X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Palace & Bar Reviews

Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
4483 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

staff were generally pretty rude and unhelpful which is a shame when it's your first time in a new city and don't know there area - at least act excited that someone want's to experience Rome. Other than that rooms were pretty clean (I did hear a rumour of bed bugs in another room) bar was pretty quiet the nights I was there but beers were cheap(ish) breakfast was good, toast, cereal, fruit all you need really. A little expensive for what you et but would stay again


100%

smooth stay, very convenient location 3 blocks from train station. the party they organize was great, and if you book in advance they offer discounts. all the staffs are friendly, they provide detailed information how to get around the city. comfy beds, and the room get clean everyday.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Found the place to be very clean, modern and quiet. Great location.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

this is 1 of the best hostel ive been, well run. friendly staff, they even print my boarding pass for free. the tours they offer is great + discounts! the party is okay and fun. clean room. well done guys!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Staying here was a great choice. It is close to the Termini train and metro station and a good walk from most of the sites. The reception is open 24 hours which is so helpful and the staff are all awesome and very accommodating. It is kind of a "party" hostel with a fun bar and rooftop parties but even if you aren't the partying type, it is still a nice place to meet people and have a clean, nice room/bed to stay in. I definitely would stay here again if i return to Rome.


89%

I got moved to the building that's not attached to the main bar, etc so that was kind of unfortunate. Wifi wasn't the best but it was a nice place to stay


74%

My room was in another building, which is quite inconvenient. It took the staff a couple of days to change towels and get rid of the annoying clogged drain in the shower, but at least they did it! Beds are too small for me (1,90m or 6'3") and quite short too, so I always hit my head when getting up. They are also a bit noisy. Lockers are great! Breakfast is not bad... Internet terminal is free, which is great!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Everything was average but the cleanliness, we saw the same rubish in a corner during the three days of our stay. In adition, the luggage room was stinking like rotten food. Despite it is near termini and another subway station, the surroundings are kind of lonely to walk in the night. There is no individual light for the beds so you must turn the main one or struggle with a flashlight (if you have one).

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your feedback, regarding the rubbish in your room we have been assured by the cleaners that it was part of the belongings of one of your room mates who had been there for several days before you. we apologize for any smell in the luggage room, we regularly clean it as many guest use it to dump anything and everything they do not want to take away with them. with regards to the lights we will try to resolve this matter. thank you and we hope to see you again.

97%

decent hostel, friendly & helpful staffs,. rooms cleaned everyday, breakfast is not included but ok for the price. wifi works in the room, roof party is perfect, cheap cocktails! overall it was great stay!

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Gracias alessandro! great stay and party! very ggood!!!

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed two nights. Had a private twin room that was very clean and comfortable with air conditioning. The staff were very helpful. Were thrilled to have an elevator to get to our floor instead of lugging a bag up flights of steps. Would definitely stay at Alessandro Palace again.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We were only there for one night, but everything was fine. The room was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and clean and the staff was helpful enough. The breakfast was very good for 4 Euros and we even fixed a few sandwiches to take with us. All in all, a good place to stay in.


86%

Loved the rooftop cocktail party and the bartender was great! Good beds, close to central station and walking distance to most sights. Great hostel for meeting people!


63%

Very average place for the price, no real atmosphere but they do an over priced pub crawl where I'm prety sure they dilute the spirits with somthing.. Don't waste your time stay at the yellow hostel just around the corner instead.


100%

it was great experience at alessandro, the staff made our stay! thank you carlo, nas & cj! we will be back again next summer!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

location was very convenient, the room was clean. staffs are informative and friendly. free charge for the luggage room and the bar downstairs was great.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel was brilliant, great location, clean, staff are helpful and there's always something to do in the evenings.


77%

The room given(46) was big and with two bathrooms which was lucky. The staff are friendly and helpful, basic breakfast provided, it lacks a comfortable/cosy common room but thats okay, bar area has a nice atmosphere, well connected thanks to the Termini station . We were cold at night, the blanket for summer is a bit thin. They do printouts for you and let you leave the bags which is great,. . The roof terrace/garden is not really exciting as it doesn't have a view.


86%

One of the best hostels I've been. Even two showers and toilets in our room fot 6 people. And nice rooftop area and bar, and the personel arranged program for almost every night.


100%

The hostel was really good.I am met lot of wonderful people in this hostel and just loved the pub crawl..a must go! :)

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(257 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback