X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Palace & Bar Reviews

Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
5905 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Was expecting a low key hostel for the price it is but I was impressed! Friendly and happy staff, good facilities (never had problems with hot showers) and overall nice hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is nice to know we surprised you in a positive way :) Hope you enjoyed your trip in Rome! Graze & arrivederci!!

80%

Its located very close to Termini which is a big advantage. The attached bar+resto is also quite awesome. However, they didn't assign us any beds and told us to pick any of the free beds. This turned out be quite bad as new persons came the next day and we saw that our beds were cleaned and we had to give it to them. We ended up sleeping in beds and sheets already messed up by other previous occupants. Also the heater/air conditioner in the room makes a lot of noise which could disturb sleep.

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your helpful advice. We will study better about the bed assignment which we have also been thinking about since while. It is good to receive an opinion from you who actually stayed. We are sorry about the inconvenience. With the current renovation, we are in a phase installing central heating/cooling system over the ceiling. Therefore the noise problem will be resolved in next season. It is regretted it could not be in time for your visit. In the last place, we are happy to know you found our bar and restaurant good :) We hope we will see you next time. Best regards,

63%

The only issue is that hostel lacks a common area. There's no kitchen and you can't take your own drinks to the bar/roof. So, it's more like a hotel. The staff is friendly and the rest of the facilities are pretty good, except maybe the showers (they work with a button that you had to keep pushing), but the lack of a kitchen (not even a microwave) and a common area in general is a deal breaker for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. You are right. We do not have kitchen at the Alessandro Palace, as we have onsite bar and a restaurant next door. However, at our sister hostel, Alessandro Downtown (always near Termini station) we have a guest kitchen. We have different services among our properites in order to meet different demands from different types of travellers. We now wonder if the other hostel could have been a right choice for you.. When you will have a chance to visit Rome, please try the Alessandro Downtown! Thank you again for your suggestions. We will keep it in mind for future improvement. Kind regards,

94%

Nice place..but they did not have a kitchen :( But everything else was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Indeed we do not have guest kitchen at the Alessandro Palace as we have bar in the hostel and restaurant next door. However, there are supermarkets nearby and our guests can find an inexpensive way to stay at the hostel, and our bar offers drinks at a quite reasonable price :) We suggest our sister hostel, Alessandro Downtown which is situated on the other side of Termini station. At the Downtown there is a kitchen available. We appreciate the rating that you left for us. It is nice to know you liked our place for the rest over all :) Grazie mille!!

100%

This place has the BEST staff ever.The guy at the reception answered all my questions and he even draw me a route for the city which was perfect.He was very very kind and friendly.Location is just next to the termini station and even though i walked literally every part of Rome i never used transportation you can go to everywhere on foot.Rooms are clean, the bathroom was inside the room which was pretty clean too.I wanted to stay longer there.This is the only place I'll choose for the next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It has been our pleasure to meet you! We are really happy to know you liked our hostel and staff. We agree with you that it is one of the best way to walk around to appreciate the beauty of Rome :) We hope you have made good memories of Rome and look forward to seeing you next time! Grazie mille!!

77%

The staff and location were great, the area itself is so close to the termini train station and there's lots of good resturants there. Felt vaguely unsafe in the area as I was immediately accosted by a guy trying to pick me up late at night but the hostel itself was safe and the staff friendly. Overall a good choice.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for posting a good review. Rome is basically a safe city, but yes, you may need to be careful especially in the night. We reckon it is a same level as any big cities in the world. We appreciate you mentioned about the security about our hostel and staff friendliness  And you are right, there have been new good restaurants, supermarkets opening recently. Therefore the area around the Alessandro Palace has been growing and becoming more comfortable and convenient for travellers! Grazie!

71%

Staff could be more accommodating. Shame the wifi didn't reach the bedrooms and we were looking forward to using the roof garden but were told it was not open due to bad weather even though the weather was fine, no rain or wind just a lovely January sunshine. Also bought a bottle of red wine at the bar which had a fiz to it.

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your suggestions. Wifi actually works in rooms but the router hubs sometimes hiccup as these machines are on for all days. All we have to is reboot it and the connection comes refreshed. Therefore upon check-in we ask our guests to meet reception staff in case Wifi connection has a problem in room. It is regretted that we missed to pass that information to you this time..In January we closed rooftop terrace for construction work for some days. We are sorry for the inconvenience. Regarding the wine, in Italy there are also fizzy red wines. The famous one is called Lambrusco which could be less known overseas. We hope you enjoyed it!

89%

It was really nice stay at Alessandro Palace, close to bus station, wtih free maps of Rome. Staff was really friendly and always answered our questions. Reception open 24h :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to receive your nice feedback! Thank you for posting how you saw about our reception staff and services. We were happy to receive your :) !! Grazie :) :)

77%

Bunk beds were really unsteady and noisy. I was in terror that it was going to come crumbling down on me in my sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. The beds are safe but we are sorry you felt uncomfortable about it. We anyway checked the beds in the room you stayed and made sure if there were nothing wrong. Thank you for letting us know about it! Best regards,

49%

The staff treat me rudely after asking a few questions... Also, the facilities opened very late and i couldnt use them

