Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Budapest Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
Hostel Budapest Center Located at Semmelweis u 2. felemelet 5., , Budapest.
Hostel Budapest Center
Hungary
Budapest Pest 1052 Semmelweis u 2. felemelet 5.
79% 289
47.4943203 19.0584844
Hostel Budapest Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.6

Very nice people at the reception. They help you out with all sort of questions. Very comfortable rooms and 5-min walking distance to the main pubs and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
4.3

This hostel was very dirty and the desk manager was very "sketchy," meaning he would make some people pay in cash and others in card and we heard some strange stories about him. The room was unbearably hot and there was no hot water as well. The location was great, otherwise. I wouldn't stay here again though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear our guest. Thank you for your comment.In our hostel all our guests can pay by cash and by card as well. We accept all types of credit and debit cards. Unfortunately durig your stay we had a technical problem with the pos terminal and therefore you had to pay by cash. We have an ATM cash maschine in the building and we always pay back the commission of it in case the pos terminal would not work. The problem with the hot water was unfortunately caused by the municipality who was making roadworks and changed the main gaspipe in the street. may be these two problems were made you unhappy. Luckily it is all over now everything isworking and hopefully will not happen again for the upcoming 50 years. Thank you for your understanding. Roland Hostelmanager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2016
10.0

Just finished an interail trip around Europe. Hostel budapest centre was by far the best and most accommodating hostel we have stayed in. The rooms were refreshingly big and the facilities were excellent. On top of this the owner was so friendly, ensuring we had the best possible stay in Budapest. Would 100% recommend this place to anyone. Price, location and security were perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.7

The staff here are just wonderful - very kind and helpful. There is a decently equipped kitchen, not bad wifi and a bathroom that is clean (although one shower for about 12 people made the waiting time a little inconvenient). Brilliant location, comfortable bed, usually quiet street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jun 2016
8.3

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel, it was very empty which was refreshing. There is only two showers but since it was empty that was not a problem. The staff is amazing and very helpful. However, my biggest issue is that the door to our room didn't lock. Again, since the hostel was empty it wasn't really an issue but it still made me uncomfortable. They do provide free lockers in the rooms for your belongings though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th May 2016
8.3

When we were there, the gas line in the street had broken so there was no hot water in our section of the building. However, they were more than accommodating and allowed us to shower in another section of the hostel. In addition, they gave us an extra discount on the Budapest sightseeing bus tour. The staff was excellent. Great location, too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th May 2016
7.7

The staff at this hostel were so friendly and helpful. The friendliest we have found of any hostel staff we have come across in our whole trip. Wifi was free but kept cutting out. Walls quite thin; could hear everything outside- although we were probably just unlucky as we had very rude neighbours who stayed up shouting and banging doors until 2am. Great central location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
8.0

The location is perfect, close to everything! The people of reseption was very prefix to help for everything and suggest nice places to visit !! every day cleaned the whole room, but the bathroom had a little problem (stuffy sink), but it was clean !! The kitchen was convenient but old utensils !! I recommend it, it was good for the money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2016
6.6

Easy place to stay. Lots of plumbing issues while I was there. Very nice and fairly close to certain attractions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
4.6

The worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything about it is a mess! The reception is tiny, the apartment we were located was of a good size, but it was very dirty (I don't think they changed the bed sheets, and the bathroom has not been cleaned in a while). We didn't get the chance to sleep in our last night because there were 2 very loud guests (even though the hostel is not a party hostel), and the fact that the reception closes at night didn't help at all. Pay more for something lot bett

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Our guest. Thank you for your comment. Noises in a dormintory room are big headaches for each hostelmanagers all over the world. You were sleeping in an 8 bed dormitory room . In that room we had a guest who was waking up early in the morning for a couple of days and his alarm watch woke you up in the mornings. We can remember your complaints about it. Unfortunately sleeping in a dorm room is gambling sometimes very good sometimes very bad as different people are checking in out,moving in different time. Our hostel is fairly good from this point of view (we have good quiet doors, soundproof walls, separate showers in dorms no street lookin windows and new no creaking floors ) Unfortunately roommates can make noise as well. Controll guests is a very difficult problem. We say roommates have to respect other roommates . What we can do is ask the problematic guest to be a bit more quite in sleeping time which starts at around 10:00pm in a dormitory room. In your case the alarm clock is the morning made the problem (the problematic guy was not able to wake up easy in the morning).the reception wa available the whole night but you did not come to complain only on the following morning which was too late. After your complaints we have moved the guy into a single room but unfortunately it was too late as you have gone. Abou the noise made by the alarm clock of a roommate you asked the reception to pay back the money of your stay. Due to our policy we could not giv back any money as it was really not our mistake. As far as we can remember that was point that made you rude and made you writting some bad things about our hostel... Please respect other travellers and try to write the reality. Although we can understand that bad sleep is a very bad feeling and could made you unbalanced. The hostel is cleaned strongly each day more times (we have daily maid service, of coursewe change the sheets which is very basic thing and our location,security etc is not 6% as you wrote in your comment ). Thank you for your comment and see you next time. Roland Nemes hostelmanager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.