Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Achalay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 567 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 567 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • aragrevn1
  • Chile, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Aug 2017
2.0

HORRIBLE! THEY THREATENED us because they said we didn't pay, when we paid the day we got there. We have been traveling for three months, and have not come up with one experience like this until now. Very unprofessional and honestly hurtful someone would think I would do such a thing. Now, they are texting me, calling me, and face timing me. BUT I PAID THEM. Ridiculous. DONT GET CAUGHT IN THIS TRAP. Also, on a calmer note, room is messy -some sticky substance right next to the bed I stepped in:/

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Nicolas, how are you? We're terribly sorry that this situation has reached such a point. This is not about the money, it's about your attitude. We have more than 500 reviews on Hostelworld and more than 1000 reviews on other websites and we've never had any situation of this sort (We are proud to count with an amazing staff! Like any other hostel in the world, we're not perfect but you will never find any review that we badly treat people). Unfortunately you have ran away from our hostel without paying at 6:50 am and our footage can prove it. You didn't check-out at, you silently left Achalay (while carefully opening the door without making any noise), left your private room key on the hall next to our flyer shelf and then you ran away with your girlfriend, when you found yourself on the street. For security measures, common areas are covered by cameras so, because of it, we have the footage that proves that you have never paid us when you were at the reception desk (we took the time to watch the 16-hour video that we have). When we contacted you because of it, you blocked us on WhatsApp and never replied our Facebook messages. You have also threatened us with a bad review when we contacted you through another Whatsapp number. "It's your word against mine", you've told us. No, I'm sorry to tell you that's it not. Apart from the video footage, you don't have any sort of receipt to prove your payment. Why? Because it simply never happened. For last but not least, for legal and safety purposes, we will send the video to Hostelworld in order to clarify this situation. After we solve this matter, you'll be always welcome to Achalay!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 51 reviews
8th May 2017
8.6

Nice hostel, good wifi, kitchen and common area, super comfy beds, I would def. stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2017
6.0

Good location and staff were very helpful. However the basic double room was cramped and unnecessarily hot. Good selection for breakfast.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment. we will try to solved the heating... sometimes is not easy for us because is a Central Heating for the house and other guest are frightening... some ones ask us more heating and others no so much. I already contacted a professional guy to see if we can find a solution for everybody. Thanks, we really apreciate your honesty, it help us to learn from our mistakes

14th Apr 2017
6.6

Solid hostel in Bariloche. Breakfast was homemade bread, a selection of jam, and coffee/tea--would have loved to have something with a bit more substance. Bed was comfortable, but the top bunk creeked very loud each time the person moved. Water pressure in the shower was nonexistent, and the wifi could only have a certain amount of people logged in, so you had to wait until someone logged out on their phone. Staff was nice and knowledgeable about things to do in the surrounding area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your honesty! We will check the items you have mentioned. We already bought a new router, which can support 100 users simultaneously for our 20 beds hostel. I personally will check beds and water pressure to fix it as soon as possible. thanks for choosing us

7th Apr 2017
6.9

Our private room was large & mostly quiet. Breakfast, including their own bread and jams, looked good (sadly we weren't eating those then). Location fairly central. Kitchen well-equipped, but guests/staff often took a long to clean what they used. Staff individually helpful but when they gathered for meals they used the kitchen & one of the few tables for a long time. They also broke their own late night noise rule sometimes. So it felt like it was run as much for the staff as the guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

This has to be the best hostel we have stayed in . Felt just like home. Kitchen is awesome, beds are comfy and the staff are so friendly and help with your every need. They even ordered us a taxi to the bus stop as it was raining! Location is perfect and close to town. We recommend Hiring bikes and doing one of the rides! Also a great place to relax with great wifi! Thanks guys we loved it ! Ps the bread they give you for breakfast is amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your comment, it helps us a lot and take us to keep improving for being better each day. The best somebody can tell us is "felt just like home"... take care

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.3

Generally a good hostel, well located for town, staff very helpful and nice. Good breakfasts. However, beware there is a group of locals that live there that affects the atmosphere. Plus small children crying day & night. I didn't find it at all sociable and in fact felt out of place when a big group of them were cooking dinner etc that seemed to be friends of the employees - fine if you include guests but they didn't make any effort to. Even harder if you don't speak Spanish.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.4

A lovely, cosy hostel with super friendly staff. Some facilities are a little worn around the edges but the place is very clean. A relaxed and lovely place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
10.0

I would say for the all the hostels I have currently visited in Argentina and Brazil, Hostel Achalay is the best one I have been to. The staff here are simply amazing and will help you with anything you need day or night. The location is great being in the centre of the town, with bars and restaurants close by. The hostel has a list of a full range of activities which they will book for you plus a good knowledge of areas to visit yourself. Definitely the place to stay if in Bariloche.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
9.7

Super helpful staff. Went out of their way to help me sort out my buses when I didn't even ask! They were also very relaxed when I ended up arriving at 4 in the morning due to a delayed bus. Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere, perfect English. Served fruit at breakfast! Thank you for a lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.