Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel AVA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.3
Hostel AVA Located at Trubarjeva 5, , Ljubljana.
Hostel AVA
Slovenia
Ljubljana 1000 Trubarjeva 5
75% 455
46.0518501 14.5071673
Hostel AVA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2016
7.4

I'm from Ljubljana so i can assure you that location is the best possible you can imagine. Hostel is very basic in an old building. it's good for staying overnight when visiting the center

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
8th Sep 2016
5.1

Place is pretty average. Beds were very rickety and only 3 power points to a an 8 bed dorm. Staff weren't very helpful or inviting. Location is amazing and that's what you are paying for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2016
8.3

Fully equipped kitchen. Very very unconfortable matress. No curtain at all on the window's room. There is any individual shower, all the showers are on the shared bathroom and are separated just by curtains.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lab011
  • Serbia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Lovely! Clean! Great location! Extremely accommodating!!! This place has everything! This place is very up to date! I planing to stay one night ans stayed 3 night, and I can't express how pleased I am with this listing! Thank you for an absolutely lovely stay in Ljubljana!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
3.4

When we arrived the guy on the desk was pretty weird and literally just gave us our keys and said 3rd floor - so unfriendly. The lights in the hallway didn't work and when we got to our room it was literally an attic with a couple of rickety old beds .. And the wifi is awful! This place felt like a homeless shelter .. It didn't feel safe and the facilities are rubbish! You have to hold the shower head to wash as there aren't any hooks! Don't go here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Aug 2016
4.6

Horrible horrible horrible! Do not stay here! The pictures look so much different to the room we have got and I booked a private room! Dont even want to imagine how dorms look like in this hostel. We didnt even have a closet and mattresses were so bad that my body was sore for the next two days and the kitchen looked like we are in a post soviet union school. Only stay there for the location as it is very central, nothing else! Wouldnt recommend to anyone

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.6

Perfect location, couldn't get a better location as it is right on the main square and by the river. We liked our room as there was not too many people in it like in other hostels. Wifi only works in common area and this was just tables and chairs with some kitchen facilities- a bit like a classroom and not very social as no one was ever in there. Toilets and showers a bit smelly and a bit grim but what you expect and bareable. Easy to find as well! Good directions from train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
6.6

Positive: Excellent location (10 min to bus/train station, 1 min to main square) Negative: cold showers, general cleaniness of the bathrooms, kitchen/ common room is closed from 11pm to 7am Note: In the 5-bed-dorms two of the ```´´´´´´´``´´"beds" consist only of two very thin matrasses lying on an inserted floor (accessible only by using a ladder -> problematic to get luggage up there). I find this quite unfair as you pay the equal price for proper bed and for a matrass lying on the floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Aug 2016
7.1

The rooms were really big and had their own sink which was nice. Showers had no hot water any of the days I was there which was unpleasant. Kitchen was decent, but on a different floor to the fridge which was inconvenient. Location is top notch! A 30 second walk and you're already to the center of Ljubljana

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
6.3

That old cliche "you get what you pay for". Amazing location, very central. Cool interior, and rooms are huge. Mattresses were uncomfortable, beds squeaked, bathrooms were dirty and late night revellers often congregate in the echoing stairwell which means no rest for the wicked. Overall, decent for one or two nights if you want something easy and accessible, and don't plan on much sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.