Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel California

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 1816 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 1816 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
15th Aug 2017
6.6

Beware of hidden costs!!! You will HAVE TO pay for both the city tax and bed linen fees, even if you have your own sleeping bag. So it doesn't actually turn out to be the cheapest in Milan. Staff are great and really friendly, but the place is pretty run down and dirty. Lounge area upstairs is hot and no ventilation. Ok for a night but wouldn't stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
7.1

California as the cheapest hostel in the city is quite ok. It isn't located in a very central place, but with public transport you can reach the city center in few minutes. There are lockers in the dorms, but you have to take your own padlock.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2017
4.0

Don't be enticed by the price you have to pay extra tax and linen (even if you have your own) so add those before choosing based on price. Weird atmosphere and security wasn't good no keys for any doors and seemed like anyone could be buzzed in the building. There was a hob kettle and oven but guests are not allowed to use them so can only "boil water in the microwave". One bathroom between 14 people in a room. Neighbourhood around hostel dodgy but close to sites by tram.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel was great! The staff were super fun and friendly, I was really glad I chose this hostel :) I was honestly surprised by the cleanliness, from the other reviews it sounded super dirty but that wasn't my experience at all. The initial appeal was the price, but I ended up staying an extra night and made some great friends during my stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • heral278
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Aug 2017
6.3

This hostel is acceptable but with faults. - There were only 4 lockers in an 11 bed room. - The beds are very lightweight so every movement by bunkmates is felt and the bunks creak

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
7.7

I saw review here before I book the hostel. However, it is not really as bad as it is said here. I lived on the top floor. Maybe there are no air conditioning, however it is pretty normal in the whole Europe. I don't really feel hot since I prefer hot than cold. The setting of the bathroom is a bit weird but there are people to clean it everyday. There are one double bed in the room and you need to tell the staff if you don't want to share the bed with a stranger.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.9

The staff very friendly and helpful. You need to bring your own lock for the lockers. No AC but very many fans. There is a grocery store right across the street and some restaurants nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cwyjoyce924
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Aug 2017
9.7

despite all the bad reviews, i still chosen this hostel because of its cheap price. Luckily I had good experience here. I stayed at 12 female dorm room, the sheet is clean, bathroom ok. They even have some kinda spaghetti night so you can have free spaghetti to eat. Staff are nice. The only bad side is they don't have key for rooms so please lock your valuable goods in the locker (there are lockers in the room but you have to use your own padlock). I did heard people have their bags stolen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
10.0

It's a GREAT place!!! I stayed there for 3 nights everything was great the showers were clean, the rooms are big even in the dorms there are huge windows so you can breathe at night. And enough space for the bags. Lockers are in the rooms you can use your own lock. There is a common area on the roof so you can hangout, play cards, have a beer and meet other travelers. The atmosphere is really great i met a nice company with whom we went out and explored the city in the evening. Thanks!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
5.1

Ad says dorm is for 14, but there are actually 20 beds in a crowded, dirty and hot space with not enough lockers for each person. Location is ok. Staff not friendly at all. I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.