Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Rural

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.3

Great vibe and really, really friendly and helpful staff. The only cons were the dorms that can get overheated at night with few natural light / window.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
6.0

Other than Rachel the staff was rude and unhelpful. Rachel went out of her way to see if we could get a refund when something went wrong on one of the tours we booked whereas the other blonde girl was rude and seemed clueless. They do not lock bedroom doors so make sure you bring a lock for the lockers. If you're looking for a quiet place, this isn't it. They play loud music all day until 12 am. Also, don't book tours through the hostel, they overcharge compared to the tour companies.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Mar 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels i've ever been! Nice staff, nice terrace, clean rooms, nice music. Perfect located. i deffinitely reccomend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
6.9

hostel rural is definitely one of the coolest looking hostels you'll likely encounter but unfortunately once you get past the hammocks and chill spaces Rural is missing a lot. We were in the room next to the bar which was very noisy until midnight, is a sauna/mosquito n and didn't leave us with much space. Breakfast is also miserly, a single piece of bread, some jam and very bad coffee. Also needs more showers and bathrooms. Staff wise Rachel is fantastic but the rest we encountered not so much

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
8.0

Pros - good vibe - easy to meet ppl before tours - girl on reception at night (sorry I can't remember your name!!!) was incredible helpful and friendly. Lovely to check in with someone so on the ball! Cons - rooms very hot at night and small and cramped - the breakfast does not compare to other hostels. Rather than greeting you with hello you get 'one piece of bread' barked at you as you go to eat - tours are overpriced. Book the same tour with one of the external agencies and save yourself $$

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Loved the decoration in this hostel! It's close to the main street and has a good vibe. They offer tours in the hostel, which is a bit more expensive than other tour companies.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing staff and location. Awesome hostel layout. Love love love

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel! Really cool vibe, awesome friendly & helpful staff, and perfect location right near everything in San Pedro. Lots of backpackers and social vibe, easy to meet people. The outdoor bar upstairs is the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.9

Overall AMAZING hostel in every way! BUT... watch out, the hostel rips you off for tours. Cheaper to go directly to the agencies they use. Hostel staff will lie through their teeth to get their commission. Even the multi tour 'deals' they offer are a rip off. Such a shame, as I always trust hostels to be transparent and helpful, not scammy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.4

Great plce to stay. A nice balance between party and quiet. I recommend it highly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.