Hostelworld.com

Hostel Alessandro Downtown

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 4,995 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 4,995 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
Hostel Alessandro Downtown Located at Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, , Rome.
Hostel Alessandro Downtown
Italy
Rome 00185 Via Carlo Cattaneo 23
83% 4995
41.8981564 12.5021088
Hostel Alessandro Downtown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
7.7

Stayed in the hostel for two nights.Five minute walk from train and bus station.Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were what you would expect from a hostel.If you just want a base for a short stay in Rome then look no further.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel in a great location, quite pricey though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Apr 2016
6.0

Alessandro downtown hostel doesnt provide breakfast, doesnt provide towels or toiletries. No showergel. Lockers in the room are small and not working well. If you want to deposit luggage, it costs 2 eur for every 12 hours. Overall its clean but just a place to sleep. It feels like a money making machine to me. Only pro is that its close to Roma Termini and the recep staff are generally helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
8.0

The only downsides were you could not go in the kitchen in the morning so couldn't make breakfast, although you could buy breakfast there if you wanted. Also the lockers in the room were too small to fit a bag in (for everyone in the room, not just me) but I felt fine about leaving it locked and under the bed. There are lockers you could pay for that were bigger. Location was fab!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
6.9

This hostel was fine--no real complaints. One thing that was interesting was that the hostel was holding a party in their common room. There was an open bar and everything. That could be great if you want to meet new people and party, but it was a rather loud when I was trying to sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
8.6

Nice hostel, I liked that they had lockers in the actual rooms that you didn't have to pay for. I would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2016
6.3

Bathroom smelled at all times, you had to pay for everything... Breakfast, leave your stuff after check out, towels... Everything else was good !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mismonmon
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.0

Good place to stay. Close to the train station and you can easily walk to the attractions. Lots of stairs though, and I wouldn't rely on the elevator. 4€ breakfast offered, but I would suggest spending the same amount at a restaurant outside. Staff are generally friendly. Showers work, are generally clean but a bit smelly. Still I would recommended as good value to any backpacker.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
7.7

The staff at Hostel Alessandro was very friendly and funny, and the location of the hostel is pretty good; it does not take long to walk or take the metro to the important sites in Rome. My only complaint really is that when we got there we weren't sure which beds were ours because the dirty sheets from the previous guests had not been removed (which tells me that the rooms are probably cleaned infrequently). However, we were given new sheets so it all turned out okay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for posting you review. We are sorry to receive a doubt on our cleaning. We guarantee the cleaning duty is carried out every morning, as we think it is one of most important elements for the hostel. We are afraid, that time it could not be made in time as the previous guests made late check-out (which is not usually accepted..). And yes, we provide each guest with a fresh sheet. Thank you again for your friendly words on our staff members. We are honored :) We hope we will see you one day again. Best regards,

  • erinriddell
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.3

We stayed here for 2 nights and met some great people! Definitely has a great atmosphere. Our key card had to be fixed a couple times and the bathrooms could have been cleaner. Our biggest complaint would be that there were not enough clean sheets provided and the bottom sheets on all the beds were not changed. Other than that we had a great time and found the staff to be very helpful, thanks for all your help James!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for posting your review. It is important to know about the cleaning issue. We appreciate you wrote it here. Regarding the sheet, at each check-in, we currently provide our guests with a large fresh sheet (for double bed) instead of two single sheets and ask to blend it when make bed so that they can sleep inbetween. We are afraid we may missed to give you information.. For the rest, we are happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Alessandro Downtown. Thank you again for your nice words :) and we hope we will see you one day again. Best regards,

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.