X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Reviews

La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
119 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice welcome. Free smokers-zone!!! Rooms have fine airco. Very free atmosphere, nothimg obliged, drink your own wine, etc.


66%

Don't expect to get a good nights rest at this hostel. I stayed on the first floor in a dorm and could always hear the people above. The paper thin walls didn't help either. I cancelled my second night at this hostel and had a great stay at the sister hostel Backpackers Arenal.


86%

Very cool hostel! The sister hostel is 200 mts. down the street and offers extremely tasty and cheap food for all meals of the day. Loved the hammocks and pool table!

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel, rooms had ac which was nice with the more humid climate in La Fortuna. The little bar was really nice too. Tasty drinks and the bar tender recommended a great place to eat where we ended up arranging a tubing/ horse back riding/ hot springs tour. Shared kitchen was great for prepping meals. Only draw back was the lack of pool.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Other than the humidity dampness the stay was very enjoyable and the hammocks were a huge highlight. Would definitely stay again!!


71%

This hostel does not have atmosphere, like usually hostels have . They have only one fridge in the kitchen ,which is not enough for 20 people. It was always packed.


89%

One thing was odd about staying there and that is that at check in the receptionist attached an identification band to your wrist. it was bright orange with the name of the hostle printed on it. You were expected to wear this band throughout your stay and show it every time you entered the building. We did so for the first day but removed then only to be challenged by a staff person. We were allowed to keep them in our pockets and show them at each entry. I'm sure it helps with security but...

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

There was mold all over the bathroom and even some in the room!! The aircon was broken and there was no fan in the room. There is a safe for your passport etc but they don't lock it all the time.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

There aren't too many amenities but it was still a great place! The wifi worked well in the common area and it was in a great location.


77%

Had a great stay here! The staff are super friendly ( extra shout out to Alesandro for making our stay unforgettable), there are beautiful common areas and a nice bar. The washroom wasn't the cleanest but the showers were hot! I would definitely recommend it.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Love the hammocks and friendly staff at the bar. Hugo, Brandon, and Linder are awesome!


100%

Great place!!


66%

LA Fortuna is a busy tourist/tours town and Hostel Backpackers is in the middle of it. Can be loud at night depending on the guest mix, and night staff don't seemed concerned. At 1 am I had to go out and ask a group to move to a less central area where their noise didn't disrupt every room. On positive side - lots of hot water, and for people who want to be in a central location, it is right in the middle of things. A little expensive, but then Costa Rica gets more expensive each year.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I wouldn't recommend staying in the dorms here, although it seems like dorm options are limited in La Fortuna. I found the room to be cramped, humid, and the bathroom was not cleaned frequently enough. The common area was comfortable and the bartender, Albero, was extremely friendly and personable.


77%

If you're used to the average Hostel-Standard we can recommend this Hostel. We stayed for two nights in a mixed dorm for six people. Got some nice tips from staff members (except from one), we liked the pupbic area and the shower and kitchen were great. Rare: no lockers. Positive: + clean room + big and warm shower + comfortable beds + nice public area with bar + really big shared kitchen Negative: - check-in at 2pm - no public toilets (bad when your room isn't ready) - NO LOCKERS in dorms!!!

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

eThe hostel room that we had with my boyfriend was very nice, more of a hotelroom than a hostelroom. The location was good. Would propably not stay again though: one of the staffmembers was super-annoying, at all times you had to wear a paper-bracelet in your wrist, a deposit (towels, room key..). I'm on a vacation, not in kindergarden, so cannot recommend this hostel. And it was very loud until 10pm, because there was loud music playing in the hostelbar.


83%

Good value for money in an excellent location close to all of La Fortuna's facilities. Reception staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating. The room (double) was clean and spacious and probably the quietest of them all (room 9) with a daily housekeeping service. The on site bar closes down about 10-11pm which was ideal for early morning activities and the hammocks provide a good area to chill after a busy day.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all La Fortuna Hostels

Please give us your feedback