Hostelworld.com

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Located at La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna.
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 21007 La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano
81% 196
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
9.4

We had a great experience at this hostel. The staff were very friendly and super helpful with tours etc.. We did the waterfall and hot springs tour, which I highly recommend. This place is central and close to many restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
7.4

The hostel was pretty clean and nice with good outdoor areas. Quite big so not a really friendly feel to it. The reception staff had OK English, enough to organise tours and laundry, although they dried stuff we asked not to be dried. Also the hot water was temperamental and the wifi was slow. We were supposed to be in a female dorm which ended up accepting a male resident for one of the nights but other than that it was adequate. Welcome drinks were a grim cocktail!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed this place, reminded me of a mini resort. Wifi was really bad though, however who needs Internet while you can enjoy a rainforest! Staff was super cute and cared to get to know you, also was nice being able to head over to arenal hostel and use there pool then come back and have a cozy quiet sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elladoonan6292
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th May 2016
8.9

Clean and nothing special, but fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel with a good vibe. Plenty of hammocks and tables to relax on in the courtyard, and the bar with a decent happy hour was a plus. We stayed in a private double with its own bathroom and TV, which was a great value for the price. Music plays in the courtyard until 10 or so every night. The staff was very kind and helpful, but will try pretty hard to sell expensive tours and activities when they see an opportunity. Overall, I would absolutely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th May 2016
7.4

Nice place, super chill. Small but with your stay here you are allowed to use any facilities at their other locations. Not that it mattered cuz the one with the pool is far. No keys to lock the doors so anyone could wander into your room, but there were lockers to lock up your valuables. Our room was crammed and was right next to the kitchen so everyone used our bathroom, even if they weren't staying in our room. This lead to our bathroom always being filthy. Not a bad place, but not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st May 2016
7.7

We stayed 4 nights in a private, en-suite room. Very clean. Well located. We used the pool located at the sister hostel about 2 minutes walk away, which is small, but great if you're just looking for a quick dip to cool off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
1st May 2016
7.4

Really good hostel - nice communal spaces and clean rooms. Staff were friendly when they greeted us, but were later very misleading in regard to the hot springs. They tried to push us into visiting one of the expensive hotel spas (presumably where they get commission fees), and told us the free springs were small and not worth visiting. Thankfully we ignored them - the free springs were great! There's masses of space and it doesn't cost $80 :) tripadvisor recommends lots of great free options.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • samfleming67722
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Apr 2016
6.9

The best thing about this place was that it had a communal kitchen, and it was very clean. It's not really a hostel and it's not aimed at backpackers (lots of families & old people). No atmosphere at all. Restaurant, bar, & pool are at the sister "hostel" down the road. The pool and bar were good, but we didn't eat at the restaurant because it was pricey. The staff were OK, very pushy to do the expensive tours (all tours in La Fortuna cost a lot) even for things that were easy to do yourself

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2016
7.7

Felt like we couldn't trust staff with recommandation, costs of things around the city. They have all the facilities to habe a great atmosphere but not much is going on during the evening. Very small rooms as well. Very clean though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.