Hostelworld.com

Hostel Altair

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 5.8
Hostel Altair Located at 10 Rue de Suisse, , Nice.
Hostel Altair
France
Nice 06000 10 Rue de Suisse
64% 387
43.7031372 7.2646370
Hostel Altair
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
2.0

We were sexually harassed within the hostel, the front desk was closed so we were not able to switch rooms until the next morning. My friend and I had to share a tiny twin bed on the second bunk. There was no AC in the room and we heard construction and fighting all night and did not sleep. At morning we complained about the incident and asked for our money back for the remaining nights so we could move to a safer environment, this request was denied, we left. The girl employee tried to help.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2016
2.0

Booked a private room through hostelworld at 22:45, and couldn't get access to the "hostel" at 23:15 on the 17.06.2016 - terrible experience. Rough area.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
3.1

DO NOT STAY HERE! My stay was awful! We were given the wrong keys, our stuff (travel docs and all) was moved without our knowing. Showers were cold, cramped space, management was rude and very unhelpful. 1st night stay, there was mass confusion which bed's were ours upon returning from dinner. There are much better places to stay in Nice for a similar price or perhaps cheaper. Having stayed in many hostels around Europe and Asia myself, Altair is undoubtedly the worst I have ever stayed in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.0

Good central location. Parking a nightmare. When we arrived our bedding was damp. Shower also blocked and flooded floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
2.0

Stairwell disgusting/smells of pee. Thin walls - yelling/banging. No lock for locker or blanket. $30 deposit for key. Very limited hours for 'kitchen'&'living room" (though idk why they are called that) & reception. Hours didnt match online info. No soap, wifi useless, credit card machine wasnt working, & HORRIBLE staff. Needed to check out at 7:30 AM, reception opens 8:30 - sign says to simply ask a day ahead of time, but they not only refused, they practically spit in our faces with attit

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th May 2016
6.3

- very small room - kitchen will be closed at night -cheap

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2016
10.0

I'm pleased to have booked this hostel; it's a cheap place compared to others who don't give you more than this one which basically has everything you need: clean rooms and bathrooms, free wifi, computers you can use for free in the common room, common kitchen well equipped and a staff that gives you the information you need to around and spend your money in restaurants which have good food at reasonable prices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
5.4

Cannot argue with the hostel in terms of value for money, but you also get what you pay for. The building the hostel is in isn't very nice, but once you're in the hostel itself it's fine. The rooms are all ensuite with shower/toilet and the room we stayed in was clean enough. The kitchen is poorly equipped though and the staff are about as unhelpful and unfriendly as they could be. Location wise it's good, there are just a lot of drug users and alcoholics hanging around on the street outside

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
2.0

This must be the most horrible hostel i have ever stayed at. the staff is incredibly rude not helpful what so ever. i do not recommend anyone to stay here although it might be cheap i can guarantee you that paying a few more euros, will go a long way making your stay more memorable

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • colinwill60372500
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th May 2016
3.4

Terrible. I started writing this review in my head the minute I arrived at this "hostel". It should not be called a hostel, rather a shotty hotel with beds stacked in a room. Please don't stay here. It's not worth the money and there are so many better places to stay in Nice. I only stayed here because everything else was booked. To be fair, the shower was new and clean and the blanket was top notch. Other than that, the building was seedy, staff was less than helpful...id go on but I'm

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.