Hostelworld.com

Hostal Santo Domingo

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
3.7

Abandon all hope ye who enter here. Hostel doesn't have TV, a computer, or laundry service or any books (travel guides or otherwise). Staff couldn't give me info on anything. No one hangs out in common areas - it's so empty during the day it's creepy. One night, a guy in the room woke me up touching me in the middle of the night. They tried to figure out who it was but I don't think he ended up getting kicked out. Never again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Very clean rooms and common area. Friendly staff. 3 blocks from zocolo. Excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
10.0

This place is great; I've stayed here twice now. It's perfect for a budget traveler: beds are good, place is clean, and it has a chill vibe. Also, the location and price are great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
6.6

The location is very good, 5 minutes away from the Zocalo, that is about the highlight of the hostel. Staff is ok, but not super friendly. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms very basic, there isn't a shower curtain, so the whole bathroom gets wet + no lid on the toilet. Wifi is sketchy, one guy at reception told us that they keep the better wifi code for private rooms?? Breakfast is ok, nice to sit in the yard. For the price you pay, it's ok, but I stayed in far nicer hostels in Mexico.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • xMagnifico
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.6

The hostel is good located, clean and had friendly staff. Don't expect to have a conversation in English with them. The breakfast was with a bowl of cerials and 2 toasts too less for me personally

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vyctoryta1245
  • Vanuatu, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.7

Superb place, we stayed in a private double room with two double beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

This is a great old building close to the zocalo but is more like a hotel than a hostel. The wifi only worked in the common areas. If you reserve here contact them directly to be SURE that you don't get a room on the street=the patio doors to the street have large cracks in them and my room was extremely noisy' I was going to stay for 5 days but shortened it to 2 and i wear ear plugs

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • claassencp1671
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.3

there never was hot water in my room even though i was told to run it for 10 min. the hostel also had some very large group meeting in the common area for 3 nights of our stay, with loud talking 9-11pm. a few of them were paying customers it seemed but the rest of us had to wait until 11 to try to sleep. breakfast was toast, jam, cereal, coffee, every morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
9.1

One day we didn't have hot water, other than that it was ok

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Dec 2016
7.4

Breakfast is nice, staff does their job. Really close to main square! Environment was ok. Too large image of Virgin Mary of Guadalupe in eating and social area for my taste. Most hostel travelers rarely are very religious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.