X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3494 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I had a great time with this hostel with full of activities. they have a kitchen to use, computer room and big common room. free pasta and night out party. Staff are always willing to help you. i will be back again

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

First off this was the first time staying at any sort of Hostel. It was perfect for what i needed for sure. From my daughter's point, as she has been staying in your hostel all over Europe. She said it was the worse one she had stayed in. There is no doubt a newer facility would be nicer for your travelers maybe with a bar attached. However I personally would return their anytime in the future with the place not changing. Only issues the wifi was weak at times and would not work in the rooms.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Loved the atmosphere at the free breakfast. Paid for a private room so that was great. We were able to walk to Sacre Coeur in montmartre in about 30 minutes. helpful staff. would stay again!


63%

Decent hostel. Close to everything, but bad neighborhood. I only stayed for one night and never went outside the room. Instead I enjoyed the company of the two beautiful girls with whom I shared the room :D


100%

clean big rooms and toilets, good breakfast for 4€ specially the espresso coffee, thanks for the morning staff who found my reading glasses, thanks also for all the patience and being professional. the service is like a hotel, keep up the good work guys.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff are helpful and location to Termini is great. The room was cleaned very well everyday. The kitchen available was not meant for guest use. You are able to boil water with the equipment but not much more.


71%

Decently situated in a good location. Two minutes away from Termini train station. About 20min walk to the Colosseum. Some staff workers were greatly helpful.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Downtown hostel is well-located as just 1 minutes walk to the Termini station. There are many restaurants nearby and the shop mostly close at around 10 pm. Therefore, there are choices for you to look for foods if you are hungry at night. The staff is really helpful and they have 24 hours reception services.


91%

Very convenient place to stay if you enjoy walking everywhere, it was 10 mins from train terminal (Roma Termini), 20 mins from colosseum. I stayed in a 6 people room and had no issue at all.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The place is clean, the location is awful, the staff were rude. Dont want even spend more than 10 seconds to review it, really disappointing.


71%

The hostel is conveniently placed but the staff is pretty rude. The rooms are nice and we met some wonderful people in our room. Overall, a good place to stay in Rome but never pay for the breakfast. You can find pastries and coffee for much for cheaper and they'll taste a lot better.


86%

Paid breakfast comes with apportioning of 2 ham and cheese. But overall nice breakfast.


100%

Fantastic reception staff, Clean rooms :)

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A good hostel, nice location and they are always willing to help you. They always organize grupal activities. I recommend this hostel very much!


51%

This hostel had several issues that would keep me from staying with them again. The hostel is close to the train station which is great for public transportation but the area did not feel very safe especially at night. We stayed in a six bed dorm with an ensuite. The room was large but the AC didn't work which was a big problem since it was 90+ degrees. The ensuite bathroom was convenient but it was very small and there was mold in the shower.


100%

Everything Good! Thanks!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Stayed four nights. Hotel was a good budget hotel for a much younger crowd. Facilities were ok had a bi-polar shower that would change from hot to cold without you changing it. Had a roommate the first night that had a flu like cold which made things uncomfortable in the room. The lockers they provide can only be locked by specific locks which "can be bought in their vending machine". 4.00 Euro for a wash and 4.00 for drying at the laundry facilities, the most expensive I had seen at a hostel.


100%

this hostel is perfect , big rooms, clean bathrooms , kitchen, they offer us a free pasta that day and the next day free sangria. the hostel is 5 minutes walking to the central station and 15 minutes to the city center. thanks to pj and ovens for calling a taxi for me to the airport. I really recommend this hostel. GRAZIE MILLE

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I've stayed at the Alessandro Downtown hostel four times now, each time in a different room. There really is no consitincy between the quality of the different rooms and bathroom facilities available on each floor. Honestly, it's hit and miss. I've stayed here so many times because it is extremely close to the train station, and therefore very convenient in that sense. The hostel is average at best. You get what you pay for, I suppose.


83%

I recommend this hostel. Nice, clean and kind stuff

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(180 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback