Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing place! Very very clean! The girl at the reception helped us through our reservation for taxis as well as activities. 10/10 would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel was really nice, with very spacious 8 bed dorms - no bunk-beds! - and a private locker for each person. Equipment of the kitchen was OK and the pool was quite nice. Everything you need - bus terminal, super markets, bars... - can be reached easily in a few minutes on foot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel! The pictures on here don't do it justice, we booked it via a recommendation.. probably wouldn't have otherwise! Really spacious and such nice garden and hammock area. We booked private room which was probably one of the best hostel privates we've stayed in! V clean and nice bathroom, felt almost like a hotel room. Location is really good, right in the centre. Staff are nice, especially the barman!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.9

We liked the hammocks, the cleanliness, the location and the use of the kitchen. Although there is WiFi available, we couldn't use it in our room, so had to walk out to reception to use it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2017
4.9

Hostel without any charm, the staff not really helpful when you had a VERY bad experience with one for your roommate...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
10.0

This hostel had to locations that you could access. One was far more lively but both had their perks. The staff was very friendly and help navigate us as well as others on activities to do in LA fortuna. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Nic_Canada
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.0

This was my first time staying in a "touristy" area & the hostel is kinda the same. It reminds me of a large hotel hostel. The bathrooms weren't that clean & the kitchens had loads of ants. I stayed in a mixed dorm w/o bunk beds which is always a huge positive. They have large lockers & loads of outlets. The bar was a positive and it's located close to everything. Best thing about this hostel were they staff, they were very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

We booked a standard 3 bed room with AC through hostelworld but were in a room with only a ceiling fan for the first 2 nights but when we brought it up they were very accommodating and switched us to a room with AC (& later we upgraded to a deluxe room anyway). Staff were fantastic and location is very central and next to a supermarket. Our deluxe room had no door handle but was otherwise very clean. The windows of our standard room opened easily from the outside. Otherwise it was a good stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
8.9

Shower could have been a little cleaner but aside from that great experience here! Nice areas to lounge, great AC in the rooms, and flexibility of quiet vs bar side of the hostel. Helpful in setting up tours, but be aware they will vary the price by $5-$10 from other hostels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
9.7

Backpackers was great. Prime location in La Fortuna on the main street with food and shopping and night life. The hostel itself wasn't too too loud, I heard a bit of partying one night. The sister hostel one block away was more partying but the 2 are connected. Super chill atmosphere. Clean rooms, lockers. Eli was the best. Great for price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.