X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3730 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

This hostel was an enormous disappointment. Everything that could be broken was broken. The atmosphere was grim and the staff stressed and tired. I would not recommend staying here.


86%

All in all it was a great stay at the hostel. Most of the staff were friendly. I experienced two guys at the reception who were a bit grumpy but others were super friendly. Especially the one I met during my last two days.


91%

Very professionally operated hostel with friendly staff (except one who has an attitude issue, confirmed with roommate - otherwise super excellent staff). Location is excellent - a few steps from Termini station. Wifi worked great in the room, the reception/common area and was a bit weak in the dinning lounge. Bottom bunk in the 4-bed dorm was low but the mattress was very comfortable. Luggage area provided free of charge in case you have an early arrival or late departure. Overall a nice stay.


97%

I really enjoy my stay here..Rome is my last destination so this hostel really help to recharge my energy. The staff are really helpful, and they keep the toilet cleanliness every morning. Wifi a little bit unstable but it's okay. What I love about this hostel are the elevator (I don't have to carry heavy luggage) and air conditioner which help me to reduce Rome's heat. I stayed in 8bed female dorm, it will be perfect if they set each socket for every bed..


100%

Descent hostel with large rooms and common area, good reception staff.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

BEST Hostel EVER in EUROPE! thanks Filmer for the great help.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

convenient location to train station, so easy to get anywhere around Rome. Easy to meet other travelers in common areas. Nice to have a kitchen and laundry, because that seems difficult to find around Italy. nice rooms. great to have lockers.


100%

very near at central terminal which you can connect to Vatican City through metro, walking distance to colosseo for 15 minutes, clean and big rooms with airconditioner, buffet breakfast for only €4.00 and they have best staff ever PJ and Filmer.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The overall stay was great! The location near the train station was very convenient; although, this made it very loud at night and hard to sleep. I also think the bathrooms could have been cleaned better.


63%

From the online postings it looked as though the bar was at this hostel however it is not, its about a 10 min walk past tremini station. We wanted to do laundry around 11 and they told us we couldnt depsite the facilities still working. The hostel common area was very hot and the kitchen was medicore.


80%

I think the only problem I got was the internet. The WiFi doesn't work very well in the main areas of the hostel and is rare to work in the rooms. People are nice and cordial.


91%

Chose this hostel because it was close to the station. It was clean and comfortable.


51%

A good bit of the things in our property were broken. For instance the toilet seat was sitting on the ground and the shower door had package tape all over it. I don't think the man at the front counter knee what the word friendly was. The location was nice. It was close to the bottom of the hill which is by the train station. It was that that you could pay with other currencies. He gives you a far exchange rate. It's more of a place to leave your bags, not a hangout.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I have only been one night here, unfortunately was not enough, but the hostel was very good, and if i ever come back to rome, i definitely will stay here and spent a little more time.


86%

Very close to Termini station and easy to find. Didn't feel particularly comfortable walking around the neighborhood , especially being a female solo traveler, but not sure if there really is a "safe" area in Rome. They have pub crawls which is nice to meet other people. Wifi only works in common area which is kind of a pain but tolerable. Only about 20 minute walk to main tourist sites.


100%

a great hostel to stay, staff are nice. 15 minutes walking to the center of rome and 5 minutes to the main train station

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

very cool atmosphere with cool staff. they have tours and party. the guy on the desk helps me printing out my boarding pass and train ticket. Merci!!!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great value of money, near at termini station and to colloseo like 15 minute walk. friendly and accomodating staff. clean rooms.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is incredibly close to the train/bus termini which allows for simple transportation around Rome. The staff are incredibly helpful in showing you how/what to see. There are great reasonably priced food places around which the staff calm also recommend. They have tons of showers and a great common room.


69%

Overall very clean, nice staff, and absolutely perfect location! Very close to main train station, so it was easy to get everywhere! Kitchen is okay, the oven doesn't work that well, but staff was super helpful about it!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(253 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback