Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
6.9

The 6 bed dorm was very small and smelt very damp. Lots of space under beds was great and lockers were secure. Small kitchen area useful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, along with its sister hostel 50 m away, our experience was fantastic! The staff at both hostels were very friendly and expertly provided information on tours, travel tips and questions. The pool area, swim up bar, and buffet breakfasts were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • wayneburke1a5808
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location, helpful staff, decent rooms, nice and chilled and good value. Can book a wide range of activities from here and prices are the same as elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.4

Good hostel right in the centre of LaFortuna. The staff were helpful to organise excursions. I paid with cash when we checked in but noticed that they also debited the money from my account during our stay, at first i didnt know what the charge was for, so i mentioned it to a member of staff and they were very helpful and arranged for the double payment to be refunded without any issues. $6 all you can eat breakfast was great. Only downside is the pool bar is a bit pricey.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Jan 2017
8.3

This is a good base to do various activities in La Fortuna but our room was really cramped for 6 people. The ceiling had leaked a few days before which was obvious but luckily didn't rain while we were there. Hostel itself had a decent atmosphere and facilities were ok, bar the wonky pool table! Recommend heading to the local rope swing pool on the river for a day with some beers and chat to the locals!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KaylaLSmith
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Good, clean, safe Hostel, in the heart of LaFortuna. Has a sister Hostel one block down with a pool and swim up bar. Lots of hammocks to relax in and right beside a grocery store! The staff Eli & Eric were so helpful, with checking in and helping us book all our excursions, as well as another hostel in our next destination !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.4

The location is in downtown La Fortuna, however most of the things to do in and excursions are farther away. Hopefully your tour has transportation included otherwise the only thing the town has is taxis. The room was clean upon arrival, but I stayed three nights in a not private dorm and it was not cleaned for those days. Because of constant rain things got dirty quickly. Staff is extremely helpful and if you ask for anything they willaccomadate you. There are gates and security.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jem_whitehead156316
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.9

Super helpful staff here with plenty of advice. Bedrooms were clean and comfy. Not much atmosphere here but you have access to the sister hostel which is a bit more lively. Free welcome cocktail was a nice touch, would return :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

What a super place to stay, great value and great location and as good as any hotel. And a lovely free drink in arrival in their cute garden bar. We loved it and the staff were super understanding and helpful when we had to change our dates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
8.0

Overall a decent hostel to stay at. The location was great being right in the center of La Fortuna, and the front desk staff was pretty helpful. The beds in the room were fine, but our particular room was kind of musty and there was some water leaking from the roof. It did the job as a place to get some rest at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.