X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4535 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

cool afternoon staff

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

cool place with kitchen and colorful common area easy to meet other travelers party every tuesday thursday and saturday free sangria every monday wednesday and friday i liked the way they treat every guest "s recommended

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely hostel for solo travellers. sociable atmosphere, Staff are helpful. They have a safety luggage deposit. Location is perfect. I would highly recommend!!!

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

perfect location so near with every sightseeing" s like the sangria cool restaurants bramble and very helpful staff"s 24/ 7

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

this was amazing i stay here not so long but they make my vacation really worth it i like this hostel a lot will stay here again

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I love this hostel, everything was perfect, location, atmosphere, cleanliness with a lovely helpful staff. The hostel is free city tax. They offer sangria night . Kitchen was nice also, you can cook your own food at store in the fridge. See you again.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel was pretty close to everything we wanted to see in Rome as well as good places to eat. It was on a quieter side street, which was nice after being surrounded by people all day in the city. Everything was always clean and the people were friendly. The man serving breakfast in the morning was always so cheerful and nice, which was always a fantastic start to my day because I'm not a morning person. I would stay here again.


83%

Location is the best: close to the Central train station and 5 min walk from wonderful restaurants. Everything works. Huge lockers.


100%

Great stay with alessandro downtown. Location was perfect , near the main train station and 15 minutes walking to the city center. i love the free sangria where you can meet lots of people from different countries. I recommend.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Location is right next to a train station that you take from the airport. 15 min walk to the colloseo and pretty much the city center. A guy named PJ was very helpful in arranging for me to see the colloseo and the Vatican. Thanks bud.


77%

I would be nice to have a bigger locker!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Cool staff, always willing to help. Rooms are big and clean. Thanks to the cleaner who found my necklace. See you again

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel to stay. Lots of activities and nice people. Staff are helpful. they have also a laundry room. I recommend this place.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is located very close to Termini station and the metro lines. The area itself was rundown and a bit shady, especially at night. Most of the staff is very welcoming but not very accommodating when problems arose. The 4 Euro breakfast consisted of bread and cheese, cereal, coffee, and fruit. Not horrible but definitely would have been better if it was included in the price. All in all a pretty average stay. Nothing too wonderful but also not horrible either.


91%

WIFI SUCKSSSSSSSSS!!!! The location was pretty good and I loved the sangria nights so much. However the lack of wifi killed me as I had work assignments due that I could not submit. Clean rooms, nice full time staff. Quite a hike up to the 4th floor.


97%

The ONLY negative thing about this place was the fact the lights when out in the shower after about 30 seconds and then you couldn't see anymore. Everything else was perfect. Thanks!!


86%

This was my first experience with a hostel and it was wonderful. We were a little skeptical about the location, especially at night, but overall it's vicinity to Termini was a god send. The facilities, staff, and quality of backpackers was great! Awesome atmosphere, great breakfast, and tour booking services were incredibly helpful. In particular, PJ was an awesome staff member and helped us with all our needs including mapping our way throughout the city. 9/10. Definitely would stay here again.


100%

It was a great stay with alessandro downtown hostel. Perfect location, near the main station ( TERMINI ). No city tax hostel. staff are nice. Good breakfast for 4€. They organize lots of activities like Sangria and night out party, Tours etc. Good job.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Clean :) friendly staff. The breakfast is 4euros and not worth it, but it was safe and clean. Awesome bathroom facilities. No complaints :)


71%

Very cranky and unhelpful staff at the front desk.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(259 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback