X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel BVJ Opera Reviews

1, Rue de la Tour des Dames, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
173 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

For 30€ a night and the very insisting announcement in advance not to expect anything but a bed, I at least expect Cleanliness. Our female dorm was filthy, the sheets on all available "clean" beds had hair and dirt all over them. The room was not cleaned within the dree days we were there. There is no place to put anything on, no chairs, etc. No lockers in the room.. The breakfast was good! I've stayed in cheaper but better hostels in Paris.


60%

Overall it was fine, the hostel is in an okay spot, about 25 min walk from the Louvre. The hostel itself was fairly clean. No free wifi (€5 for 4 hours), no free towels, no lockers. The linen was free and breakfast was free too but basic (cereal, bread, juice). The price of the hostel is expensive for just a hostel, but it's in Paris so I guess it's understandable.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
FINE HISTORIC PROPERTY, fairly clean with FREE FRESH LINEN, FREE EARLY FRECH BREKFAST... Thank you, We hope to see you soon in our MAZING LOBBY... THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL, P.S. as informed, as confirmed : WI-FI since 2 Euros for 3 hours, towels to buy for 5 Euros, Lockers for 2 Euros per use, ... thanks a lot

80%

The location was amazing and the building was historical and beautiful. The room was big and clean but the washrooms/showers weren't great --small and could definitely use an update. The most annoying part would probably be paying for WIFI in an age where everywhere has free WIFI; but realistically no one comes to Paris to sit in their hostel on Facebook. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Paris!

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS A LOT for the "AMAZING HISTORIC BUILDING... the big & clean rooms"... as pretend ONLY BUNK BEDS, NO FREE WI-FI, NO PUBLIC KITCHEN ACCESS, NO LIFT... Hope to see you soon back in BVJ OPERA HOSTEL, Best Regards, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

74%

Rooms are great but they dont have soap on the rooms sink only on bathrooms. You needed to charge your camera and phone only beside the sink and entrance of room and if you want to visit the next day and have battery for pictures, it is hard to leave your belongings unattended all night on the entrance. Staff was great specially on the lobby.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the GREAT ROOMS... GREAT STAFF... AMAZING LOBBY for the 1st HISTORIC HOSTEL of PARIS CITY, Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL ! P.S. : Soap at disposall for free in all the common facilities or to sale at the reception desk...

74%

Really nice holidays at BVJ Opera Hostel. The staff is very kind and you can make friends easily as a lot of people travel alone. Thanks very much for your help guys!!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the VERY KIND STAFF.... VERY GOOD LOCATION & ATMOSPHERE... THE PERFECT VALUE... We hope to see you soon in the 1st HISTORIC HOSTEL of PARIS, where you will find just the necessary : BUNK BEDS, NO LIFT, NO KITCHEN, NO LAUNDRY, NO FREE WI-FI.... basic & simple facilities, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

74%

Very good hostel. Well organized and nice to sleep. Had some good time. A bit far from subway stations, but worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS FOR the "VERY GOOD PROPERTY... well organized & nice to sleep" We hope to see you soon bac in our HISTORIC HOSTEL, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

71%

really good place to stay, nice building, really close to all turistic places and good price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for our "REALLY GOOD PLACE + NICE BUILDING" SIMPLE and BASIC where you will find just the necessary & STRICTLY reserved for REAL YOUTH TRAVELLERS who are not so precious ! THE BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

43%

Good location, price lower than other hostels. Dirty, terrible toilet and shower facilities, few power outlets, no lockers, unhelpful staff, saw a rat in the breakfast area. Do not recommend this hostel unless you're on a really tight budget. It's worth spending a bit more on a decent place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the GOOD LOCATION + VERY GOOD PRICE + and GOOD ATMOSPHERE... The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL P.S. : facilities are cleaned 2 to 3 times per day, but we can't gice any gurantee on the cleanliness of your roomade : more over more then 1 plug per person in each room just open our eyes ; lockers at disposall in the lugage room for 2 Euros per use... Please next time find somewhere esle !

69%

dirty restrooms last long time and one of the people in the kitchen is very rude, all the other well

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all the others members of our crew... The very good security, location, atmosphere & facilities.... good staff and value... We well notice the little points, we are working on them, Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL

49%

no hot water !

