X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Blue Planet Reviews

5 Rue Hector Malot, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
2303 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

There is one key per room, the rooms do not have lockers and there is not an area to chill.


57%

First of all there was only 1 key per room, which is very poor, if you wanted to take a nap you had to keep your door opened untill everyone was in the room. And because there is no curfew everyone drops in at different times. There were no lockers or so, so I had to keep my valuable stuff always on me, which was exhausting. The rooms were small but clean. The crew was ok. Too bad that we had to pay for wifi, that was pretty expensive....


34%

I did not like the hostel. The room has only 1 key, so you must leave it in the reception when going out. The problem is when you arrive, you go to the reception and ask for the key, but no one cheks anything. So any person can get the key and get in. You have to pay for bed sheets (1,50 euro) and pay for internet also! It is 3 euros for 1 hour of wifi, and you can not even log off to use it after. Toilets not clean and shower also smelly. I wouldnt recommend, the low price is not worth.


40%

Staff wakes you up at 11am, you have to leave the hostel between 11:30 until 3:30pm because according to them the Hostel is closed. Wifi 3euro for 1 hour and you cant log out to log in again after. The bathroom inside the room doesnt have a door that closes. From 1 to 10, this hostel would be a 2 thanks to the location.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The location is fantastic. The staff are nothing special. The breakfast you get is 2 chocolate croissants and coffee/tea/hotchocolate (the coffee and tea are SO bad tho, I'd just have HC). There is NO FREE WIFI! heads up! Also there is only ONE outlet plug per dorm. Common room sucks because everyone hates the hostel. 11-3:30 you must leave the hostel which is so unnecessary, all they do is clean the bathroom and floors! Why can't I sleep? Lol. This place is cheap for paris.


49%

It seems that there's no one in charge to clean the bathroom or toilets, the floor looked not clean at all. Then they charge you for have even 30 minutes for Wi-Fi!!!! how is that possible!!! Free Wi-Fi is a most in terms when you are a traveller, you need to check emails, book for another place, so you NEED to have that facility. For the rest, well...

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A GREAT PLACE TO STAY AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE AND EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR TOURISTS WITH ALL BASIC FACILITIES.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Having only one outlet and one key per room is really inconvenient.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great i stayed so good but just for one day, friendly place i think is a very good hostel, clean location perfect and rooms so nice


100%

Very nice, a lot of people, a good place to meet persons from every part of the world, so clean, cheap in a perfect location


100%

It s a nice place, friendly good atmosphere, clean, cheap, and is in a good location, the breakfast is ok, and is so secure thanks the camera


63%

If it's the cheapest hostel your search generates, it's the cheapest for good reason. You get what you pay for. If you're simply looking to save a couple bucks and lay your head on a pillow (albeit, a slightly dirty one maybe,) then this place will satisfy your requirements.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

1. lack of pillowcases!!!!!! 2. lack of toilet seat 3. no hot water 4. you must leave hostel at 11 to 15:30 5. reception did not explain nothing - just give the key and thats all 6. you must pay for wi-fi

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

This was a disgusting and poorly run hostel. Though the website said no one over 35 could stay there, we saw multiple people well over that age staying here. There was one outlet for the three of us to use. The beds smelled like cigarette smoke regardless of the no smoking signs plastered everywhere. They kick you out of your room between 11 and 330 to "clean". Though we requested to not have this cleaning service as there were no lockers for our valuables, they still came in and moved our stuff

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hello i will recomande to all people to stay in this hostel in paris because is very good friendly and clean also in a good location


100%

Nice hostel, i had a good stay, friendly staff, the rooms are clean, and breakfast included, in the price, perfect location to visit paris


46%

The staff was friendly, but didn't seem to have their stuff together. They didn't even know I had a reservation until I showed them on my phone, even though I had been emailing back and forth with them for over a week. Bathrooms and showers were gross. For the shower you need to keep pressing the button for it to work and it's only warm. Wifi is also 3 euro per hour, which is ridiculous. Go to the train station instead, it's free and close by. That was the only perk - the location.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The location to Gare de Lyon train station and metro was this hostels saving grace. The bathrooms are ghetto and gross. You have to pay 3 Euro for 1 hour of wifi. The night staff was cranky and rude even though we had arranged for a late arrival and had one of our reservations but not the other. Was pissy when we came back late at night. In general, there's a reason it was as cheap as it was. It worked for us cause we weren't there much…but would have looked elsewhere.


100%

Nice hostel, staff helpfull and rooms so clean, also the location is very good


100%

I m happy for my staying here because i had a nice day here and i meet a lot of sympathic people, The hostel is clean and the staff so cool


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(127 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback