X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4158 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The lockers were small and did not fit our packs. Relaxed atmosphere, great for first time or seasoned travelers. We stayed in an eight person room and felt like we had plenty of space. Staff was helpful in answering questions and giving directions.


74%

The bathroom (4th floor) really needs repairs, the showers were really bad (water everywhere but over your head, and it got too hot or too cold) and the sink was leaking. The bedroom had a problem with the air condition, but the staff resolved it as soon as we called them, they were really atencious. The bedroom was ok, but the low beds smelled mold. The location looks bad but it's really near the train station, it's easy to go everywhere, even to the airport (buses beside the station).

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The only problem was the toilet which become dirty, because it are not cleaned during the evenings, I think they could solve this easily and everybody will stop to complain about it.


63%

Location is a bit far from the city center. The facilities were good and most of the staff was kind. However the man (buzz cut


100%

Wonderful hostel, location is perfect 5 minutes away from termini station. The staff were extremely helpful. rooms and bathrooms are clean. good kitchen facilities. i loved the free sangria. i would definitely recommend it.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice hostel. In the begining the erea look a bit scary but it in the end it's o.k. not mant places to go out but good hostel with good atmosphere. They have free sangria nights and the staff are great.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely fantastic hostel, very clean, great atmosphere! The staff are all amazing. Big kitchen which helps a me a lot to save more money. wifi is free and they offer free sangria. Location is also the best 5 minutes away from the main station and walking distance to the city center. i recommend this hostel.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I think this is better than the other one, Alessandro palace


100%

This was a really good place to stay for me as a solo traveler, I met some great people in my dorm and had a great time with the party thanks to alessio. The staff are helpful thanks alessandro downtown

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Have a small light so you don't wake others up.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really like the hostel and the parties organized by them! But it took some time to find the correct building, the map is a little bit wrong.


63%

We booked a standard private double bed room, but unfortunately there were two separate mattress. Heater was not there in bathroom. Freeze and TV remote was not provided. WiFi was not working in forth floor. Bed room was clean and heater was working.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were really friendly and helpful, the hostel is 5 minutes walking from the bus and metro station ( TERMINI ). the breakfast guy is nice. thanks for the wonderful night with your free sangria!!!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

+ Very close to Termini train station and subway A and B + The hostel organises parties and common activities allowing you to know other people + No waiting problems for common toilet or showers + Close to some attractions like S. Maria maggiore and terme di Diocleziano - The area around the train station may not give you a great security feeling - No personal lights in the bed - Few wall sockets (8 bed dorm)


100%

Very close to Termini station and 15 minutes walking to colosseum. Excellent value for money, a very friendly staff as well as clean and big rooms. a very nice place to meet people from different countries. I will return next time to this hostel.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice bed, good location. Perfect to stay in Rome.


100%

Good location near metro and nice clean spacious rooms. big kitchen to use and fridge to leave your food. they have a luggage deposit after the check out. Staff are nice. Thank you for making my stay comfortable.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was not a hostel i think, an enterprise!! the owners and the staff really know how to run a hotel and greet the visitors, very professional. A good stay in Rome. The location is good but not secure...


60%

Not the cleanest hostel. The floors were constantly sticky and, since I was on the bottom bunk, my face was only a couple inches from the dirty floor. The bottom bunks literally a mattress on the floor. It rained in Rome when I was there so it was super gross. The Roma Termini area is easy to get in and out of the city but it is super sketchy. Really not safe to walk alone at night. Lots of people who looked like they would mug you. Met lots of cool people traveling here though - good community.


91%

Hostel is close to metro station and easy to find.Staff is good.Rooms are clean,large and cosy.Atmospehere is lively.Not too far to touristic attractions.Good value for money.We haven't encountered a problem.


(254 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback