Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Rural

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Hostal Rural Located at Centro, Calle Calama 257, , San Pedro de Atacama.
Hostal Rural
Chile
San Pedro de Atacama Antofagasta 1410000 Centro, Calle Calama 257
89% 1018
-22.9118355 -68.2014942
Hostal Rural
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
7.4

Nice hostel, nice stuff, nice hammocks to chill out. Unfortunately it is often very loud (music till midnight) and that makes it certainly difficult to sleep as much as one would, specially when the next day trip begins at 5 or 6 o' clock in the morning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Hostal Rural is one of those hostels you never forget for all the right reasons! The two dudes running the show were beyond helpful with any silly request we had for them, made phone calls for us, organised our tours, were chatty and friendly. They also helped establish a social setting by lighting fire on nights where social settings where forming naturally. They organised a live folk singer on one of the nights, helped with advice when my girlfriend got sick. All round amazing guys.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.0

Staff was great, very responsive and provided great help arranging tours, airport transfer and other services. However infrastructure wise hostel is lacking many thinks. Lockers with loose lock, bathrooms with no hangers or place to leave your stuff, dirty bathrooms (often), no reliable supply of warm water for the shower, towels for rent were smelling to smoke no matter what...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.1

Great vibe and friendly helpful staff! They built a fire each night and people sat around, chilling and talking. I booked a few tours through them too and the prices were good. Very clean, comfortable, but there was not much natural light in the dorm. Overall, a great stay here. I would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ttburrows7425
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2016
6.0

While Hostel Rural had a nice charm with bohemian style decorations and good electronic music playing, it needs some major work. Construction was going on while we were staying there, the facilities upstairs were out of commission, the downstairs bathroom was clogged, the wifi was frustratingly intermittent, our beds were not ready upon arrival and kitchen, while cute, is far too small for 43 guests. Also, quiet hours were NOT enforced. People were partying outside our door to 2am. Not acceptabl

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.6

A great place to hang out and meet new people! The atmosphere was so great and all of the other people staying there were so friendly. The staff was also amazing and so nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
6.9

If you like to drink and party and don't care about sleep, toilet paper, or unclogged toilets, this is a great hostel. If any of those doesn't apply, run. Lots of drinking, and the music till midnight is quite loud. At 8am, two of four toilets were disgustingly clogged and none had paper. If you do stay, just double check your tour information as staff who know things aren't available till 10am, long after most tours leave, and the written descriptions aren't always correct.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
6.6

Pros: well located, clean, helpful and really nice staff. Easy to book tours. Nice communal atmosphere. Cons: Quiet hours do not begin until midnight. Music is played loudly over big speakers until midnight. If you enjoy sleep then do not stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
6.9

Everything in this hostel is about two thirds the size it should be. Showers are roughly 2 feet by 2 feet, rooms have 1 bunk bed too many. There's constant loud music playing, and depending on which host is working it's either aggressive or at least at times mellow - I think the hosts misunderstand that loud music doesn't always equal a party. Overpriced for what you get, there are other cheaper hostels down the road.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.3

I only ended up staying here for one night on my way between the salt flats and Santiago. The staff were really helpful when I checked in, sorting out a transfer to the airport for the next morning. The one thing I hadn't realised (and perhaps I'd have spotted if I'd read more) is that this is more of a party hostel than I'd expected. That said, with ear plugs in, I slept through the night without much of a problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.