Hostelworld.com

Hostel Belle Meuniere

Prices
map
reviews
4.3
Rating 406 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 2.0
  • Atmosphere 2.0
  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Facilities 2.0
BOOK NOW
4.3
Rating 406 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 2.0
  • Atmosphere 2.0
  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Facilities 2.0
Hostel Belle Meuniere Located at 21 avenue Durante, , Nice.
Hostel Belle Meuniere
France
Nice Provence Alpes Côte d'Azur 06000 21 avenue Durante
43% 406
43.7034828 7.2621989
Hostel Belle Meuniere
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • MrInvisible
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
5th Sep 2015
4.9

Security is extremely poor here. Keys are kept out in hallway for anyone to take and half the time reception aren't even at the desk. No lockers in room either. Extremely poor atmosphere and doesn't count as a hostel (actually called a hotel when you arrive). Doesn't have a kitchen, you can make do with the microwave and kettle. Wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Security is perfectly fine if you follow our rules, and the keys are kept where we know it is the best and safest. Most of the rooms are equipped with lockers, and there are more available downstairs free of charge. Since the wifi is working customers prefer communicating online than with each other which I have to admit it spoils the atmosphere. The Belle Meunière exist before the term hostel was ever registered and anyway in France a hostel is not a permitted name for a legal business.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Aug 2015
2.6

Not very impressed with this place at all. The rooms were extremely hot! Even just a few more fans rather than air conditioning. It doesn't have a lot of facilities. Staff were ok but not overly friendly or helpful. Shower and toilet were dirty and smelled. It was overpriced for what you get.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The bathrooms are cleaned couple of times a day, we are doing our best for the place to be spotless and 25 € in high season is very cheap for a made bed in a 4 person dorm room in the center of Nice, the same with air-conditioning cost at least 38 € in average in the French Riviera. I guess you did not see all of our facilities either and maybe your expectations did not make it easy for the staff to help you out.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
5th Aug 2015
7.4

Definitely would benefit from air-conditioning in the rooms. Better privacy in the bathrooms would also be appreciated. If you follow the staff advice on their security measures, there isn't a problem. Otherwise, convenient location and comfortable beds. Marie the manager is professional and very accommodating.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. The air conditioning has just been installed in February 2016. We improved the place as much as we could, we now also have duvet and the best comfort possible. Hope to see you again.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Jul 2015
2.9

This place is ridiculous! -No AC just one fan per room -Security is none existent -Rooms are cramped and over crowded -Bathrooms are disgusting and smell - Staffs attitude is ridiculous Wouldn't stay here again and definitely do not recommend it to anyone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We usually have good reviews specifically about the staff, everyone is pretty friendly, are you sure you are rating the right hostel? Security is our main concern and also your room is equipped with a locker per person ! AC accommodation are not the same rate, you have rented a room with just a fan. The public bathrooms are cleaned 4 times per 24 hours and the private bathroom in your dorm is cleaned once per 24 hours. You perhaps mistake us with another place.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2015
2.6

We arrived at 11am and although the check in was at three we were assured our room would be ready within a quarter of an hour. When we got into our room which we paid 75€ a night for we found it to be a small bedroom with a sink a double bed and single crammed into the corner with not much room for anything else. The bed slats fell through twice meaning we had to sleep on the floor and there were dusty condom wrappers under the bed!! VILE

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thank you for your kind review and appreciating our service for an early check in. If the cleaners did not do a good job you could have warn the management, I take cleanliness very seriously, same for the slats we can fix that strait away as we have spare beds available. You had chosen the economy triple room at 25 € each which is not the biggest if you will have preferred more space you could have upgrade to a different room. I recommend you to talk to us next time.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2015
9.1

Very good hostel and staff were very friendly and understanding. Security was also very good although I would have preferred to have a safe in the room Atmosphere was good in the garden but there wasnt much of a communial area Having said all of this the stay was thoroughly enjoyable. 5*

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jul 2015
8.9

Good location, good place! Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.