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Paris was fun. BVJ wasn't. There was broken glass in the shower and staff said it 'wasn't his problem'. The others were nice; but all in all the showers were crammy and stuffy, the toilets weren't cleaned frequently enough and there wasn't anywhere to lock your valuables. Help your customers.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all the others members of our crew.... the very nice location and good atmosphere of our HISTORIC HOSTEL with his amazing lobby... The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL P.S. : Even if we clean them 2 to 3 times per day, we can't control the way of life of your roomade and we'll take more attention on the toilets, and for the answer of one, we are very sorry. We are investigating on it.

100%

great place to stay, and well located

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100 % SATISFIED... THANKS A LOT for our "great place & well located", Hope to see you soon in the 1st Historic Hostel of Paris, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

80%

The location was very good, but little bit difficult to find. I didn't notice it was a hostel even when standing outside. Room was quite clean. Breakfast was also ok. For the shower room, better find one which you can adjust water temperature, because not all of them could. NO free wifi. There should be more sockets in the room. Overall, will come here again if I visit Paris next time, mostly because of its price and location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
80 % satisfied... thanks a lot for : GREAT LOCATION + CLEAN ROOMS + GOOD BREAKFAST + Wi-Fi 3 Euros for 2 hours + more then 1 sockets per person... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

63%

There were no lockers, neither internet and the staff wasn't that nice. Very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the VERY GOOD LOCATION & VERY GOOD CLEANLINESS.... but READ what you rent : LOCKERS at DISPOSALL in the luggage room, Wi-Fi since 2 Euros for 3 Hours... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

57%

This hostel had a very good location, central to metros. It can be difficult to find the exact address. However don't expect a youth hostel there were lots of ages represented. Some of the staff members were very nice and helpful while others proved to be rude and abrasive. The showers require you to hold a button so don't expect much. The above items make it a typical old-fashioned hostel. This would all be fine if the linens were clean, instead there was a lot of hair on them.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
GOOD LOCATION + VERY CENTRAL + NICE & HELPFULL STAFF... a TYPICAL OLD FASHIONED PROPERTY... We don't pretend more... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL P.S. : As informed on the micro-web site, as confirmed by mail, as notice on the day of your arrival at the reception desk and on the door of your room : "LINEN, BLANKETS... can be changed on first request at the reception desk !"

80%

The hostel is very well localized and the rooms are nice as well. The staff is really nice overall, but there was a cleaning/cooking lady really annoying. The only thing that I hated about the hostel is that the wifi was paid and the bathrooms were terrible, but besides that it was a good stay.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"VERY WELL LOCALIZED + NICE ROOMS + REALLY NICE STAFF..." We well notice the little points, we are working on them, Hope to see you soon in our HISTORIC HOSTEL... THE BVJ OPERA !

77%

The blankets smelled awful.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comming in the 1st HISTORIC HOSTEL of PARIS ! We are very sorry, but as informed, as confirmed blankets can be change on the first request at the reception desk, Respectfully The BVJ OPERA HOSTEL !

31%

The rooms were not insulated properly and you could hear every damm sound in the building. The toilets and the showers were not clean. There was no showe curtain and the doors were already getting corroded from the moisture in the bathrooms. The breakfast was minimal and there were no fresh fruits, no fresh salami, no fresh tomatoes nothing. I would not recommend the hostel even when it is a good location sicne for that price, you can try other options as well.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry but : In an historic parisian building of the 18th century you won't be able to find the silence of a church. Facilities are cleaned 2 times per day & we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your room made. For a FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST for sure no salami, no tomato only : TEA, COFFE, CHOCOLAT, MILK, 2 types of juice, 2 types of cereals, 3 types of biscotte, fresh daily bread, cake, 7 flavour of jam, honey, nutella, fruits salad, yogurt, 2 types of chease, apples...

89%

The staff were quite helpful and friendly. But you cannot find an elevator in this hostel. Besides, they don't have a locker to save my luggage after I checked out. The location of the hostel is quite good. It nears the st lazare station and the Lafayette. Overall, it was an good experience in this hostel.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
GOOD EXPERIENCE with a HELPFUL & FRIENDLY STAFF + GOOD LOCATION thanks a lot.... And for sur : no lift but only 1 floor ! + lockers are at disposall in the lugage room

66%

The hostel has a good location, next to the subway station and the opera. The breakfast is excellent, no complaints. But the room itself is not very good. To begin, there was only one key to open the room. The card system would be much better. Besides, the bathroom is outside the room and the showers have no shelves to put the stuff, so it was disgusting. Also, there were no individual lights nor wall sockets close to the beds. And the thing that I missed the most was lockers inside the room.


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback