X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Arcoverde Reviews

Rua Coelho Cintra, 250 ancient hill rudder, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
25 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 50%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very nice place, staff very friendly and attentive. Very good location, surrounded for nature, hills, animals like monkeys, lizards, tucanos, and more… nice view from the terrace to sugar loaf and bay of botafogo, i realy spend a great time in this hostel.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • cristmirand2624
  • Chile
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

Giant hill to climb to get there, no way around it. Bunk beds are three beds high, the middle one broke through when I sat on it, luckily no one was underneath me at the time, otherwise they would have been badly injured.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
46%

Hostel situation on a steep hill - do not stay here unless you are a fitness fanatic. Location was not great. 12 beds cramed into a room fit for 8. Mattresses and room very dirty. No bar area and music stereo place right outside dorm room - not good if you want a bit a peace. Breakfast was good and there is use of a kitchen. Reception staff very helpful with providing travel information.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Staff spoke zero English, never understood any questions, no excursions were offered. Windows were broken so never stayed open. Cable TV was used by the family living on the sofa- they slept on this day and night! WIFI never worked in the rooms only in reception. Beverages were never cold, as fridge was not on, Asking for water was like the world had come to an end. No atmosphere in the hostel, rude unhelpful staff who always argued.Booked trips outside

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

This was a terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible hostel! I seriously recommend anyone who considers this place to think again! It is false advertising on the website, the places are dirty, the breakfast food looked questionable! This would not have been so terrible if the woman who runs the place was not running the front desk. She forgot to give me my change, and then when I asked her for it, she accused me of lying and exploiting her! It was so rude and unprofessional. I will never come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel green bow, offers his breakfast with fresh food of the day. The hostel is undergoing some obrar for improvement. Is malicious client is time for your payment, ended up giving a blow. I ask every client look our site, everything is in it and what is the hostel.

43%

Yes it is an Hostel, but only 2 old bathrooms are reallly too few for more than 20 person... always dirty. Also the rooma are not clean and need to be revised.

  • 29th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

The hostel is horrible. Despite of the goodwill of the staff, it´s a mess. It´s unacceptable dirty. The mattress and the sheet are very (very!) old and not confortable. The showers are improvised and in tree minutes of hot water the energy key collapses and have to be restarted. It´s a cheap hostel but the value for money is not good. My girlfriend and I quited and went to a hotel.

  • 11th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Booked in here as there was nowhere else available. Turned up to an empty squat like building with a particular creepy staff member. Turned out ok after more people turned up in the same situation. The bathroom was a mess with a broken door then breakfast was awful. Cheap but if there is no one else there it may not satisfy social needs.


66%

A good value for the price. Lacked hot water.


51%

This is good hostel for his cost. If you not expect to get an hotel in this low prices, and if you looking for a place that you can sleep, eat breakfast and go to amazing rio, this is the exactly hostel for you!

  • 1st Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


33%

positive thing: very close to Copacabana beach and the metro station. negative things: wooden bed staves broke when you are sleeping, the window is broken, there is one bathroom for 12 people, ants and other bugs are on the table where you eat, the cutlery is poor, the kitchen is dirty and very small (only 4 people can stay together there) the breakfast is:1 ham's slice and 1 of cheese, .only if you ask the staff'll give one more slice but not always, bread, coffee, milk and one apple for each.

  • 25th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The staff was friendly at the beggining. But after a complicated situation in which any other hostel or hotel would try to make up for the loss of their clients they were unsupportive and turned agaist the clients. It's location is kind of good but it is on top of a steep hill that's a pain to go up. Tom from the staff was really helpful. Buit the others disappointed us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Pedro for staying with us. We deeply regret what happened, and we are taking steps to see that it never happens again. We are unable to refund our guests for the nights they have stayed, thats how it is. What we can do is show the friendliness and hospitality that we enjoy along with our guests, so that they get their money´s worth of good hospitality, and leave us with the intent to return. Yes we are on top of a hill, but of course the view is worth every step of the ascent! and Tom is very helpful, both for us and our guests :) Pedro you are always welcome, and if you give us another chance sometime, you will not be left disappointed.

77%

It's a good place to stay. Very calm neighbourhood and its near everything you need (beach, shoppings, turistics places like "Bondinho"). The staff is very friendly and helpfull.

  • 22nd Apr 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


50%

very nice helpful people at reception, good location. However very poor beds, bad bedsheets, appalling showers, dirty and all at an exhorbitant price. I would never recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • 3rd Mar 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • (1 review)




View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback