Hostelworld.com

Hostel Bekuo San Jose

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
Hostel Bekuo San Jose Located at 325 meters west of Restaurant Spoon, Los Yoses, San Jose.
Hostel Bekuo San Jose
Costa Rica
San Jose 2050 325 meters west of Restaurant Spoon, Los Yoses
87% 372
9.9307865 -84.0603768
Hostel Bekuo San Jose
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th May 2016
8.9

This is a really interesting place. San Jose as a city doesn't offer much in my opinion so as a result a lot of travellers don't spend much time here. So that's why this hostel is so strange. There is an awesome common area which makes socialising easy, yet very few bathrooms which is very impractical. The staff at the front desk are off with the pixies, yet the free breakfast is utterly amazing!!! So all in all I did enjoy my time here, even if it was a slightly surreal experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
8.3

Security is really good and I felt very safe which is a big plus. Great hostel to relax in, lots of communal space. It's slightly out of the downtown area but in San Jose this is a lot better! Pancakes were also amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.1

A really great hostel that feels like home. Great for the weary traveller. Comfortable and clean, and there are lots of things to do such as play pool, tv, etc. The area isn't exactly buzzing but it feels safe and there are things within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th May 2016
9.4

Very nice hostel, with really nice staff in a save neighborhood. Everyone is happy to help you get around. Thanks for the nice stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.7

Great find! The location is a bit out of the way from the bus stations, but it only cost $8 by taxi to get to the Mepe station. Small price to pay for a safe neighborhood. The hostel staff generously reserved our 5 AM taxi for us, and they were a great source of information! Nice kitchen space, lots of communal seating, good vibe all around. The beds were clean and comfortable. It was also a bonus to have a TV and get our reality tv fix after months of travel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hahaha Reality TV the ultimate decline of civilization, yet it sometimes feels so good. It must have been you watching the tattoo show ;) Yesss the good vibes are always flowing, and we are glad that you caught some. Please pass through on your future travels. All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

5th May 2016
9.1

Great place to stay for a night or two in San Jose. Owner and the staff were great, kitchen was well stocked, and plenty of common space. Bathrooms lines were a little long in the morning, but that's the only problem I had here. Would absolutely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th May 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel!! Staff are super friendly and helpful. Location is in a nice, quiter part of town with consulates and a police station down the street. Supermarket is 2 blocks down and there's another department store warehouse next to it, no fresh food but good for ceral, pasta etc. Hostel is very social, always someone willing to play pool or have a drink or chat. Big HDTV with English dvds, quiet zones too, lots of common space. Bathroom needs a scrub but other then that great!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your the kind review of our hostel. We always try to accommodate and make our guests feel comfortable as best that we can :) Yeah, I have to admit it's hard to always keep the bathrooms in tip-top order. Not making excuses…we can always try harder. Thanks again… All the Best, Brian Hostel Bekuo

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.1

Hotel Bekuo was a great place to stay, and with breakfast included it really is a great deal. The staff are friendly and helpful, they enforce quiet hours, and the atmosphere is perfect for making new freinds to explore town with. The only down side is that you have to take a cab to get downtown. I fully intend to stay there again the next time I am in San Jose

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Breakfast with a smile…that's how we do it, and we will help plan anything from a night out to your entire trip. It's important to us that guests who want to sleep have the ability to do so, while those who want to party have access to the many nearby bars and clubs. We'll see you again soon. All the Best, Brian

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
7.1

If you have to wake up early, ask for a room in the back, streets are pretty lively at night! Great place to stay for a night in between your travels, or if you are young and like to party. Breakfast is late, not until 9, so remember that!! Over all good price for security and place to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Definitely a good recommendation if you are staying over a weekend night. Sometimes it can get a little loud from people going back to their cars. We also offer earplugs for a small fee if that's your cup of tea. Oh…and breakfast begins at 8. Thank you for the review. All the Best, Brian

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
8.9

Enjoyed the pool table and plentiful common space. Was a bit disappointed with the staff - they seemed more concerned with their plans for the evening than actually helping you figure things out. Overall, good value and good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I can't begin to apologize enough for the aloofness of the staff during your stay. That is not our game at all. I was out for a few weeks, so maybe there was a little slippage. Never again…never again. Thank you for making us aware, and thank you for your review. All the Best, Brian

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.