Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Yakumama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
Hostal Yakumama Located at Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez, , Cuenca.
Hostal Yakumama
Ecuador
Cuenca Azuay Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez
83% 320
-2.9005992 -79.0044236
Hostal Yakumama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Aug 2016
9.1

I had a great time here. I stayed in the 10 bed bamboo room on the top floor which was very comfortable, just a bit cold at night. Free breakfast was basic but for me it was enough until lunchtime. Good WiFi, hot showers, communal areas, huge DVD selection with a TV. Salsa lessons on Thursday. And really well located for tons of good restaurants and places to go out. Perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.6

Yakumama is a nice and cheap hostel well located in the city center of Cuenca. The 10 beds dorm (without bunk beds !) is spacious and has some good vibes. Nice TV room The included breakfast is not wonderful, and they don't have a computer. A bit "dead" on Sundays

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Very nice to stay in yakumama hostel for four night , feel little cold in first night and get the extra blanket on rest of days. Staff is very nice to help with all you ask.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Aug 2016
6.0

I would not recommend this hostel. The Sunday staff couldn't even tell us where we could get some food and they didn't have a map. There is no kitchen and the bar where they serve food was shut two of the three days. The 10bed dorm was freezing cold and the bells woke you up really early as the room was made of glass. Breakfast was a bread roll and jam and extras were very expensive. One of the staff at breakfast was drinking from the blender from the kitchen! Not great hygiene. Showers were hot

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
9.1

This hostel has great and reliable wifi and hot showers. Great movie room! Great location in town! 10 room dorm is great and spacious - quiet at night time. Atmosphere is just ok, nothing great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.0

Great location. Nice Atmosphere with bar & restaurant. Old building. Not great facilities. Bad smell from Vanity.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
8.0

Had a nice stay, it was very cold at night though. Free yoga and salsa lesson is a nice offer. Met some great people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2016
7.1

Such a great location, and building. Service was a little dissapointing. They could do more to organise events, advise on buses and tours. They were unable to advise where or when the walking tours were. On arrival I was feeling ill and they could only offer me the cafe to wait in until checkin 8.30-13.00. when they have comunial areas in the hostel I could have used. They have a bus time table and bus selection of companies and when I reached the bus station they were not correct.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Jul 2016
6.9

Overall the hostel was good but it seems like it has seen better days. Although clean, everything looks a bit old and run down. The garden is unkept and the furniture on common areas like the TV room could do with some renewing. We stayed in a private with shared bathroom. Bedroom was big and bed was comfy, reasonably priced. Breakfast in itself isn't very good, and you need to buy additionals to make it worthy but most of them aren't very good either. Yoga class was interesting to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • flojitos7737
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2016
3.4

Not clean. Some impolite people. Run down.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.