Hostelworld.com

Hostel California

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 1,343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 5.5
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.6
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 1,343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 5.5
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.6
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.0
Hostel California Located at Via Lambrate,18, , Milan.
Hostel California
Italy
Milan 20131 Via Lambrate,18
53% 1343
45.4899360 9.2256953
Hostel California
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • wanderlust123
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2016
2.0

I booked this hostel & in the early hours of the day I was due to arrive, I received an email informing me that due to lack of availability my reservation had been cancelled. I tried to rebook on hostelworld & saw that there was availability but at a higher price. It may be a minor thing to some but when you're travelling and have everything planned, it's a bit of a bombshell to drop on someone. It meant I had to spend more finding a last minute room, not to mention the frustration in doing so.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
2.0

I have just make booking with this hotel and called them about our late arrival, and the person mistakenly pronounced my name Osama(the terrorist) and he said we have problem please don't come here we will cancel the booking. He never even cancel the booking, if you have Muslim name please don't book,

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2016
5.1

In the description it says that bed linen is not included. This means that you must pay extra for linen. Note that you should not bring your own because you will still need to pay for the linen as it is already on the beds.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th May 2016
5.7

Late arrival and early departure Roughly 25 min walk to the central train station. When walking there late at night you may encounter people "working the street" The beds are built minimal, if the person on the top bunk changed sides the entire bed would sway a bit (once asleep I had no problems) No AC and top floor = hot Lockers had leftover items from past travelers and were not emptied The dorm did not have a lock on the door although to get in the building you needed to be buzzed in

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
5.4

The place was adequate for the price. Unfortunately I didn't like the fact that the doors couldn't be locked in our all girl dorm. And I thought the staff were verging on rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
2.0

Its the very very bad hostel dont go there the tell lied the will charge you for a tab water also and the take 3€ for leaning and 2€ city tax and no cooperation no help and a very bad behaviour and the room and bad every thing was very dirty i personally recommended you not to go to this host to save money its no save money and its very very bad it will just going to exploit your that day

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
4.3

There were no common areas. The staff was extremely rude. I got yelled at for talking on the phone. There is only one shower to share with a whole room full of people. The only good thing was the wifi.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
6.0

+ The lockers were large (bring a padlock with you) + 24 hour access/ no curfew + Supermarket at the end of the road + Had plug sockets next to my bed + Communal area, the hostel sells beer for €2.50 and you can bring your own food to eat there - Mattresses not very comfy - Bathrooms fairly dirty - Some of the staff were a bit rude - Dorms have ensuite bathrooms, 1x shower for 12 people means sometimes a long wait & noisy Unless you have quite high standards, it's fine to stay here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
6.3

We lived in the dorm room and, well...it's a dorm room with several bunk beds. When we checked in, it was really late, and everyone else in the room was asleep, so we had to be extra quiet. Lockers in the room, just right for a big backpack but not enough for a luggage. Staff was super nice, I left my wallet there and they helped me with retrieving the wallet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
5.7

Very hard to find, especially at night- I walked right past the small "California" sign several times in the dark. Take note that it's not as inexpensive as you think, after having to pay separately for linens and the city tax. It was fine for what I needed it for - arrived late by plane and left early the next morning by bus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.