Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 295 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 295 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2017
8.9

This was my first stop in Costa Rica. The team was extremely helpful in booking tours and finding things to do. The location is right next to a small supermarket which was perfect. It's only a short walk from the bus station and right in the middle of everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nadinescherm
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
8.6

The Hostel was great - the community area was awesome except the fact that they should probably clean those cushions since they smell really bad. We didnt get a tour of the property apon arrival so we were a little lost at first but found our way around. The food and drinks are pricey and there is no kitchen - so go and find Soda Mima for an amazing and cheap breakfast close to the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2017
8.0

Hostel was okay for two night but wouldn't want to stay longer, not much of a hostel atmosphere. Best part was the large dorm room and single beds!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nataliehenshall7395
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th May 2017
7.7

Generally this is a really nice, clean hostel right in the centre of town. Down points - I booked the female delux dorm, which is only called delux because it has ac. Arrived to find a tiny dark cramped dorm with no space to actually open my bag. The room also had a bad smell. I couldn't stay there so had to pay more to be moved to a private room - much nicer. There is another 8 bed female dorm upstairs that has regular beds not bunk beds and ceiling fans, but only 1 bathroom for 8 girls!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
9.4

The staff here was fantastic and took good care of us. I thought the atmosphere at the hostel might be a little better, but it might not have been the season for the party crowd.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
9.1

Good Stay, no complaints. Didn't stay in the dorms, had a private room so I could do some work at night. Small bar area, but also access to sister hostel with swim up bar in the pool. Location was great, right around the corner from the bus terminal. It's more touristy of a spot, but you get a good mix of people and can see the Arenal volcano from the street right in front. Good brand of Hostels, stayed at the one in Monteverde as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2017
9.7

Only downside was it being a little hot in the dorms for sleeping. Amenities at this hostel are really great, you get access to two pools at nearby properties (one right next door, one just up the street). Two kitchens, lots of room in fridges, big lockers. Location in town is also pretty good, close to many restaurants and cafes as well as a car rental place just across the street. Would definitely recommend having a car here, all the attractions are much more accessible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing place! Very very clean! The girl at the reception helped us through our reservation for taxis as well as activities. 10/10 would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel was really nice, with very spacious 8 bed dorms - no bunk-beds! - and a private locker for each person. Equipment of the kitchen was OK and the pool was quite nice. Everything you need - bus terminal, super markets, bars... - can be reached easily in a few minutes on foot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel! The pictures on here don't do it justice, we booked it via a recommendation.. probably wouldn't have otherwise! Really spacious and such nice garden and hammock area. We booked private room which was probably one of the best hostel privates we've stayed in! V clean and nice bathroom, felt almost like a hotel room. Location is really good, right in the centre. Staff are nice, especially the barman!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.