X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3439 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This was my first hostel ever and we'll I just wish I could find many more like Hostel Alessandro. I enjoyed this place very much. I would most definitely stay here again, no doubt about it. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Only problem were the beds. They would squeak way to much. Other then that, very cool place to stay at.


71%

The staff was very friendly and helpful, maybe a little too friendly. They kept harasing us about their "party", which from other users reviews was not good, we instead went to our own bars. The main negative was the age of some of the hostel dwellers. I am a 20 year old university student and want to be with people somewhat close to my age, which some where, but there were people in their late 40s there, not what I expected from a hostel. This is an average hostel overall.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great hostel, great staff and great nights out. really pleased i chose to stay here and would recommend it to any young traveler looking for good time

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel and the room was fun and spacious. Beds were comfortable but some a bit rickety. Bathrooms and showers were generally good. My main concern was that the duvet had no cover, and there was only one sheet (for bottom or top?). Good value!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • patch
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

very good, nice and clean. couldn't be happier!

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

the location of the alessandro downtown is 5 mins walk from the train station, the staff are friendly who provides a lot of information. they have also kitchen facilities for the guest which is very convenient. the rooms & bathrooms are clean, breakfast is worth for 4 euros, and they have FREE aperitivo which is good way to meet fellow travelers!

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Clean and modern hostel right at Termini Station, very convenient location as bus tranfers to the airports are very close and everything is reachable by bus. Bring a padlock with you, as you need one for the lockers in the rooms. Otherwise, the facilities are very clean, the staff is friendly and there is a lot of possibilities for meeting other people. The only strange thing was that it was not possible to use blow-dryers on the uppper floor, as it would blow the cutouts.


77%

Thought it was a bit gross that the duvets/blankets weren't cleaned or changed between guests. It would have been nice to have had a second sheet - one to put on the mattress and one to put between the duvet and my body. Otherwise, it was fine, the staff were helpful and the bathroom was cleaned daily.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Beds were really creaky. Horrible if you are returning a from a night out and people are sleeping. The Internet was horrible. Could hardly connect on my iPad with it disconnecting every time the screen locked.. Did not get wifi in the room.. Only next to reception. Kitchen only being open from 4pm is the worst policy. They should definitely change - can't heat up a meal for lunch or prepare own breakfast, hard for gluten free who can't eat 4euro bread/cereal breakfast. Good free sangria night


77%

Very good location near the main station. Rooms are wide and clean


69%

Very good location! Free WiFi didn't work in the room! If you want to get free internet access you have to go to the reception room and sit down on the couch and then you can enjoy your time with the Internet in a noisy atmosphere!


66%

Alessandro downtown is located near the Termini station, which is a great hub for your next bus or train. The place is clean, you can buy a lock and secure your goods into a deposit. You can have a decent breakfast on the premises for 4 euros or cook, heat and prepare your own food as a stove, microwave and a kitchen full with all the needed preparation tools is present. The only giveaway of this hostel is the absence of a curfew, which makes sleeping a real challenge as it's constantly loud.


46%

To begin with, rude staff. Not even a "hello" was said when we arrived. And it seems that they think it is normal to get in the rooms at midnight and turn on all the lights while other guests are sleeping - without saying excuse or sorry, of course. Really bad mattress, there was a hole on mine. And the big rooms, despite of low cost, is a mess. Do not recommend.


74%

Hostel Alessandro is a good cheap hostel in a very convenient location, very close to the main train station. you can easily walk to attractions like Collosseum from the Hostel. If you just need a cheap place to stay downtown this is perfect for you, but you won't find too many group events or social activities here. I definitly prefer a more personal atmosphere in Hostels but I guess that is a personal preference. Hostel Alessandro is rather a cheap Hotel than a hostel.


94%

Great hostel with a great atmosphere, great pub crawls that are run 3 times a week! Had a great stay here!

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, nice staff, and they have a nice common room to get along with other people. But instead of 6 bed dorm I booked, they gave me 8 bed dorm by mistake. I didn't recognize it since I've booked so many hostels for this trip, so it is my fault as well. Anyway I liked the hostel! They also have good restaurants to eat nearby :)


63%

Hostel itself wasn't too bad. Kind of a scummy neighborhood and a massive rat colony a block over. Bathrooms very kept fairly clean and there was a heater in each room. The staff however, was not satisfactory. Took their time to help you often chatting together instead. Seemed irritated when you asked for help and were not very helpful in the end at all. Kitchen utensils were very poorly stocked and common areas were not that great. Wouldn't be my first choice if I had to go again.


100%

The staff were super nice, the facilities were cleanly, and the location and value for money is unbeatable. I plan on staying here again in the future.


77%

This is a great hostel to stay. Great showers, confortable beds, good location (very near to central station Termini) and they give free sangría and chips some nights!! That was great!!! Some people in the staff were very cool and helpful, but others not too much. A great hostel to stay if you're planning to visit Rome!!

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a really good time in Alessandros Downtown. For once the room was so big, there was so much space for luggage, that was really nice. Also the kitchen and dining room were quite nice. Also clean showers and toilets, I really liked it!


2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next » last »
(160 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback