Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Yakumama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 394 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 394 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
4.9

The room was big and clean, the private bathroom on the hallway and almost clean. Except of on guy the staff was unfriendly. Askin to put the dog on a leash as he was biting our shoes and legs was not liked and followed at all. The garden was probably nice once, now its a big garbage bin :( atmosphere was very cold. We will not come again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
8.9

Only complaints are that it doesn't have a kitchen and the internet is basically non existent. Aside from that, awesome hostel. All the staff were lovely. The skate ramp was awesome!! My private room was huge! It was a great place to meet new people but also wasn't a party hostel which was nice. The restaurant was delicious :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th May 2017
6.9

Needs some love

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2017
8.3

Pretty good hostel. Nice common area. Breakfast wasn't much - just a piece of bread and a piece of fruit. Kitchen staff wasn't friendly and didn't work all the time so it was iffy if you would be able to order warm food. Hostel was a lot colder than it was outside which was strange. Our private room also looked out to the foyer and they never turned off the light and the curtain was too short so I had trouble sleeping one night. But it was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
9.1

Stayed in the six person room (group was just 2) and were able to lock our stuff in cubbies (lock not provided). Room had bunk beds which can be a bother for some but we both got bottom bunks and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was light compared to what I've had at other hostels (in Ecuador at least) with just a roll and banana with juice/coffee/tea. Great location 3 blocks from the main plaza.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.6

This was overall a great place to stay. It is nothing fancy and some areas seemed due for a deep cleaning and a coat of paint but the location couldn't have been better, the staff was friendly, and the outdoor garden/patio area was a great place to relax and meet people. The only downside was that the ten bed dorm on the top floor where I stayed got loud early due to church bells and a neighbor's crowing rooster. So if you want to sleep past 6am get a room in a more insulated part of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
3.7

We thought the place was great due to price and reviews. Their cancellation policy is 24hrs in advance. We tried canceling our second night 24hrs in advance and they charged us anyway. We tried to find and agreement with the owner and he acted condescendingly only because we are Ecuadorian. Terrible breakfast and dirty showers! Would not recommend it. There are many other nicer places to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

The ten bed dorm is a really nice and airy space, we were sick at the time and being sick and away from home this was a really nice place to be. The wifi can be slightly patchy at times but worked fine. There is a nice communal area where you can hang out and watch TV etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

Internet was sketchy and intermittent. The staff were helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • charlie_clague
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.1

Stayed in the very bright 10 bed dorm. Great view across the rooftops but the sun does come in through very easily. Some of the lockers were useless but most closed. Nice working shower but grubby room. Average included breakfast, standard bread roll, fruit, juice and a coffee (extras can be purchased). Good wifi. Extremely helpful and happy staff, talked at length about buses. Get a taxi from the bus station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.