Hostelworld.com

Hostal Yakumama

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
Hostal Yakumama Located at Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez, , Cuenca.
Hostal Yakumama
Ecuador
Cuenca Azuay Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez
86% 271
-2.9005992 -79.0044236
Hostal Yakumama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th May 2016
10.0

In my Top 5 list of hostels in South America. Definitely the best in Cuenca. Book early as it fills up quickly. Spacious rooms, lively bar, and funky tribal decor make this a Top Spot. I just wish they hadn't run out of t-shirts!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
7.4

Perfect location two blocks from the main city center. Close to good restaurants and bars. The main front door was locked in the afternoon on Sunday because the bar is closed. You are literally locked in and have to wait until someone comes to let you out and back in. That was a bit odd to us to be locked in like that(what if there is a fire). Once we came back and rang the bell and no one answered we left do get a drink.Staff was ok not rude, but not particularly welcome either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • naomisbrain
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.6

Great hostel! Stayed in the 10 bed dorm, one of the best dorm rooms I've been in (just ask for a second blanket). The hostel is the cleanest I've been to in south america. Staff is really helpful and fun to hang out with. Just keep in mind it's a big hostel, so there is no real "family" feeling when you're there. Plus no kitchen (but the restaurant has great food).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
8.6

Good hostel in a good location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
8.3

Interesting building, it's huge with separate common rooms, lounge/restaurant, patio bar and some nooks where to read/use the internet. The 10 bed dorm is massive (no bunks!), however it gets freezing cold at night and the blanket is way too thin. The internet is quite patchy as well, but works sometimes fine. The breakfast is basic and they sell expensive extras, but its cheap to eat at the local restaurants. Also for great coffee, cafe Goza is just around the corner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Apr 2016
7.1

Perfect location, alright breakfast, very little atmosphere, decent tv and film collection, good place for a few nights in Cuenca

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.0

Great location and friendly & helpful staff. The place had a nice bohemian vibe, definitely a good vibe if you're looking for a more low key stay. The rooms were really spacious and beds were comfy. Fresh fruit at breakfast was a win. The kitchen was gross the night I got there but was cleaned the next night. Id recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
9.7

Fun place to stay! Beautiful, clean room. Good atmosphere with onsite restaurant bar. Breakfast, however, is just a stale piece of bread.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
7.7

Our room was clean and spacious. We didn't appreciate being woken up by a drill outside our room at 7.30am while they fixed a door. Breakfast was ridiculously tiny, it wouldn't cost them more to give you an extra bread bun. It was annoying to drop the key off every time we went out especially because staff weren't always around. Wifi was okay. Overall, okay experience, nothing to brag about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
9.1

Great place at a great location. Local funk with Swiss management....what could be better?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.