X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel 5 Terre Reviews

Via Riccobaldi 21, Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
188 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Friendly and accommodating staff and nice location.


100%

This hostel was wonderful! Quaint, and very chill. Good common space and patio are to meet other travelers, and a beautiful view of Manarola. I absolutely loved staying here! And it was kept very clean and they had big lockers for backpacks (I fit a 70L backpack and a day pack in there with room to spare!)


43%

All i can remember is that the shower and bath is gross! You have to press a button outside the shower stall so if you're in the mddle of your shower and water runs out, you would have to go out to press the stupid button. Shower was so dirty. Yuck! Bathroom stalls were stupidly tiny. You would have to sit down first before you can close the door. Who in the hell designed it that way?What were they thinking? Location was horrible. You would have to hike a very steep road then haul your luggage..


97%

Hostel 5 Terre has the most beautiful views from the rooms. The location is perfect, just up the hill from the train station but the town and hostel itself are super safe. The hike starts around the corner and every one at the front desk can help answer your questions, should you have any. Great, great stay!


97%

It was an amaaazing stay here :) The staff were friendly and the 5 euro breakfast was both delicious and filling! It had a very laidback vibe. Perhaps I'm just lucky but everyone I met at this hostel was friendly and chill. The al fresco breakfast area was lovely in June - nice cool weather, and a charming view of the surrounding town. It was a great place to talk to people. A baby falcon also wandered into the breakfast area one morning lol. Everyone made a huge fuss over it.


77%

The hostel is at the back of Manarola. It is definitely more than a 200m walk. The rooms were a good size and there was lots of space. The showers and toilets were really small so you had to change in the toilet cubicle. The wifi was playing up so you could only go downstairs to use it which was okay for me. It's quiet at night time so you can get a decent nights sleep.


51%

There is always no water for bathing. The system will automatically stop u from bathing regularly. The bathroom is shared and very dirty and wet. Also someone occupied our beds. Thre location is not bad.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The fact the bathroom is shared is clearly stated in the room description and they're cleaned every day before 1pm; during the day, according to guests' behaviour, they can get more or less wet. To avoid this, we could do another cleaning also in the afternoon, but this would mean another bathroom lockout and to increase the daily rate. There's no lack of water, but showers have a system to avoid water waste,according to the rules of Parco 5 Terre, and to reduce the waiting time to have a shower

89%

Great location with very friendly, helpful staff!


80%

My first hostel experience and it was really good. Clean, dorm style room. The hike up the hill was a workout every day! Overall I would recommend this hostel!

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The Hostel is in an excellent location for backpackers. Near to the train station and with a wonderful view. Ideal for hiking the Cinque Terre. The service is ok and the negative is that the hostel inside looks way to cold. But of course who visits Cinque Terre to spend time in a Hostel?


77%

In 5 Terre Hostel the staff are very friendly and helpful, always with a smile! I was also happy that the food for dinner was so good (compared to other hostels quality). But I would like that there was an "salty" alternative for breakfast, like some cheese or fruit would also be nice.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A decent hostel in an excellent location .


63%

One of the few hostels in Cinque Terre - Wi-Fi not available on the second floor dorms, no food allowed, no kitchen or any facilities. Can get cold at night.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good and cheap hostel with nice view!


89%

It was great at ostello cinque terre. The bedrooms and windows are big, the beds are comfortable, the view is great. Internet is ok. The downside is that they don't have a kitchen but the restaurant downstairs offers good options for breakfast... Would definitelyvstay there again!


97%

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Love the elevators - life-saver in helping with luggage, and also when so tired trekking about... needed a boost up the stairs. Did not like the showers system tho - have to jump out every 5 mins to hit the button. Wasted a lot of time doing so and a hassle ... think less time and water wasted if such a system not in place.




View all Cinque Terre Hostels

Please give us your feedback