Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostal Yakumama

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
Hostal Yakumama Located at Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez, , Cuenca.
Hostal Yakumama
Ecuador
Cuenca Azuay Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez
84% 305
-2.9005992 -79.0044236
Hostal Yakumama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jul 2016
8.0

Had a nice stay, it was very cold at night though. Free yoga and salsa lesson is a nice offer. Met some great people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
7.1

Such a great location, and building. Service was a little dissapointing. They could do more to organise events, advise on buses and tours. They were unable to advise where or when the walking tours were. On arrival I was feeling ill and they could only offer me the cafe to wait in until checkin 8.30-13.00. when they have comunial areas in the hostel I could have used. They have a bus time table and bus selection of companies and when I reached the bus station they were not correct.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
12th Jul 2016
6.9

Overall the hostel was good but it seems like it has seen better days. Although clean, everything looks a bit old and run down. The garden is unkept and the furniture on common areas like the TV room could do with some renewing. We stayed in a private with shared bathroom. Bedroom was big and bed was comfy, reasonably priced. Breakfast in itself isn't very good, and you need to buy additionals to make it worthy but most of them aren't very good either. Yoga class was interesting to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • flojitos7737
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2016
3.4

Not clean. Some impolite people. Run down.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
6.9

Hostel with great potential, but to many downsides at the moment. Morning showers are guaranteed cold since there are to many people. The staff doesn't really care if there's a problem. Showers and toilets are cleaned maybe once a day and not clean at all! The private room was enourmous which was really nice. Bot the worst hostel but definitely not the best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
9.4

I enjoyed my stay here a lot. Stayed in the 10 bed dorm which was a good price, and very large. Didn't feel too cold at all. The staff are very nice and helpful, wifi is great, and showers are hot. I do echo the complaints that something doesn't lend itself to much atmosphere here and I can't explain why. Even so, I did meet a few people, but it wasn't a very lively or social atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
9.7

Great location in Cuenca kind staff, breakfast is pretty basic but you can buy extras if you so choose. The yoga Pilates class is a nice afternoon activity for free, not too intense and they have a movie room which we really enjoyed. Overall great experience, highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.9

Yakumama is situated in a prime location close to the main square, a supermarket, and city market and lots of restaurants. The staff were helpful and gave good advice on busses and other activities in the city. The hotel wasn't the cleanest and the showers were luke warm. There is an awesome TV room to relax in with plenty of DVD's to choose from. For the price you pay I definitely recommend the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
9.4

We are a family of 5 travelling South America. We loved our 1 night stay and tried to cancel our Airbnb for the next 3 nights. The hostel is a converted school, so our 'Principals" family room was wonderful! We had 2 inter-leading rooms for the family. Staff are keen to assist. Location is PERFECT! Breakfast available is yummy. Go Stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
7.1

Good location, had a bit of problems initially actually just establishing which bunk was mine as they seemed to have allocated me one already in use. Staff were competent but not that that friendly I found. No real atmosphere in the place. Breakfast was okay and needed to pay extra for eggs But secure and clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.