X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3798 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

good location and good staff. they will inform you everything about the hostel and about the city upon checking in. The bathrooms are clean. Free kitchen to use and 24 hrs reception. i recommend this hostel

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I found this hostel to be significantly lower in quality than its high rating suggests. Granted, we were allocated the room right by the reception and common area so it was a super disruptive night's sleep. And the wi-fi was often non-existent unless in the reception area. Definitely not awful, but perfectly average, and I'm sure there are better places to stay in Rome.


60%

This hostel is VASTLY oversold on hostelworld. It is very misconceiving the quality. If I were to pay this price per night I expected much better accommodations, I saw other listings for my stay in Rome in nearby areas for half the price that would have been equal in quality. The only reason why I booked with Alessandro was the Hostelworld recommendation. Would NOT recommend for price.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

very nice staff give me free sangria and print my ticket free thank you

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is pretty good, excellent location, all staff are very kind, helpfull and friendly. They have a very good restaurant on the other side of termini station which they give you also a discount, i enjoyed my stay.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It's really close to "Termini" and if you are close to Termini, you are sort of close to everything. Staff was really helpful and experienced, especially PJ. They even suggested a place to eat a pizza. Beds could be a little more long and more high-distanced. My room was light-well and airy. Also I liked the color of the walls it's relaxing. Showers and lockers were clean. When you compare thish hostel to Rome itself, it's definitely a nice place :) Thanks PJ!


100%

nice place cool staff...

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was excellent value for money, very clean and an excellent location. Great helpful staff, nice people.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

its really nice in this hostel meeting brazilians and other guest make my stay complete and the rooms is really comfortable and spacious great stay alessandro will return in the future

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Sweet place to stay, i love all the staff, they are all helpful. Good price. free sangria, wifi, luggage deposit and 24 hrs reception. They organize party and some tours. i will stay again

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

cool staff a very good and cheap restaurant bramble is really nice given a 15% discount is awesome

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I enjoyed the relaxed environment at Alessandro Downtown, the common room always had people in it willing to make connections and plans for socializing. The location is perfect for those relying on tram, bus and train because it is right next to termini station. We also had no problem walking to many attractions and night life. The bathrooms were always clean and the rooms had wonderful heating/air systems.


100%

Staff was super nice and helpful, place was clean, beds were the most comfortable. Free wifi, free sangria and kitchen to use.The hostel is located 5 minutes from the main station. 24hrs reception. Great stay

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

good kitchen facility compared to other easy to meet travelers and meet new friends a well organized hostel

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

good location and good value for money

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location and easy to find. We loved the 4 euro breakfast at The Bramble (the one at the hostel was hurting). The rooms were alright, the beds were SO COMFY! The duvet was huge so you could get all snuggled in! However, the wifi was absolute bad! It was basically non-existent, even when sitting right at reception.


74%

There is absolutely NO KITCHEN. It says they do but they have no pots, pans, cups, knifes... Nothing to cook a proper meal. Their 4€ breakfast is just bread, cereal, and juice (normally free at other hostels). The locks on the bathrooms are flimsy and staff really only recommended restaurants that the owner is associated with, which were subpar. The tours they offered we're triple price of regular tour groups. Our stay was poor and I would not return.


86%

Friendly place in a good location, good value for your money. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

nice roommates nice staff a very pleasant stay I" booked a mix dormitory by mistake then the guy at the reception give me a free upgrade for a female dormitory without extra payment thank you so much i will definitely come back i love Alessandro Downtown :)

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Best value for money i had in my entire trip, Staff are all nice willing to help anytime.

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(245 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback