Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Rural

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Hostal Rural Located at Centro, Calle Calama 257, , San Pedro de Atacama.
Hostal Rural
Chile
San Pedro de Atacama Antofagasta 1410000 Centro, Calle Calama 257
85% 1191
-22.9118355 -68.2014942
Hostal Rural
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jan 2017
8.6

Good location, usually good crowds. The bar is small but enough to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
6.3

Staff was super and helpful especially Alejandra! Other that... I was really unimpressed and uncomfortable by this hostel. One of my friends even tried to sleep standing rather than in one of the dingy beds that just looked unclean. It definitely was a rough experience and I wouldn't stay there again, especially because the first time was ridiculously loud. Wouldn't recommend it unless you're not picky with having a clean environment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.0

El dueño es un hombre muuuy agresivo, a pito de nada se vuelve loco... me dijo que me podía ir a buscar otro hostal si no me iba a acostar (eran las 2am y estaba callada fumando un cigarro)... al día siguiente me acerqué a él para ver qué pasaba, y me dijo "agradece que no te eche" y que me crucé frente de él en un mal momento... pero al día siguiente mis amigos vieron el mismo comportamiento. Se le acabo la batería al computador donde ponía música, se enojo y lo tiró al suelo...deja que desear

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
5.7

Pro's: good location, great atmosphere with a nice bar, ideal place to meet people. Con's: beds are crap, no hot water and security is nearly inexistant (some tiny lockers for key valuables but main entrance and rooms are open to anyone 24h/7).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.4

Wonderful stay at Hostel Rural! Awesome people and very helpful staff. Breakfast is not special, but ok. The location is great, right around the corner of one of San Pedro's main streets. Best thing were the beautifully designed hostel, the ping pong table and the hammocks ;) Would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
8.3

Location perfect. Compared with other hostels in south america it is quite expensive, but the same price as the others in atacama. The staff is really nice and cheerful, and they make an effort for you to feel happy but they need to work a bit in the way they book their tours: they were always great but kind of a mess when you wanted to book something. Comfy beds! Ask for hot water, they will arrange it for you! The only thing I would add would be an interior common are (cold outside at night!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
8.3

The atmosphere is really good, although there was not always warm water for showering.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2016
7.7

Not a bad place to stay given it's central location but I preferred Hostal Campo Base for its amenities, cleanliness, breakfast (this place had none), free filtered water and quietness. This place was more social although they sometimes had music playing at night that could make it hard to sleep. Their lockers were also on the small side -- not big enough to fit a large backpack. They also recommended and booked a star gazing tour for me with a company that was absolutely terrible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Dec 2016
6.3

Was recommended this hostel so had high expectations, however miscommunication regarding a tour was handled badly by staff. This made for a tense atmosphere and an unpleasant stay. The hostel had a good location and the decor was nice, but having not been told to ask for the boiler to be put on I had a cold shower, and it was the only one shared between many rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Dec 2016
8.3

Atmosphere great, but cold showers and abysmal wifi. The staff who checked me in were really awesome and welcoming (alejandra and a guy with dreadlocks) and made a real effort to make me feel welcome, carried my bags etc. Evening bbq was good fun and a good price too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.