Hostelworld.com

Hostel Bekuo San Jose

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
Hostel Bekuo San Jose Located at 325 meters west of Restaurant Spoon, Los Yoses, San Jose.
Hostel Bekuo San Jose
Costa Rica
San Jose 2050 325 meters west of Restaurant Spoon, Los Yoses
87% 349
9.9307865 -84.0603768
Hostel Bekuo San Jose
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
7.1

If you have to wake up early, ask for a room in the back, streets are pretty lively at night! Great place to stay for a night in between your travels, or if you are young and like to party. Breakfast is late, not until 9, so remember that!! Over all good price for security and place to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
4.6

This place was a total dump. I don't think the female-only dorm room we stayed at had been cleaned in months, maybe even years. They didn't provide us with towels or clean sheets on arrival. For all we know the sheets we slept in were already used. No fans in the room. The "manager" was rude and condescending. Because we had an early 6 AM flight out the next day we should have probably chosen a hotel closer to the airport since we arrived in the evening. Wouldn't recommend to friends.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2016
9.1

Hostal con muy buen ambiente. Todo muy limpio. Billar, televisión y ordenadores para el tiempo libre. Personal muy atento. Buena relació calidad/precio. Recomendable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ! Gracias por recomendarnos! Nos encanta trabajar para que nuestros huéspedes se puedan sentir como en casa :) Cuando desee volver a Costa Rica nuestras puertas siempre estarán abiertas!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
8.9

It's a great vibe there automatically. Big communal spaces, pool table, flat screen tv, loads of chill out spots and couches. The dorms are basic, but the top bunks have no proper ladder up. As a short person it was difficult scaling the end of the bed just to get up. there's no lockers but the place felt super safe. Breakfast was pancakes with syrup, and pineapple. It's not far from the hub of San Jose, go careful on main roads. Location wise it's very safe. Recommend going to roots bar!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Hostel Bekuo was a really cool place to stay. Felt very safe in and around the neighborhood, staff was very welcoming and accommodating, and Brian, the owner, went out for drinks with us! The hostel had a relaxed, peaceful vibe, and a beautiful garden with a bunny in residence! Excellent value, I will definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Woot Woot!!! Thank you for mentioning a number of positive unique characteristics that Hostel Bekuo has to offer (everybody loves the bunny). I cannot forget, thanks for the drink! Now we're even ;) I think I bought the round the first time you came through. All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
7.7

I liked the atmosphere in the comunal areas, but it's all pretty rundown. A bit of a facelift would help to make the place nicer. Staff was really nice and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you kindly for your review. Our staff always strives to do their best to suit your wishes. As a hostel, we are constantly adding new art, we have a great kitchen (although we will be adding a range within the next 2 weeks), buying new plants, and generally trying to make the place welcoming for all. I completely apologize if something was not up to your standards in the cleanliness department. If there is a next time, please notify the staff immediately as to what we may do to rectify any substandard situation. Finally, I would love it if you could take a few minutes and send us an email at infohostelbekuo@gmail.com with a few suggestions on how to improve our hostel and home. Thank you so much. All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2016
9.1

Great atmosphere! Loved al the communal spaces to hang out and staff were really friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Guys! It was great having you around for a few days at the hostel, and it's always nice to have someone recognize the zig zags and the dot on my shirt ;) All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.7

I was really impressed with this hostel although I only stayed one night. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, offering useful advice. The layout of the hostel is great, with loads of common space to relax or socialise. I would definitely recommend this hostel if stopping in San Jose!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Sorry it has taken so long to reply to your kind review, but it has not gone unnoticed :) Our staff is always on hand to help with any aspect of your trip, and yesss we love our common areas, as well as the garden. Thank you so much for your recommendation. All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2016
10.0

Hostel Bekuo is my favourite hostel so far on my travels. Great place, great location, great people, great beds! It's really quiet, chilled, and Brian the owner is lovely also. I started and ended my trip here and this was a great idea :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
10.0

Great hostel to hang in. It really feels like you're hanging out in your own home. Super friendly and helpful staff. Cracking music too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It was nice getting to meet you throughout your travels in Costa Rica. Thank you so much for the kind review, and we'll have to share some music in the future as well. All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.