Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Belle Meuniere Reviews

21 avenue Durante, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained


405 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 58%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Security is extremely poor here. Keys are kept out in hallway for anyone to take and half the time reception aren't even at the desk. No lockers in room either. Extremely poor atmosphere and doesn't count as a hostel (actually called a hotel when you arrive). Doesn't have a kitchen, you can make do with the microwave and kettle. Wouldn't stay here again.


Not very impressed with this place at all. The rooms were extremely hot! Even just a few more fans rather than air conditioning. It doesn't have a lot of facilities. Staff were ok but not overly friendly or helpful. Shower and toilet were dirty and smelled. It was overpriced for what you get.


Definitely would benefit from air-conditioning in the rooms. Better privacy in the bathrooms would also be appreciated. If you follow the staff advice on their security measures, there isn't a problem. Otherwise, convenient location and comfortable beds. Marie the manager is professional and very accommodating.


This place is ridiculous! -No AC just one fan per room -Security is none existent -Rooms are cramped and over crowded -Bathrooms are disgusting and smell - Staffs attitude is ridiculous Wouldn't stay here again and definitely do not recommend it to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We usually have good reviews specifically about the staff, everyone is pretty friendly, are you sure you are rating the right hostel? Security is our main concern and also your room is equipped with a locker per person ! AC accommodation are not the same rate, you have rented a room with just a fan. The public bathrooms are cleaned 4 times per 24 hours and the private bathroom in your dorm is cleaned once per 24 hours. You perhaps mistake us with another place.


We arrived at 11am and although the check in was at three we were assured our room would be ready within a quarter of an hour. When we got into our room which we paid 75€ a night for we found it to be a small bedroom with a sink a double bed and single crammed into the corner with not much room for anything else. The bed slats fell through twice meaning we had to sleep on the floor and there were dusty condom wrappers under the bed!! VILE

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Very good hostel and staff were very friendly and understanding. Security was also very good although I would have preferred to have a safe in the room Atmosphere was good in the garden but there wasnt much of a communial area Having said all of this the stay was thoroughly enjoyable. 5*

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Good location, good place! Would stay again!


There was no ceiling fans or air conditioning in the rooms. Had to sleep with windows open which let in Mosquitos. The shower was big put the shower head kept falling out. The space to get changed in the shower was very very small and got wet from the shower itself.

View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback