X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3558 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great value of money, near at termini station and to colloseo like 15 minute walk. friendly and accomodating staff. clean rooms.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is incredibly close to the train/bus termini which allows for simple transportation around Rome. The staff are incredibly helpful in showing you how/what to see. There are great reasonably priced food places around which the staff calm also recommend. They have tons of showers and a great common room.


69%

Overall very clean, nice staff, and absolutely perfect location! Very close to main train station, so it was easy to get everywhere! Kitchen is okay, the oven doesn't work that well, but staff was super helpful about it!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Room was clean and comfortable to stay... It's location is also near the train and metro station...


100%

my stay at Downtown was perfect, Ive booked in 6 beddorm but they upgraded me in 6 bed female ensuite for FREE :) they had free sangria at night, decent breakfast and spacious common area, the staff was very knowledgeable about the city.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location, about two min walk from train station. Clean and friendly staff. A little noisy at times and a bit more of a party hostel so not ideal for people wanting to sleep and relax but all in all good stay and would return


100%

Clean, big and comfortable room. 24 hrs reception with nice staff. Big common room with television and a/c.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel is small but clean and convenient. The staff were very helpful. The only negative was the kitchen was very small and had limited utensils and equipment for cooking. Breakfast was pretty simple - bread, ham, cheese, jams, some fruit, cereal and was the same each night. Good value for 4 euros. Would recommend for younger crowd who aren't looking to party every night. Hostel is pretty quiet.


100%

Great staff! Friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and well done. Appreciated having wifi in common area and in rooms. Very convenient to walk to major sights and to catch the metro or train to other places. Also easy to catch transport from here to both airports (from really early and throughout the day). Would definitely stay here again.


43%

The worst hostel of my hole trip!! The location was horrible, the streets near by felt really unsafe, since I got there there were problems with the number of girls in the room and the unoccupied beds, the staff wasn't very kind, and the facilities were average. Thankfully I just stayed one night and I was supoust to return for 2 nights more but I cancelled and went to another hostel. I don't recommend it at all, it's very popular but there are others way better!


100%

everything was good, spacious room, friendly staff clean toilets and big common rooms with free sangria. Theres also a kitchen that you can use at night.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cool and nice hostel. Near the center and train station. Free computers to use kitchen and luggage room. Thanks Alessandro Downtown

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean, helpful staffs, very good location! I enjoyed my stay even if it was only one night!


97%

Having lived in Rome for 8 months and coming back a visitor for the first time this is a nice hostel. Very clean with huge rooms.


89%

Awesome opportunity to meet people. Loved free sangria nights.


60%

Booked 8rm mixed but they screwed up res. they took care of it, which was good-but said it was our fault when it wasn't. Bathrooms are pretty gross. Location is near termini and major tourist sites but a terrible area for affordable and good food, because all the restaurants are the ones catered to tourists (overpriced and low quality). Wouldn't stay there again because of that. Wifi was rocky. Good b/c put in private room-otherwise stay would've been less pleasant. Won't book here again though


94%

Great location! Right next to the train station and a short walk to the colosseum. The hostel had pub-crawls etc. which was a great way to meet everyone there. the common room was big, but the kitchen was quite small. I had to cook my own meals because i couldn't eat the group meals and they wouldn't let me cook when they were in there. Big rooms, big secure lockers and a yummy breakfast that was included! good value for money - hard to find in Rome!


100%

Clean big hostel, wifi in the rooms, kitchen and free sangria. Thanks to your cleaning staff who found my iphone and the reception who always help me booking and printing my boarding pass. You guys made my trip easy

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I would say that this is the best hostel!!! they helped me sorting out my problems with my luggage to the airport. The hostel is clean and well decorated. Wifi is free, kitchen to use and luggage room free to use after the check out. i will be back again. thanks

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It's near the main train station so that makes it easily accessible when coming back late at night, like I, and may others staying there did after the Arcade Fire concert!


(207 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback