Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Rural

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Best shower I've had on my whole trip, although everyone users the upstairs showers as they're known to be the best for hot water so there can be a queue. Staff were accommodating in that I had to cancel a night at around 6pm as I made a last minute decision to leave to another city that night, and they compassionately allowed me to only pay 30% of the rate, even though it was too late to get a new guest for the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
9.7

Staff are excellent, and is a good place to meet other guests. Highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
8.9

Hostal Rural is perfectly located. There is enough bathrooms but just a few with real hot water (it's a common issue in San Pedro). Atmosphere is awesome, you have a bar on the second floor until midnight. Rooms are ok but don't expect too much (some of them are quite small). The staff is the best I've ever had. Miguel, Ale and Alba will do everything to make your stay a dreamed one. You must keep in mind this is a party hostel so rooms on 2nd floor can be very very noisy (until midnight).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
6.0

I LOVED the travelers I met here, so it was worth the stay, but this hostel leaves a lot to be desired. The sheets were stained and fitted sheet didn't fit, so I woke up on a dirty mattress every morning. Beds are super squeaky, so it's difficult to sleep well when people are coming and going at different times. They offer dinner events that start at 8, but don't serve food until 10 pm. Credit card machine was broken, so had to pay in cash. Front desk staff unhelpful with getting transport

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jul 2017
7.4

The lighting in the rooms made it hard to see The water went out for almost two days, so toilets / sinks / showers couldn't be used

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments, we will check about the lighting, about the water please note this was a problem of the whole town, not the hostel, hope you visit us again!! :)

23rd Jul 2017
10.0

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Came for three days, stayed for nine, during many of which I just hung out here. I was travelling solo and feeling a bit lonely but it is so easy to meet and hang out with other travellers here, and there is a nice mix of age groups from late teens to early 40s. Was worried the bar might be too loud but is not and quiet time is from midnight. Cool little hang out areas. Centrally located. Cannot say enough good things about the staff - just legends. - Pete

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We already miss U, come back soon please!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.7

Decent hostel with great atmosphere, fun and helpful staff and easy to book tours through the hostel. However I was in the room right next to the bar, and there is a gap the width of the door and about a ft high above the door, and the door was difficult to open/close. This meant it was v cold but the worst thing was how loud it was - especially when people are going in and out v early in mornings for tours etc. Would defo stay here again if I wasn't in that room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments we will fix it, :)

  • Fionnoshea
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel. Very clean with great facilities and support from staff. Highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
5.1

This Hostel was FREEZING! No heated rooms in below freezing desert winter temperatures. They provided plenty of blankets for sleeping, but rooms were freezing and all common hangout spaces were outdoors in the cold. Lack of consistent hot showers only made this tougher! One staff Alejandra was amazing- super helpful and extremely responsive. Recommended great tours. SO friendly. We found the other two staff members during our stay to be pretty unhelpful. Played loud music- impossible to sleep.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.6

Good breakfasts and comfortable beds. Mainly hot showers too! The layout of the hostel is cool and the staff are more than happy to help out with booking of tours etc. The hostel is a bit on the pricey side, but the whole of San Pedro is. Would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.