Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel California

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.5
Rating 1,552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.3
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
5.5
Rating 1,552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.3
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.0
Hostel California Located at Via Lambrate,18, , Milan.
Hostel California
Italy
Milan 20131 Via Lambrate,18
55% 1552
45.4899360 9.2256953
Hostel California
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jan 2017
2.6

One of the worst places I had stayed so far. Really far to everything, really cold inside the hostel because the heaters doesn't work, and the principal, all staffs are really impolite, rude and I had to pay things was not described in the web site. I don't recommend this place!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
2.0

Worst hostel ever seen in my life. Please dont stay there. Beds not clean. No security. No customer service. No safe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
5.1

The heating was not on when I arrived. It took quite some time for the heating to work. It was freezing till that time. There was no soap in the toilet. Also, the water flowed out of the toilet when flushed. The location was quite far. The only good thing was that it was cheap, but I have stayed in better hostels before at similar price range.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
6.9

The room obligatory linen charge is something new among all my stays with hostelworld. I think hostelworld should put a nett price for all accommodation to reduce misunderstanding of price from customer point of view and avoid hostel owner from taking advantage. Breakfast is too late, it starts at 830am, recommend 730am. Overall the stay was just okay, in comparison with the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • robertoelizalde
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
6.9

Just a normal and cheap hostel, the atmosphere is good, but the hostel by it self could do it better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2016
3.7

Smells, dirty blankets, no toilet paper and staff was very unwelcoming

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
6.3

You know exactly what you're getting if you get the reviews, so I wasn't surprised. Clean linens and I stayed in a female only room so it was fine. The location is frustrating, you'll have to buy a metro pass. Not walkable to anything. The guy at the front desk was friendly to me. If I wasn't on such a strict budget I would've stayed somewhere else but oh well. It's fine for a hot shower and bed to sleep in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
8.3

Really happy with our stay, i was apprehensive after other reviews but so long as you are aware of the extra fee's even after paying through hostel world you will have to pay for linen and tourist tax each night. But really nice commo area a fantastic shower. Everything seemed clean and secure. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
26th Nov 2016
5.4

Inconvenient to reach the hostel. Very cramped. Beds are very close to each other. Compulsory to pay for linen, did not like that. Also, there were no keys for the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
3.1

No kitchen at all, very rude Italian guy in the reception, no parking free as described on hostelworld, strange atmosphere, a long time to open a simple door in the reception, city taxes and linen made price not worth. Bad experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.