Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel California

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.5
Rating 1,523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.3
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
5.5
Rating 1,523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.3
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.0
Hostel California Located at Via Lambrate,18, , Milan.
Hostel California
Italy
Milan 20131 Via Lambrate,18
55% 1523
45.4899360 9.2256953
Hostel California
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
5.4

We booked this hostel on the premise of free parking, upon arrival we was then informed that it was on street parking but this was not safe for our car, due to being on English plates. There was a note on reception desk saying private parking for €10 although this had been scribbled over to now say €20 per day. So all of a sudden our hostel that was due to cost €15per person per night had now jumped to €25, for this price we could have booked into somewhere much closer to the centre.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
4.0

A member of staff entered the room after midnight, when I was in bed, and said I should have checked out previous morning when it was the following morning. This was the first time I'd experienced this annoyance. People in the room talked at night when they should have respected that others want to rest in quiet. Bathroom floor was dirty and a box with pizza pieces was there. At least my stuff stayed safe in the locker and I stayed out of the cold streets at night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
6.3

The price what you pay for this hostel does not include: city tax -2€ (obligatorio), linen -2.40€ ( obligatorio), towel- 1€, breakfast -1.60€, etc. So at the end it almost doubles. So I would recommend look for other hostel with better value for money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
5.7

In a nutshell, this property is fine if you are looking for something cheap. However, the staff is not friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2016
10.0

Great place. Abdul was very helpful and caring. Recommend. Breakfast was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
7.7

An ok place, staff didn't seem particularly welcoming, but it wasn't terrible service. My room didn't smeell quite right, but it was bearable. The lounge area was pretty cool though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
8.6

Good place, lovely staff and FREE pasta! Thanks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2016
2.0

Terrible experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2016
6.6

Very friendly and helpful staff, on Saturday night we were invited to have pasta for free and it was very nice, decent enviroment, the only bad thing are the toilets and the rooms, the bins were overflow, dirty and smelly. Its "alright" if you dont want to spend lots of money for a few days in Milan...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
8.3

Not a bad place. It is what it advertises itself to be. Breakfast was nice. Rooms were crowded but clean. The toilets ran out of paper every night. The staff didn't smile much, but they were friendly. It was quiet basically all the time and the wifi worked well everywhere. Not a place for people who detest the smell of cigarettes. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.