Hostelworld.com

Hostal Talar

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 287 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 287 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
Hostal Talar Located at Pachamama 657, , San Pedro de Atacama.
Hostal Talar
Chile
San Pedro de Atacama Región de Antofagasta 1410000 Pachamama 657
76% 287
-22.9150052 -68.1955633
Hostal Talar
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2016
6.0

Facility seemed perfect, big kitchen, clean and warm showers BUT we got eaten alive by bed bugs. We were supposed to stay 4 nights but obviously left after the first. Killed three and even showed the host a live bed bug which she sprayed with raid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.0

Had a very relaxed stay here. The host is superfriendly and kitchen is well equipped and spacious. Not much happening here, not many people around. Room was just fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel. Just 8 minutes walking to the centre, two minimarkets just next to the hostel. Jessie, the owner, is very sweet and friendly and the two cats roaming around are so cute! The rooms behind the reception are not that nice, because there are no windows to the outside, just to the reception room, and there is not much air circulation. No breakfast included, but they have a kitchen with tea and coffee.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.6

This is a great choice for a stay in San Pedro de Atacama; it's only a block away from the bus station and it isn't that far from the centre (which you only really need to visit to book tours anyway). It features a nice common area to chat to other travellers and the kitchen and dorms are nice and spacious. The owner, Jessica, is absolutely delightful and extremely helpful (it helps to know some Spanish though..). The only slight drawback is the lack of breakfast, but there is a minimart nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mlseukendorf1555
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.9

Owner was extremely helpful in sorting out some trouble with SKY Airline (worst airline I ever encountered) - no way to thank her enough for that. It's a very cozy place. The owner will change in may 2016.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Mar 2016
6.3

OK for a night. Our double room was clean but no A/C or fan. There was no hot water until the 3rd day, and then only after we repeatedly raised the issue with the manager and received different explanations. It seemed she would be content to leave the hot water as it was, ie none. Only after we pressed the issue was a person called in who fixed the problem within a few minutes. The gas igniter was not activating due to a flat battery. It had nothing to do with the town's water supply. .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2016
8.3

Hostal Talar was exactly what we needed for our stay in the Atacama. Nothing is big in the town so this hostel was on the smaller side but that's normal for the area. It's right next to two little markets to get water and snacks and about 10ish minutes walking to town. Close to the bus station too. Kitchen was big and easy to cook in. I especially liked the woman who was working the place. She was very friendly and always giving advice- really sweet lady. Overall good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hugueslavergne9497
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
14th Feb 2016
8.0

10 mins of walk from the center of the city. Nice place with hamacs, piknic table and a fire place. For some reasons, people where not partying at night even with the proper conditions. Their tours where pricy compared of what you can get in the city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2016
2.0

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL! The owner is extremely rude and that made our stay unconfortable and stressful. The guests are always worried about being yelled at.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jan 2016
8.9

Jess is a very pleasant and friendly host who takes care of her visitors. I received useful information when I wanted to book some tours and when I didn't feel like doing a tour they suggested some nice bicycle trips in the environment of San Pedro. The town centre is on walking distance and a super- & mini market are next door. Facilities are basic, but definetely a plus is the spacious kitchen. I enjoyed my 6 nights at Talar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.