X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3577 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice clean hostel very close to the Termini train Station. The hostel is a little removed from the major attractions and the wifi was a little spotty at times, these were the only minor issues with this hostel. A very good stay overall and the staff plan many activities which creates a good atmosphere.


89%

It was very clean and good atmosfare. The beds was nice and the security was good. We were very satisfied. The location is close to both city and termial, but the only bad thing was that it is a bit of a bad neighborhood, don't go there alone at night. Otherwise -- very good!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Well run with friendly and responsive staff.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall very clean and good hostel. Only negative aspect is the close location to Rome Termini - gets a little bit edgy at night...


43%

Bathroom and rooms are very dirty ,staff are unhelpful , the Wifi doesn't even existed.


97%

This is the coolest Hostel i've ever been!!!! Lots of fun activities. close to the station and to the city center. merci beaucoup. i enjoyed

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The rooms were neat, but not cleaned regularly cause the other travellers arent necessarily clean. The showers should be cleaned more often and some people complained about wifi being bad, but I had no problem. The social area was very good to meet other travellers and they organised fun things to do regularly. Close to the train station and goods are cheaper in that area. I just never got to see this rooftop bar of theirs. It had specific operating hours :(

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel with tons of activities. Thanks for the SANGRIA night !!!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I love this hostel all the staff are nice. cool hostel. thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great fun hostel with loads of night time events and opportunities to meet people: not common in rome hostels. Maybe not the nicest neighbourhood near termini but ultimately it's a great central location: recommend!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I love this hostel!!! cool party and cool staff. big luggage deposit after the check out.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel made my travel more easy with their helpful staffs who are always willing to help me. Located 2 blocks from the main train station. Rooms are clean and big. kitchen to use. Thumbs up!!!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Its my first time in a hostel and i enjoyed it. thanks to alessandro Downtown for the experience. you have a nice staff and a nice hostel. i will be back again

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really helpful staff, good, clean facilities and nice vibes.


83%

Very central, near Termini station, the area is quiet but not very safe during the night ( also if there is a police station very near). Kitchen is open in the evening but not until late; in the morning breakfast is served for 4 euro. Large dorms with lockers. Good common areas with wifi. You have to pay all extras, included some evening events. Good hostel to visit the town.


100%

Nice hostel to stay with a good price. big dorms and clean bathrooms. computer room which help a lot for those people who did'nt bring their laptop. Nice staff , allover a very good hostel. thanks

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

this is the Hostel where you can meet a lot of people from different countries and make friends.. Clean hostel and well organize staff.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Whilst the rooms and bathrooms were ok, all the staff had poor attitudes and the hostel completely lacked atmosphere. The staff behaved and treated guests as if they were a burden. They were rude and unhelpful to anyone who checked in or asked a question. The kitchen. Was inadequate. There were no (not one) utensil for cooking and the stove was broken, 2 of the hot plates never got hot enough to boil water. The kettle had all but dissolved from corrosion. There was no atmosphere at all.


100%

I really enjoyed my time at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, I would definitely recommend it to others visiting Rome. Great location, good facilities, great people and I loved that they had nights out where you could meet new people staying at other hostels. I would definitely stay there again if I am in Rome.


100%

I enjoyed staying in this hostel. 10 minutes walking to the center of Rome. Clean big rooms at helpful staff, thanks guys for helping me to book in galleria borghese. See you again

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(215 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback