X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel BVJ Opera Reviews

1, Rue de la Tour des Dames, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
150 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

great place to stay, and well located

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100 % SATISFIED... THANKS A LOT for our "great place & well located", Hope to see you soon in the 1st Historic Hostel of Paris, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

80%

The location was very good, but little bit difficult to find. I didn't notice it was a hostel even when standing outside. Room was quite clean. Breakfast was also ok. For the shower room, better find one which you can adjust water temperature, because not all of them could. NO free wifi. There should be more sockets in the room. Overall, will come here again if I visit Paris next time, mostly because of its price and location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
80 % satisfied... thanks a lot for : GREAT LOCATION + CLEAN ROOMS + GOOD BREAKFAST + Wi-Fi 3 Euros for 2 hours + more then 1 sockets per person... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

63%

There were no lockers, neither internet and the staff wasn't that nice. Very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the VERY GOOD LOCATION & VERY GOOD CLEANLINESS.... but READ what you rent : LOCKERS at DISPOSALL in the luggage room, Wi-Fi since 2 Euros for 3 Hours... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

57%

This hostel had a very good location, central to metros. It can be difficult to find the exact address. However don't expect a youth hostel there were lots of ages represented. Some of the staff members were very nice and helpful while others proved to be rude and abrasive. The showers require you to hold a button so don't expect much. The above items make it a typical old-fashioned hostel. This would all be fine if the linens were clean, instead there was a lot of hair on them.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
GOOD LOCATION + VERY CENTRAL + NICE & HELPFULL STAFF... a TYPICAL OLD FASHIONED PROPERTY... We don't pretend more... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL P.S. : As informed on the micro-web site, as confirmed by mail, as notice on the day of your arrival at the reception desk and on the door of your room : "LINEN, BLANKETS... can be changed on first request at the reception desk !"

80%

The hostel is very well localized and the rooms are nice as well. The staff is really nice overall, but there was a cleaning/cooking lady really annoying. The only thing that I hated about the hostel is that the wifi was paid and the bathrooms were terrible, but besides that it was a good stay.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"VERY WELL LOCALIZED + NICE ROOMS + REALLY NICE STAFF..." We well notice the little points, we are working on them, Hope to see you soon in our HISTORIC HOSTEL... THE BVJ OPERA !

77%

The blankets smelled awful.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comming in the 1st HISTORIC HOSTEL of PARIS ! We are very sorry, but as informed, as confirmed blankets can be change on the first request at the reception desk, Respectfully The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

31%

The rooms were not insulated properly and you could hear every damm sound in the building. The toilets and the showers were not clean. There was no showe curtain and the doors were already getting corroded from the moisture in the bathrooms. The breakfast was minimal and there were no fresh fruits, no fresh salami, no fresh tomatoes nothing. I would not recommend the hostel even when it is a good location sicne for that price, you can try other options as well.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry but : In an historic parisian building of the 18th century you won't be able to find the silence of a church. Facilities are cleaned 2 times per day & we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your room made. For a FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST for sure no salami, no tomato only : TEA, COFFE, CHOCOLAT, MILK, 2 types of juice, 2 types of cereals, 3 types of biscotte, fresh daily bread, cake, 7 flavour of jam, honey, nutella, fruits salad, yogurt, 2 types of chease, apples...

89%

The staff were quite helpful and friendly. But you cannot find an elevator in this hostel. Besides, they don't have a locker to save my luggage after I checked out. The location of the hostel is quite good. It nears the st lazare station and the Lafayette. Overall, it was an good experience in this hostel.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
GOOD EXPERIENCE with a HELPFUL & FRIENDLY STAFF + GOOD LOCATION thanks a lot.... And for sur : no lift but only 1 floor ! + lockers are at disposall in the lugage room

66%

The hostel has a good location, next to the subway station and the opera. The breakfast is excellent, no complaints. But the room itself is not very good. To begin, there was only one key to open the room. The card system would be much better. Besides, the bathroom is outside the room and the showers have no shelves to put the stuff, so it was disgusting. Also, there were no individual lights nor wall sockets close to the beds. And the thing that I missed the most was lockers inside the room.


69%

I stayed in a 6 ppl room.The room is reasonable big and clean. The toillet and shower is tiny ...and water pressure is low for the shower. no place to put any of the shampoo stuff, not exactly very clean...dont have expectations for the breakfast and there is no locker in the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the PERFECT LOCATION, the big and clean rooms... Lockers are at disposall in the lugage room... Hope to see you soon, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL... P.S. : We well notice the little points, we'll work on them... but for sure even if showers are cleaned 2 times per day, we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your roomade. Sorry.

