Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Bekuo San Jose

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2017
9.7

Wish we could have stayed longer!!! One of the best hostels I've stayed in- super friendly and great facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
7.1

24 hour reception which is awesome when you land unexpectedly at 2am. Pretty loud hostel, my bed was next to the street and there's tons of motorcycles that go by, also there were people up very late and having a good time which is great, if you're not trying to sleep. The staff is super helpful and friendly. The water was not working in the shared bathroom sink and altogether, the cleanliness of the hostel was a little lacking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere is very nice and chilled. Hot showers! I feel comfortable here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
5.7

On arrival, the private room that I had booked was somehow not available. The receptionist kindly offered me a mixed dorm for free, but having traveled all day on the bus with 3 flights the following day, this wasn't ideal. The hostel was incredibly dirty and run down, way below usual hostel standards. There is nothing around, and it took 1 hour 30 mins to get to the airport the next day. If you do stay there, there is a German restaurant up the street with very friendly owners and a terrace.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.4

Great family style Hostel! Stayed in between locations and met some really awesome people that helped me with my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.0

Not in the city but nearby a mall and supermarket, neighbourhood feels safe, staff are nice and helpful. Facilities are pretty basic but sufficient for a short stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.7

Nice place, staff was very good at pointing out where to eat and where to go next. Free breakfast, clean and a good sociable place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.1

Great place to chill out and enjoy San Jose. Staff was nice, security was great, and beds were good. Only downside was that the 10 bed dorm room backed directly up to the garden where people smoked. Since windows never close in Hostels, it would make the room smell burnt and stagnant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.7

This is such a great chill out hostel, and the owner, Bryan, is so friendly and nice! He'll invite people out for a night at the bar, or give you suggestions on where to go/what to do, plus he plays an awesome variety of music. Oh and there is a cute bunny that lives in the backyard and will lick your hand as your chilling out in a hammock!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey You!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. The bunny already misses you. All of the staff goes out of their way to help...I just happen to be the one in charge of the music. Playing some music right now as I type. Hope to see you again. All the Best, Brian

19th Feb 2017
6.9

Not much to say, was there for only a couple of hours. But when I did arrived around 10:00 pm and requested my bed, I was take to a room of eight mix and my bed was not made up. Had to wait a couple of minutes.. I never returned to the room because it smell like sour feet. Requested the to see the bathroom. Only one bathroom to accommodate 16 people (other dorm room of 8) not acceptably. Also the handle for the turning on the shower water was off. Stay up all night on a couch and left 5 am.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for the review, unfortunately I don't think we had the chance to meet. I am quite sorry about your bed not being ready upon your arrival. There is no valid excuse for that. We've got 3 bathrooms between the 14 beds (other dorm room of 6), so you are wrong about that, but that may have very well been our fault for not doing a better job explaining the layout of our hostel. We removed the shower handle because that is not the one that activates the hot water, and it was confusing people (the heating of the showers operate differently here). The shower handle that remains, is the one which activates the shower...and it works fine. Every once in while you get a dorm room with a guest that radiates bad feet smell, and it's no fun...but that's price you don't pay for budget travel. There are sometimes minor sacrifices for choosing to sleep with others. Thanks again, and enjoy the rest of your travels. All the Best, Brian

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.