X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Rural Reviews

Centro, Calle Calama 257, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
412 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Special thanks for Clarence he's very help full best guy on front desk cheers buddy

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

El hostal es muy lindo (muy bien decorado), la gente muy agradable, el staff tiene muy buena disposición para ayudarte en todo, la reserva de tours la hacen ellos mismos. El ambiente es de gente joven (20-30), muchos lugares lindos para conversar y relajarse, se permiten fiestas hasta las doce, lo que es muy bueno porq los tours son muy temprano. Buena música! El hostal esta muy bien ubicado a media cuadra de la calle principal y cerca de todas las cosas.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very chilled out hostel which offers lots of day tours. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Kitchen and bathrooms are mediocre. Would recommend this hostel to any backpacker.


100%

amazing hostel! just the best experience that you can have, the atmosphere here is amazing and the staff is very helpful when it comes to tours and keeping the place running smoothly, also if you want to party you have to come here although the receptionists shut everything up at midnight so people can sleep, the location is just unreal! 30 steps from the main street and every dollar that i spent staying here are worth it!

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was very relaxed and had brilliant communal spaces. Staff very friendly and down to earth. Only draw back was the cold showers especially when coming back from tours covered in salt. Seemed that the showers were only hot during certain times of the day.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Amazing location, good for tours but ibises it more to grasp what was acailable before heading out and finding better deals elsewhere. Kitchen was good, beds quite good but very creaky. Toilet roll guys! Please actually give us some! Loved the hammocks and the pit! Clarence was such a great guy, still positive and lovely despite being overworked! Thanks for a great night out the other day!


80%

WE HAD FUN. PABLO AND THE OTHER ONE, WHATEVER HIS NAME WAS, WERE VERY FRIENDLY. Good at their jobs, funny... give them a pay rise blah blah blah....

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

This is a party hostel. If you want a good night's sleep or to get up early for a tour, this is not for you. Very noisy til early hours. Paper-thin walls between dorms and bathrooms (you can hear everyone doing everything!). Staff a bit disorganised at times but got there in the end. Cold showers, no hot water during our stay at all. Positives were great central location, comfy/clean beds and table tennis table!


74%

Nice hostel great value for money in this expensive town. Had no sleep though.. Not well isolated at all. Further staff is great and its goos for party's


83%

Staff reallt friendly, nice vibe in the hostel.


94%

Excelent place! In the heart of San Pedro. Recommend for all backpackers!


86%

My sister and I had a great time here. Pablo who worked in Reception was great as well as Xavier who works around the place. Much of the art work is his doing. Great atmosphere. Very comfortable. I would stay there again for sure!!!


94%

Great hostel. Cosy and good location


100%

Clarence our receptionist showed us such a great time there. Booked all our tours for cheap, hung out in the desert late night, and made a huge hostel wide dinner. Highly recommend and would love to go back one day.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

When I just got at the hostel (around 10pm) there was no one at the reception, I waited and when the staff guy arrived, he realized my bed was not made. The lockers are really small, you can't put a bag in there, just small stuff. It could have more plugs as well. The bathrooms were clean, the location is perfect. I booked the tour to Salar de Tara at the hostel and it was great.


69%

Hostel in a very good location of the town. Average staff, not the cleanlinest bathrooms and quite often queues. Can be quite a noisy place with groups of party travellers. Yet, the atmosphere in the hostel is better than in many others.


100%

Unbelievable location and crazzzy affordable. Awesome vibe, meet great people, and the staff was great (even that clown Clarence) hah everyone is really laid back and.all about helping you have a great stay in san pedro. The comments about people stealing stuff are laughable these guys dont have a bad bone in their bodies, one of em even loaned me a jacket when it was cold. Don't stay anywhere else unless youre rich and boring. America OUT

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best staff ever. Cheapest tour offers and awesome atmosphere!


49%

Administration is on hands of too young kids and it shows in certain aspects such as tidiness and organization. Upon arrival they had no record of our reservations. They have rules they don't follow themselves, such as not touching other's food and beverages in the fridge. Room and bathrooms were not clean, dust and dirt under the beds and behind the doors. It has only 2 showers for all the guests. Constant requests to replace the toilet paper in the bathroom. Need of sensor-lights for the night

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a great time staying here, the hostal is very cool with a relaxed and friendly vibe. We kept our bags in the reception all day after check-out & they accomodated us hanging around! Very friendly staff, to get fully involved it helps if you speak Spanish (which I don't really) but still excellent English spoken! If you are looking for somewhere super organised this isn't for you, however, we booked two tours through the hostel & they were great! I'd stay again for a fun & relaxed place!


(42 results)


View all San Pedro de Atacama Hostels

Please give us your feedback