X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel BVJ Opera Reviews

1, Rue de la Tour des Dames, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
135 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I stayed in a 6 ppl room.The room is reasonable big and clean. The toillet and shower is tiny ...and water pressure is low for the shower. no place to put any of the shampoo stuff, not exactly very clean...dont have expectations for the breakfast and there is no locker in the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the PERFECT LOCATION, the big and clean rooms... Lockers are at disposall in the lugage room... Hope to see you soon, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL... P.S. : We well notice the little points, we'll work on them... but for sure even if showers are cleaned 2 times per day, we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your roomade. Sorry.

69%

hostel is conveniently located to a metro stop..but nothing spectacular. one of the staff members was really nice, but the other two were not helpful at all and very unfriendly. there are much better hostels in Paris, but it was overall an okay experience. free breakfast which was nice, wifi costs 3 euro for 2 hours and 5 euros for 4 hours. bathrooms located far from the rooms as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the CONVENIENT LOCATION + NICE FREE EARLY BREAKFAST & REALLY NICE STAFF MEMBERS, but for sure you can't match with every body !!! Hope to see you soon, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL

69%

Really nice place once you find it. Does not look like a hostel at all. Really fancy. But this sort of has a bad affect on the atmosphere. There isn't any. Met some cool people in the room but it's not a hostel to meet a lot of others. Just a bed in a dorm really and your lucky if you get some nice people. Breakfast is really good though so wake up for that. Check in staff were nice and friendly and the location was good but in an expensive area. I would find cheaper accommodation if possible

Owner Comment (Hide)
" REALLY FANCY for the only HISTORIC HOSTEL of the city... + GOOD FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST BUFFET + NICE & FRIENDLY STAFF.... " Thanks a lot.... The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

69%

The staff were really friendly at first then mixed up our booking and thought we didn't have another night which was worrying. There was a huge crowd of Americans making noise till 4am inside and outside which hostel staff did nothing about. The toilets were disgusting. They weren't cleaned regularly. The showers were awful. Location fantastic. Would have been nice if more socialising could happen in the hostel.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the VERY FRIENDLY STAFF + FANTASTIC LOCATION & VERY SECURITY of the building... THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL P.S. : Even if we clean the facilities 2 times per day, we can't have any guaranty on the way of life of your roomade...

71%

A locker in the room or just a hook to hang clothes would be nice.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the "PERFECT STAFF + VERY GOOD CLEANLINESS & VALUE"... of our HISTORIC HOSTEL !!! We well notice the little points, we are working on them, Thanks a lot, Hope to see you soon, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

77%

Everything was great; the free breakfast was a very nice addition. The beds were clean and I felt safe. The security was great and the location was nice. However, the one night worker was incredibly rude and frightening. He was challenging to have a conversation with and he made it seem as though we were not welcome.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
NICE LOCATION + VERY NICE FREE BREAKFAST + CLEAN BEDS + GREAT SECURITY... Thank you... Sorry but our night security worker... they are not planed to converse but just to keep you safely in one of the MOST BEAUTIFULL BUILDING of the city !

94%

Our last stay in Paris was so nice because of the hostel. This hostel is located very close to Opera. Very lovely place. And staff, especially Hamid, he was so caring and helped us a lot. We would like to go back to Paris to stay there again and definitely I recommend this hostel to people who are looking for place to stay in Paris!!

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"VERY LOVELY PLACE + HELPFULL STAFF" Thank you... THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

97%

Beautiful building in a central zone, just next to the Trinité church. Rooms were clean and nice, breakfast was good. Just stayed there for a night but I would've stayed longer if I could've

Owner Comment (Hide)
BEAUTIFULL BUILDING + CLEAN & NICE ROOMS + GOOD BREAKFAST : Thank you... The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

86%

It is a clean place in a good location, especially now that so many hostels are in the banlieus instead of within Paris. Some of the bathrooms were out of order for part of my stay, and WiFi is not free, but staff was very friendly and a lovely daily breakfast was a nice perk. There's also a pleasant courtyard and collection of books to make it feel like home.

Owner Comment (Hide)
86% SATISFIED : CLEAN PLACE + GOOD LOCATION + FRIENDLY STAFF + LOVELY DAILY BREAKFAST + PLEASANT COURT YARD + COLLECTION OF BOOKS... THANKS A LOT, HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON, Best Regards, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL CREW !

