Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Hostal Rana Located at Calle 10a No.10-31, , Villa de Leyva.
Hostal Rana
Colombia
Villa de Leyva Calle 10a No.10-31
82% 253
5.6330693 -73.5258722
Hostal Rana
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
7.1

Hostel is clean and centrally located but other than that, not much going for it. The layout is odd-- dorm rooms are far from the bathrooms and there is no apparent check-in/ reception area so that was a little confusing. It was under construction when I visited so maybe things will get better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.0

A nice hostel with a friendly owner, and modern bathrooms and bedrooms. There is a nice courtyard however this is the only social space, which is a problem when it's cold! Not much atmosphere either, with no music or anything, and it's pretty dark in the courtyard at night. No breakfast but there are a few cheap cafes serving nearby.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
8.9

This place was perfectly fine but nothing memorable. The bathrooms are very clean and private. As others have mentioned, it is a 10 bed dorm, not 8, but that didn't matter much since there were only 6 people. The woman who runs the place is helpful, but only if you ask questions. There is a fair amount of construction going on and they have some electrical problems, but I was comfortable there for a night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
8.3

Strange way to start a review, but the bathrooms here are unbelievably good - better than some hotels I've stayed in. The location of hostel - midway between the bus station and the plaza - is also pretty much ideal. All in all this was a good place to stay and I would do so again if I returned to villa de leyva. The only slight quibbles are that the wifi is a bit patchy and also, while the dorm is advertised as an 8 bed when you book, it's actually 10 beds. Perhaps an honest mistake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.0

Excellent location and very comfortable beds. However, we seemed to be annoying the owner whenever we needed to ask anything and when we checked in (I speak fluent Spanish, so no language barrier). Clean kitchen and lockers available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.9

Maria, the lady who host the hostel is really funny even if you don't speak spanish that good. Helpful if you have any question for the buses or activities you want to do but I'm not sure you can book something through her. Great location, you can easly walk there from the bus station. Only downside is there is only two bathroom/shower (great though). Doorm a bit small for the amount of bed but the people are real nice. Would def go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
8.6

This hostel has a amazing setup Its built around a relaxing, inviting courtyard The owner is helpful and friendly Except she recommend a bad place to rent a bike VillaDeLeyvaExpedicione It was not good as bike was in bad condition and they had bad maps and no signs to find any of the promised attractions A few negatives were the young European travelers staying in the hostel were stuck-up, unwelcoming and unfriendly Not the owners fault but made for an uncomfortable vibe But overall good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nathan_kendal4805
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
18th May 2016
9.1

Nice hostel, lovely owners. Good price. Bunk bed was awkward to get into, no ladder and beam directly above the end of the bed, limbo style entrance required. Good location close to the bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brayden19899212
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th May 2016
8.6

Located right near the main square and close to bus terminal. Bathrooms were really nice and outdoor kitchen and hamocks were good. Limited power outlets in room so had to charge outside but was a good courtyard to chat with other travelers. Maybe could include breakfast for the price but overall had a good stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
9.4

This is perhaps the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. The señora who runs the place was súper friendly and helpful. The dorm was peaceful with comfortable beds, nice outdoor kitchen in the courtyard and gloriously hot showers. Definitley recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.