X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel 639 Reviews

639 Harrow Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

56%

Rating
2633 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 52%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 49%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

felt intimidated by the residents of the hostel as they are not english and made us feel unwelcome to use the facilities so we segregated ourselves to the room. there were stains to the bedding (blood) and a quilt that had been melted. we had an extra guest on the first night who turned up at midnight and woke up...then decided to have a shower (in the room) and set a 6am alarm...not happy for a cheap place to lay your head whilst looking afound london then this is the place but if your english

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

No credit card accepted. Poor cleanliness. Bad bedrooms, very dirty bedrooms. Staff not very friendly. Bad security. Good location, near Notting Hill in area 2.


77%

It was better than expected after reading reviews online. The main advantage is that it is located close to the center and the tube station is across the road.

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

I had an amazing time. This place isn't perfect for everyone, only for ones who are looking to find a job and need a place to stay or you are looking for a hell of a party. There are still some works to be done around the place and definetly some better matrases but other than that I can say I had a hell of a time.

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

You have to bring your printed reservation if you don't want to pay 1,5 Pounds for the breakfast. Nice hostel if you are trying to live cheap in "london" (the outskirts), but not recommendable for regular visitors.


34%

If you're really skint on cash then I understand why you're looking to stay here. Inside the dorm rooms is where the shower is - the glass surrounding the shower painted in dark paint so no one in the room can see it- there is a shower in the corner of a normal bedroom! You have to pay for wi-fi and go down to reception to get pans for the kitchen. It's creepy. Hold onto your receipt or you won't get your bond back.


60%

Hostelworld tells: "Our prices include linen rental and continental breakfast". We had to pay for the breakfast because it's never included.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Location Good. Bed (matress) so bad that it's hard to describe. If you want to stay awake until 2 AM the bar will help you beautifully. Staff ok after you little bit kick their ass. If you want mild/edium extreme experiences, this is your place to stay. BTW, you don't have to believe everything there is in the hostel description section.


34%

The kitchen is very, very small and has NOTHING for cooking. We had to go to the restaurante leave some money to get some dishes, forks, spoons, etc. The kitchen was very dirty...... Public showers didn't work, only the shower inside the room. People is sleeping and we took the shower inside the room! I will not get back to this hostel.


43%

This hostel is not for travelers. Is more for inmigrants and people who are looking for a job. There are a lot of people who have lost their dignity, ilegal inmigrants that the hostel offers them to stay for free in exchange of a cleanning job. There is people who have been living there for months! In our room there was a guy who used the room as his office and stayed there 24 hs a day. I could never sleep propperly in London. We used to call this place "The Loosers Hostel" cause thats true!


71%

It's one of the cheapest hostels in London, and so you can't really complain about anything. The place is kept reasonably clean, it's literally 1 minute walk from a tube station, and there is a kitchen. It would be nice if the utensils were kept in the kitchens. It's a pity that breakfast is not free anymore.


86%

The sink was blockaged in my room and told the staff at reception who made a note of this at 16.00 hours but it was still blocked when came back to room after midnight.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Definitely worth the money, but toilets were floating most of the time, which I guess should be expected for the money value.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

It was worth the price paid, very friendly staff were welcoming.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

thank you very much

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Me and my friend had a really good experiance. I will recomend this hostel to my friends too.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

the level of people skills of the staff was unbelievably rude, the matresses make you itchy, and once you check out you are charged to store your luggage even to go grab breakfast at the hostel's restaurant. Cheap in every sense.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The hostel seemed like a party-hub and it felt really unsafe. I plan to never return.


46%

They should do something about noise of parties at night. Not clean bedding. Showers are terrible.

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 Next » last »
(59 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback