Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 228 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Located at La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna.
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 21007 La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano
88% 228
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • KaylaLSmith
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Good, clean, safe Hostel, in the heart of LaFortuna. Has a sister Hostel one block down with a pool and swim up bar. Lots of hammocks to relax in and right beside a grocery store! The staff Eli & Eric were so helpful, with checking in and helping us book all our excursions, as well as another hostel in our next destination !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.4

The location is in downtown La Fortuna, however most of the things to do in and excursions are farther away. Hopefully your tour has transportation included otherwise the only thing the town has is taxis. The room was clean upon arrival, but I stayed three nights in a not private dorm and it was not cleaned for those days. Because of constant rain things got dirty quickly. Staff is extremely helpful and if you ask for anything they willaccomadate you. There are gates and security.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jem_whitehead156316
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.9

Super helpful staff here with plenty of advice. Bedrooms were clean and comfy. Not much atmosphere here but you have access to the sister hostel which is a bit more lively. Free welcome cocktail was a nice touch, would return :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

What a super place to stay, great value and great location and as good as any hotel. And a lovely free drink in arrival in their cute garden bar. We loved it and the staff were super understanding and helpful when we had to change our dates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
8.0

Overall a decent hostel to stay at. The location was great being right in the center of La Fortuna, and the front desk staff was pretty helpful. The beds in the room were fine, but our particular room was kind of musty and there was some water leaking from the roof. It did the job as a place to get some rest at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
7.7

Dorm was just like all the other dorms, but the dorm that we lived in was never cleaned!! Facilities were nice, though. We were also allow to use facilities from the sister hostels down the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Dec 2016
9.4

Staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area and what to do there. I stayed in 6bed female dorm, which was spacious, everyone gets a locker, and the entire place is extremely clean, which i appreciated a lot. Great breakfast available in their sister hostel 200m away for very reasonable price. I stayed in 2 other hostels of the same chain due to this really great experience, and all 3 of them were great and would highly recommend them!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
10.0

Absolutely fantastic stay, very friendly staff, clean rooms. We had 10 guys and they accommodated us very well. Super chill vibe and excellent location. Treated us like family and even help setup a Zip line tour for us. This place was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
8.0

I didn't actually stay here, but Hostelworld keeps giving me the notification for leaving a review.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
8.3

Nice to have access to the sister hostels, but this particular one didn't have much. Overall, nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.