X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostal Rural Reviews

Centro, Calle Calama 257, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
429 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

This hostel in great local, staff were awesome, Clarence is the main reason we stayed. Its the desert so dust happens, no problem, hammocks and ping pong table were sweet. Only issue was no closed in area, but this isnt usually a problem, but thus May was crazy weather cold, snow, and sandstorms, very unusual, no fault on hostel. Would stay again, but no double beds if you want.


89%

Wonderful showers, beds were alright. Clarence was awesome, took us all out and showed us good parts of the city and where to party.


80%

Great hostal, even though that sometimes the reception is unorganized and hence mistakes happen.


63%

Expensive for what it is but I think everywhere in Atacama is pricey. It's a cool hostel with a laid back vibe in the day with hammocks to chill in


100%

Was travelling alone, and was sort of stuck in san pedro for almost 2 weeks. Was probably the best place to be stuck in, on the planet. Staff were amazing, so helpful, and also very keen to have a good time. Honestly couldnt fault this place. A bloody plus

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an amazing time at Rural! Staff was excellent! Clarence was very nice and he helped me a lot by booking some great tours for me! thanks a lot Clarence, maybe see you again soon! Reinout

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Special thanks for Clarence he's very help full best guy on front desk cheers buddy

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

El hostal es muy lindo (muy bien decorado), la gente muy agradable, el staff tiene muy buena disposición para ayudarte en todo, la reserva de tours la hacen ellos mismos. El ambiente es de gente joven (20-30), muchos lugares lindos para conversar y relajarse, se permiten fiestas hasta las doce, lo que es muy bueno porq los tours son muy temprano. Buena música! El hostal esta muy bien ubicado a media cuadra de la calle principal y cerca de todas las cosas.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very chilled out hostel which offers lots of day tours. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Kitchen and bathrooms are mediocre. Would recommend this hostel to any backpacker.


100%

amazing hostel! just the best experience that you can have, the atmosphere here is amazing and the staff is very helpful when it comes to tours and keeping the place running smoothly, also if you want to party you have to come here although the receptionists shut everything up at midnight so people can sleep, the location is just unreal! 30 steps from the main street and every dollar that i spent staying here are worth it!

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was very relaxed and had brilliant communal spaces. Staff very friendly and down to earth. Only draw back was the cold showers especially when coming back from tours covered in salt. Seemed that the showers were only hot during certain times of the day.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Amazing location, good for tours but ibises it more to grasp what was acailable before heading out and finding better deals elsewhere. Kitchen was good, beds quite good but very creaky. Toilet roll guys! Please actually give us some! Loved the hammocks and the pit! Clarence was such a great guy, still positive and lovely despite being overworked! Thanks for a great night out the other day!


80%

WE HAD FUN. PABLO AND THE OTHER ONE, WHATEVER HIS NAME WAS, WERE VERY FRIENDLY. Good at their jobs, funny... give them a pay rise blah blah blah....

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

This is a party hostel. If you want a good night's sleep or to get up early for a tour, this is not for you. Very noisy til early hours. Paper-thin walls between dorms and bathrooms (you can hear everyone doing everything!). Staff a bit disorganised at times but got there in the end. Cold showers, no hot water during our stay at all. Positives were great central location, comfy/clean beds and table tennis table!


74%

Nice hostel great value for money in this expensive town. Had no sleep though.. Not well isolated at all. Further staff is great and its goos for party's


83%

Staff reallt friendly, nice vibe in the hostel.


94%

Excelent place! In the heart of San Pedro. Recommend for all backpackers!


86%

My sister and I had a great time here. Pablo who worked in Reception was great as well as Xavier who works around the place. Much of the art work is his doing. Great atmosphere. Very comfortable. I would stay there again for sure!!!


94%

Great hostel. Cosy and good location


100%

Clarence our receptionist showed us such a great time there. Booked all our tours for cheap, hung out in the desert late night, and made a huge hostel wide dinner. Highly recommend and would love to go back one day.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(43 results)


View all San Pedro de Atacama Hostels

Please give us your feedback