91%

Its amazing atmosphere in this hostel, with a excellent localization in Paris. I really recommend you stay there when want to enjow the city. It´s only 20 minutes walking from the arc of triomphe. My only complain about the hostel it was the cold water in the shower, specially in a freeezing weather!

Owner Comment (Hide)
AMAZING ATMOSPHERE + EXCELLENT LOCATION + REALLY RECOMMANDED... Thanks a lot we wish to see you soon back, Best regards, BVJ OPERA HOSTEL

77%

Staff is amazing, they try to help you anyway they can. Toilets are a kind of trap, you are in a very confined space with no toilet seat. The room is large enough far everybody and there is a sink a the room which is nice. Everyroom has a key, but i have never seen the key during my stay, our room was always open for anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"AMAZING STAFF... LARGE & NICE ROOMS" Thanks a lot... Hope to see you soon The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

71%

Good location, great interior and it's clean. Staff was informative. Bad ventilation in the girls dorm. There were toilets, but no toilet seat, which was inconvenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
GOOD LOCATION + GREAT INTERIOR + CLEAN FACILITIES & GOOD STAFF... Thank you, Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA Youth Hostel !

83%

The hostel was very good, in a great location, with nice staff and a nice breakfast. The people I met in the hostel were also great :) The only bad thing was that the toilets were sometimes a bit dirty. The rooms were clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
VERY HOSTEL with NICE STAFF & NICE BREAKFAST : THANK YOU ! Sorry but event if the are cleaned several times per day, we can't guaranty the way of life of your room made, Regards

91%

Staff were really helpful and friendly. Perfect atmosphere really beautiful. Thank you :)

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"HELPFULL & FRIENDLY STAFF... PERFECT ATMOSPHER"... REALLY BEAUTIFULL" We try all we can... Thank you, Hope to see you soon in the Historic Youth Hostel, Best regards, The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

46%

Hostel was quite expensive for a place without access to free wifi and no personal room keys. There was supposed to be one room key per room and the last person leaving the room would take the key back down to the front desk, but often times no one in the room had the room key and no one could lock the room. There was also no lockers to use in the rooms.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
JUST READ what you rent : A BED in an SECURED HISTORIC YOUTH HOSTEL with an amazing lobby, a private court yard & a FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST, located closed to the National Opéra, Galeries La Fayettes & Montmartre within a walk of 10 min ! But for sure as presented, as confirmed : Wi-Fi since 0.80 Euros per hour, lockers for 2 Euros per use in the lugage room ! Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

51%

Reasonably good location but dirty and smelly, no toilet seats on any of the toilets, no sinks in most bathrooms, showers are hot but don't work properly, have to pay for wifi but it didn't work for me, no kitchen, common area is always empty and almost eerie so difficult to socialise, staff not very friendly. On the other hand, it's one of the cheaper hostels in Paris and the location is good enough so it depends on what you value.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The place was great!! It looks really nice on the outside and I had a great experience! One of the staff members was rude to me but the rest were fine.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"THE PLACE WAS GREAT... LOOKS REALLY NICE... GREAT EXPERIENCE..." THANK YOU !

34%

Worst hostel I´ve ever stayed in. Ants in the bedroom and the place did not feel clean. You have to pay for wifi, which was misleading and should definitely be included in a €30/night place. The staff was the rudest I have ever encountered and he yelled at me two times for carrying an unopened bottle of wine through the common room because drinking was not allowed. We felt completely unwelcome. Theres only one key to each room and you have to buzz the front door to get in at night. TERRIBLE.

Owner Comment (Hide)
SORRY, but for sure for the service of a 5 stars Palace, the silence of a church, or a free open bar... … Honestly, you make the wrong choice. NEXT TIME, you should find an other address.

60%

Rediculous that they don't warn people that they charge for wifi

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the PERFECT LOCATION and the GOOD ATMOSPHER. As we informed and confirmed Wi-Fi cost 3 Euros for 2 hour Because, we received school groups under 18, we must register IP adress and the done trafic during 1 year... reason why we have to charge for Wi-Fi...

69%

It is not easy to find the hostel as there is no sign outside plus the building does not look like a hostel. There was a big group of teens staying at the night I was there and I couldn't sleep at all because of their noise. Well, there was not much hostel could do? No free wifi. Beautiful lobby area and nice breakfast. Great location both to Opera and to Montmartre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the "BEAUTIFULL LOBBY AREA + NICE BREAKFAST + GREAT LOCATION near Opéra & Montmartre" Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback