X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alamo Reviews

Necochea 740 Ciudad, Mendoza, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
553 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Fan was insufficient. Room was very hot at night


86%

Fairly good location opposite Carrefour and near to the main square. Good security. Good facilities. Very relaxed vibe around the hostel. The only downside was one particular young woman working behind reception who was extremely unhelpful, never had a smile on her face and gave the impression she didn't want to be there.


83%

Great place to stay, thank you! Your staff were particularly helpful despite being clearly very busy!!


89%

Well located,10-15' from the airport,10 blocks from the bar street and just a couple of streets away from all the business area.It was really clean at all times, you have a common kitchen with your own plastic tupperware with the number of the room you're in plus two big fridges so you can leave your food.The staff was nice but of course they try to sell you the tours they have, we got the vineyard one and it is not worth it,too expensive for what it is, you can go to better ones for way less $.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • AgosNussbaum
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Had a great stay at Alamo Hostel and would definitely come back.


63%

Pretty average hostel with very hefty price tag probably living off old lonely planet fame. Additionally the receptionist in the morning is rather unhelpful when it comes to,anything but the overpriced organised trips the hostel offers. Prepare to pay 10 for storing your luggage on your way out.


89%

Highly recommended. Great location (about 5 blocks from Plaza Indepencia). Staff are friendly. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have large lockers. Bathrooms are clean. Wifi is reliable and very fast. The breakfast is great. The courtyard is nice and has a small pool. Overall great value for money. Only negative is the place had a somewhat bureaucratic feel - lots of signs with rules, fines, etc - relax and trust your guests! Still, a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Tank you so much for your comments! They help Us a LOT to improve every day and bring the best services! Regarding on the rules and bureaucratic feel, unfortunately, after almost 10 years open, we have had to reach this point as people showed Us we needed to. Unfortunately most of the people don't know how to behave, leaving unwashed dishes, nasty bathrooms, and stuff thrown everywhere. To be able to give a good service, we need to have things in control! Hope you come back soon! Cheers!

77%

While the apartment we stayed at was nice, we would have liked to stay on site at the hostel which was what we were expecting. Also, we had to wait two hours to check in even though the check in time said 12 online.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. They help Us to improve or work hard to be a better company. We are sorry that you booked the appartments instead of a room in the hostel, even when it was stated that the apartments are not in the hostel but 5 blocks away. We hope you come again soon!

83%

A great, old house with lots of character. We stayed in a room out the back, which was good until people smoked under the porch - we had to close the window and the room quickly got very hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you for your comments! They help Us work hard to improve every day. We are sorry you had that experience. Unfortunately smokers are a global problem. They don't care as we do to keep a good life. Unfortunately we can't be responsible for that people, but really hope you can come next time and enjoy our services again! We hope you enjoyed your stay appart from this people!

86%

The hostel was good, a little confusion when being checked in as they had changed our room category and wanted to charge us a higher price. Also some confusion with the price of a tour being per person not a group price. Our rooms were great once we were in there, however a bit of mould in the bathroom, looked like it needed to be resealed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you for your comments! They help Us work hard to improve every day. We hope you come back and enjoy our services again! There's lots of thing to do in Mendoza and it's never enough! Cheers!

86%

Great place to stay, no complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you for your comments! They help Us work hard to improve every day! Hope you come back some to keep enjoying our services! Cheers!

80%

Great location near restaurants and bars etc. Nice double room leading onto the pretty courtyard. We found the staff only helped as much as they absolutely HAD to, and no more I.e gave us a folder showing the tours they had on offer, but gave us no additional details which meant we had to book things relatively blind. Breakfast poor. Overall it was a nice place tho and suited us well. Would advise against the horse riding tour - they're rescue horses and therefore very unpredictable.


86%

Good clean, comfortable and secure hostel. staff very variable. The guy with the beard in the day is great and really helpful (also speaks excellent English which helps), some of the others seem very disinterested. Breakfast could be much better and isn't replenished quick enough. The pool wasn't filled when we were there and it was really hot so would have been helpful. Overall though, good atmosphere and only a short walk to the centre.


80%

I had a really nice stay at Hostal Alamo. The hostel itself has everything you would expect: decent wifi, clean rooms, decent breakfast, and really helpful staff. What I really liked about it, however, was just the vibe: it's a social hostel without being a party hostel, which is what I wanted. It's really easy to meet laid-back, easygoing people here and then hang out with them over a BBQ in the lovely garden in the sun. I had a really great time and would stay here again.


60%

The shower was so poor it may of well not been there. Wifi hogged by staff who frankly just made everything hard work, especially if you dared to try and book a outing with an agency they aren't affiliated with. Lives off being top choice in the lonely planet but really undeserved. Plus don't trnt there bikes, overpriced and under maintained.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Dissapointed by this hostel. Definitely clean, well stocked kitchen, decent beds. Downsides for me...breakfast was bland with the regular bread and cereal, staff were less than helpful to backpackers. A person had to ask very specific questions and staff rarely expanded on answers, atmosphere totally lacking, average age of guest was over 40, and they charge you for a locker for the day even though it's a law in Mendoza to lock up bags. Would not stay here again


89%

Lovely nice size hostel. Staff friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again.


97%

Great location, great breakfast selection


83%

The place has a good atmosphere and the staff are helpful. It was also very clean... something I'm really particular about. Good social areas too and nice breakfast.


100%

Stay here! It's phenomenal. If there was a rating higher than 100% I'd give it. Wish I could take this place with me. Esp. Mattias!


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Mendoza Hostels

Please give us your feedback