Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Bekuo San Jose

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 610 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 610 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Apr 2017
7.4

Cool place .... far from the center but nice and safe area !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

The pefect hostel in San José. We stayed here twice for one night. Both times the staff was super friendly and the free-pancake breakfast amazing. It is close to a mall, starbucks and KFC which is nice after a couple of months in the middle of nowhere. For very little money you get a good bed, a hot shower and a fantastic atmosphere.I would definately recommend this hostel if you are okay with a 20 minute walk to the center of San José

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lenita743977
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

What can I say, it's a nice place to stay and a great location, close to many things like banks, stores, markets, and malls. Bekuo is located within an upscale neighborhood that offers great morning walks if you like walking around and see glamorous architecture from the 60s and 70s. Furthermore, Bryan the owner is a very nice guy, if you decide to stay here and have any issues talk to him first than anything else, I am sure he will make everything possible to address your concerns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
10.0

Bekuo is many descriptive words to sum into one line is an incredible relaxing good vibe. Thank you SO much ! Many hugs and lots of laughter. Peace and love sweet Bekuo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
6.6

We actually had problems finding the hostel with the car and almost everybody who we asked gave us the wrong direction. The beds are clean and got new matratzes. The room needed a new ceiling because it looked verry thirty as the corners of the room too and the bath needs a new renovation too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Hello, Thank you so much for leaving an honest review. Sorry you got lost, but we can't be blamed for that one. We've been around for over 10 years, and are located right off the main street. One lovely aspect of travel, is knowledge gained from other cultures. One thing you've learned thus far...while many Costa Ricans strive to be super helpful, they might not be the best at directions (a joke they often make amongst themselves). If I ever get lost, I usually try to ask a taxi for directions. I agree that the bathroom could use a little help, and that will be done within the month, but the rest of the room (including the ceiling) is pretty solid. Thank you for your stay. All the Best, Brian

31st Mar 2017
2.9

Staff was disengaged and made us feel like a burden when our stuff was moved out of our room during cleaning. Some electronics went through the wash. Headphones were never returned. Owner and staff kept the TV on even when guests wanted to turn it off. The space was not kept clean (see pictures posted of mold), however the courtyard was beautiful. Would recommend staying at Hostel Urbano (across the street) instead.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
6.6

Our beds had dirty bed sheets on them, and even when they replaced them, they smelled dirty and the pillow was disgusting. I felt uncomfortable and itchy sleeping in those beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
7.7

Good hostel away from downtown. Had a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
6.6

Hard to give a full review on this hostel as I only stayed one night. Bed wasn't very comfy and the whole place looks kinda dirty. The worst is definitely the fact that the hostel only has two bathrooms for all the guests. Be prepared to wait in the morning... I did enjoy the small garden and the breakfast was very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

There are 7 bathrooms in the hostel. It's okay to ask the employees questions. We are here to help out, and we're actually pretty good at it. Thank you for your review. All the Best, Brian

20th Mar 2017
8.6

I really liked the atmosphere of the hostel. It was very charming and relaxing, especially the outside courtyard with the hammocks and pet bunny. The only downside to this hostel is there is only 2 bathrooms in the whole building with only 1 toilet and 1 shower in each (maybe a total of 30 people in the hostel). I woke up in the middle of the night and had to wait 15 minutes to use the toilet. If you want to take a shower in the morning wake up before everyone else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.