Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Yakumama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
3.7

We thought the place was great due to price and reviews. Their cancellation policy is 24hrs in advance. We tried canceling our second night 24hrs in advance and they charged us anyway. We tried to find and agreement with the owner and he acted condescendingly only because we are Ecuadorian. Terrible breakfast and dirty showers! Would not recommend it. There are many other nicer places to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

The ten bed dorm is a really nice and airy space, we were sick at the time and being sick and away from home this was a really nice place to be. The wifi can be slightly patchy at times but worked fine. There is a nice communal area where you can hang out and watch TV etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

Internet was sketchy and intermittent. The staff were helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • charlie_clague
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.1

Stayed in the very bright 10 bed dorm. Great view across the rooftops but the sun does come in through very easily. Some of the lockers were useless but most closed. Nice working shower but grubby room. Average included breakfast, standard bread roll, fruit, juice and a coffee (extras can be purchased). Good wifi. Extremely helpful and happy staff, talked at length about buses. Get a taxi from the bus station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
8.6

The hostel is decent, the staff working during daily time was nice and friendly thought the night staff not that much. The room I stayed was spacious, the internet worked well. The breakfast was okay, obviously the location is perfect and in the hostel are a few nice places to relax. In the overall a really good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Yakumama is centrally located an equal distance between Parque Calderón y Calle Larga, where there are bars & restaurants. The staff are friendly & welcoming. I lucked out with similar types in the dorm too. Pro tip: The 10 person dorm was the best deal IMO. I was thrilled to pay less to be in a bright, spacious room with a bed on the floor. There's also a half bath (no shower) in that dorm. Spend the extra 75c/day for eggs with breakfast. The free brekky is good & with the eggs it's great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.4

Really chill hostel, had a great time there! The staff is super friendly and the beds are comfy. However, the breakfast is very, very small and they limit how much bread you can take which is a bit strange.. The food to buy is super expensive so I never ate there but the happy hour drink deals are pretty good. Overall nice hostel in a good location. (There is no kitchen)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Dec 2016
7.7

Dorm experience was good (no bunk beds) and staff was helpful. Breakfast was basic but with really good jam! Our biggest problem was that for us, the wifi only worked in certain locations in the hostal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.7

Great place and staff for enjoyable stay with many options to experience... One of the largest space you can get in dorms which make it pleasent stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel and a perfect location for exploring Cuenca! Beds are comfortable and dorms are spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.