X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Blue Planet Reviews

5 Rue Hector Malot, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
2295 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

There are no lockers in the rooms and oddly enough there is only one key per room meaning that as the first person in the room for the night I had to stay and wake up for the other people into the room to come back.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Worst Hostel ever!! Staff are unhelpful very much.When I ask Where is super market? LEFT!and LEFT!!...reception guy shouted like this.Nobody can understand. If your accommodation is bad.you feel sad.and your sightseeing mess up very much.. I learned I will check the review next time. One good things this hostel is near the station.


46%

Run down hostel, badly equipped, no wifi, no hot water. "Continental" breakfast included vending machine pain au chocolat and coffee. This is the best place for you if you dont value warm rooms, hot water, clean toilets, free wifi and a good breakfast. Beware of wrong advertisement of this hostel. Don't expect too much!


26%

It was the worst Hostel I've ever stayed in, they need to do something other than be a hostel, the staff was very rude. At one point calling me and the other guest stupid. By far the worst in all areas. It really made me rethink the whole hostel thing. Someone needs to do something with that hostel.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Pro: right by Gare de Lyon, good for backpackers for a weekend trip Con: no wifi in the rooms, and internet shuts down at midnight in the lobby, selection and quality of breakfast is very minimum, two keys per room of 4 people. Cleaning from 11-3:30, even though I told them I will arrive at 1, still couldn't check in until 3:30


34%

The most ridiculous thing EVER- they only allow 1 key per room which is the most inconvenient thing when you're sharing the room with strangers."Kitchen" is a toilet sink with microwave, breakfast wasn't there at 8:20am (supposedly served 7:45-9).Toilet&shower look like torture chambers,1 for a whole floor (unisex) is ridiculous. Staff are the most unfriendliest I have ever encountered in a hostel (or life in general).Location good but tricky without directions.Beds on verge of collapse!!!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

just sleep & go


29%

I stayed at this Hostel over 4 years ago and it has declined terribly. I would rather pay a little more to have wifi in the rooms. The staff are not very friendly at all. They seem to be only punching a clock and not interested in the customers. The toiltet on one of the floors didn't even have a seat to sit on, WOW that is shameful. I feel the most basic necessities were not even avaialble. THe Location is the only thing that is good but not enough for me to ever stay there again or recommend.


57%

This is not the kind of hostel were you can meet and chat with people, if you are looking just for a place to sleep is ok.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Was not expecting anything flash from hostels, and it's exactly what I got. Hostel was as good as any other

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel was a little shabby and not very comfortable. There is no sink at the toilet. For one or two nights it's fine because it's cheap and is located within a walking distance of about 3 minutes to "Gare de Lyon". But if one prefers an enjoyable atmosphere and is ready to pay more, than he/she should consider a different hostel.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Very good location of the Hostel. The dorms rooms was to small for 4 people. Its only onet oilet and shower. In the facilities is wriiten "Breakfast Inclued", honestly is nothing! You can pay 5 euros more and to find a better hostel in Paris! Good luck!


71%

For the amount of money you pay the Hostel is really good. Within 2 minutes you are at Gare de Lyon. The staff is really nice and helpful as well. I had a good time. Only minus: You have to leave your room between 11am and 3.30pm. But they do say this on the homepage :).

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

GREAT STAY PEOPLE FRIENDLY CLEAN CHEAP IN A GOOD LOCATION I LL RECOMANDE THIS PLACE


100%

GREAT STAYING HOSTEL CLEAN CHEAP IN A VERY GOOD LOCATION YOU WANT MORE?

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Worst hostel ever, never again


63%

The main problem with this place is that there is only one power outlet per room which NEVER works and no free wifi (3 Euro per hour of use).


100%

great, cheap ,clean, nice people , secure and in a good location


100%

great staying i spend a very good day in yhis hostel is not a lot but...i would like to come back, friendly people rooms so clean and very cheap with breakfast included perfect forme


100%

good hostel, cheap, clean and so secure, friendly people and staff i will recomande it


(125 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback