X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Rural Reviews

Centro, Calle Calama 257, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
497 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Nice hostel, the help you with the tours.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Good location, good facilities with hot water most of the time and a good atmosphere to meet people. No breakfast, but good kitchen. Location is right off the main street. I'd recommend staying here while in San Pedro.


57%

Hostel Rrual hasn't very clean bathrooms. Although the staff is really nice, the cleanliness could improve a lot.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

VEry nice staff, always helpful regardless if you stay there or not. Also very good English skills. The hostel's atmosphere is more for younger folks who love to party a lot, so it gets a bit loud in the nights.


71%

Stayed here as there wasn't much choice in San Pedro when we booked - the hostel itself is clean and plesant. Didn't have storage for rucksacks in the rooms and the atmosphere was pretty poor as I think most people were either planning or returning from through Salt Flats trip. Hostel did organise our Salt Flats trip for us and can't flaunt them on that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is unbelievable that you can write this, first read about this amazing place, we have over 25 destinations in the area. One of the best sunsets in the world is in the Moon's Valley, and for your information you can go to Peru, South of Chile, Argentina (salta) and bolivia, so please dont say ever again " I think most people were either planning or returning from through Salt Flats trip." SORRY if the quality of the hostel wasnt good enough i mean 95%atmos is just not that good enough huh?

100%

The hostel was great. Was able to check in early and the staff was super friendly. I booked a couple of tours through the hostel but was also recommended other companies that offered slightly more. The atmosphere was great and there were plenty of other great people staying at the hostel. Was able to relax a lot yet be social or do activities whenever. Halloween was very interesting thanks to lots of Pisco!

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel is way overrated: the bunk-beds are super shaky and make noise each time someone turns around; the lockers are super-small; there are reminders everywhere to save water, but the shower in our room was leaking constantly; hot water in the shower barely works and is very hard to adjust; worst thing: staff tries to sell you "the best tours in town", the Luna Valley Tour was crowded (40+ persons) and the Star Gazing was cancelled for no reason. At least I was given an apology. Dont go!


100%

Awesome hostel! Clarence and Ignacio (nacho) are the best!! They helped me plan all of my tours and were great! The atmosphere is very fun and everyone hangs out together in the common space. I wanted to stay longer, but they were booked up. I still hung out there even after I had to move hostels! Highly recommend!


83%

Cool hostel, very relaxed atmosphere. The staff are super friendly and can help with organising any tours or activities around San Pedro. Would recommend this hostel for sure


89%

Nice hostel with helpful staff and a good atmosphere. Enjoyed my stay here. Discounts available on tours compared to booking through tour companies direct.


91%

just around the corner from the main street. decent beds. warm showers although may sometimes be fickle. doesnt include breakfast but if youre going on the tours you probably will leave too early for it anyway! the hostel organizes tours for the same price as most other companies so makes it really convenient. and nightly bonfires are a plus!


89%

This was one of my favourite hostels. The people were super awesome and they took us on some wicked tours too. Thanks to all the staff for making my birthday weekend the best ever. I'll def be back to stay.


86%

Clarence and Nacho on reception were really helpful and friendly and set a great tone for the place. The rooms are comfortable although the hostel would probably benefit from having another bathroom or two. They have a bonfire every night which is really nice and convivial. They have a policy of quiet after midnight out of respect for people going on early tours, although if you are going to the Tatio geysers this only gives you 4 hours to sleep. Overally, really good hostel, would recommend.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

If you want a lively and sociable hostel then Rural is the perfect place. The people who run it make you feel very welcome and are always keen for a party. Clarence especially is an awesome guy who knows the town really well and speaks perfect English. The common area is really cool, wifi is good, it's clean and excellent value for money. If you are in San Pedro for a good time stay here!

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best place to be in San Pedro by far, I really can't even imagine how I could improve that experience. Amazing staff, tours, facilities and people around you. Not to mention the party(S)

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

There are certain things you'll find out only when you get there. The keys, for instance are sticked to the door. You can't take them away. The staff is moody. Some moments they're helpful and nice, a few hours later they act like you annoyed them with your mere existence. They rented us dirty towels and a bed broke during my friend sleep. They would shut off the hot water without previous notice. They lack of outlets in the rooms. None of us 6 would reccomend to anyone. And they are not 24/7.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry if i we seemed angry at you, its really frustrating not to be able to comunicate with you, and i say sorry for not speaking portuguese, about the towels, why you didnt say something, we fixed the bed but your friend broke it again, i dont know what she was doing or if she dived or jump to the bed but breaking 2 times in 3 days is very unlikely. Sorry but i think you were looking for a HOTEL, this is a backpacker hostel. the hot water runned out cause the gas tank runned out.

89%

Cool hostel with great vibes. Friendly staff. Small kitchen. Comfortable and warm beds. Showers are either extremely hot or cold. Consistent wifi. Would definitely recommend a stay here.


94%

Best social hostel I've stayed at in over 9 months of travelling in South America. Creates an amazing atmosphere where it is very easy to make friends. Great for a solo traveller. Also has a very good computer to use. Only negative is that the showers weren't always hot


94%

Awesome hostel, good vibe and friendly staff. I saw only a problem with the showers, because when the hostel is full, it doesn't work so well.


77%

Hostal Rural is a good little place to stay in San Pedro, particularly due to the hospitality of Ignacio. The rooms are decently sized and the Wi-Fi is pretty good, while the walk to the main street is just a couple of minutes. There is a very scoial vibe to the hostel, with the nightly bonfire a great way to meet new people and get the lowdown on any happenings in town. All in all, a nice place to stay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all San Pedro de Atacama Hostels

Please give us your feedback