X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3635 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This place is amazing! All staff (Filmer and .. forgot the other names ) were super dooper friendly, Facilities and rooms were clean and comfortable. Sangria night was awesome, always something on and great way to meet people. Was supposed to stay 1 night, ended up staying a week. Close to station and to a metro stop and staff tell you everything you need to see in Rome. Dont look past this place, it is well worth the money and I will be coming back. Thank you for the AMAZIIIIING times guys.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excelent place, everything was good!


86%

Clean and secure hostel near the main train station in Rome. The location is ideal for the Colosseum and Roman Forum, but a little bit more of a walk into the other sites of the city. Breakfast was fairly basic for 4 euros, so I did not pay for it. There are plenty of supermarkets around to buy food and use in the kitchen. The only 'lounge' type space is a few sofas in the reception area which is a shame, the chairs in the 'dining room' are a bit too hard to sit on for a long time!


100%

The staff (Filmer) welcomed you with a guide about Rome highlighting on a map where to go how long it will take, the room was really clean and a good size enough room for each person to have their own space. Had own safes. Bathroom was clean! You can cook on their kitchen and a BIG Refrigerator, Good stay very good value for money! I am impressed!!!

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel! I would definitely stay there again! The common room is soooo nice, and the kitchen is useful for budget travelers, the internet is perfect (I could Skype from the bedroom AND common room), Everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable and although I was in the 8 bed bedroom.The afternoon staff was great, very friendly and helpful and gave me a FREE Sangria, Thanks Guys! See you next year!

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I liked it and I would stay again. Many toilets, showers and they looked all clean. The common area could be improved, looks like a cafeteria, but hey, it exists at least. The area is a guy that works during the night, he tends to yell and not be as kind when you arrive late, even though there is no curfew... Apart from that, all is excellent.


97%

I had a really great stay at Downtown Hostels, I would recommend it to anyone! Also the staff were extremely fun and helpful! The atmosphere was amazing which made it very easy to meet new people. My last night was awesome, we had a bunch of sangria and the staff did really well to keep the games going and keep everyone involved. Big ups to Filmer for that! Cheers!

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a fantastic! hostel to stay at we had a real time and the filipino staff were great Filmer, Jerry and PJ were fabulous and made our trip so enjoyable there happy bubbly personalities made it even more enjoyable. They served free sangria every friday and the breakfast is good for €4.00. great place will highly recommend it to friends.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location, just 5 minutes from Termini by walk; Wifi works in the room; Facilities are new; Toilet is very clear and hair dryer is included; Staffs are helpful and nice.


77%

Very huge rooms! So you can breathe e move freely. Very good


97%

this hostel is right by the train station so its easy to get to. the staff are very friendly and helpful and the facilities are great. no complaints!


83%

Too expensive for what it is. I was expecting for that price for it to be waaay better than most hostels, but it was typical. Really loud at night though. Another girl had to get up at 3am to call manger about the noise in the halls. For the price, you could get your own room.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Getting there from Termini station is a scary, but two blocks away at where the hostel is at is fine. Take the metro from nearby stations if you can. Wifi speed is terrible but alright for basic web browsing. Having one toilet for 8 people in a room is not ideal at times but survivable. Breakfast is extremely worth it. Rooms were a little dusty. A little dodgy because someone pretended to have lost his key and asked my friend to help him open our room. Luckily, the cards are hard to use.


40%

The only good thing about this hostel was its proximity to restaurants and the central train station. There was a bit sketchy but the hostel did have security cameras. The staff was the absolute worst. They were not helpful in the least bit. Their only response to anything you asked was NO! They need to trained in customer service. The answer to any customer request that they did not want to do was no. There was only one person in the mornings that was helpful, everyone else sucked.


97%

Hostel is great, for a few Euros more you get better internet. Downtown is a great way to save a few Euros and has plenty of hot water for showers. Breakfast is pretty good and overall, I asked to print 5 pages for my flight tickets and staffs (Ovens - Filmer) they smile to say YES its absolutely free for all the guest just send their email address. Would definitely recommend any one of the Alessandro Downtown to a friend! See you soon! CIAO!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Youll have a clean bed, made up and ready for you to sleep in it when you get there. As SOON as you get to your room MESS UP YOUR BED AND CLAIM IT AS YOUR OWN! We didnt do that our first night and we went out for food instead- got back and someone was sleeping in our beds. Went downstairs and told the manager- he gave us a top sheet and a pillowcase... no bottom sheet or new blanket... you live and you learn

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Beds were dirty in rooms, as well as the common area where most people would sit and eat. Very few staff members were accommodating as most had a "figure it out" attitude.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks so much! Great help with figuring out how to attack the city in 2 days. Loved the breakfast. I'm telling everyone I know who's going to Rome. Thanks to all the professional staff they have more patience for all the questions I have. The sangria party is very cool to meet another youth travelers. Thank you guys you did a great job! I will come back again next year with my friends.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

good location: very close to the main station, walking distance to Colosseum, easy to go to Vatican, horrible around (dirty streets) staff: apart of PJ and albanian guy, the rest need a softskill training, especially the filipino spike hair facilities: cant use kitchen in the morning because it is outsourced to another filipino to sell his own rubbish breakfast for 4 euros and cannot cook after 10pm-The owner Oven (sorry for spelling) doesnt care putting signs on the doors or inform in checkin


80%

Bathrooms weren't in the room but in the hallway. The showers were a little smelly but everything besides that was great. In a weird part of town, a little dirty, but a short walk to the main train station and not far walking distance to other main sites in Rome.


(243 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback