X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel 639 Reviews

639 Harrow Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

53%

Rating
2973 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 50%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 55%Staff
  • 47%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 46%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Smelled this time -not really clean. Sticky, sweet


31%

Staff lack diplomacy, very slow checking process as all guest are hand written..very archaic. Security staff very confrontational with new arrivals. This is NOT necessary! Being on high street it's always noisy, even at 4am some guests played music into early hours (3.30 am) I didn't sleep at all. Would I return to Hostel639 ...NO I WOULDN'T. I will never refer anyone to stay at this place.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

hidden fees (wi-fi, luggage etc.) and power shortage.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

Cannot reccomend this hostel at all. Very very poor. Rude staff, dirty smelly rooms, WiFi is not free( you have to pay 3pounds), no kitchen equipment(you have to pay 5pound deposit to borrow their pots and pans ), dirty toilets. There is a shower in the room but you will have no privacy. The hostel is full of weird individuals, probably illegal immigrants. I say this place is not even worth the money. Do yourself a favor and do not go there. Very bad experience

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

I´ll never go back

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

My sugestion is for you the organizer,so I was confused because you offer a lot of questions for them like 2 or even 3 questions about internet access,breakfast,laundry service...and just few of them clear say about the facilities.I want to see offwrs,facilities clear free wifi or how much have to pay for the internet;clear if its free or have to pay and what kind of meal then clear if its laundry and dryer free or how much it cost including waiting time,etc....

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

Was very awful security very very rude

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

No Wifi, no breakfast (only if you pay extra), and the kitchen is basically unusable for normal style eating. But it is a place to stay at night, there was a shower in the room, which is good, the sheets were clean, but the matress has springs sticking out, and there is no ladder for climbing up the top bed (I felt like an acrobat). The location is excellent, very close to the tube, and I could book it cheap, even for the last moment, on Friday, so why complain?

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

every think wos perfect , and i like the staf becouse they work hard and good. i enjoy the klining , and they wos very educated.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Staff are unfriendly, Location is not too bad but you still need to catch a train to do anything, there is no atmosphere its like no one talks to no one, Still the cheapest hostel in London, if you are totally broken don't go there you've got pay for everything you do plus they try to get your key deposit with you lose your payment receipt even if you give the key back. Apparently if you don't have the receipt you can keep the key and they and they won't give you the money back.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall for the price you can't fault it.


63%

There was no warmth from the element in the room.


63%

The reception staff was good but a security man woke me up by knocking at my door at one in the morning and said I should leave the hostel.


40%

The entire hostel are containing people like black-market labour, refugees or illegal immigrants. Definitely not going to spend another night here, you will find pay that £5-10 extra for a better hostel worth if you have ever slept here once.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The reception staff was good but a security man knocked at my door at one in the morning and said I should leave the hostel. I did not like that.


69%

It was the first time for me in a hostel where you have to rent the things you need to cook, but for the rest, the place its ok, very clean and near of a underground station and few buses. Although an elevator would be a lot of help when you think that the place has 4 floors.


40%

The staff are rude and unwelcoming. Their booking system is non existent and their organizational skills are poor.Staff allow friends to use internet free whist paying guest wait and upon arrival at the hostel you are welcomed by "Wait in the other room I am not booking in now". The threadbare duvets are worn and thin ;totally unsuitable for the British winter .months. The rooms may be cheap but politeness and manners need not be!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

Horrible horrible place, booked three nights stayed one, wifi and breakfast are not free, 'ensuite' is a dirty blacked out shower in the corner, bunks have no shower, security is terrible and everything is dirty.


51%

I emailed to ask what kitchen facilities there were and they said they had a microwave, however on arrival there was no microwave to be seen. They also don't have a kettle. We ordered a cup of tea from downstairs for £1.30 which included a half full cup and powdered milk. Hostelworld advertised the Hostel as having free breakfast and free wifi, bot of these you actually had to pay for. Cleaners came into the room unannounced everyday whether you were in the room or not.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

I only stayed 1 night in this hostel but it was quite bad. They are not organised at all, we had to change our room because they thaught I had booked for 1 person for 2 night but I had booked for 2 persons for 1 night. There was also a man in the room (it was supposed to be a female only dormitory). And it wasn't very clean


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback