Hostelworld.com

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Located at La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna.
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 21007 La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano
78% 181
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • samfleming67722
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Apr 2016
6.9

The best thing about this place was that it had a communal kitchen, and it was very clean. It's not really a hostel and it's not aimed at backpackers (lots of families & old people). No atmosphere at all. Restaurant, bar, & pool are at the sister "hostel" down the road. The pool and bar were good, but we didn't eat at the restaurant because it was pricey. The staff were OK, very pushy to do the expensive tours (all tours in La Fortuna cost a lot) even for things that were easy to do yourself

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Apr 2016
7.7

Felt like we couldn't trust staff with recommandation, costs of things around the city. They have all the facilities to habe a great atmosphere but not much is going on during the evening. Very small rooms as well. Very clean though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Apr 2016
7.1

The staff were so friendly and calm considering how busy they could get. Hammocks are great for chilling and the wifi is pretty much perfect. You can go down to Arenal resort for free and they have a pool and swim up bar so this was great value for money as it had all the facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
7.7

The hostel itself was very clean and in a good location. The all female dorm was the most cramped dorm I've ever been in - hard to move around without whacking someone :/ Kitchen is very good though and it's definitely a good budget option for expensive la fortuna. The staff was nice enough. there are 4 hammocks to hang out in too, which is nice, a small chill area, and a bar. Not all the lockers worked, but the main issue I had was just how cramped the dorm was. Worth the stay, though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
19th Mar 2016
8.0

They overbooked again so we ended up staying at the sister hostel. Facilities there weren't great and the dorm was cramped but you could use all of the facilities including pool and bar at the other sister hostels which were lovely. The dorm room door didn't lock but there were lockers and a security guard all night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
8.0

We, unfortunately, missed our first night there due to flight delays, etc. and were not able to notify the hostel. When we got there on our second day, the staff was so accommodating and friendly (mainly Layne). The hostel was well kept; best part was being able to go to the sister hostel just down the street that had a pool! The pool was really nice and refreshing; however, the bartender was not so friendly - at least not to us, he was too busy flirting to notice anyone else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Feb 2016
9.4

My friends and I had an excellent stay. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating; they gave great suggestions and arranged an incredible ziplining tour for us. The location can't be beat, it's in the center of La Fortuna. The facilities were cleaned daily as well but the bathroom is small and the beds are close together, leaving little space in the room. The hostel is cute with charm, but it can be loud if your room is close to the reception desk. It's definitely a great place though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
2.0

Worst customer service I have ever encountered in my life. Despite a supposed cancellation policy of 24 hours before arrival (which was followed), I was charged anyhow. After requesting refund, hostel refuses to respond to contact. False information and fraud.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2016
10.0

Very clean, lovely bathroom, nice outside area and very helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2016
10.0

Very clean and friendly hostel. Staff always happy to help. Great location near everything in La Fortuna. Was nice to get a free welcome drink and be able to enjoy the pool at the sister hostel one block away too! Lovely atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.