X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel 5 Terre Reviews

Via Riccobaldi 21, Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
204 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Everything was good, only be out pass 10 because the cleaning lady is not very nice if not.


83%

A view of the town and a view of the sea from the rooms make this hostel an excellent location. Manarola is one of the quieter towns in Cinque Terre but this makes it excellent for a relaxing base. I would stay here again.


83%

Nice hostel located right up the top of the town. Bit of an uphill walk but nothing too difficult and probably good for you with the amount of gelato eaten throughout the towns! Good facilities, seemed to have a big variation in ages 18 - 40 plus some families. Staff were helpful and definitely provides value for money considering the popularity of the area. Would definitely stay again


86%

Great hostel, splendid views of Manarola. There is an in-house restaurant which makes breakfast and dinner easy and not too expensive, and the food was good. Nice terrace to hang out with other travelers, generally a good atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff, the only complaint I have is that the bathrooms were 1) dirty, 2)very small. However, the rooms were kept very clean. It would really be great if the bathrooms could be improved though.


77%

Perfectly acceptable hostel, although nothing special to give it a wow factor. Hostel is in a great location with epic views though, and the town of Manarola was so, so, so lovely!


74%

We spent 3 nights at this hostel. Its quite nice friendly people. the only downside to it is its the location at the top of the village. Its not far from the center like a 5min walk but its all uphill you need to stop and catch your breath before climbing a set of stairs in front of the hostel. There is an elevator to move your backpack/suitcase up to the first and second floor. They offer dinner and breakfast, sell icecream juice and drinks which makes things easier.


94%

Great hostel, loved my experience there.


80%

Friendly and accommodating staff and nice location.


74%

The location of this hostel really made up for its flaws. Located in the most beautiful cities of Cinque Terre, with a spectacular view from the hall, so that was really nice. The staff was okay, they were nice, but nothing special. They seemed to be really proud the showers were for free, but they weren't quite clean, unfortunately. The WiFi didn't work for me..


100%

This hostel was wonderful! Quaint, and very chill. Good common space and patio are to meet other travelers, and a beautiful view of Manarola. I absolutely loved staying here! And it was kept very clean and they had big lockers for backpacks (I fit a 70L backpack and a day pack in there with room to spare!)


43%

All i can remember is that the shower and bath is gross! You have to press a button outside the shower stall so if you're in the mddle of your shower and water runs out, you would have to go out to press the stupid button. Shower was so dirty. Yuck! Bathroom stalls were stupidly tiny. You would have to sit down first before you can close the door. Who in the hell designed it that way?What were they thinking? Location was horrible. You would have to hike a very steep road then haul your luggage..


97%

Hostel 5 Terre has the most beautiful views from the rooms. The location is perfect, just up the hill from the train station but the town and hostel itself are super safe. The hike starts around the corner and every one at the front desk can help answer your questions, should you have any. Great, great stay!


97%

It was an amaaazing stay here :) The staff were friendly and the 5 euro breakfast was both delicious and filling! It had a very laidback vibe. Perhaps I'm just lucky but everyone I met at this hostel was friendly and chill. The al fresco breakfast area was lovely in June - nice cool weather, and a charming view of the surrounding town. It was a great place to talk to people. A baby falcon also wandered into the breakfast area one morning lol. Everyone made a huge fuss over it.


77%

The hostel is at the back of Manarola. It is definitely more than a 200m walk. The rooms were a good size and there was lots of space. The showers and toilets were really small so you had to change in the toilet cubicle. The wifi was playing up so you could only go downstairs to use it which was okay for me. It's quiet at night time so you can get a decent nights sleep.


51%

There is always no water for bathing. The system will automatically stop u from bathing regularly. The bathroom is shared and very dirty and wet. Also someone occupied our beds. Thre location is not bad.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The fact the bathroom is shared is clearly stated in the room description and they're cleaned every day before 1pm; during the day, according to guests' behaviour, they can get more or less wet. To avoid this, we could do another cleaning also in the afternoon, but this would mean another bathroom lockout and to increase the daily rate. There's no lack of water, but showers have a system to avoid water waste,according to the rules of Parco 5 Terre, and to reduce the waiting time to have a shower

89%

Great location with very friendly, helpful staff!


80%

My first hostel experience and it was really good. Clean, dorm style room. The hike up the hill was a workout every day! Overall I would recommend this hostel!

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The Hostel is in an excellent location for backpackers. Near to the train station and with a wonderful view. Ideal for hiking the Cinque Terre. The service is ok and the negative is that the hostel inside looks way to cold. But of course who visits Cinque Terre to spend time in a Hostel?


77%

In 5 Terre Hostel the staff are very friendly and helpful, always with a smile! I was also happy that the food for dinner was so good (compared to other hostels quality). But I would like that there was an "salty" alternative for breakfast, like some cheese or fruit would also be nice.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A decent hostel in an excellent location .


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(129 results)


View all Cinque Terre Hostels

Please give us your feedback