and see at the town. very comfortable and amazing toilets with hot water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.4

I enjoyed staying at this hostel. Located in the very centre of Villa de Leyva this place is spotlessly clean and well kept (everyone noticed that). Cozy, small courtyard is a good place just chill, read a book or just chat with others. The owner can be a bit moody at times, but generally is helpful and friendly. I accidentally locked my locker and left the key inside. She was quick to sort the problem. I definitely recommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
7.1

Hostel is clean and centrally located but other than that, not much going for it. The layout is odd-- dorm rooms are far from the bathrooms and there is no apparent check-in/ reception area so that was a little confusing. It was under construction when I visited so maybe things will get better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.0

A nice hostel with a friendly owner, and modern bathrooms and bedrooms. There is a nice courtyard however this is the only social space, which is a problem when it's cold! Not much atmosphere either, with no music or anything, and it's pretty dark in the courtyard at night. No breakfast but there are a few cheap cafes serving nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.7

We stayed one night in a private room at Hostel Rana. The room was good and the hostel was fine as well. We were quite satisfied until the next morning: we had gone for 30 minutes to get some groceries and when we came back at 9.30 the hostel lady plus 3 workers had put all our stuff into one corner and had taken out the bed to switch it with the one in the other room. The hostel lady had enough time to ask us beforehand or just wait 30 minutes since we left at 10 anyways. Very unprofessional!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
8.9

This place was perfectly fine but nothing memorable. The bathrooms are very clean and private. As others have mentioned, it is a 10 bed dorm, not 8, but that didn't matter much since there were only 6 people. The woman who runs the place is helpful, but only if you ask questions. There is a fair amount of construction going on and they have some electrical problems, but I was comfortable there for a night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
8.3

Strange way to start a review, but the bathrooms here are unbelievably good - better than some hotels I've stayed in. The location of hostel - midway between the bus station and the plaza - is also pretty much ideal. All in all this was a good place to stay and I would do so again if I returned to villa de leyva. The only slight quibbles are that the wifi is a bit patchy and also, while the dorm is advertised as an 8 bed when you book, it's actually 10 beds. Perhaps an honest mistake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.0

Excellent location and very comfortable beds. However, we seemed to be annoying the owner whenever we needed to ask anything and when we checked in (I speak fluent Spanish, so no language barrier). Clean kitchen and lockers available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.