Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Yakumama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
10th Aug 2017
5.7

Comfortable beds, warmish showers. The biggest downfall was the rudeness of the staff who made you feel like a massive inconvenience rather than a guest. The hostel has so much potential if they put in a bit more effort.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
6.6

Depending on what you're looking for, this could be a fine place. If you are just looking for a place to crash, this will work for you. The rooms are fine, but the shared bathrooms were dirty. The staff was less than friendly and did not go out of their way to make us feel comfortable, even after our reservation was lost. The location is great and the included breakfast (banana, bread, coffee, and juice) is good. There was wifi in the common spaces, but it didn't work in our room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
6.3

Staff is quite unfriendly and not welcoming. Bathrooms weren't clean. Common rooms weren't very social, but the big dorm ymunder the roof is quite nice! Wouldn't stay here again though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jul 2017
8.0

During our weekend in Cuenca we stayed at the Yakumama hostel. The location is perfect in the lovely citycenter and the hostel is nice and cosy. (they have the best beds in Ecuador hostels so far!) a little bit inconvenient was one of the people of the staff who was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. Besides that, we had a wonderful stay in Cuenca! A visit to Parque nacional de Cajas is a must!! beautiful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
4.9

The room was big and clean, the private bathroom on the hallway and almost clean. Except of on guy the staff was unfriendly. Askin to put the dog on a leash as he was biting our shoes and legs was not liked and followed at all. The garden was probably nice once, now its a big garbage bin :( atmosphere was very cold. We will not come again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
8.9

Only complaints are that it doesn't have a kitchen and the internet is basically non existent. Aside from that, awesome hostel. All the staff were lovely. The skate ramp was awesome!! My private room was huge! It was a great place to meet new people but also wasn't a party hostel which was nice. The restaurant was delicious :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th May 2017
6.9

Needs some love

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2017
8.3

Pretty good hostel. Nice common area. Breakfast wasn't much - just a piece of bread and a piece of fruit. Kitchen staff wasn't friendly and didn't work all the time so it was iffy if you would be able to order warm food. Hostel was a lot colder than it was outside which was strange. Our private room also looked out to the foyer and they never turned off the light and the curtain was too short so I had trouble sleeping one night. But it was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
9.1

Stayed in the six person room (group was just 2) and were able to lock our stuff in cubbies (lock not provided). Room had bunk beds which can be a bother for some but we both got bottom bunks and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was light compared to what I've had at other hostels (in Ecuador at least) with just a roll and banana with juice/coffee/tea. Great location 3 blocks from the main plaza.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
8.6

This was overall a great place to stay. It is nothing fancy and some areas seemed due for a deep cleaning and a coat of paint but the location couldn't have been better, the staff was friendly, and the outdoor garden/patio area was a great place to relax and meet people. The only downside was that the ten bed dorm on the top floor where I stayed got loud early due to church bells and a neighbor's crowing rooster. So if you want to sleep past 6am get a room in a more insulated part of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.