X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel BVJ Opera Reviews

1, Rue de la Tour des Dames, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
115 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

It is a clean place in a good location, especially now that so many hostels are in the banlieus instead of within Paris. Some of the bathrooms were out of order for part of my stay, and WiFi is not free, but staff was very friendly and a lovely daily breakfast was a nice perk. There's also a pleasant courtyard and collection of books to make it feel like home.

Owner Comment (Hide)
86% SATISFIED : CLEAN PLACE + GOOD LOCATION + FRIENDLY STAFF + LOVELY DAILY BREAKFAST + PLEASANT COURT YARD + COLLECTION OF BOOKS... THANKS A LOT, HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON, Best Regards, THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL CREW !

91%

Its amazing atmosphere in this hostel, with a excellent localization in Paris. I really recommend you stay there when want to enjow the city. It´s only 20 minutes walking from the arc of triomphe. My only complain about the hostel it was the cold water in the shower, specially in a freeezing weather!


77%

Staff is amazing, they try to help you anyway they can. Toilets are a kind of trap, you are in a very confined space with no toilet seat. The room is large enough far everybody and there is a sink a the room which is nice. Everyroom has a key, but i have never seen the key during my stay, our room was always open for anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"AMAZING STAFF... LARGE & NICE ROOMS" Thanks a lot... Hope to see you soon The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

71%

Good location, great interior and it's clean. Staff was informative. Bad ventilation in the girls dorm. There were toilets, but no toilet seat, which was inconvenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
GOOD LOCATION + GREAT INTERIOR + CLEAN FACILITIES & GOOD STAFF... Thank you, Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA Youth Hostel !

83%

The hostel was very good, in a great location, with nice staff and a nice breakfast. The people I met in the hostel were also great :) The only bad thing was that the toilets were sometimes a bit dirty. The rooms were clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
VERY HOSTEL with NICE STAFF & NICE BREAKFAST : THANK YOU ! Sorry but event if the are cleaned several times per day, we can't guaranty the way of life of your room made, Regards

91%

Staff were really helpful and friendly. Perfect atmosphere really beautiful. Thank you :)

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"HELPFULL & FRIENDLY STAFF... PERFECT ATMOSPHER"... REALLY BEAUTIFULL" We try all we can... Thank you, Hope to see you soon in the Historic Youth Hostel, Best regards, The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

46%

Hostel was quite expensive for a place without access to free wifi and no personal room keys. There was supposed to be one room key per room and the last person leaving the room would take the key back down to the front desk, but often times no one in the room had the room key and no one could lock the room. There was also no lockers to use in the rooms.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
JUST READ what you rent : A BED in an SECURED HISTORIC YOUTH HOSTEL with an amazing lobby, a private court yard & a FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST, located closed to the National Opéra, Galeries La Fayettes & Montmartre within a walk of 10 min ! But for sure as presented, as confirmed : Wi-Fi since 0.80 Euros per hour, lockers for 2 Euros per use in the lugage room ! Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

51%

Reasonably good location but dirty and smelly, no toilet seats on any of the toilets, no sinks in most bathrooms, showers are hot but don't work properly, have to pay for wifi but it didn't work for me, no kitchen, common area is always empty and almost eerie so difficult to socialise, staff not very friendly. On the other hand, it's one of the cheaper hostels in Paris and the location is good enough so it depends on what you value.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The place was great!! It looks really nice on the outside and I had a great experience! One of the staff members was rude to me but the rest were fine.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"THE PLACE WAS GREAT... LOOKS REALLY NICE... GREAT EXPERIENCE..." THANK YOU !

34%

Worst hostel I´ve ever stayed in. Ants in the bedroom and the place did not feel clean. You have to pay for wifi, which was misleading and should definitely be included in a €30/night place. The staff was the rudest I have ever encountered and he yelled at me two times for carrying an unopened bottle of wine through the common room because drinking was not allowed. We felt completely unwelcome. Theres only one key to each room and you have to buzz the front door to get in at night. TERRIBLE.

Owner Comment (Hide)
SORRY, but for sure for the service of a 5 stars Palace, the silence of a church, or a free open bar... … Honestly, you make the wrong choice. NEXT TIME, you should find an other address.

60%

Rediculous that they don't warn people that they charge for wifi

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the PERFECT LOCATION and the GOOD ATMOSPHER. As we informed and confirmed Wi-Fi cost 3 Euros for 2 hour Because, we received school groups under 18, we must register IP adress and the done trafic during 1 year... reason why we have to charge for Wi-Fi...

69%

It is not easy to find the hostel as there is no sign outside plus the building does not look like a hostel. There was a big group of teens staying at the night I was there and I couldn't sleep at all because of their noise. Well, there was not much hostel could do? No free wifi. Beautiful lobby area and nice breakfast. Great location both to Opera and to Montmartre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the "BEAUTIFULL LOBBY AREA + NICE BREAKFAST + GREAT LOCATION near Opéra & Montmartre" Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA TEAM !

