X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
4073 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really like the hostel and the parties organized by them! But it took some time to find the correct building, the map is a little bit wrong.


63%

We booked a standard private double bed room, but unfortunately there were two separate mattress. Heater was not there in bathroom. Freeze and TV remote was not provided. WiFi was not working in forth floor. Bed room was clean and heater was working.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were really friendly and helpful, the hostel is 5 minutes walking from the bus and metro station ( TERMINI ). the breakfast guy is nice. thanks for the wonderful night with your free sangria!!!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

+ Very close to Termini train station and subway A and B + The hostel organises parties and common activities allowing you to know other people + No waiting problems for common toilet or showers + Close to some attractions like S. Maria maggiore and terme di Diocleziano - The area around the train station may not give you a great security feeling - No personal lights in the bed - Few wall sockets (8 bed dorm)


100%

Very close to Termini station and 15 minutes walking to colosseum. Excellent value for money, a very friendly staff as well as clean and big rooms. a very nice place to meet people from different countries. I will return next time to this hostel.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice bed, good location. Perfect to stay in Rome.


100%

Good location near metro and nice clean spacious rooms. big kitchen to use and fridge to leave your food. they have a luggage deposit after the check out. Staff are nice. Thank you for making my stay comfortable.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was not a hostel i think, an enterprise!! the owners and the staff really know how to run a hotel and greet the visitors, very professional. A good stay in Rome. The location is good but not secure...


60%

Not the cleanest hostel. The floors were constantly sticky and, since I was on the bottom bunk, my face was only a couple inches from the dirty floor. The bottom bunks literally a mattress on the floor. It rained in Rome when I was there so it was super gross. The Roma Termini area is easy to get in and out of the city but it is super sketchy. Really not safe to walk alone at night. Lots of people who looked like they would mug you. Met lots of cool people traveling here though - good community.


91%

Hostel is close to metro station and easy to find.Staff is good.Rooms are clean,large and cosy.Atmospehere is lively.Not too far to touristic attractions.Good value for money.We haven't encountered a problem.


100%

This place was ideal. Spacious rooms, clean bathroom, decent wifi, breakfast is good for 4€ and they offer free sangria. The staff are all nice and very helpful. Thanks to the cleaning staff who found my watch in the bathhroom. i recommend this place

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was my first time in a hostel, but this hostel makes me feel really comfortable and safe. the staff will help you what to do in rome. i will come back again

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

cool afternoon staff"s

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

my first time to stay in the hostel and this hostel make my vacation really worth it, giving a free sangria reccomending a really nice and good restaurant name bramble is awesome as a guest they will give you a discount that is really cool for a backpackers thank you guys will come back this summer

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place to stay


100%

its really great having a free sangria i meet a lot of koreans kitchen is really nice colorful and spacious common room

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

very good stay they have a restaurant name BRAMBLE its really nice and cool place with delicious foods will definitely comeback...

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was very easy to find and well located. The staff was very friendly. rooms and bathrooms are clean. i reccomend

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a very nice stay! The staff were helpful and friendly! Much better than I expected, wifi in the whole building, colorful rooms and good breakfast. They have a kitchen, computer room and big common room where you can meet a lots of travelers. good job guys

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel is in a great location by the main train station. Room was clean and good value for money. Staff were helpful when asking for directions including trying to get a football ticket. Reasonably priced and still relatively busy for January.


(248 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback