X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3915 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I really liked this hostel with amazing big room and clean bathroom. I met a lot of people on their Sangria night. Staff are helpful. I lost my key and the cleaning staff returned it to the reception. ( thanks i didnt lost my deposit ) I recommend

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The room was not so clean and I had some bites from a kind of insects, I am travelled Genova, Milan, Venice, Bologna, Florence, Pistoia, Siena and I did not have any problem with insects. I heard that the hostels in Rome they have a lot of bed bugs.


66%

It's a big hostel, feels like the larger chain hostels. Kitchen wasn't very good, but over all it was not a bad place to stay.


100%

This is a good hostel with a great location and a great staff. Best hostel i have ever stayed in. Clean big dorms and lots of facilities like kitchen, computer room and a huge common room.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We were able to store our packs in their luggage room as we arrived 5 hours before check-in. Close to the train station but quiet. They have an elevator to make it easier to access our room with our packs. Although breakfast wasn't free, there was a supermarket nearby where food could be bought. Our ensuite bathroom was spacious but was missing shelves to place our toiletries. Overall, our first experience in a hostel was good and we recommend the Hostel Allessandro Downtown to all.


74%

Close to Termini train station and the colosseum. My friend got bed bugs however they have taken care of it and were very attentive about the situation


100%

Very kindly and helpfull staff , specially Juan Pedro Santiago, he helps me to accomodate my family of six in 2 private room for courtesy , very good breakfast for the price...thanks

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect place to stay and to meet a lot of people. i enjoyed staying here lots of fun. Clean room and the best thing is they have a kitchen to use for the guest. Free wifi and they offer free Sangria . i will stay again

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Showers were not consistently warm. Front desk mistakenly woke us up in the middle of the night to inform us someone was overstaying their booking and then never came back (presumably they made an error). Front desk made incredibly unimaginative recommendations regarding places to eat 'The Condor' was absolutely nothing special run of the mill tourist food. Why recommend it?


100%

Thanks staff for helping me to have a lower bunk. The Hostel is extremely wonderful and cool, nice music and ambiance. defenitely will stay again

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The worst part of this hostel is the location. I really came to hate this area of town, though it is conveniently close to the train station. It's not exactly unsafe, it's just not nice. It's not what I wanted in Rome. That said, the rooms and bathrooms were nice. It's within walking distance to the Colosseum and 2 blocks from the train station. The only issue I had was when one person moved out I'm pretty sure they gave the next person the same blanket when they moved in without washing it.


100%

Clean, easy and affordable. Cool staff and great night out, thanks alessandro downtown for the experience

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The breakfast guy is nice, Clean big rooms. Staff are helpful. 24 hrs reception. i recommend this hostel

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Close to Termini, not well equiped kitchen, staffs were not bad. Just average hostel for money


89%

Ideal position close to the Station and airport buses if you are arriving late at night into Rome.


100%

i loved this place fun and energetic staff very cool atmosphere. 24 hrs reception. I feel secure in this hostel they have cameras on each floor and corridors. thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

cheap, and offers a lot of social activities. The location is good in terms of the termini station and it's about a 20 minute walk to the colosseum. The staff is nice and helpful enough. But the kitchen doesn't have any soap.... Which is gross for everyone eating off all those utensils. And we bought some to use while we stayed and left it on the counter (so others could use it too) and by morning it was gone....The €4 breakfast consists of pineapples


100%

Workers are kind and realible, and the atmosphere you can feel in the Hostel is great, you can get along with people travelling the same way you are.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The room looks new, clean and colorful. Lockers inside the room and you can leave some of your id's or documents in the reception. Breakfast is good for 4 euro, overall a good stay

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

离火车非常近 地点有些难找 设施很完善 八人间很宽装饰很彩色 床单很干净 分男女卫浴 分别有两个洗澡房和两个厕所 总体感觉很赞


(240 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback