X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Blue Planet Reviews

5 Rue Hector Malot, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

56%

Rating
1834 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 58%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 57%Staff
  • 48%Atmosphere
  • 49%Cleanliness
  • 43%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Hostel's location was excellent! It's also one of the cheapest out there. It was rather shady, but I didn't mind. Staff spoke English (and French, of course). There was ONLY ONE KEY per room; if you came back late, you had to wake up by knocking all the other people sleeping in the room... The luggage room had a camera in it, but anyone could('ve) walk in and steal your stuff as no one monitored who goes in it. There's no elevator, but luckily I didn't stay in fifth floor..

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

The staff were not only incompetent, but also very rude. There is Internet, but you have to pay for it by the hour. There are no lockers in the room. There is only 1 key per room; I would be sleeping and have to wake up at 3am to open the door. There is only 1 outlet in the room so you have to wait to charge anything. Only 1 shower and toilet per floor and I saw a few roaches.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

This hostel is probably one of the worst I've been, but is one of the least expensive in Paris and the location is good. So, if you don`t mind how the hostel really is and is more into saving money in a good location, it might be worth it.


26%

By far, THE WORST HOSTEL I VE EVER BEEN. 1 - Dirty 2 - ONE key each room (had to share keys w people didn´t know, and couldn´t enter my room) 3 - ONE plug each room. - For charging it, I had to go to the reception. A thin and unfriendly guy that is there at night charged it. I had to go outside for an hour. When I got back he didn´t charge it and said: "come back in an hour". The second time he charged it and DIDNT WANT TO GIVE MY ADAPTOR BACK (wrote blue planet in the whole adaptor).

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Horrible!!!!!! the receptionist very unfriendly, shouting to the new guests. I stayed two nights I couldn't sleep, too much noise outside it seems to be a battlefield the garbage truck, motorbikes, beeps beeps too much noise!!!!!! DONT STAY you will not rest.... also you have to pay 5 euro for 1 hour of WiFi!!!! gare de lyon is very close to the hostel *****

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The staff is very rude and lost for give some information. and need improve the breakfast. one cup of coffee and one biscuit couldn't call the breakfast.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Location is excellent, just 1 or 2 blocks from Gare de Lyon. The hostel is cheap compared to the average hostel in Paris. However, it lacks atmosphere, the rooms are very basic, and there was only one shower and one toilet for all the floor. I took a shower at about midnight and there was no hot water.


57%

Good situated and clean. One key for the whole room (yes, can be you have to wake your room mates to get into the room) no lockers, nothing in the rooms besides the beds and a sink. Common area closes at midnight. I would rather not stay there one more time and definitely not more than one night.


83%

The location is very good: in Paris city center, near the main metro line to all of the main attractions. The room is pretty spacious and clean, and like the pictures, is very colorful. They use bunk beds, and the ones I stayed in were practically new. Bedding is provided, which is nice, and the bed is comfortable. Bathrooms are communal, but you get a washing sink in your room. No lockers, maybe a closet to store your things. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. Good deal for the price.


20%

I can say just if you have an other possibility, DON'T GO THERE.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Considering the Price and the Location, Hostel Blue Planet is actually ok. You can´t ask for a five-star Hotel for less than 30 € in Central Paris. Breakfast is extremely basic, the rooms are rather dark and small but reasonably clean. Unfortuantely there was a bug in my bed that bit me every night. If you want a nice Hotel, go somewhere else. If you only need a bed for a few nights and want to stay out during the days it´s ok to stay here.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

因为是当天早上预定的,没有其他选择。看到评分已经做好了心理准备,旅馆是有点老旧,但是没有想象中的那么糟糕,而且离里昂站很近。总的来说,物有所值!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Cool location, for the price it was great

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

staff unpolite even violent with the client,no wiffi,no clean,blood in bed,no security

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Atmosphere was fine and the location excellent ! Just next to Gare de Lyon and metro station. But it was dirty, the bathrooms and toilets - awful ! And no facilities ! Paying for using the wifi ? ! Haha ! That's funny in this times ! I recommend this only for good location/one night.


31%

This hostel is absolutely terrible. Please do not stay here. It is unsafe, gross, uncomfortable, unfriendly and terrible. There is one toilet and one shower on each floor. There was one plug in my room. There is no wi-fi in the entire hostel. The "breakfast" is two croissants from a vending machine and a small cup of coffee from a machine. Worst of all is the security: none. There is one key to be shared by all people in the room. You ask for the key at the front desk and they require no ID.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

wifi need to pay.


60%

You just have one key per room, just one bathroom and shower per floor (imagine the chaos in the morning...), the sink stays in your room so, after using the bathroom you have to come back to your room to wash your hands, you have to pay for WiFi (1 euro for 15 min!!), poor breakfast, just one power plug in the room, a lot of noise at night. So, as you can see, a lot of problems. The best thing is the location. Just beside a Metro Station and supermarkets.


46%

Expensive, the staff were kind of rude, weird rules, for example: you're not allowed to use the microwave in the morning.


31%

No security at bag storage, On the"honor system". Rooms themselves are dirty and bedding is disgusting. Bring your own stuff. No Wi-Fi and forget about using the computers there. Either broken or internet is down. Near several metros, train station and bus stops which makes it easy to get around.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(126 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback