X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alamo Reviews

Necochea 740 Ciudad, Mendoza, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
576 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Max (staff) is a legend. Breakfast is pretty good for a hostel but runs out fast. Great atmosphere, comfortable communal areas and lots of nice travellers.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Max is great

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I was only here for one night but the hostel suited me just fine. The room was incredibly hot as there was no AC and only just a fan. The breakfast was very simple and the tables were full so I had to eat in the living room. The location is near some great places to eat and a wonderful tasting room, The Vines, and about a 30 minute walk or 30 peso taxi ride to the bus station. The staff was okay but not overly friendly.


100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Great helpful staff, friendly atmosphere!! Loved it thanks x


77%

Some great things, some less so. - breakfast was a disaster. Finished way too early for wine town! Selection was poor. Lady who works there spends all her time on her phone rather than replenishing food, plates and cutlery. - wifi does not work in the rooms - check out at 10am - washing is done off-site = no flexibility BUT! - met lots of wonderful people. Including staff like max - private room was enormous


94%

We were very impress with Max at the reception. He is very socialble and professional at the same time. A real asset for the hostel.


77%

Reception staff are absolutely excellent, especially Max. Super helpful and friendly! Gave good recommendations and helped book tours in the area. Keep an eye out for the ladies "working" in the morning though. Breakfast service is very poor, as they stand in the kitchen on their phones the whole morning. They get very annoyed when you ask for something as well. This unfortunately takes away from the experience. Daily.


86%

A nice hostel, one of the showers was awesome, the other not so much. Staff were helpful, let us leave our bags there all day and even shower before we could check in. The rooms get hot pretty quickly in the morning so sleep ins are out of the question


86%

Pros: Great location, Very clean, very secure and safe Cons: the staff wasnt the best. There is a girl at the desk that was so unfriendly and I felt uncomfortable every time I needed to ask her a question


80%

Everything is pretty nice at this place - except for all the notes hanging around the entire house telling guests to clean up, stay quiet and so on. it really feels unnecessary as the visitors seem mature and responsible.


83%

Fan was insufficient. Room was very hot at night


86%

Fairly good location opposite Carrefour and near to the main square. Good security. Good facilities. Very relaxed vibe around the hostel. The only downside was one particular young woman working behind reception who was extremely unhelpful, never had a smile on her face and gave the impression she didn't want to be there.


83%

Great place to stay, thank you! Your staff were particularly helpful despite being clearly very busy!!


89%

Well located,10-15' from the airport,10 blocks from the bar street and just a couple of streets away from all the business area.It was really clean at all times, you have a common kitchen with your own plastic tupperware with the number of the room you're in plus two big fridges so you can leave your food.The staff was nice but of course they try to sell you the tours they have, we got the vineyard one and it is not worth it,too expensive for what it is, you can go to better ones for way less $.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • AgosNussbaum
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Had a great stay at Alamo Hostel and would definitely come back.


63%

Pretty average hostel with very hefty price tag probably living off old lonely planet fame. Additionally the receptionist in the morning is rather unhelpful when it comes to,anything but the overpriced organised trips the hostel offers. Prepare to pay 10 for storing your luggage on your way out.


97%

One of our favourite places on this trip. Beautiful house and stunning garden. The pool is cold but during the day when it's hot it's nice. Our best memories were sharing a parilla with other guests with several bottles of wine. A mix of people which was nice - not just your standard backpacker crowd. Would def return.


89%

Highly recommended. Great location (about 5 blocks from Plaza Indepencia). Staff are friendly. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have large lockers. Bathrooms are clean. Wifi is reliable and very fast. The breakfast is great. The courtyard is nice and has a small pool. Overall great value for money. Only negative is the place had a somewhat bureaucratic feel - lots of signs with rules, fines, etc - relax and trust your guests! Still, a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Tank you so much for your comments! They help Us a LOT to improve every day and bring the best services! Regarding on the rules and bureaucratic feel, unfortunately, after almost 10 years open, we have had to reach this point as people showed Us we needed to. Unfortunately most of the people don't know how to behave, leaving unwashed dishes, nasty bathrooms, and stuff thrown everywhere. To be able to give a good service, we need to have things in control! Hope you come back soon! Cheers!

77%

While the apartment we stayed at was nice, we would have liked to stay on site at the hostel which was what we were expecting. Also, we had to wait two hours to check in even though the check in time said 12 online.

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. They help Us to improve or work hard to be a better company. We are sorry that you booked the appartments instead of a room in the hostel, even when it was stated that the apartments are not in the hostel but 5 blocks away. We hope you come again soon!

83%

A great, old house with lots of character. We stayed in a room out the back, which was good until people smoked under the porch - we had to close the window and the room quickly got very hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thank you for your comments! They help Us work hard to improve every day. We are sorry you had that experience. Unfortunately smokers are a global problem. They don't care as we do to keep a good life. Unfortunately we can't be responsible for that people, but really hope you can come next time and enjoy our services again! We hope you enjoyed your stay appart from this people!

« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Mendoza Hostels

Please give us your feedback