X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Blue Planet Reviews

5 Rue Hector Malot, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
2660 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The place has four walls, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Also the location is good for metro/train/bus purposes. Other than that, the atmosphere is non existent, they have no kitchen, one toilet per floor (amd nasty in the mornings), you must pay for wifi, only one key per room... Not horrible, but there are tons of better places for the price in paris.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Very well located in Gare de Lyon. It is quite cheap so you cannot expect too much. The bad point was that WIFI is payable. The description of the hotel says that there is access to wifi but it does not mention you have to pay for 1 hour = 3 EUR, which is quite expensive.


49%

Don't go here.


63%

Located right next to gar de Lyon it's got access to the whole city via buses, not that you really need to catch a bus in Paris. The room (a 4 bed) felt a little cramped, but for the money I can't complain. Just one toilet and one shower per floor (5 floors (don't pack heavy!)) And a sink in the room. They seem to only want to give one key out per room, so if someone has already taken a key, you better hope they've not wandered off with it. Staff seemed barely patient. But helpful.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

Worst hostal i've ever stayed. Really bad staff. They close the hostal between 11 am and 3.30 pm.


31%

you should really think about your pricing and even you couldnt do anything about it. the least you can do is to upgrade your facilities Especially free wi-fi as it is an essential need for every traveler to stay connected to their family and friends. thank you for the hospitality.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a good staying in this hostel is very clean and cheap breakfast included and staff wonderful.


100%

Its nice clean, cheap and friendly rooms are beautiful and in a good location


100%

Very good hostel friendly people,good staff i didn t understand about the bads rewiews its clean secure and cheap i will recomande this place


71%

Staff was very nice and helpful. Great location near metro and supermarket. The bathroom in our room wasnt really clean. Only 1 toilet for one level thats like 10 rooms, so it was allways occupied. Only 1 electrical socket in the room, which is really bad as we usually charge our phones during night..

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Cold showers, only one electricity outlet in our room, booked a male bedroom but there was a girl already sleeping in it. Weird atmosphere..

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The price and the location of the hostel were quite good, but the atmosphere is TERRIBLE. Not conducive to socializing- the common room closes after midnight- which is generally the point of going to a hostel. The staff is disorganized and unfriendly, making the whole thing even worse. Keep in mind before staying here: the wifi costs 3 Euros per hour (which can only be accessed once -you can't log in and out- in the lobby only), no alcohol allowed on the premises, and no smoking anywhere.


57%

One major problem was a previous occupant being able to unlock our locked door and enter our room in the middle of the night, may want to sort that out!


43%

One key per room. Showers were brutal. Rooms were weird. Toilet is basically in a closet. And it's 2015 why are we paying for wife?


23%

Probably the worst hostel I've ever been to. First off, the staff are rude and unhelpful. Prepare for cash only payment. They have one key per room AND no lockers anywhere. You're sharing a room with strangers and have no where to secure your belongings. No wifi. The bathrooms and bedding are filthy. Avoid.


49%

Staff needs to be more friendly and something needs to be done about the lack of hot water in showers.


54%

Add more charging point, more flexible about the breakfast time, give each individual a key.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOSTEL!!! It was terrible.When we arrived we had our luggage but they had NO elevators!And we had the 4th floor. They only have one key per room so you have to keep leaving it at the desk and when you come late you have to knock so the other people open the door. Also there is ONLY ONE PLUG for your phone in the room. You have to leave your phone at the reception so it could charge!The rooms were nice but the bathroom door has door knob and a big gap :(

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Showers dirty, no place to put your staff in there when you go take a shower System with "one key" per room very poor

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel doesn't have wifi.you have to pay for it. 1h would cost you 3 euros....The blanket smells.. The most things that annoyed me that you have to leave the hostel between 11am  and 3pm. I did an early sightseeing I was so angry that I couldn't have a nap. lot of travellers they need a day or two to relax from travelling in that hostel they kick out from 11 to 3.breakfast is a bad jok. its was cheap but am sure for what i paid i can get better hostel in paris


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(235 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback