X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Blue Planet Reviews

5 Rue Hector Malot, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

56%

Rating
1821 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 59%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 57%Staff
  • 48%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 43%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location is very good: in Paris city center, near the main metro line to all of the main attractions. The room is pretty spacious and clean, and like the pictures, is very colorful. They use bunk beds, and the ones I stayed in were practically new. Bedding is provided, which is nice, and the bed is comfortable. Bathrooms are communal, but you get a washing sink in your room. No lockers, maybe a closet to store your things. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. Good deal for the price.


20%

I can say just if you have an other possibility, DON'T GO THERE.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Considering the Price and the Location, Hostel Blue Planet is actually ok. You can´t ask for a five-star Hotel for less than 30 € in Central Paris. Breakfast is extremely basic, the rooms are rather dark and small but reasonably clean. Unfortuantely there was a bug in my bed that bit me every night. If you want a nice Hotel, go somewhere else. If you only need a bed for a few nights and want to stay out during the days it´s ok to stay here.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

因为是当天早上预定的,没有其他选择。看到评分已经做好了心理准备,旅馆是有点老旧,但是没有想象中的那么糟糕,而且离里昂站很近。总的来说,物有所值!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Cool location, for the price it was great

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

staff unpolite even violent with the client,no wiffi,no clean,blood in bed,no security

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Atmosphere was fine and the location excellent ! Just next to Gare de Lyon and metro station. But it was dirty, the bathrooms and toilets - awful ! And no facilities ! Paying for using the wifi ? ! Haha ! That's funny in this times ! I recommend this only for good location/one night.


31%

This hostel is absolutely terrible. Please do not stay here. It is unsafe, gross, uncomfortable, unfriendly and terrible. There is one toilet and one shower on each floor. There was one plug in my room. There is no wi-fi in the entire hostel. The "breakfast" is two croissants from a vending machine and a small cup of coffee from a machine. Worst of all is the security: none. There is one key to be shared by all people in the room. You ask for the key at the front desk and they require no ID.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

wifi need to pay.


60%

You just have one key per room, just one bathroom and shower per floor (imagine the chaos in the morning...), the sink stays in your room so, after using the bathroom you have to come back to your room to wash your hands, you have to pay for WiFi (1 euro for 15 min!!), poor breakfast, just one power plug in the room, a lot of noise at night. So, as you can see, a lot of problems. The best thing is the location. Just beside a Metro Station and supermarkets.


46%

Expensive, the staff were kind of rude, weird rules, for example: you're not allowed to use the microwave in the morning.


31%

No security at bag storage, On the"honor system". Rooms themselves are dirty and bedding is disgusting. Bring your own stuff. No Wi-Fi and forget about using the computers there. Either broken or internet is down. Near several metros, train station and bus stops which makes it easy to get around.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

No wifi access, wifi need to pay


34%

while this is the cheapest hostel in the expenny metropolis that is Paris......DO NOT STAY HERE! Seriously weird atmosphere, one one key card per room which is the stupidest system ever, bathrooms that resemble something out of a shanty town, cockroaches and just lying in the beds will make you itch.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The property itself was not very clean or well organized. It is not in the nicest/safest feeling area.


40%

This is the worst place I ever stayed in my life. Too strict like bad days of Afghanistan. They act like moral police. Its a hostel for travellers right? But no drink / not even Beer. No Kitchen. No Toilet/ Bathroom in the rooms. They have a camouflage Room inside the small rooms which were probably a toilet/bathroom in old days! Only 5 toilet in a 5floor hostel. And Breakfast? Its the worst. French has no standard. For them breakfast means a cup of Coffee!!! What the f...k. Pls stay away .


57%

+ nice staff, very friendly +great location, most places in walking distance - The hostel is closed between 11 am and 3 pm and you cannot enter the rooms during that time -there is no "real" breakfast, they only give you some coins for an automat with coffee and sweets -the sheets were not clean -there is no washbasin at the toilet -in the entry hall is an internet cafe open for anyone also at night, and some strange people were hanging around there, plus anyone could enter the hostel.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I foolishly didn't read the reviews before I booked this place. Other than it's placement right next to gare de Lyon there is little to commend this place on. They sold my bed the last two nights I was there so I had to sleep on the floor of a friends room id met there. They need more plugs in the rooms and personal lockers too. Also in the heat this hostel just gets humid and uncomfortable.


57%

Very minimal facilities: no lockers, no kitchen, and no internet (super slow internet is available for the exorbitant price of 4 euros an hour). Guest to shower ratio leaves much to be desired. I was concerned about leaving my belongings in the room. You will not be given a room key, but will have to ask reception for the single room key to your room every time you want access. Shifts change regularly, and the person at the desk usually doesn't ask for proof that you're staying in a given room.


66%

Only 2 keys are available for 4 people in a room. That is not good. The toilet must be cleaned more frequently.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(121 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback