X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3795 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel is big, clean and well organized. They have kitchen to use and internet room. good location . Staff are nice and cool. will be back again

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Sketchy area which smelt so so bad. They have a kitchen but only let you use it for dinner as they use it for breakfast (which you have to pay extra for) and may not have it cleaned up until 4pm. 2 out of 3 nights I stayed they made mistakes with bookings which kept me up until 2am while they fixed it. The staff were not unpleasant but lacked enthusiasm and were often less than helpful when I asked questions. Top 3 worst hostels in my 3 months of travel.


89%

Hostel was nice enough. I found the staff a little stand offish when asking any questions, but that could be it being such a busy hostel.


100%

I loved my stay in this hostel, lots of fun memories. 100 percent recommend

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The tri and quadlingual staff were very helpful. I had terrific room mates in women's dorm. Only bad deal is that the walk to train station takes you by a lot of homeless people sleeping and doing drug deals near entrance to termini from the hostel a few blocks away. I had a transient at 5am expose himself to me on way to my 6am train, jeez. He was harmless just a creep.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a one great day in rome by help of this hostel. easy to reach from the main station. big clean rooms. free wifi and computers to use. they also have a kitchen. a very nice hostel to stay.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel staff are nice, they can help you whenever you need them. very informative. clean hostel. 10 minutes walking to colosseo etc. they offer free sangria . good hostel.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks to the cleaning staff who found my iphone. i owe you a lot...

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly staff, thanks guys for helping me to plan my day in Rome. i enjoyed my stay

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was very clean and good atmosfare. The beds was nice and the security was good. We were very satisfied. The location is close to both city and termial, but the only bad thing was that it is a bit of a bad neighborhood, don't go there alone at night. Otherwise -- very good!


71%

Good location- close to train station and metro, walking distance to colosseum and surrounding area. big rooms and a good bathroom for a hostel. Many showers and toilets with communal sinks. The staff weren't overly helpful but they weren't rude. Breakfast was extra but was pretty good. Nothing crazy stands out about this hostel. It was good and clean and had a decent location which are the main things I look for.


100%

This Hostel is few minutes walk from the central station and its very easy to find. Clean and spacious room. Good breakfast and good sangria. staff are nice. i recomend this hostel...

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Well run with friendly and responsive staff.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall very clean and good hostel. Only negative aspect is the close location to Rome Termini - gets a little bit edgy at night...


43%

Bathroom and rooms are very dirty ,staff are unhelpful , the Wifi doesn't even existed.


100%

Lots of fun memories with this hostel. easy to find places. hostel is clean and newly renovated. they also have a kitchen to use.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This is the coolest Hostel i've ever been!!!! Lots of fun activities. close to the station and to the city center. merci beaucoup. i enjoyed

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The rooms were neat, but not cleaned regularly cause the other travellers arent necessarily clean. The showers should be cleaned more often and some people complained about wifi being bad, but I had no problem. The social area was very good to meet other travellers and they organised fun things to do regularly. Close to the train station and goods are cheaper in that area. I just never got to see this rooftop bar of theirs. It had specific operating hours :(

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel with tons of activities. Thanks for the SANGRIA night !!!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I love this hostel all the staff are nice. cool hostel. thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(244 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback