Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Transilvania

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Feb 2017
6.9

Stayed in a private room with my boyfriend, just a couple insectes visited us here as most hostels offer haha! The hostel has limited kitchen hours from about 2pm-11pm and will lock the outside doors at midnight but there is another door you can ring your way in through. There is a cute pup and cat that are pretty friendly. The pool table is only a tiny slanted. Baños is so small the location anywhere will be close to everything. Overall the hostel was decent for the $14 / night for a private room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Feb 2017
7.7

Good cheap hostel with central location in Baños. $2 breakfast was delicious and staff were very friendly and helpful. Only negative - not enough space in rooms, too many beds crammed in and nowhere for people to put their bags

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.4

The hostel was great, first we got a bad room they only use when there are too many people, but they gave us a better one the next day. Breakfast for 2 dollars is nice, the garden area is also comfortable and the dog is very cute. They were very helpful with the tours, searching for bus etc. Would go again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.9

Hostel is an in an awesome location and amazing price. Staff are fantastic and super helpful. Rooms basic but clean. Would certainly stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.9

The staff was great and also has a great location. They had a lot of connections so planning day trips or longer trips was easy and cheap. They also had a cheap and good breakfast. The rooms were a bit small, even the two beds room. They have a place to lock up your belongings, but no personal lockers. The owners know what backpackers want, and overall the experience was good. I would recommend it to others for places to stay in Banos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
9.7

This is the place you need to stay, great value for money, central location but still quiet and the family who run the place are helpful and friendly. You won't regret booking this one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

I absolutely loved Hostal Transilvania, especially the family and staff Marcel and Javier, they are amazing. They helped us set up all of the adventure activities we did while in Baños, highly recommend the rafting and bike ride to the waterfalls! Cute dog alert!!!! We loved hanging out with Stitch! Perfect location right in city centre, close to the bus station, breakfast included and a nice patio for chilling! Also its pretty quiet, but they have a guitar and encourage jamming!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.4

We stayed 1 night in a double room which was really cheap and included a decent size breakfast. The room was clean & shower hot however the mattress was worn & it felt as though we were sleeping on the wooden slats rather than a mattress. Also our room was on the ground floor in front of the smoking area so our room smelt of smoke which was horrible considering we aren't smokers. The owners are nice however we felt like we were intruding in their home during certain times. Good for a stop over.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Dec 2016
7.1

Booked a double room for 3 nights. Room was clean and bathroom ok. Showerhead was a bit broken. Nights were a little loud but I think that's anywhere in town due to those party buses. The owner was a bit cold, his wife very friendly though. Kitchen times make it hard to cook for yourself (2-5pm and 9-11pm)+ kitchen is very small. Not many ppl there during our stay. No contact with other travelers exept for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
8.9

Really great hostel, amazing breakfast and the family are lovely, would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.