63%

please prepare the cash, there is no machine. I need to withdraw money when I got there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the PERFECT LOCATION, GOOD LOCATION, ATMOSPHERE, CLEANILESS & VALUE FOR MONEY ! As informed, the full balance must be paid in cash on the day of arrival, Hope to see you soon in our HISTORIC YOUTH HOSTEL, with his AMAZING LOBBY... Best regards, The BVJ OPERA TEAM

77%

+ The staff was quite friendly and helpful & the rooms were clean and quiet. Free breakfast was nice too. Awesome lobby. - There was no free WIFI in the Hostel and it proved surprisingly hard to find free internet in Paris. They had some sort of internet service but it wasn't free and I didn't care to find out more :D

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"FRIENDLY & HELPFULL STAFF + CLEAN & QUIET ROOMS + NICE FREE EARLY BREAKFAST + AWESOME LOBY + WI-FI charge 3 Euros for 2 hours" THANKS A LOT we don't pretend more... Regards

57%

Nice location and beautiful interior but the staff wasn't helpful or friendly at all. It was tough being an American here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for NICE LOCATION + BEAUTIFUL INTERIOR... Just reming you'll get just what you bring... Hope to see you soon in a better mood, Regards

71%

Location is great. But dorm rooms without lockers was surprising. And a hostel without a kitchen or even refrigerator even more so. If your plan is to spend every lunch and dinner out in Parisian restaurants and to drink in the trendy bars nearby, this place is perfectly suited. Travelers on a bit of a budget, looking to buy a bottle of wine to enjoy in or groceries for lunches, may want to examine other options.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the GREAT LOCATION...the PERFECTLY SUITED PLACE... Regards...

34%

The guy at reception didn't seem to know what he was doing. Once we paid, we asked for info on attractions, but he gave us false answers. He said he could verify once "he had finished what he was working on". There is no security here. There is one key per room and anyone could really walk in. No lockers. You can hear the phone ringing at night in the lobby. The rooms are filthy. The washrooms are disgusting with no ventilation. Ladies, no toilet seats btw. Book early elsewhere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the miss-understanding, but for sure : 1/ Even if we've got the oldest historic youth hostel of the city, with an amazing lobby, for a 5 stars palace services, you make the wrong choice... 2/ As for security : 3 camera control, a securty pass... we can't do better.... 3/ Rooms and facilities are cleaned from 2 to 3 times per day, but for sure, we can't be behind all our guests, and can't give any guaranty on their way of life, even on yours... Please just forget us...

51%

The bathrooms, particularly the showers, were disgusting. Some of the staff at the front desk were rude. The window in my room didn't close properly, and it overlooked the patio, so the room was rather noisy whenever people were out on the patio. Breakfast was underwhelming and there was next to nothing available if you're lactose intolerant. (It was mostly cereal, though there were fruit cups and baguette.) There were no lockers in the rooms, which was sketchy. Would not stay there again.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It seems that you weren't in our hostel, the OLDEST and the MOST BEAUTIFULL HOSTEL of the city, with his HISTORIC NAPOLEON LOBBY, with a FREE EARLY BREAKFAST with : tea, coffee, chocolat, yogurt, orange juice, apple juice, fruit salad, biscotte, american toast, fresh daily bread of the baker, butter, 7 flavour of jam, honey, nutella, 2 types of cereals, cold milk, cakes... SORRY WE CAN' DO BETTER ! For a 5 stars palace service you made the wrong choice & price might be different !

74%

They do advertise you have to pay to use the wifi, but when I got there I could not connect to the wifi at all since they had run out of some prepaid cards they use! This was a big inconvenience for me. Other than that I'm happy with the place; it is a very simple hostel but very resonably priced and great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HAPPY with the place, SIMPLE HOSTEL but very resonable priced & GREAT LOCATION.... As we wrote on the micro web site : Wi-Fi since 0,80 Euros per our...

57%

The place it's essential as it's supposed to be in a hostel but you can find cheaper hostels with more services (toilet in the room and the kitchen use for example). There's no soap in the toilets and not enough plugs in the room to charge everyone's phone, the breakfast it's good even though it's served only until 9.30. The personal it's quite rude but it's unfortunately common in the hostels. Another really stupid thing it's that you have to pay 1€ EACH TIME you use the lockers. Mad!!!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS FOR THE GOOD FREE EARLY BREAKFAST, but it seems that you made the wrong choice and you should open your eyes. More over then 1 plug per person en each room, as we pretend, as present on the micro-web site, as we confirmed by mail : a SIMPLE & BASIC Youth Hostel in an HISTORIC BUILDING where you'll find JUST THE NECESSARY : bunk bed, facilities to share outside of room, no kitchen, no lift, internet since 0.80 Euros per hour, lockers for 2 Euros per use, necessary for the bath for 5 Euros

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback