Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Bekuo San Jose

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2017
2.9

During check in, one of the employees came stomping out of a room and said "it's like managing a bunch of children". I wish I could say it got better from there, but it did not. My friends and I had been traveling all day so we went into our dorm to take a nap. There were two employees that were speaking terribly about their coworkers and bringing unnecessary drama into the room. The rooms and bathrooms felt dirty and you can't flush toilet paper down the toilets. Ew.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
7.7

Weird vibe. Some staff were friendly, others weren't.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nataliehenshall7395
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th May 2017
7.1

A decent budget hostel with a good kitchen. Lacked atmosphere when I stayed there in off season. A few basic additions like wall hooks in bathrooms & dorms & more power sockets could make it better. Otherwise a good quiet place with helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
9.1

The guys were really helpful and friendly. Thanks for your advice and I enjoyed hanging out with you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
9.4

This was my best hostel experience ever! Even though, the location is little bit far away, I would definitely prefer Bekuo rather than lot of hostels downtown but with poor service. Overall atmosphere was very pleasant. Lots of amenities and things to do. If you want some privacy you have it, if you want to socialize, you meet very very nice people there including staff. The strongest advantage Bekuo has is its staff. Always helpful and super kind! Danielle and Amelie are just perfect, thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ma9dal3na1593
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th May 2017
8.0

Nice comfy hostel! We stayed in a double and had our privacy so it was nice! Very nice spacious common areas so it was nice to relax when raining outside! Girls at reception super friendly and helpful!!! One disadvantage: theres only one cooker so if 2 ppl want to cook it already gets crowded! And one more thing: no kettle!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it so when we came back through the city and needed a place to stay again, we booked here for another night. Very clean and staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about everything there is to do in Costa Rica. Breakfast is included (Pancakes, fruit and coffee) and kitchen has plenty of items you need to make your own meals. There is a lot to do in a walkable distance and plenty of cheaper food items near the college (UCR).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
7.4

Cool place .... far from the center but nice and safe area !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

The pefect hostel in San José. We stayed here twice for one night. Both times the staff was super friendly and the free-pancake breakfast amazing. It is close to a mall, starbucks and KFC which is nice after a couple of months in the middle of nowhere. For very little money you get a good bed, a hot shower and a fantastic atmosphere.I would definately recommend this hostel if you are okay with a 20 minute walk to the center of San José

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lenita743977
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

What can I say, it's a nice place to stay and a great location, close to many things like banks, stores, markets, and malls. Bekuo is located within an upscale neighborhood that offers great morning walks if you like walking around and see glamorous architecture from the 60s and 70s. Furthermore, Bryan the owner is a very nice guy, if you decide to stay here and have any issues talk to him first than anything else, I am sure he will make everything possible to address your concerns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.