Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Alessandro Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 6404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 6404 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2017
8.3

Really liked this place. Easy to get to from Central Station and nice walking to the rest of Rome. Certain streets around the hostel were nicer than others. During the day this didn't really matter but at night I made sure to stay on the main ones when going around. The staff was nice though I didn't really need their assistance much. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great AC and nice lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexcusteau
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.3

The location was great, super close to termini and within walking distance of a lot of the major sites. Only problem was that lockers were first come first serve and there were only 4 big ones and the other 4 lockers were too small to put big bags into.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.6

Rooms were very big with good ac. The common area is on a separate floor by the reception, so not that easy to meet people unless you want to hang out in there all day. The staff was very friendly. The location is not completely central, but most central areas are walking distance or a short metro ride away. Overall good place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.9

Great place next to the station. For me works perfect as I need it to take an early train the following morning to the airport. Atmosphere is not best but is ok, there is a common area where you can meet new people. Staff was really helpful, Building was old, elevator didn't work at that time, but in general is a very good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.9

Only stayed one night, but it was a pleasant one! Big rooms, tidy, great air con, bathrooms facilities were good. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and felt comfortable the entire time, as I was travelling alone the location isn't somewhere you want to be wandering through late at night but if you're with others it is fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
10.0

If you want a social friendly hostel this is the place to be. The atmosphere here is superb. The three Philippine guys on the reception will have you laughing your ass off and have the best recommendations to find everything you need. Most helpful staff. Clean air conditioned rooms with free sangria nights that are sure to get everyone being social. 10/10 for these guys. Keep up the good work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • RamyElZahaby
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.4

It was good, location near termini which is great. Rooms had AC, which is perfect according to Rome's unbearably hot weather. Private bathroom was good if the room is not full or if not everyone wants to go in at the same time. Wifi was almost not working in the room, so that's something they must work on. Overall it was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel...and I have stayed in over 100. I arrived at the station hot and tired and it is so close and very welcoming. It is good value for Rome and has everything a traveller could want. The staff are very helpful and friendly and I will definitely come here again if and when I am next in Rome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
8.3

Hostel Alessandro Downtown satisfied my basic needs.Although I did not spent the majority of my time at the hostel, the area felt sercure for me. The staff was friendly and willing to help. The bunk beds were a bit less than what I'm used to but you get what you pay for. The location was great because it was very close to Termini the major transportation station of Rome. I did not experience the planned social events but still was able to make friends within the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
10.0

It was really hot in Rome when I got there and I was planning to cut my trip short and just go to a different city instead. But after my first night of stay, it changed my mind. I was happy that the room had excellent A/C, has it's own locker inside the room. I felt safe. Met awesome people from all over the world. The location is very close to Termini station, like 3 to 5 mins walk. The staff are awesome! Specially James, he made my check out and check in to a new room to be worry free!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.