69%

hostel is conveniently located to a metro stop..but nothing spectacular. one of the staff members was really nice, but the other two were not helpful at all and very unfriendly. there are much better hostels in Paris, but it was overall an okay experience. free breakfast which was nice, wifi costs 3 euro for 2 hours and 5 euros for 4 hours. bathrooms located far from the rooms as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the CONVENIENT LOCATION + NICE FREE EARLY BREAKFAST & REALLY NICE STAFF MEMBERS, but for sure you can't match with every body !!! Hope to see you soon, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL

69%

Really nice place once you find it. Does not look like a hostel at all. Really fancy. But this sort of has a bad affect on the atmosphere. There isn't any. Met some cool people in the room but it's not a hostel to meet a lot of others. Just a bed in a dorm really and your lucky if you get some nice people. Breakfast is really good though so wake up for that. Check in staff were nice and friendly and the location was good but in an expensive area. I would find cheaper accommodation if possible

Owner Comment (Hide)
" REALLY FANCY for the only HISTORIC HOSTEL of the city... + GOOD FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST BUFFET + NICE & FRIENDLY STAFF.... " Thanks a lot.... The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

69%

The staff were really friendly at first then mixed up our booking and thought we didn't have another night which was worrying. There was a huge crowd of Americans making noise till 4am inside and outside which hostel staff did nothing about. The toilets were disgusting. They weren't cleaned regularly. The showers were awful. Location fantastic. Would have been nice if more socialising could happen in the hostel.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the VERY FRIENDLY STAFF + FANTASTIC LOCATION & VERY SECURITY of the building... THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL P.S. : Even if we clean the facilities 2 times per day, we can't have any guaranty on the way of life of your roomade...

71%

A locker in the room or just a hook to hang clothes would be nice.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the "PERFECT STAFF + VERY GOOD CLEANLINESS & VALUE"... of our HISTORIC HOSTEL !!! We well notice the little points, we are working on them, Thanks a lot, Hope to see you soon, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

77%

Everything was great; the free breakfast was a very nice addition. The beds were clean and I felt safe. The security was great and the location was nice. However, the one night worker was incredibly rude and frightening. He was challenging to have a conversation with and he made it seem as though we were not welcome.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
NICE LOCATION + VERY NICE FREE BREAKFAST + CLEAN BEDS + GREAT SECURITY... Thank you... Sorry but our night security worker... they are not planed to converse but just to keep you safely in one of the MOST BEAUTIFULL BUILDING of the city !

94%

Our last stay in Paris was so nice because of the hostel. This hostel is located very close to Opera. Very lovely place. And staff, especially Hamid, he was so caring and helped us a lot. We would like to go back to Paris to stay there again and definitely I recommend this hostel to people who are looking for place to stay in Paris!!

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"VERY LOVELY PLACE + HELPFULL STAFF" Thank you... THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

97%

Beautiful building in a central zone, just next to the Trinité church. Rooms were clean and nice, breakfast was good. Just stayed there for a night but I would've stayed longer if I could've

Owner Comment (Hide)
BEAUTIFULL BUILDING + CLEAN & NICE ROOMS + GOOD BREAKFAST : Thank you... The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

86%

It is a clean place in a good location, especially now that so many hostels are in the banlieus instead of within Paris. Some of the bathrooms were out of order for part of my stay, and WiFi is not free, but staff was very friendly and a lovely daily breakfast was a nice perk. There's also a pleasant courtyard and collection of books to make it feel like home.

Owner Comment (Hide)
86% SATISFIED : CLEAN PLACE + GOOD LOCATION + FRIENDLY STAFF + LOVELY DAILY BREAKFAST + PLEASANT COURT YARD + COLLECTION OF BOOKS... THANKS A LOT, HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON, Best Regards, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL CREW !

91%

Its amazing atmosphere in this hostel, with a excellent localization in Paris. I really recommend you stay there when want to enjow the city. It´s only 20 minutes walking from the arc of triomphe. My only complain about the hostel it was the cold water in the shower, specially in a freeezing weather!

Owner Comment (Hide)
AMAZING ATMOSPHERE + EXCELLENT LOCATION + REALLY RECOMMANDED... Thanks a lot we wish to see you soon back, Best regards, BVJ OPERA HOSTEL

77%

Staff is amazing, they try to help you anyway they can. Toilets are a kind of trap, you are in a very confined space with no toilet seat. The room is large enough far everybody and there is a sink a the room which is nice. Everyroom has a key, but i have never seen the key during my stay, our room was always open for anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"AMAZING STAFF... LARGE & NICE ROOMS" Thanks a lot... Hope to see you soon The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback