Hostelworld.com

Hostal Transilvania

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Hostal Transilvania Located at 16 de diciembre s/n, y oriente, Banos.
Hostal Transilvania
Ecuador
Banos 16 de diciembre s/n, y oriente
81% 190
-1.3958122 -78.4087371
Hostal Transilvania
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Apr 2016
8.3

Great location near good food and bars. Nice staff very willing to help you book your day trips or jungle trips. Best options for breakfast, included, that I've had in my many of hostel stays yet in South America. Cool place to kick it after a long day of hiking, riding or jumping off bridges. I would stay again given the chance to be back in Banos.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.9

Fantastic hostel, couple who run Hostal Transilvania are so lovely and so helpful, other staff are great, perfect location for everything in Baños, pancakes at breakfast were unbelievable, pool table and loads of films, WiFi a bit dodgy, but thank you so much for my stay, I will be back !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
5.7

Wifi is awful here, do not leave anything important like flight booking to here! Nice free breakfast (you get a choice), good central location. Not massively clean. Woman who owns the place is very nice and accommodating (she let us have free rolls!) but the younger boys are very stare-y and not as friendly. Dog is super cute. Stupid rules like charging for filling up water bottles even though water in a cup is free and not being allowed to use kitchen 5pm-9pm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

there was a temporary problem with the internet provider, not with our wifi. we are planning to switch to optic fiber as soon as this service become available in our area. we provide free mineral water for drinking when in the hostel, not to fill your bottles.

31st Mar 2016
5.4

Staff was not very friendly. Dorm rooms were very cramped. Kitchen was cramped. I don't think the bathroom or trash bin was cleaned at all while I stayed there, to the point where the room smelled quite bad. Private rooms seemed nicer, but if you are going for a dorm, I'd opt for another location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • rongarson171989
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.6

Cheap hostel in a good location. I didn't find the staff to be particularly friendly and my room wasn't clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2016
10.0

Great place, especially for the price. Double room was a bit small to keep two big packs, but we made it work. Hot showers, wifi, good location, fantastic breakfast. We would definitely stay again and are planning to after our jungle trip. Really great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
8.0

I really enjoyed this hostel. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. Would definitely recommend to a friend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.0

A pretty good hostel located in the party/classy area of Banos. Rooms are small but beds are comfortable. Common room is ok and has a pool table. A good place just for chilling out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Mar 2016
6.9

Felt like a shared complex with locals so it wasn't a hostel vibe. Dorms were super cramped. Breakfast was okay but small. Staff was nice but blunt. Kitchen was nice but the staff kept a good eye on you while you used it. That was strange. There's a pool table but it's usually being used by staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • florsh
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Feb 2016
6.0

We asked the staff to change the reseve because my boyfriend was sick. They couldn't because all the prices rise because of the Carnaval. Sad experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we charge holiday rate when it is holiday, all the hostels do that. the hostel was full for the dates of the holiday. we were waiting for you on the day you reserved, and could change your reservation to the day you wanted.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.