Hostelworld.com

Hostel Altair

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.0
Hostel Altair Located at 10 Rue de Suisse, , Nice.
Hostel Altair
France
Nice 06000 10 Rue de Suisse
65% 358
43.7031372 7.2646370
Hostel Altair
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • colinwill60372500
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th May 2016
3.4

Terrible. I started writing this review in my head the minute I arrived at this "hostel". It should not be called a hostel, rather a shotty hotel with beds stacked in a room. Please don't stay here. It's not worth the money and there are so many better places to stay in Nice. I only stayed here because everything else was booked. To be fair, the shower was new and clean and the blanket was top notch. Other than that, the building was seedy, staff was less than helpful...id go on but I'm

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
4.9

Staff is rude!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • annaaune
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
5.1

The hallway smelled of pee. The showers were cold. The receptionist the first day didn't speak english. The internet didn't work in the room. And the beds creaked every time someone moved, because they were three in the height. Over all not a good atmosphere, but location were great. You could get way better for 5 euros more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
7.4

I don't know what people expect when booking the cheapest hostel they can find. Of course, when you book a six-person dorm your gonna sleep in a small room together with 5 people who are snoring and might not be very clean. For me, Hostel ALtair was exactly what I expected. For little money you get a bed, a toilet and a shower and even a small brakfast. We found the Hostel clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Perfect for a short stay of one or two nights!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Apr 2016
4.0

We had a poor experience here. 1. Their hostelworld webpage said that check in began at 12:30 pm, but actual check in time was 6 pm 2. 30 euro deposit for each key 3. Hostel did not have the room size available which we had booked online 4. Hostel put us in with a guest who had a suffocating odor and had accumulated several days' worth of diarrhea unflushed in/near the toilet 5. Hostel had more >40 men than youth, 1 of which was aggressive and other inappropriate with a female in our group

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Apr 2016
4.3

I understand the hostel want to expand, but it's not acceptable to offer an uncompleted furnished hostel to your customers. The whole floor is clearly still under construction. The mirror in the bathroom is missing and the window in the room cannot close properly. There is also no wifi provided.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
6.9

Pretty close to the beach and the tourist attractions. Room was really small and the staff was very loud all the time, regardless of the time of day. Had a kitchen that was relatively clean, and the bathroom was clean. Decent place to stay if you just need a bed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2016
5.4

The hostel is located on the 2nd floor in the middle of the block. It was difficult to find, and very difficult to get directions when we email to confirm our reservations. It is located right next to a church. We locked our room each day when we left, but found the room unlocked when we returned. Whom ever cleaned the room never locked the door after they were done.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.7

Altair is well situated in Nice, near the train station and the commercial/newer shopping area, with easy access to the tram which can take you to the old town or the Promenade des Anglais. The kitchen is very basic and required some cleaning and the checkin times were't very clear.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
9.7

Great hostel. The staff really nice and helpful, Good location and unbeatable priice, if you're on a stay of a couple of days, I do recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.