X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Altair Reviews

10 Rue de Suisse, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
253 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The French Riviera is known to be very expensive, well I know a place now which is cheap at really good conditions and that is Hotel Altair. Thanks a lot Philippe (the Manager) for all your help and kindness.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great spot, really good location and incredible value for money, unbeatible in Nice.

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Philippe thé Manager of the hostel treated me nearly like a father ;he helped me in many ways and I really appreciated that. For the rest this place has unbeatable prices for what they give you in return: air-conditioning in the rooms, a plug at each bed, individual lockers, a nice common room with computers, free WIFI and great location.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a great stay in this hostel and I decided to extend my stay for several more nights. The prices are really a good deal for for the services you get in exchange. Philippe is the Manager of the place and you can ask him nearly anything, he's always ready to help you. Thanks for everything, Philippe.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

A 15 minute walk from the beach. The rooms were clean however in a 'mixed' dorm I was put in with only older males and this made me feel unsafe as barely any seemed to speak English and there was tension in the air. Also the kitchen clearly is not cleaned by staff as the cupboards seemed dirty.


100%

Very nice hostel. It is what it is. A bed,lockers,and bathroom. Don't expect hostel prices in Nice for a hotel experience.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I was surprised to see how many bad reviews were made about this place, which really doesn't refect the reallity. Nice and clean rooms with new bathrooms. The staff was very helpful and kind and the location number one. And the prices are the best you can find in NIce.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location, impossible set the air-conditioning which was way too cold!


100%

Very good hostel. I was supposed to stay just one night but it's so nice here that the manager made it possible for me to extend my stay 6 more days and I really appreciate that. This place is really a good deal compared to what I checked in Nice.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

This hostel was reasonable for two nights and the location was good as you are near the beach, train station and local shops. There was no atmosphere and the security wasn't great. The rooms were very basic and not the cleanest. The main issue I had was with the air conditioning as there was 6 of us in the room, it was unbearably hot so we couldn't sleep and the staff would not turn it down below 24 degrees and coming from a cold country it was difficult to adapt to the heat. The staff were ok.


26%

Do not stay here under any circumstances. Location is awful, the staff was extremely rude. Website says they have air conditioning, which they do, but it is broken and not allowed to be used. Checkout doesn't start till 8 which was never mentioned online anywhere, and if you try to check out fifteen minutes early because the staff is sitting behind the desk ready anyways, you will get VERY disrespectfully yelled at. The hostel environment was very unfriendly. Price is decent, however.


80%

I wasn't keen on coming here because the reviews were so bad but it really wasn't a bad hostel at all. The cheapest in Nice. Beds were clean and comfy. They were triple bunks though but not a problem. Friendly travellers. Right near the main shopping street. Big supermarket close by. Limited kitchen facilities. The neighbourhood is meant to be a bit sketchy to one side of the hostel but to the other side it's a really nice upmarket area.


46%

This place might've been a good experience if not for the staff. At least 5 times a day I would hear the staff yelling at customers and displaying unacceptable behavior towards guests. They rent out unsecure locks to room lockers (one key works on ALL of their locks.) 1 girl staying there had over $1000 euro stolen from her locker because of this. When she brought it to the staff they were unwilling to help and even said "not my problem" I will NEVER stay here again until there are new owners

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel was kind of good. The location i think is perfect if you wanna tour the city, easily walk every where within 2-25 min range. (Beach 7 mins, train station 2 mins). Its really hard to find especially at night. Room are a bit small but if you are planning on not being at the hostel that much its ok. There is a small balcony in the room which is really good if you are a smoker. Showers are inside the rooms what makes it into privet hot showers (depend on the time)..


40%

A generally unpleasant experience the manager was horrible to this girl in my room

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

This hostel is AWFUL. It is dirty, they were under construction, they've stolen my towel. It is very insecure! it is placed in front of a place which is full of gitans at night, not recomended for girls!! Itdidnt look like a tourist hostel. Everything was dirty! Wifi connection doesn't really help and owners won't recommend you touristic places to visit. It was really a bad experience.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

relaxed atmosphere, nice kitchen , nice staff

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback