X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Bekuo San Jose Reviews

325 meters west of Restaurant Spoon, Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
280 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I will recommend to anybody who wants to stay there is a very nice neat and familiar place... Enjoy it..!!!

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review!!! YOU ARE THE BEST! It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we cannot wait for your return.

100%

Owner and staff were great, really helpful with any questions. Really nice atmosphere at the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Hey!!! Thank you so much for staying with us! It was a pleasure to be a part of your Costa Rica trip. All the Best!!! Brian Hostel Bekuo

89%

Awesome hostel with everything you could ask for. Staff are super helpfull and friendly, even happy to answer my stupid questions. Only thing I didn't enjoy about this hostel was the fact that their seems to be a couple of older gentlemen who seem to be living in the hostel, I could not get one night sleep without being interrupted by stupid things like alarms at like 3am and constant talking to ones self. I know that all the people in the dorm were upset whilst i was there. Rad hostel tho.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hahaha!!! Thanks for the review, man. We took care of the "problem" :) Nobody was harmed, just shuffled around a bit to better accommodate the larger population of guests. Hope to see you next time. All the Best! Brian Hostel Bekuo

89%

The breakfast was a bit disappointing considering that during check-in it was said to be fruit (pineapple) and pancakes, but then it was only pancakes. It was nice that someone prepares the pancakes, but shortly before 9am there was nothing left. So I wonder what happens if you come shortly before 9 - you don't get any breakfast? Other than that it is a really nice place!!

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there :) Sorry about the lack of fruit. It's disappointing to hear that there was none. We always serve pineapple with our breakfast, but I guess I can no longer say always. You caught us on a bad day. You always get breakfast, even if it's shortly after 9. So glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay. All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

86%

Friendly staff, the 2 girls from France were very nice :) Good breakfast, beautiful garden outside! We dont know how he did, but a random drunk guy went in everybody's dorm to find someone to sleep with...a guy from an other room kicked him out! Funny story lol

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah, so I heard about the drunk guy. Soooo sorry about that. This never happens, and I feel terrible that you had to experience this. Thank you for appreciating the other great aspects the hostel has to offer. All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

80%

Good hostel! The girls who work there are really helpfull and nice! They gave me some good tips. The rooms are big and clean and so is the bathroom. They are a few chill common rooms and the kitchen is fine. Maybe time for a few new pans ;) There is security, but since everyone can open the gate it is hard to control. The rooms are open and as a result at night a drunken strange guy was sitting and laying at our beds. No lockers :( but they offer you to keep stuff in a locked room. Would go back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Definitely working on the lockers, and sorry about the drunk dude. I promise that this is the first time an occurrence as such has happened. New pans for the kitchen…check! Thank you for the review. All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

91%

This hostel is very good value for money with good facilities and a very well equipped kitchen. It takes around 15 - 20 minutes to walk into the centre of San Jose. The only negative was we had to be moved dormitories after one night even though we were only there for two nights. I would still definitely recommend this hotel if you want a chilled out place to stay - we have already re-booked this hostel for our last night in Costa Rica.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well hello hello…All apologies for having to move you to a dorm, but that will be avoided on your next pass through. Thank you for choosing Hostel Bekuo. All the Best, Brian

86%

I enjoyed my stay a lot, especially the party on new years eve. Thank you for everything! Take care, Martin

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

They provided us with sangria, Cuba libre, nachos and salsa and peanuts as well as confetti, streamers and fireworks on New Years it was amazing !


80%

Female form had its own bathroom which was great. The staff weren't all that friendly and took a long time to answer the front door and let me in. The hostel was very clean though and I made some good friends!!


77%

Good staff, good place to meet other travelers. The very front dorm in this hostel is right next to the street window so there's quite a bit of noise, even at night. Bathrooms weren't great/clean, and didn't even have hot water in the shower.


74%

This hostel was fine. Just fine. Not the best I've been to, nor the worst. Small things could be improved I think and would make a difference. The room I stayed in had only one plug outlet and an extension cord but it was attached to the wall. Wifi was patchy also. Staff were fairly accommodating and friendly but there did seem to be a weird vibe going on there. Nice breakfast in the morning. However, only available between 8-9, I think that should be extended. Bathroom seemed a bit grimy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest opinion. Yes the room you were in has two outlets, and only one of them has a surge protector with six outlets. We attach it to the wall so it is there for all to use. You are absolutely right, sometimes the Wifi is patchy in the farthest stretches of the hostel where you were. The other 90% of the hostel generally has a strong signal (we have 3 Wifi extenders), but sometimes (because Costa Rica is still developing the strength of their systems) it will be spotty regardless of how much we pay for the service. I apologize for any weird vibe going on with the staff, we pride ourselves on delivery outstanding service…anything less is unacceptable…so I am sorry for whatever strangeness you were feeling. I am also embarrassed for the state of cleanliness in the bathroom. I have spoken with my staff, and we have come up with a plan of accountability, so that this will happen less. Thank you sincerely for your comments, and if you are still traveling around, then please stop by Hostel Bekuo once again. All the Best, Brian

60%

Should have lockers

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm gonna put some lockers in just for you. Seriously though, that is our next project. I have avoided them because we have a safe room with a safe located inside for important items. Nothing ever goes missing here, which is one of the wonderful things about the hostel, but if it's going to affect ratings. Then I guess I should get us some :) Thanks for your articulate comment. All the Best, Brian

63%

The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was nice. It would have been great to have locks for the doors and also access to lockers. The fruit was also very bad.


86%

Clean and close to a few restaurants

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was great, clean and extremely secure. Loved the lounge rooms and area to sit outside. The location was a bit out of the way from everything. Also when I asked for a grocery store the hostel worker pointed me towards a very expensive store with mostly Imported stuff from the U.S.. Otherwise I loved my stay.


97%

Histel Bekuo is the nicest Hostel we've been too. We were there with our two kids. We loved the pancake breakfast. It's clean, friendly and such a nice atmosphere. We would come back anytime.

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

For a quick turnaround in San Jose, this place was perfect. The staff helped with recommendations on where to eat and what to do in San Jose. The room was clean and comfortable. It's location was perfect. Not too deep in the city center but easy to walk to all the different neighborhoods and downtown.


100%

They have it figured out. Clean. So so friendly, everyone that works and stays. Wonderful staff wakes up early to make , pancakes and cut pineapple and then cleans it all up. I love this place and came back for a second stay, will always come back if in San Jose!

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

My friends and I just stayed for one night, and although the social areas are really good, the rooms and the bathroom was awful, they just had two bathroom for more than 30 people and one of those toilets doesn't work.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback