X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3726 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great location and security, comfy bed, clean bathroom, and cheap. It was well organised and staff were helpful and spoke good English. Can't really fault the place, would definitely recommend.


100%

Clean hostel. Thanks to your staff who are always willing to help

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Loved the hostel and the staff, would definitely stay here again. Very close to the train station.


100%

EXCELLENT!!!!FREE WIFI, FREEMAP, FREE SANGRIA!!!!!AWESOME STAY! thanks afternoon staff (jerry and filmer) perfect STAFF combination!!!! WILL STAY HERE AGAIN FOR SURE!! SEE YOU GUYS!!!!

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

it was a great stay here in alessandro downtown with the lovely staff.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff offered some great help planning my time for 1 day in rome which is very hepful to me. the hostel has a kitchen and pc to use. They have a big common room where you can socialized with another traveler. For the price it was pretty decent. excellent experience

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very near Termini station. For 4e you get all-you-can-eat breakfast, they also sell Green line HO-HO bus tickets. THey organize several tours of Rome (ask for details). Big dining area, you can eat your food there too, but kitchen is not usable during breakfast. They also organize parties almost daily. Basic hostel for eating and sleeping, not for lounging around. Luggage room is safe and monitored.


100%

They serve a good breakfast for 4€ and free sangria. The staff helped me carrying my luggage to the room. This hostel is a good place to stay!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good hostel, everything worked out well. Staff are super helpful clean big dorms and no curfew. i loved the sangria. i would definitely recomend this place.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Location is very close to Roma Termini, so it's convenient. We got upgraded from a 6bed to a private room for two, which was nice. The 6 beds seem to be rather spacious. Our room was pretty outdated. Had a closet with a sink but it was out of order, which didn't bother us but was mostly weird. Wi-fi only in the commons. Bathrooms were co-ed. Overall alright. However, every staff member we encountered was very friendly. PJ was extra helpful


100%

The Hostel is located few blocks from termini station. staff are nice and helpful, i would recommend this hostel

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

good value of money, kitchen and internet room to use, free sangria and the best thing is staff are helpful. grazie mille

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A very acommodating hostel. Clean big rooms, nice staff. 24 hr reception. Lot of activities like tours and party. i loved this hostel

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff helped me booking galleria borghese and a taxi to the airport. They offer free sangria which is a good thing to meet people. After i checked out they even let me use the shower and the luggage room.Nice Hostel

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice clean hostel very close to the Termini train Station. The hostel is a little removed from the major attractions and the wifi was a little spotty at times, these were the only minor issues with this hostel. A very good stay overall and the staff plan many activities which creates a good atmosphere.


100%

The hostel is big, clean and well organized. They have kitchen to use and internet room. good location . Staff are nice and cool. will be back again

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Sketchy area which smelt so so bad. They have a kitchen but only let you use it for dinner as they use it for breakfast (which you have to pay extra for) and may not have it cleaned up until 4pm. 2 out of 3 nights I stayed they made mistakes with bookings which kept me up until 2am while they fixed it. The staff were not unpleasant but lacked enthusiasm and were often less than helpful when I asked questions. Top 3 worst hostels in my 3 months of travel.


89%

Hostel was nice enough. I found the staff a little stand offish when asking any questions, but that could be it being such a busy hostel.


100%

I loved my stay in this hostel, lots of fun memories. 100 percent recommend

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The tri and quadlingual staff were very helpful. I had terrific room mates in women's dorm. Only bad deal is that the walk to train station takes you by a lot of homeless people sleeping and doing drug deals near entrance to termini from the hostel a few blocks away. I had a transient at 5am expose himself to me on way to my 6am train, jeez. He was harmless just a creep.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(255 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback