X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Palace & Bar Reviews

Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
5355 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great atmosphere. Showers a bit dirty though


71%

This was a good hostel. Central location to Termini station and two metro stations. The pub crawl they do is a little pricey but a lot of fun. I like that there are common areas and I got to know a few of the fellow travellers. I stayed in a four person room and I found that the facilities in this hostel were clean.


86%

The location is good And pub party was nice But bar is clised little early


83%

this place is awesome. staff is friendly, great pub crawl. There's AC!!! would stay here again!


60%

Hostel sucks. Nowhere to meet people during the day and the pub crawl is the biggest rip off ever. I left 2 nights early.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. As major part of our guests are for exploring city of Rome during the day, there are not many people staying inside the hostel. Hope you could understand the reason. As per night-out party, it's organized by a 3rd party company but guests are usually happy with it and send compliments. We're sorry you didn't enjoy it. 20€ for 1hr open bar with drinking games+free shot at a bar in city+free entrance to Rome's popular club is usually accepted reasonable by almost all

100%

Amazing hostel! Great parties and activities. Very clean


94%

Great Location!


63%

The room itself was entirely satisfactory with nice beds, a well equipped ensuite and lockers for storing valuables. The staff spoke very good English and were willing to help with any problems. However the staff sometimes seemed to rush you and didn't make any effort to get to know you personally. You do feel like another economic commodity and you often feel like they're trying to make as much money out of you as possible, particularly with the cocktail nights and the bar crawls.


94%

Great hostel. I really enjoyed the pub crawl. One really annoying downside was that you needed a key to keep the lights and sockets on in the room. So if the person whose key card is in the wall leaves, someone else has to put their key card in. A little annoying but nonetheless a great hostel.


60%

Bed was ok. shower was good. aircon was awesome! Lockers weren't big, but they were good. Was good for what I needed. Nothing special, but then not bad either.


83%

Alessandro had everything a euro traveller needs. Good bathrooms, beds, wifi, location and an awesome atmosphere. The pub crawls are great fun and the staff are very it going.


57%

The staff was not helpful.


89%

Friendly and helpful staff welcomes you with a free drink. Clean and new rooms, free towels, everything was great. But the price could be cheaper.


77%

Nice place, air conditioner, clean. Some of the staff are very friendly and helpful some really no.


71%

Nice place. Convenient location close to the train station. Decent room/bathroom. Luggage storage (if you're leaving your luggage before check-in/after check-out) was not very secure, although this didn't end up being a problem for us. Staff was mostly helpful and friendly. A/c didn't really work for most of our stay, in spite of staff coming to look at it on several occasions. Also, the power went out twice for long stretches--no lights or a/c and only one outlet that randomly worked.


51%

Unfortunately disappointing for the price, even for Rome. Very old facilities (beds, bathroom, no lamp/power socket) and no kitchen or breakfast other than a deal at the expensive restaurant next door. Also experienced ongoing power outage during the heatwave, however we were kindly upgraded when it became unbearable with no a/c overnight. Also very pushy for the expensive pub crawl. However was in a good location close to the station, shops and restaurants. Ok but rather stay somewhere else.


69%

Bartender was neglectful and would not be available for their happy hours.


91%

We had a great time here, the pub crawl was awesome! Staff were really helpful and always around to get everyone involved! Liked that the bathrooms were in the dorm room and were clean.


34%

The location is close to the Roma termini station and another metro station too. However as soon as you enter the hostel, it stinks a lot. The room is unclean & gloomy. The bathroom was stinking all the time. The room doesn't have many charging points, nor does it have essential things like dustbin. Theres a tiny bin in the bathroom (which stinks). The bramble bar is useless. Pathetic service. They made me wait 45 minutes before serving. Another 30 min before the cheque. Worst place so far.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel was good, location is close to the train station and it's a short walk everywhere. Our lockers were broken which was frustrating, and the eight bed dorm has an ensuite so that could cause delaya... otherwise staff were lovely and rooms were clean.


(235 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback