X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3557 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Good location, just 5 minutes from Termini by walk; Wifi works in the room; Facilities are new; Toilet is very clear and hair dryer is included; Staffs are helpful and nice.


77%

Very huge rooms! So you can breathe e move freely. Very good


97%

this hostel is right by the train station so its easy to get to. the staff are very friendly and helpful and the facilities are great. no complaints!


83%

Too expensive for what it is. I was expecting for that price for it to be waaay better than most hostels, but it was typical. Really loud at night though. Another girl had to get up at 3am to call manger about the noise in the halls. For the price, you could get your own room.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Getting there from Termini station is a scary, but two blocks away at where the hostel is at is fine. Take the metro from nearby stations if you can. Wifi speed is terrible but alright for basic web browsing. Having one toilet for 8 people in a room is not ideal at times but survivable. Breakfast is extremely worth it. Rooms were a little dusty. A little dodgy because someone pretended to have lost his key and asked my friend to help him open our room. Luckily, the cards are hard to use.


40%

The only good thing about this hostel was its proximity to restaurants and the central train station. There was a bit sketchy but the hostel did have security cameras. The staff was the absolute worst. They were not helpful in the least bit. Their only response to anything you asked was NO! They need to trained in customer service. The answer to any customer request that they did not want to do was no. There was only one person in the mornings that was helpful, everyone else sucked.


97%

Hostel is great, for a few Euros more you get better internet. Downtown is a great way to save a few Euros and has plenty of hot water for showers. Breakfast is pretty good and overall, I asked to print 5 pages for my flight tickets and staffs (Ovens - Filmer) they smile to say YES its absolutely free for all the guest just send their email address. Would definitely recommend any one of the Alessandro Downtown to a friend! See you soon! CIAO!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Youll have a clean bed, made up and ready for you to sleep in it when you get there. As SOON as you get to your room MESS UP YOUR BED AND CLAIM IT AS YOUR OWN! We didnt do that our first night and we went out for food instead- got back and someone was sleeping in our beds. Went downstairs and told the manager- he gave us a top sheet and a pillowcase... no bottom sheet or new blanket... you live and you learn

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Beds were dirty in rooms, as well as the common area where most people would sit and eat. Very few staff members were accommodating as most had a "figure it out" attitude.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks so much! Great help with figuring out how to attack the city in 2 days. Loved the breakfast. I'm telling everyone I know who's going to Rome. Thanks to all the professional staff they have more patience for all the questions I have. The sangria party is very cool to meet another youth travelers. Thank you guys you did a great job! I will come back again next year with my friends.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

good location: very close to the main station, walking distance to Colosseum, easy to go to Vatican, horrible around (dirty streets) staff: apart of PJ and albanian guy, the rest need a softskill training, especially the filipino spike hair facilities: cant use kitchen in the morning because it is outsourced to another filipino to sell his own rubbish breakfast for 4 euros and cannot cook after 10pm-The owner Oven (sorry for spelling) doesnt care putting signs on the doors or inform in checkin


80%

Bathrooms weren't in the room but in the hallway. The showers were a little smelly but everything besides that was great. In a weird part of town, a little dirty, but a short walk to the main train station and not far walking distance to other main sites in Rome.


77%

Overall a good stay. Hostel was always nice and clean with very comfy beds. Breakfast for 4euros was a decent enough deal; ham, cheese, bread, jam, cereal, coffee. Laundry was expensive (4euro to wash, 4 to dry) but there if you need it. Nice and close to Termini train station, which was a big reason I booked in the first place; definitely a plus. Common areas very lively and social in the evenings, and events like hostel parties and free sangria nights made meeting people easier.Would recommend


46%

The room was dingy, and very unappealing. Three sets of bunk beds crowded into it. The ladies I stayed with came and went all night. One snored like a lumberjack so I had hardly any sleep even with ear plugs and a sleeping pill. All in all a horrible experience.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We had the 6 bed mixed dorm with ensuite. Loved it because in the room there is a wall separating half of the beds, this making spacious and a little more privacy. Toilet and bath are also separated. We wished we had more days here. Will be back again.


97%

location was perfect, very near at the main station. 15 mins walk to the Colosseum. breakfast was good for 4 euros, friendly staff. i would recommend this hostel

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Close to termini. Easy to see the sites if Rome. The neighborhood is a little unsafe. But the door is always closed and you have to be buzzed in... So that made me feel safe. Decent rooms and lockers inside the rooms. The lockers were difficult to lock. Nice breakfast!:) All together a nice stay.


89%

Have used this hostel several times over the years without a problem.


71%

The computers cost one euro per hour to use whether they work or not. Most of the staff is okay, but they seem more interested in making the hostel a party location rather than helping out with serious problems. The staff arrange many pub crawls and tours, but when a woman came to them upset because her $1000 train pass had been ruined, the man behind the counter laughed at her. My stay was fine. I recommend this hostel primarily for its party atmosphere and good location. The dorms are good.


80%

A wonderful hostel with extremely helpful staff. Breakfast was a bit modest, but it was nice to be able to eat there as a fall-back option. The only downside was that it was located next to a park where lots of vagrants seemed to hang out at night, so as a woman I was a bit uncomfortable walking around by myself. Also, the park was very smelly due to the fact that they tended to pee on the street a lot. Other than that, it was great.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(206 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback