Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 311 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.6

Air con was nice but the bed was uncomfortable and shower was poor. Staff were very friendly and helpful though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • em99892302
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.4

We stopped here for one night before heading to San Jose. The staff were so helpful and helped us book tours and locate the bus station. It is secure and right in the centre of town. Good eats just a few feet away! The beds were so comfy. We were in the mixed dorm and it was clean, including the shower etc. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mandy4press
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

This hostel was very nice for the price. 2 pools. 2 bars. Plenty of hammocks for everyone. It was a very big hostel since it connected to his sister hostel where the pools are. The only thing I didn't like was that there is only one bathroom consisting of one toilet and one shower in a dorm room for 8 people. Great location! There's a grocery store and smoothie place right next door.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tomibar72302
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Jul 2017
7.4

great location. There is a huge difference in the cleanliness between the female dorm to the mix dorm (the mixed dorm was dirtier). The staff weren't really helpful or nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2017
9.4

Very clean dorm room and showers. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2017
6.3

when we told the staff, that we'd rather do something on our own, than getting an expensive tour, they were not helpful at all, telling us, that there was nothing to do for free. (We had a great day without a tour) The music in the chill-area / bar was soo loud, that we couldn't barley talk to each other. It was ok for two nights, but not a welcoming place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jun 2017
9.4

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here in La Fortuna. The staff were extremely helpful when it came to organising tours and sorting out my transport from La Fortuna to Monteverde. The buffet style breakfast was so delicious and I would go back even just for that. Couldn't ask for the hostel to be in a better location, surrounded by stunning landscape and you will not be short of fun things to do. The highlight of my trip was definitely my stay in La Fortuna and I would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jun 2017
9.1

Its a functional and well equipped hostel in a great place. The dorm was nice and the bathrooms were clean. We enjoyed our stay and the staff were really helpful. The breakfast was $7 and not that great, but other than that we were happy with everything. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2017
8.9

This was my first stop in Costa Rica. The team was extremely helpful in booking tours and finding things to do. The location is right next to a small supermarket which was perfect. It's only a short walk from the bus station and right in the middle of everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nadinescherm
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
8.6

The Hostel was great - the community area was awesome except the fact that they should probably clean those cushions since they smell really bad. We didnt get a tour of the property apon arrival so we were a little lost at first but found our way around. The food and drinks are pricey and there is no kitchen - so go and find Soda Mima for an amazing and cheap breakfast close to the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.