X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Reviews

La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
148 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Hostel was in a great location and had awesome opportunities to socialize with people. Air conditioning was a huge bonus! There was also ample space in a (REALLY clean) 7 person room.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome hostel with really friendly and helpful staff. Rooms smelled a bit too much of mold, which is fine if you're only staying there a few nights.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Air conditioning was broken in the dorm we stayed in, and with 8 bodies in a small room it meant that it was too hot to sleep. Bathroom was really mouldy, and shower facilities were poor (much worse than the other hostels we had stayed in). However good location, good kitchen and nice staff, shame about the room and atmosphere - not worth the money

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Convenient location. Expensive in comparison to other hostels we have used on our trip. Hooks or clothes rail required for rooms as no place to hang anything. Reception at the sister hostel (backpackers arenal) were more knowledgeable about tours etc.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A great place to stay! Central location, beautiful facilities and a swim up bar. We would definitely stay again.


100%

everyone at the front desk was very friendly, helpful and accommodating

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I always love staying there :) It's great! The staff is amazing, the rooms are clean. There are only two things that I think could make it even better: the welcome drink is a little strong and hard to swallow. It's a wonderful idea and encourages conversation and involvement, so I'd love to see it stay! But none of us could finish it. Maybe swap it for an Imperial or another, more tasty cocktail? And lastly, the beds were quite loud anytime a roommate moved even a little bit in their sleep.


91%

Staff is super nice and friendly, very accommodating and willing to answer any questions you have. Stayed in a dorm which was good and met loads of people here. Stayed an extra night which I decided to add on the day I was supposed to check out and it was perfectly fine to do so! A great hostel all round 👍

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a great hostel to stay at. It has a great set up, outside chilling area, a mini bar, hammocks and much more. The rooms are very clean. Staff are great. I would def stay here again. Its in a great location. just make sure you have your own towel!

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great to receive so much honest advice about the local area and loved your suggestions for the free local activities too.


74%

The room was clean but there was a loud noise coming from behind the wall and pretty intense smell from the AC.


100%

Staff there was incredibly friendly and helpful. Alfredo is the man. He was a lot of fun to talk to and always helped us out. Aldo was great too. There was one woman behind the desk that wasn't too nice and we didn't care for her much, but Alfredo and Aldo were the best. The rooms were spacious and the private bathrooms were pretty nice. Hot water was great! And the common area was awesome. It was a beautiful space!


83%

Nice hostel with clean private room. Good location and facilities including a bar. Recommend you book any tours elsewhere especially the Arenal Walk as it's far more expensive than other providers locally.


89%

Fun hostel cool atmosphere and decent facilities for the price you pay! Would stay here again!


80%

Overall, a very nice place to stay with excellent location in town and helpful staff. The shared female room is located right next to reception, which got quite loud at times and which the staff did not seem to realize was quite disruptive.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We enjoyed our stay thank you. The welcome drink and pool table were appreciated.


100%

Staff is amazing and VERY helpfull and give you honest tips! Good vibe in the hosteI with a nice hammock area! There is no pool but you can use the one at their sister hotel which is located one block away! The hostel is very well located in the center of La Fortuna. The only negative thing is the room are quite small and the window is facing the corridor so you don't have natural light coming in. BUT you have AC in the room and hot water for only $12!!! I highly recommend this hostel!


94%

Many thanks to the staff for helping with recommendations and excursions. It was a fun place to stay in between adventures!


83%

Nice welcome. Free smokers-zone!!! Rooms have fine airco. Very free atmosphere, nothimg obliged, drink your own wine, etc.


66%

Don't expect to get a good nights rest at this hostel. I stayed on the first floor in a dorm and could always hear the people above. The paper thin walls didn't help either. I cancelled my second night at this hostel and had a great stay at the sister hostel Backpackers Arenal.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all La Fortuna Hostels

Please give us your feedback