X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Brikette Reviews

Via G marconi 358, Positano, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
758 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Such a lovely part of the world to visit. The hostel was more like a B


91%

This hostel has absolutely stunning views which is mostly what you're paying for. For the amount you pay, the facilities aren't really what you'd expect but I enjoyed my stay nonetheless. Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

great location and you are paying for the views. only problem was i had emailed the hostel before arriving asking for a more detailed explaination of how to get to the hostel (what stop, what bus to get) and i was rudely answered with "check the website" - if you dont want to answer travellers questions dont work in a hostel simple. make sure you get a room that has a window as mine didnt and it was always damp and dark in the room, food and drink well priced & great atmosphere!


94%

This hostel was sweet, amazing staff and atmosphere. We met some great people while we were there which helped. Would definately stay again and recommend to friends. Thanks for the fun stay :)

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great hostel in perfect location. Loved the terrace area especially. Only problem was the ensuite showers flooded very easily. Hostel dinners were great value and yum.


77%

My sister and I spent two nights in Positano, and stayed in a Deluxe 6 Bed Mixed Dorm Ensuite. We absolutely loved the hostel, it had a great atmosphere and really friendly staff members and guests! The breakfasts were delicious, and the common areas were lively. Our room had a gorgeous terrace overlooking the whole of Positano and the sea, it was wonderful to wake up to! Cons: no hand soap was provided in our ensuite, and no luggage lockers in the rooms. I would definitely stay here again!


100%

Amazing experience! Staff was very friendly. Loved the outdoor area. A very welcoming environment. As a twenty something traveling I felt very safe in my room. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I stayed in 12 mixed dorm, there's no lockers even the door cannot lock. However, Brikette is the only one hostel in Positano, if u r a back packer or single traveller u have no other choice to stay. Thus, u have to protect your staff carefully. BTW, the location is good, near SITA bus stop.


86%

Staff were very welcoming and there was a very friendly atmosphere during the time we stayed. Fantastic location high up overlooking the mountains and the sea. The manager Pete was always keen to make sure we were okay and was helpful and informative in every way.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The best part about this hostel was the balcony/common area. It had a good vibe and everyone was really social making it a fun environment to be in. Unfortunately, thats where the positives end. Our room was not up to the standard it should be for the price we paid. The bathroom was even worse with the toilet seat not even attached to the toilet and constantly had a putrid smell. The dorm was dirty and bugs were getting in, even with the doors shut. The staff are helpful and friendly.


89%

Good hostel that provides cheap accommodation in an expensive city. Staff do what they can to help you out and the atmosphere on the deck is great. Only problem is when it rains the inside common area is quite small. Also 8 bed dorms are quite small so can become very messy. Recommend it though.


51%

Tiny rooms. Common area is tiny and the only place that has wifi. The worst part was that not only did they not have a kitchen for guest use, they didn't have so much as a fridge. Using the excuse that you need to have a clean space because you have a commercial space isn't good enough. I've stayed in over 50 hostels in europe that have commercial kitchens AND fridges for guests. It just means you end up having to eat out EVERY meal. Terrible value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The common area only seemed small because it was raining, which is super rare for June, and we were also full. The common area also includes a terrace, which means, under usual circumstances in June, that we have enough seating space for all. It might also be worth mentioning the price of land in Positano, which is amongst the most expensive in the world - space is at a premium. We cannot get a license for a guest kitchen - we tried.

74%

The hostel in itself was good, but I didn't like my room: it didn't have windows and it was a small cube for 8. Only 2 power plugs and 3 in the common area. Inside common room small if it's raining outside. And there's hot showers only twice a day. Having said that, location and atmosphere are good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed the location and atmosphere. There are actually more power plugs than you mention, but it may well be the case that we should advertise them better. We do not have the heating on for hot water during the day, but it is on 10 hours a day; our solar panels mean that hot water is available during the day in the summer months. It is true that the common room is small for a full house, but it is very rare that we are full and it is also raining.

91%

Most basic dorm room leaves a bit to be desired regarding space. The rest of the experience more than makes up though. The patio alone and atmosphere the owner/staff fosters is reason enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for you feedback, and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is fair to say that the basic dorm is pretty functional, as it is really designed to give anyone who wants it somewhere reasonably priced to stay in Positano.

100%

My sister stayed 4 years ago and all but made me book at Hostel Brikette in Positano, and I am so glad she did! It was easily the most fun hostel we stayed in during our trip throughout Europe. The staff was young and friendly, and the guests all stayed out and socialized. The staff had made it very easy to do side trips to the Path of the Gods hike (which I highly recommend) and to Capri. Definitely stay here if you are young and traveling to the Amalfi Coast!


94%

The staff at Hostel Brikette are second to none. The moment you walk-in, you are given a warm welcome and introduction to the hostel and area. The rooms are comfortable, the internet in the common area always worked, and the almost nightly family-style dinners were delicious and affordable at about 5 euro. Everyone who works there is determined to make sure you're comfortable, and this place really made my visit to Positano special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and wish you all the best for your future travels.

60%

Starting with the negative aspects: - booked a 4 bed dorm and placed in a 6 bed - air con didn't work - not provided with maps - they don't have a phone so contacting them without this knowledge prior is really hard - not allowed to store food in their fridge - bathroom always wet due to shower leaking - no lockers in rooms Good points - the staff were really friendly - location close to bus stop - good atmosphere at night with guests

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your thoughful feedback. Some of what you say we will address by improving the information we provide during checkin. For example: maps are available online and via email, and for 20 cents as a printout. We do not have a phone, but turn around any email received in 24hrs. It is true that we do not have a fridge for guest use. Sorry if the shower was leaking - we will look into it. All the best for your future travels.

89%

The staff were awesome!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks - have a great time on your travels.

89%

Fun hostel and great workout to get to the beach. Good common area to meet and hang out with other travelers. Staff are really helpful and nice. The 10 bed dorm can get really loud so be prepared - there's also no lockers in room but you can rent for 5 euros and there is no lock on doors but still felt safe. Views are amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Really happy that enjoyed your stay at the hostel. It is totally fair to say that the 10 bed room can get loud, because it is located next to the bar; we are careful to advertise the room as such. Lockers are available for a 5 euro deposit, which guests get back when they return the key.

94%

Favorite hostel I've stayed in. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, the view is so beautiful it's practically a joke, and there's a great group atmosphere. Take the cooking class with Christiana! Only complaint is the plastic on the mattresses but it hardly mattered considering how great everything else was.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words. It was great that you enjoyed your stay so much. Sorry about the plastic, but it is a mattress protector. We have to use them, as they are an intregal part of our anti bed bug system.

« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Positano Hostels

Please give us your feedback