Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Located at La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna.
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 21007 La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano
81% 213
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Nov 2016
8.3

Nice to have access to the sister hostels, but this particular one didn't have much. Overall, nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Aug 2016
9.4

The hostel was clean, beautiful and the staffs were nice! We received a welcome drink, a big room and we could use the facilities of the sister hostel. I recommend stay at this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
7.7

Standard hostel, good for backpackers on a budget. Close to everything in la fortuna. Prices on the tours seemed to be cheapest at the hostel comparing to other vendors. Nice common areas. Rooms were a little dark and run down, but decent for the price :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hostelmelinda
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Aug 2016
10.0

It was a very nice place. We had a key and a locker. They cleaned everyday. There were hammock and a bar, swimming pool and a pool table. The ambiance was very nice. There was security every night. They booked us our tour and gave us students deals. Definitely a place to go !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mooneynh7038
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Aug 2016
6.0

My stay was ok there. The staff member Eric was very unprofessional. When I was checking in and speaking to him, he had a missed call and rang the person back in front of me while I was speaking to him. Very rude. Trying to push tours on us that we didn't want. Also we stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was filthy. No cleaning done until late in the evening despite me asking a few times!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
9.1

Very good hostel with shared facilities at the sister hostel one block away . Excellent breakfast buffet for $6.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
9.4

Great place to stay in La Fortuna! Staff was really friendly, the room was nice (with AC and its own bathroom). Only downsides were super slow internet and a kind of uncomfortable bed. The adventure hike/tour was the best thing we've done in Costa Rica so far! So the great tour, awesome staff and ambiance made up for the uncomfortable mattress and spotty wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
25th Jul 2016
6.0

This is not a great place to stay. Kitchen was dirty, always saw ants, looked like it had never been cleaned. Bathroom in shared dorm was always dirty feeling, and super super small. I hated the dorm room set up. two small for 6 people. had friends stay in a triple room and their room was already bigger than the dorm and the bathroom was at least twice the size. I wouldn't stay here again. I'm sure there is something better. I do not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
8.9

I loved being able to go back and forth between the 3 sister hostels. I was a bit upset when I wasn't able to stay in the one I wanted (it was full so they had me stay at the smaller one) but it ended up being fine. Brian, Eric, and Jordan were incredibly helpful and were so friendly. I felt right at home. Bathrooms are small but a bonus was having the AC at anytime I wanted. Perfect location... right near all tour pick up areas, restaurants, shops, and the bank! I def recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
4.9

We booked days in advance to show up and be told we were being moved to a "sister hostel" after we had paid. All the cool stuff in the pictures...none of that is where we were put. They gave us a bracelet and we were told we could walk there. We booked a 6 bed and they continued to over book and had mattresses laid out on the floor. There is NOT hot water, they wanted a deposit for the free towel and we never got a welcome drink. Basically the entire ad on hostel is a lie. happy to leave. Booooo

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.