X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Downtown Reviews

Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3662 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I only stayed one night as I was passing through Rome to Naples, but the place is great. Very easy to find, and very close to the station. I went for a run in the morning and wound up at the Colosseum - so the sites are not far away. Staff were lovely. The rooms and bathrooms were surprisingly clean!


71%

The hostel staff weren't very friendly and were quite slow so there was always a line at the front desk, making it really difficult to ask the staff for advice or help. The luggage room wasn't locked so I didn't feel comfortable leaving my luggage there. The rooms were spacious and the free spaghetti and sangria was nice to meet people!


74%

Good place, the staff have not enough time to attend you.


100%

The hostel is located 5 minutes away from the central station ( TERMINI ) and 15 minutes walking to Colosseo. Rooms are big and clean. They have a kitchen to use and fridge to store your foods.Staff will help you for everything, Thanks.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the hostel i am looking for!!! the staff will help you for everything, thanks guys for helping me to book in galleria borghese.It was a wonderful stay

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

I think you just don't get good value for money in Roma... We felt a bit too much like stupid tourists that need to be motivated for every activity organised... what isn't usually what you're looking for when staying in a youth hostel, sad!


77%

Pros - The staff were friendly and efficient Close proximity to historical sights Cons - The kitchen is pretty bare, only a couple of pots and cups, very few knives and forks Security wise - the room where you can leave your bag is unattended and anyone can walk in there at all hours of the day


100%

Nice and cool staff, convenient place to stay. I will be back again

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

a great hostel to stay, near to termini station, supermarkets banks etc. and the very best thing is walking distance to the center. Staff are nice, clean rooms and bathrooms. They also have a cool AC and free kitchen to use. I love the tour and party that they organize. Thank you again!!!

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Hostel poorly located. Staff not prepared! Hired a night tour, I was not properly informed about the meeting point. I tried to cancel or go the other day, the employee was not been dedicated to solve my problem. I lost 20 euros. Would not return and would not recommend this hostel. Hostel mal localizado. Equipe não preparada! Em tour noturno, não fui informado sobre o ponto de encontro. Tentei cancelar ou ir no outro dia, o funcionário não mostrou-se dedicado a resolver o meu problema.


97%

it was a great stay. I recommend this hostel

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Impersonal staff, big hostel no real atmosphere


100%

Very good hostel with a very comfortable hotel-like room :)


100%

FANTASTIC hostel, helpful staff and clean rooms. good aircondition. They have a computers and kitchen for the guest free to use. the hostel is located 5 minutes away from Termini station. Thanks ALESSANDRO DOWNTOWN

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff was very nice with us, the room and the bathroom were all clean. The people in the room I stayed were also very nice. The only thing that I didn't like is that if you need to leave your luggage in there before check in or after check out you need to do it in a totally open storage room, without lookers, where you just enter and leave your stuff in shelves. Nobody from the staff seems to check the room and so anyone could do whatever they want with your stuff


100%

Very good location, common place where you can meet people all over the world, kitchen for use, room to leave your your bag for free; very nice and helpful staff!!. In addition, the common bathroom was very clean (hairdrayers inside), all rooms were cleaned every day. they don't have policy with "age limit" which is a plus.In general - nothing to complain, just highly recommended!!!


57%

Some of the staff members were not as friendly as it should be expected. Rooms are not that big for 8 beds. Overall, it is not a bad place to stay.


100%

I had a great time with this hostel with full of activities. they have a kitchen to use, computer room and big common room. free pasta and night out party. Staff are always willing to help you. i will be back again

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

First off this was the first time staying at any sort of Hostel. It was perfect for what i needed for sure. From my daughter's point, as she has been staying in your hostel all over Europe. She said it was the worse one she had stayed in. There is no doubt a newer facility would be nicer for your travelers maybe with a bar attached. However I personally would return their anytime in the future with the place not changing. Only issues the wifi was weak at times and would not work in the rooms.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Loved the atmosphere at the free breakfast. Paid for a private room so that was great. We were able to walk to Sacre Coeur in montmartre in about 30 minutes. helpful staff. would stay again!


(247 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback