Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel 5 Terre

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
8.6

This hostel covers all your basic needs - bed, free shower, simple complimentary breakfast (toast, cornflakes, coffee) - and in a totally rockstar location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2017
4.6

The hostel is on top of a steep hill. 3 hours check in in the afternoon, with no possibility to leave luggage. This was horrible due to the extreme heat. Heat in room was imbearable - impossible to sleep. Only one fan in the room. Breakfast only one hour(8-9), and nothing special. You have to leave the hostel between 10-13 for them to clean. Impossible to clean the facilities peoperly because everything is so outdated. Would not stay again. Gladly paying double for something else. Worst hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
5.7

Great location/friendly staff, but two serious problems. We booked a girls-only dorm, but in the end were allocated to a mixed one. Moreover, after waking up we found ourselves full of spots on our skin, probably due to bed bugs. When we informed the staff we were told they were aware of this situation and that we were not the first costumers to tell them about it... then why don't they do anything to solve it? Thus, despite the young and international environment, I would not advise this hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
6.3

This hostel definitely wins on location. Manarola is the quietest of the 5 towns making it a great base camp to explore the region. However this hostel kinda lets things slide. The sheets were washed but old and had ancient mystery stains on them. The mattress cover was turning yellow. You do get a locker but have to provide your own lock. The showers are awfully small and dirty and have very low water pressure in the evenings. It's a passable hostel if you want to visit cinque terre for cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Jul 2017
6.0

Would not go back. Breakfast was sparse but at least free, with coffee. Staff were absolutely horrible, I paid a deposit and they tried to charge me the full amount at check-in, they couldn't even find my reservation for the longest time. The day we were checking out, they gave a pair of men a key to our room, which was a four-girl private! They just walked in, we could have been changing and we had our valuables out. Good location, it is cheaper than other options in the 5 Terres themselves.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2017
3.7

Amazing location Absolute worst bathrooms Ive ever come across. Genuine mold on every surface and a stench that stains your memory. Loud church bells ring from 6am onwards. Be prepared to make the most of your day. Rooms are extremely cramped. Although The 2 of us staying were males we were put in a room full of females who had all booked a female only room. This was quite an awkward situation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • martinacal95
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.1

Clean and simple accommodations, free breakfast is great and there is a fridge on the first floor to store food but no kitchen which was a bit of a pain. Perfect location and definitely the prettiest town (this is where you get your famous postcard shot). Wifi doesn't reach some rooms. Very safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.9

This hostel had a brilliant location in Manarola, it was easy to find and gave you a great starting point to the rest of Cinque Terre. The hostel provides a free but basic breakfast. It was very clean, the cleaners attended to your room every day and the bathrooms were fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2017
5.7

Booked a female dorm but ended up in a mixed dorm without any explanation. Wifi was not working in the room. Only one socket for six people. No check-in until 4 pm, not even the possibility to leave your bag. Location is good, but would not stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2017
3.1

I would give this property a 2 out of 5. Its very basic, all amenities including bathrooms and bunk beds are a bit run down and old. No facilities to make your own food, no soap in the bathrooms, only 1 PowerPoint for a plug in a dorm room of 6 which was extremely inconvenient. Wifi hardly works Staff are not very helpful/friendly I travelled alone and there was not a lot of opportunity to socialise with anyone else, other than people you met in your room briefly

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.