Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Babilonia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 257 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 257 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Mar 2017
10.0

Good location just a couple of blocks from the coastline. Great breakfast, different every day. Very welcoming and kind owners. Lovely hot showers, comfy beds. From the airport there is a shuttle which will drop you at the hostel for $10 US - desk on right as you come out in arrivals or ask at info desk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive feedback!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.0

The Hostel is located directly in the area of the old town, a safe and quiet area with supermarkets, restaurants and shops. Unfortunately the bus terminal is not very closed to the hostel. The rooms are simple and clean. The bathroom smells a little bit, but has good showers! Wifi is working everywhere! The breakfast is good and the kitchen very welk equipped. The owner-family has two young children and is living in the hostel. If you like that kind of atmosphere, we can recommend the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback. Even though the bus terminal is a 10min drive from HB, the Buquebus is a mere 5 min walk from us. How cool would it be if both were right on our doorstep! We make sure to keep the hostel clean at all times.

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

A homey family-run hostel, quiet and an exceptional place to rest. The 2 kids are absolutely adorable. It's a pity the area Ciudad Vieja is closed on weekends, however with it comes a good opportunity to take photos as there are few people around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I agree in terms of Ciudad Vieja being closed on a Sunday. Wouldn't it be awesome if there were activities or flea markets or vendors right here in Sarandi on a Sunday? Also something I had to get used to, coming from a country where you can even do banking on a Sunday. But I came to appreciate the quiet day with my family, going to the park, being outdoors and taking lots of pictures as you mentioned. Visiting the Tristan Narvaja street market is always a treat!

23rd Mar 2017
6.0

In the land of the blind the one-eyed hostel is king..... Owners are nice, but new to Uruguay so not super knowledgeable and don't speak Spanish. Hostel is nice for S America, but not as nice as the price and rating suggests. The owners have two young children that are quite loud, unruly, and often disrespectful to guests. (as in grabbing food off your plate while cooking rude!) kitchen is well equipped and a lot of common room space which is nice. Location is really good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sending us your feedback albeit not as positive as we would have hoped for. You are absolutely correct in saying that we are fairly new to UY. We arrived end of 2016 and was thrown smack bang into high tourist season so unfortunately we did not have time to travel or study yet. I am convinced thought that our knowledge on both UY and Spanish will improve over time. And yes, we do have two children aged 3 and 6 as this is a family owned business. We definitely do not approve unruliness, disrespectfulness from children or guests. The kids are still adjusting to being around new people every day and some of them allow the kids to help them with preparation of food which makes it difficult for them to know when this allowed and when it isn´t. I would have appreciated it though if you told me this during your stay as we would then have addressed it immediately. Instead this is now being used as a reason to downgrade our service offering which is very unfortunate.

17th Mar 2017
8.0

Overall, the hostel worked for us. Montevideo and the Ciudad Vieja were very quiet on a weekend in March. If we went again, we'd probably stay in a more central part of the city. The puppy is a lapdog that's still learning his manners. Pretty quiet/not a lot of atmosphere but maybe because it's off season. Good kitchen set up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. After a extremely busy January and February I do get the feeling that the whole of MvD is taking a bit of a break during the month of March. Even though it is less busy; I personally think it is the best time of the year to visit as the weather is just perfect. Less people and less expensive. Peanuts (the puppy) is already doing much better in terms of manners and loved by all who come to visit.

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.7

Had a wonderful time at this great hostel. Spent two nights and the hosts couldn't have made us feel more at home! Spotlessly clean and comfortable hostel with a fantastic kitchen and breakfast. The puppy called peanuts was adorable! Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive feedback. Come visit us again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. Spotlessly clean and nice and quiet - I had the first good night's sleep in weeks. The forms are a good size with fans and spotlights. The hosts were friendly and helpful - even lending me their personal laptop as mine was broken. Breakfast was good - fresh fruit and boiled eggs - luxury! Not a party hostel - although i was here midcweek so it's probably busier at weekends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Wonderful, home-y hostel in a great, very low-key part of town. Also a puppy! La unica cosa es que no hablan español, pero por nosotras no fue un problema. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola, mucho gracias! It is heartwarming to read positive feedback from our guests. With us arriving a few months ago, from South Africa where Spanish is not one of the 11 official languages it is definitely on our to-do list to attend Spanish clases after the 2017 summer period. So next time you visit us again we will be able to practice that Spanish with you LOL.

  • olig13256
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jan 2017
10.0

This is a wonderful hostel and Sonya, Ronel and the kids are delightful. I couldn't recommend it enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the very positive feedback!

  • palomabampi
  • Brazil, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jan 2017
9.4

We loved our staying in this hostel. The location is perfect and charming; it's easy to go around walking and there are great places to have dinner just about. It has the best breakfast that've had so far. In all the best things about this hostel is the environment created by the owners, a lovely family; where you can relax and meet new people. They really make you feel at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.