Hostelworld.com

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Located at La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna.
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 21007 La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano
80% 191
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed this place, reminded me of a mini resort. Wifi was really bad though, however who needs Internet while you can enjoy a rainforest! Staff was super cute and cared to get to know you, also was nice being able to head over to arenal hostel and use there pool then come back and have a cozy quiet sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elladoonan6292
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th May 2016
8.9

Clean and nothing special, but fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel with a good vibe. Plenty of hammocks and tables to relax on in the courtyard, and the bar with a decent happy hour was a plus. We stayed in a private double with its own bathroom and TV, which was a great value for the price. Music plays in the courtyard until 10 or so every night. The staff was very kind and helpful, but will try pretty hard to sell expensive tours and activities when they see an opportunity. Overall, I would absolutely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st May 2016
7.7

We stayed 4 nights in a private, en-suite room. Very clean. Well located. We used the pool located at the sister hostel about 2 minutes walk away, which is small, but great if you're just looking for a quick dip to cool off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
1st May 2016
7.4

Really good hostel - nice communal spaces and clean rooms. Staff were friendly when they greeted us, but were later very misleading in regard to the hot springs. They tried to push us into visiting one of the expensive hotel spas (presumably where they get commission fees), and told us the free springs were small and not worth visiting. Thankfully we ignored them - the free springs were great! There's masses of space and it doesn't cost $80 :) tripadvisor recommends lots of great free options.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • samfleming67722
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Apr 2016
6.9

The best thing about this place was that it had a communal kitchen, and it was very clean. It's not really a hostel and it's not aimed at backpackers (lots of families & old people). No atmosphere at all. Restaurant, bar, & pool are at the sister "hostel" down the road. The pool and bar were good, but we didn't eat at the restaurant because it was pricey. The staff were OK, very pushy to do the expensive tours (all tours in La Fortuna cost a lot) even for things that were easy to do yourself

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2016
7.7

Felt like we couldn't trust staff with recommandation, costs of things around the city. They have all the facilities to habe a great atmosphere but not much is going on during the evening. Very small rooms as well. Very clean though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Apr 2016
7.1

The staff were so friendly and calm considering how busy they could get. Hammocks are great for chilling and the wifi is pretty much perfect. You can go down to Arenal resort for free and they have a pool and swim up bar so this was great value for money as it had all the facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
7.7

The hostel itself was very clean and in a good location. The all female dorm was the most cramped dorm I've ever been in - hard to move around without whacking someone :/ Kitchen is very good though and it's definitely a good budget option for expensive la fortuna. The staff was nice enough. there are 4 hammocks to hang out in too, which is nice, a small chill area, and a bar. Not all the lockers worked, but the main issue I had was just how cramped the dorm was. Worth the stay, though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
8.0

They overbooked again so we ended up staying at the sister hostel. Facilities there weren't great and the dorm was cramped but you could use all of the facilities including pool and bar at the other sister hostels which were lovely. The dorm room door didn't lock but there were lockers and a security guard all night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.