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Herewith we would like to add some information regarding your comment, in order to avoid misunderstanding. Please kindly note that you arrived with 2 other friends and asked our receptionist to arrange all of you to allocate in the same room… It is regretted that we could not accommodate your request, because every each one of you had made a reservation separately, and did not send us a communication that you three wished to stay together. (We were not able to know if those three reservations were made by a group of friends and you had been allocated in different rooms.) At that night we were full, then you arrived and checked in about 12:30am (after midnight). All rooms were already occupied. Therefore unfortunately we could not do much for you. It is not we treated you in an incorrect manner. Regarding facilities, at 12:30am, in Rome it is time that our bar and restaurants nearby are about to close. Furthermore, your reservation was just for 1 night, arriving at night on Monday 25/Jan (technically it was Tue. 26/Jan and you were supposed to check-out before 10am on the same Tue.) On the 26th, Breakfast was served at our restaurant right next door from 8am. Our reception is open for 24hrs and common room in the hostel was also available in the morning. We wonder which facilities were closed in the morning. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.. Kind regards,

94%

If this hostel had a free breakfast it would have it all. Great hostel, staff, clean bathrooms and rooms. The shower has a button that you have to press about once every 30 seconds to keep the water on, but it's not so bad. They have a pub crawl on some weeknights and weekends and it was totally worth the 20 Euro!! So much fun and met so many awesome people at this hostel!! Some of the best food places in Rome are right around the corner. I'm totally staying here again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice comment! We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are looking forward to seeing you again, too! Grazie e arrivederci!!

77%

Location is good, easy to reach all of the main sights by metro and bus. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean, was also nice to have individual lockers. Hot water was a bit patchy...it wasn't always hot! The doorknob to my room was also starting to fall off! On a positive note I did appreciate the super fast wifi :-) I do wish however that each bed had an individual power point...I feel like my valuables are much more vulnerable left out on the table when using the communal points.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Recently we have upgraded our wifi connection with optical fiber line. We are happy to know you liked the speed  Regarding the shower, in hours too many people use bathroom at once, the temperature of hot water could be instable for a short time. It should not happen often and we are sorry if you hit that time during your stay. We will double-check the temperature setting on our boiler. Thank you for letting us know about the doorknob. We have fixed it. It seems a screw came off after maintenance staff changed the batteries of cardkey system in the door. We appreciate your observation over power points. We will take thoughts on it for future improvements. Grazie!!

83%

Rooms were really cold.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We check the A/C immediately. We appreciate your reporting. Hope you have had a good time for the rest and enjoyed your holiday in Rome!

74%

Comfortable place to sleep. Its far from the main attractions thought. There is no laundry on site and no kitchen, but the wifi is great! The bar downstairs is a good place to meet people and the restaurant next door is pretty good (but expensive). Overall I wouldnt mind going again, but I might like a place closer to the historical sites.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. You are right, we are not next to Colosseum but in order to visit different major tourist sites, we believe we are situated at a convenient location. Being close to Termini station, you can access easily to almost any place you are interested in, including both airport of Rome. We are happy to find you liked our wifi connection. Yes, we have recently installed optical fiber line for better internet experience for our guests :) Thanks you also for mentioning about our onsite bar and restaurant, the Bramble Bar. (Our guest can get a discount while staying at the hostel. Have you tried??) We hope we will see you next time! Grazie!!

86%

Overall good experience. Good value for the money. Very helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear you had a good time staying with us. Thank you very much for your nice & friendly words. We hope we will see you on day again. Grazie!!

60%

The staff was sort of cranky and didn't care much of helping us with our questions. They seemed kind of busy on the computer all the time. In the early morning, before leaving to the airport, I ahad to shower in cold water. There was no warm water in our room. Literally no hot water, not an ounce. The guy in the reception with "really? Did you try both ways?". I had been standing there for literally 20 minutes trying to get hot water. None in the tap, none in the shower..

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. It is regretted to find that you did not enjoy your stay with us. First of all about the short of hot water, we were sorry for the inconvenience. After your check-out we checked the room and we confirm now it is all functional. Please accept our apologies. There are some moments our receptionists are busy for imputing updates after check-ins/outs and managing new reservations which enter from online services. If our staff members looked too busy and could not help you with 100% attention, we are sorry. We only have a small number of reception staff for over 100 guests in the hostel. Sometimes one receptionist is doing multi tasks and may forget smiling for concentration.. We beg your kind understanding. Thank you again for your comment, we will continue to do our best for better services. One day we hope we could see you again and show you our improvements. Sincerely yours.

100%

Great hostel. Great location. Great staff. Heater was not working when we arrive, after telling the reception it was fixed in less then 1 hour!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for telling us about the little inconvenience. Yes, we try to do our best to resolve it :) We appreciate your nice words on the hostel, location and our staff members! Grazie!!

77%

I had a wonderful time staying at this hostel. 3 nights in total, I had a variety of rooms each night, and it was a good rotation as I met so many people. Such a good place to rest and relax, affordable and in prime location.

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Make sure you check out the rooftop, its an oddly under appreciated aspect of this hostel


97%

Very close to Termini. Safe, clean, and reliable WIFI. I wish they had been upfront about the 2 euro tourist tax.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the nice review. regarding the tourist tax, it is not included in the accommodation cost. It is actually €3,50 per person per night. HOWEVER, we are tying to support our guests. We ask for 2€. As for the remaining 1,5€, this is subsidized by the Hostels Alessandro on your behalf :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(188 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback