Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Yakumama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
Hostal Yakumama Located at Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez, , Cuenca.
Hostal Yakumama
Ecuador
Cuenca Azuay 010150 Luis Cordero 5-66 y Honorato Vasquez
83% 369
-2.9005992 -79.0044236
Hostal Yakumama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jan 2017
8.6

The hostel is decent, the staff working during daily time was nice and friendly thought the night staff not that much. The room I stayed was spacious, the internet worked well. The breakfast was okay, obviously the location is perfect and in the hostel are a few nice places to relax. In the overall a really good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Yakumama is centrally located an equal distance between Parque Calderón y Calle Larga, where there are bars & restaurants. The staff are friendly & welcoming. I lucked out with similar types in the dorm too. Pro tip: The 10 person dorm was the best deal IMO. I was thrilled to pay less to be in a bright, spacious room with a bed on the floor. There's also a half bath (no shower) in that dorm. Spend the extra 75c/day for eggs with breakfast. The free brekky is good & with the eggs it's great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.4

Really chill hostel, had a great time there! The staff is super friendly and the beds are comfy. However, the breakfast is very, very small and they limit how much bread you can take which is a bit strange.. The food to buy is super expensive so I never ate there but the happy hour drink deals are pretty good. Overall nice hostel in a good location. (There is no kitchen)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Dec 2016
7.7

Dorm experience was good (no bunk beds) and staff was helpful. Breakfast was basic but with really good jam! Our biggest problem was that for us, the wifi only worked in certain locations in the hostal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.7

Great place and staff for enjoyable stay with many options to experience... One of the largest space you can get in dorms which make it pleasent stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2016
9.1

Great hostel and a perfect location for exploring Cuenca! Beds are comfortable and dorms are spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
8.6

Unfortunately there is no guests' kitchen but there are other excellent and rare facilities such as as large sitting areas inside and out and a guitar to strum. The juice at breakfast is rich and the coffee is excellent. It is worth the 75 cents to top up breakfast with eggs. There are plenty of showers with hot water. The 10 bed dorm is spacious and works well. I would definately stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
8.0

Salsa lessons are really good, gracias Cristian!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
6.9

Could be a great hostel, but there was no atmosphere when we were there and the staff do nothing to create one.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Nov 2016
6.9

As several other reviews have mentioned, this hostel could definitely do with a freshening up. The location is great and Cuenca turned out to be one of our favourite stops so far in South America, but everything else about the hostel is merely OK. The room was spacious but rundown and the curtains didn't fit the window so people could see into the room from the nearby corridor. The staff were all very quiet and offered no advice and as a result the whole hostel had a muted atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.