Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Babilonia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
Hostel Babilonia Located at Sarandi 310 - Ciudad Vieja, , Montevideo.
Hostel Babilonia
Uruguay
Montevideo Montevideo 11000 Sarandi 310 - Ciudad Vieja
92% 235
-34.9087218 -56.2085223
Hostel Babilonia
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2017
8.0

Great location in Ciudad Vieja, though everything in this area of the city was weirdly closed during our stay. Lovely hosts, great breakfast provided. Bedrooms did not have keys or safety deposit box, so no way to lock valuables. No aircon in the bedroom, so it was quite warm. Thin walls meant being woken up each morning by the people/dog outside our door. Bathrooms were clean but had weird smell and most guests shared a bathroom with a few toilets and 2 sinks, making mornings a bit crowded.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, your feedback is welcomed. When we arrived in Montevideo we were also quite taken aback by the fact that everything is closed on a Sunday but now we actually enjoy the quiet at the end of the week. Uruguayans use the day to spend with family, do some outdoor activities or go to some of the outdoor flea markets which are amazing! In terms of the noise; hostels tend to be noisy. Something even I had to get used to with guests coming and going throughout the night so these days I get by with a mere 4 hours sleep. Yes, our bathrooms are clean which is how we like it. The weird smell is as a result of moth balls which we place in discreet places to keep away cockroaches as they HATE it. And it seems to be working very well as we had almost none this summer despite the humidity. We would love to add more bathroom facilities but we rent the building so unable to make any permanent changes. Thanks again for your feedback!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
8.6

Babilonia Hostel has a great location on 'Ciudad Vieja', the owners are really nice and they have the most adorable kids, plus, they have a puppy! The only thing I would recommend is for the owners to clean the spiders in the bathrooms, there are little spiders all around it and everytime I had to go there I felt umcomfortable. But I would really recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. During summer months there are all kinds of creepy crawly´s due to the humidity. I haven´t noticed spiders before but will be on the lookout!

5th Jan 2017
9.1

Loved it here. The staff are amazing, really friendly and welcoming and they go out of their way to help however they can. Clean comfortable rooms. The breakfast spread is fantastic. Really good location, great area for walking around. Definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive feedback! Hope you can visit us again some day

31st Dec 2016
10.0

Really nice hostel in the old town. The owners made me feel really comfortable during my stay. They even accomodated my diet restrictions which ive never had before. They do a great job keeping the place clean and the guests happy. If you stay in the old town this is the place to go!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the very positive feedback! We are happy when our guests are happy

  • felicitycmartin
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Dec 2016
10.0

This is a lovely hostel in an ideal location with a great family atmosphere. There was even a gorgeous puppy to play with! The common spaces are really nice, and the breakfast was great. One suggestion - sometimes you had to wait to find someone to buzz you out, or you'd be standing at the door waiting to be buzzed in (there's no bell) so that could be improved. Bedroom was quite stuffy even with the fan on but otherwise the bedrooms were very well appointed. Kitchen was also well equipped!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the positive feedback. Apologies for not indicating a bell at the front desk as well as a bell situated on the outside of the green entrance door in Sarandi. That would have assisted you with entering and or leaving the hostel. The hostel is solely run by the owners to ensure we maintain that personal touch in terms of customer service and therefore we are not always seated at the front desk.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.9

The Hostel is located close to most of the city's main atractions, and despite the quality of its cleanliness and facilities, the strongest point is the staff. Ronel and Sonja are always very nice and helpful, and they make everybody comfortable and welcome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the response. You mentioned the quality of cleanliness and facilities, however, appointed a 10 rating for cleanliness so not sure how to respond on that other than to say that we clean the hostel almost daily to ensure that it is clean at all times.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Dec 2016
9.4

Pleasant staff, nice location. It wasn't extraordinary but I would certainly stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Amraspalantir
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel that I will take many good memories from. Great responsible owners on hand at all times that take excellent care of the hostel as well as their guests. Kitchen is one of the best hostel kitchens I have used. Location is good as well. Of course as many others mentioned the breakfast is spot on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the positive feedback!

29th Nov 2016
10.0

Beautiful hostel, great spot right in Ciudad Vieja (very convenient for Buquebus ferry), wonderful hosts. The hostel is clean, comfortable, and airy. It was hot out, but the hostel was always cool and comfortable. Definitely need to mention the delicious breakfast. Everyone is English speaking (in fact, the owners only speak English), which was nice to have in Montevideo as an English speaker with incredibly poor Spanish.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive feedback

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

I have stayed in many hostels around the world and this one of the best ones. The hosts are awesome. They keep the hostel extremely clean, the breakfast was incredible and also location is great because its close to the most old town attractions, to rambla, and also close to the port if you are going or coming from Buenos Aires. Had a great experience and would recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking to visit great city of Montevideo!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive feedback!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.