Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Yakumama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 356 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Hostal Yakumama Located at Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez, , Cuenca.
Hostal Yakumama
Ecuador
Cuenca Azuay Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez
81% 356
-2.9005992 -79.0044236
Hostal Yakumama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Nov 2016
8.6

Unfortunately there is no guests' kitchen but there are other excellent and rare facilities such as as large sitting areas inside and out and a guitar to strum. The juice at breakfast is rich and the coffee is excellent. It is worth the 75 cents to top up breakfast with eggs. There are plenty of showers with hot water. The 10 bed dorm is spacious and works well. I would definately stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
8.0

Salsa lessons are really good, gracias Cristian!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Nov 2016
6.9

As several other reviews have mentioned, this hostel could definitely do with a freshening up. The location is great and Cuenca turned out to be one of our favourite stops so far in South America, but everything else about the hostel is merely OK. The room was spacious but rundown and the curtains didn't fit the window so people could see into the room from the nearby corridor. The staff were all very quiet and offered no advice and as a result the whole hostel had a muted atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
7.4

We stayed a week in a private room with ensuite. Pros: Clean large room Good location Good security Free yoga and salsa classes Nice lounge/bar Basic free breakfast Overall quiet room at night Cons: Lounge/bar not open past 11am on Sunday & Monday Smokers hang out outside bottom floor rooms and the smoke enters the room as well as noisy conversation. Intermittent warm/cold water in the shower (generally cold in morning and evening) Wifi was ok in bar/lounge

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Oct 2016
10.0

I honestly loved this hostel. Stayed in the dorm upstairs. Super aesthetically pleasing hostel with a nice bar/breakfast area at reception. Staff was nice and helpful, they have free yoga every evening, hot showers, it's clean, beds were comfortable, nice sized lockers. Breakfast was your standard fare but you could order eggs for less than a dollar. Met some nice people here, too. And it's really close to the main square. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
10.0

Everyone was so kind. The garden was a relaxing place to hangout. I loved all of the hammocks and their breakfast options were delicious, inexpensive, and well worth it. Great location and will definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
7.7

The location is absolutely fantastic. The hostel is clean, the double room was very spacious. The "ensuite" described on Hostel World is not an ensuite. Rather, the private bathroom is separate down the hall. It's private, as only you have the key, but it is not connected to the room. The staff were efficient but not really friendly or engaging. They often huddled at reception together in a clique. I'd stay again for the location but the atmosphere is more hotel than hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
13th Oct 2016
9.1

A good spot with a great TV room and DVD collection. We arrived at 7am though and no one was there to let us in until 8. Good basic breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Oct 2016
7.4

The private room that we had was absolutely huge, with a four poster bed! We didn't use many of the facilities such as the skate ramp or bar but we had breakfast on one of the mornings which was basic but nice enough. Great location, right near all the bars and restaurants and a couple of blocks from the main square. Overall good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
10.0

Big and nice! Friendly staff! Great location! Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.