Hostelworld.com

Hostal Transilvania

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.4

The hostel was great, first we got a bad room they only use when there are too many people, but they gave us a better one the next day. Breakfast for 2 dollars is nice, the garden area is also comfortable and the dog is very cute. They were very helpful with the tours, searching for bus etc. Would go again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.9

The staff was great and also has a great location. They had a lot of connections so planning day trips or longer trips was easy and cheap. They also had a cheap and good breakfast. The rooms were a bit small, even the two beds room. They have a place to lock up your belongings, but no personal lockers. The owners know what backpackers want, and overall the experience was good. I would recommend it to others for places to stay in Banos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
9.7

This is the place you need to stay, great value for money, central location but still quiet and the family who run the place are helpful and friendly. You won't regret booking this one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

I absolutely loved Hostal Transilvania, especially the family and staff Marcel and Javier, they are amazing. They helped us set up all of the adventure activities we did while in Baños, highly recommend the rafting and bike ride to the waterfalls! Cute dog alert!!!! We loved hanging out with Stitch! Perfect location right in city centre, close to the bus station, breakfast included and a nice patio for chilling! Also its pretty quiet, but they have a guitar and encourage jamming!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.4

We stayed 1 night in a double room which was really cheap and included a decent size breakfast. The room was clean & shower hot however the mattress was worn & it felt as though we were sleeping on the wooden slats rather than a mattress. Also our room was on the ground floor in front of the smoking area so our room smelt of smoke which was horrible considering we aren't smokers. The owners are nice however we felt like we were intruding in their home during certain times. Good for a stop over.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Dec 2016
7.1

Booked a double room for 3 nights. Room was clean and bathroom ok. Showerhead was a bit broken. Nights were a little loud but I think that's anywhere in town due to those party buses. The owner was a bit cold, his wife very friendly though. Kitchen times make it hard to cook for yourself (2-5pm and 9-11pm)+ kitchen is very small. Not many ppl there during our stay. No contact with other travelers exept for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
8.9

Really great hostel, amazing breakfast and the family are lovely, would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
9.1

A +! Staff were very accommodating and helpful, letting us sleep in the common area/outdoor hangout space when we arrived early + exhausted the first day, helping us to plan our adventures each day in both English and Spanish. This was the lowest priced hostal we found, and breakfast is included!!! Loved the beds, clean sheets/blankets/towels/floors. Right downtown location, very close to the Leprechaun bar which I would also recommend (fire pit + free flaming shot!)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
18th Oct 2016
8.3

Amazing breakfast and friendly staff. Just wish the kitchen was open at better times as it ended up being too busy when it became free and we couldn't cook.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.0

Great location and really good breakfast, good size rooms but cold showers :( slightly odd atmosphere, feels like you're intruding on someone's home! Very good value double rooms though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.