X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4233 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I had a very nice stay! The staff were helpful and friendly! Much better than I expected, wifi in the whole building, colorful rooms and good breakfast. They have a kitchen, computer room and big common room where you can meet a lots of travelers. good job guys

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel is in a great location by the main train station. Room was clean and good value for money. Staff were helpful when asking for directions including trying to get a football ticket. Reasonably priced and still relatively busy for January.


100%

Awesome! I recommend it! Very clean, good shower and nice staff. breakfast for 4€ is really good.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Baisically good. Equipments in kitchen could have been better. As for location, convenient but too close to termini so you need to pass by dangerous looking guys on your way to hostel. It can be intimidating especially at night


100%

Really good place to stay, Convenient location from the train station and very pretty room with friendly and helpful staff. They help also printing boarding pass and some voucher. i would recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Good enough value, only one hob in the kitchen is a pain if you're there early evening and want to eat in you basically have to queue to use the cooker. Location is super close to termini which is close to the city centre, but never felt safe walking home after midnight, it's okay though and handy if you wanna buy drugs I guess.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The location is very convienent for getting around the city. Staff are very kind and polite. Wifi is free, sangria free and kitchen free to use. Would definitely recommend

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Helpful staff, clean bathrooms -- the showers were often cold though, and the water pressure not good. Termini is not the best place to stay, it is touristic and lacks atmosphere, despite what many reviews say. I WOULD ADVISE TO STAY IN TRASTAVERE - it is lovely and atmospheric. Another thing I didn't like so much about the hostel, though this is personal preference, is that because it's big, it's harder to make friends and feels a little impersonal. However, over all, it is good


100%

The hostel is in a nice central location and walking distance from the train station and main attractions. They offer free sangria. Staff are helpful,will help you to plan your days, breakfast is good. Can't wait to come back! Thanks alessandro downtown

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

I ´ve been in a lot of hostels before and this had the worst wifi ever. Staff was unfriendly, facilities were very poor. For instance, in the kitchen there were only crockery and cutlery for only five people.


100%

Clean hostel with great location- easy to walk to the subway or Termini station. i was completely amazed by the facility here like kitchen,fridge, internet room and big colorful common area. I was really satisfied with my stay.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Quiet location, big rooms, comfortable beds, secure. Wifi was a pain in the butt to use and rarely worked.


63%

the heater in my room spoilt, but luckily the weather was not too cold recently. out of three showers, two.could.not be locked. in addition, there are too few charging ports in the room, and each person does not have a light so one has to use their phone for lights.


100%

Great place for a good value. rooms are clean and comfortable. staff are nice and helpful. Free kitchen and internet helps more for a traveller like me.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It was very good, and even it doesn't have breakfast included, it's very nice and the price for the breakfast it's worth. I definitely would repeat in it.


97%

nice good stay

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

a very pleasant stay helpful staff informative and so active to everyone i really love this place printing my boarding pass is a big help thank you guys

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

good and helpful staff they speak spanish and that is really a big help for me they organized a party and tour even in spanish so its really convinient

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The overall experience for this hostel is excellent and superb !! Rooms were clean and kitchen area and other facilities superb . People in the rooms were awesome and had a good time . Location was fantastic near to station ..hardly 5 min walk and easy to find. Bathrooms condition could have been little better to rank it best among all... ...


100%

Good hostel. The room are excellent, lots of space, clean and very colorful which makes people more relax. Staff are all amazing and helpful. I stayed with my wife and we are really satisfied with the service. Downtown eshte nje nga hostel me te sigurt qe kam qene ndonjehere,djemt qe punonin aty me kane bere qe te ndihem si ne shtepine time.Shume faleminderit per te gjitha.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(273 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback