Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

We booked a standard 3 bed room with AC through hostelworld but were in a room with only a ceiling fan for the first 2 nights but when we brought it up they were very accommodating and switched us to a room with AC (& later we upgraded to a deluxe room anyway). Staff were fantastic and location is very central and next to a supermarket. Our deluxe room had no door handle but was otherwise very clean. The windows of our standard room opened easily from the outside. Otherwise it was a good stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
8.9

Shower could have been a little cleaner but aside from that great experience here! Nice areas to lounge, great AC in the rooms, and flexibility of quiet vs bar side of the hostel. Helpful in setting up tours, but be aware they will vary the price by $5-$10 from other hostels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
9.7

Backpackers was great. Prime location in La Fortuna on the main street with food and shopping and night life. The hostel itself wasn't too too loud, I heard a bit of partying one night. The sister hostel one block away was more partying but the 2 are connected. Super chill atmosphere. Clean rooms, lockers. Eli was the best. Great for price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • BriannaR13
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
6.9

This place was okay. Staff was indifferent toward their guests unless they were trying to sell you something. The failed to give me the voucher for the free drink they advertise and tried to pull a fast one when it came to getting my key deposit back. Make sure you keep your receipt otherwise they won't give it back. The bar was a nice touch although it closed pretty early. Overall it was a good value but staff was less that stellar. Water pressure in the shower could've been better too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
5.7

The room was tucked away in a dark corner. The ceiling was leaking. And the toilet was clogged for the first night, the only toilet for 7 people. The bathroom was very small and the window in the bathroom opened into the kitchen...gross. Location was good and the pool was alright...pretty small but warm. Was not worth $20 per night. Would never go back and probably one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed at.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • lina_nelson
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

loved our stay at hostel backpackers!! The staff was incredibly friendly and appreciated our attempts at spanish but spoke English very well. Very knowledgeable about the bus system and cool places to go which was incredibly helpful. Great location in the middle of the town & the free drink was nice too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Feb 2017
10.0

Fabulous - don't let the pictures fool you, we expected this place to be pretty average but it far exceeded that! Great kitchen and outdoor BBQ! Staff are fantastic, security is high, everything you want in a hostel is here! (Oh and hot water in your nice clean shower!!) Brilliant!!!! Artwork in reception is incredible too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
6.9

The 6 bed dorm was very small and smelt very damp. Lots of space under beds was great and lockers were secure. Small kitchen area useful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel, along with its sister hostel 50 m away, our experience was fantastic! The staff at both hostels were very friendly and expertly provided information on tours, travel tips and questions. The pool area, swim up bar, and buffet breakfasts were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • wayneburke1a5808
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.6

Great location, helpful staff, decent rooms, nice and chilled and good value. Can book a wide range of activities from here and prices are the same as elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.