X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Rural Reviews

Centro, Calle Calama 257, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
469 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Nice hostel with helpful staff and a good atmosphere. Enjoyed my stay here. Discounts available on tours compared to booking through tour companies direct.


91%

just around the corner from the main street. decent beds. warm showers although may sometimes be fickle. doesnt include breakfast but if youre going on the tours you probably will leave too early for it anyway! the hostel organizes tours for the same price as most other companies so makes it really convenient. and nightly bonfires are a plus!


86%

Clarence and Nacho on reception were really helpful and friendly and set a great tone for the place. The rooms are comfortable although the hostel would probably benefit from having another bathroom or two. They have a bonfire every night which is really nice and convivial. They have a policy of quiet after midnight out of respect for people going on early tours, although if you are going to the Tatio geysers this only gives you 4 hours to sleep. Overally, really good hostel, would recommend.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

If you want a lively and sociable hostel then Rural is the perfect place. The people who run it make you feel very welcome and are always keen for a party. Clarence especially is an awesome guy who knows the town really well and speaks perfect English. The common area is really cool, wifi is good, it's clean and excellent value for money. If you are in San Pedro for a good time stay here!

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best place to be in San Pedro by far, I really can't even imagine how I could improve that experience. Amazing staff, tours, facilities and people around you. Not to mention the party(S)

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

There are certain things you'll find out only when you get there. The keys, for instance are sticked to the door. You can't take them away. The staff is moody. Some moments they're helpful and nice, a few hours later they act like you annoyed them with your mere existence. They rented us dirty towels and a bed broke during my friend sleep. They would shut off the hot water without previous notice. They lack of outlets in the rooms. None of us 6 would reccomend to anyone. And they are not 24/7.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry if i we seemed angry at you, its really frustrating not to be able to comunicate with you, and i say sorry for not speaking portuguese, about the towels, why you didnt say something, we fixed the bed but your friend broke it again, i dont know what she was doing or if she dived or jump to the bed but breaking 2 times in 3 days is very unlikely. Sorry but i think you were looking for a HOTEL, this is a backpacker hostel. the hot water runned out cause the gas tank runned out.

89%

Cool hostel with great vibes. Friendly staff. Small kitchen. Comfortable and warm beds. Showers are either extremely hot or cold. Consistent wifi. Would definitely recommend a stay here.


94%

Best social hostel I've stayed at in over 9 months of travelling in South America. Creates an amazing atmosphere where it is very easy to make friends. Great for a solo traveller. Also has a very good computer to use. Only negative is that the showers weren't always hot


94%

Awesome hostel, good vibe and friendly staff. I saw only a problem with the showers, because when the hostel is full, it doesn't work so well.


77%

Hostal Rural is a good little place to stay in San Pedro, particularly due to the hospitality of Ignacio. The rooms are decently sized and the Wi-Fi is pretty good, while the walk to the main street is just a couple of minutes. There is a very scoial vibe to the hostel, with the nightly bonfire a great way to meet new people and get the lowdown on any happenings in town. All in all, a nice place to stay.


100%

Simply perfect :)


94%

Best hostel i've stayed in San pedro!!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks dude!!! we will always remember "the waterrr firee" (terrible french accent) ghahahahahahaha!!!

97%

Wonderful hostel in the heart of San Pedro. We had a fantastic group of random people in our dorm so that made things even better. But it was still an awesome hostel. Nacho was so helpful and honest. We brought in drinks from outside to share around the fire at night and the cave was an awesome chill space. The beds were warm and comfy (no ladder to the top bunk which was a nice challenge). Respect that it's in a dessert and limit you water use please. And enjoy!!


94%

Rural was one of the best surprises during my trip through South America. It felt like home, great place to relax and recharge for more adventures.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved this hostel! Super cool and met some lovely other travelers! Can book all your excursions here too at no extra cost! Great fires at night!!! Love love love!


86%

Great hostel. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Only problem with this hostel was the cold showers.


94%

Overall the atmosphere was incredible, including a bonfire every night. You could always have a good time with the staff, but in organisational way there can still be done a lot of improvement. If you have some important things to take care of, ask more than one time to get the right information or a booking. But still things worked out and we had a great time!


94%

Staff was very friendly and the hostel had a good vibe. The only bad thing was the price.


100%

Stayed 4 nights at Hostel Rural and definitely recomment it! Very good staff always trying to help... You can book all the Atacama tours directly from the hostel which waves you some time.. and by the way they are the best tours ever!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good place - close to the center of San Pedro, friendly atmosphere, and bonfires at night.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all San Pedro de Atacama Hostels

Please give us your feedback