Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel California

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 1,478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 1,478 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 4.8
Hostel California Located at Via Lambrate,18, , Milan.
Hostel California
Italy
Milan 20131 Via Lambrate,18
54% 1478
45.4899360 9.2256953
Hostel California
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Sep 2016
3.4

Be prepared to be charged 10 euros extra for unavoidable fees. They charge you for sheets even if you bring your own, they charge you for a towel even if they dont provide you with one. They not only are a 1 hour walk from anything, they are not honest.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2016
7.1

Rooms are small and a tight fit. Close to metro station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
2.0

The guy at the reception ask us for more money just to stay together, ww didn't had a problem to stay separated, maybe there wasn't enough space for all of us, but he send me and other one of my friends to a different room with 8 beds available. Also we didn't had the key of the dorm so you have to keep ringing the door bell until someone lets you in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
2.0

This place was not pleasant to stay in, it felt like it had not been cleaned in months, the facilities (Bathrooms ect) were shocking and it was definitely not value for money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
6.0

Hidden fees for everything, expect to pay at least an extra 5 euro.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Sep 2016
4.6

The staff smoked inside, the hostel location is not great, the beds creaked and banged against each other at the slightest movement, the fan was pathetic and the room was hot. I knew I had to pay more for sheets when I got there (€2.40) but was disgusted to find they were dirty with curly black hairs and paint flecks on them. There was MEAT in the shower - off meat?!? - and the showers were blocked and the bathroom was dirty. It was a revolting experience the worst I've had in 3 months of Europe

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

I booked this hostel without reading any reviews first. As I read more and more reviews, I became more and more weary of my decision to stay at this hostel. As it turns out, I was worrying for no reason because this hostel was excellent, especially at the price I paid. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and the location was excellent. Two of my friends and I stayed in a dorm-style room and though it was a bit hot, we felt comfortable there. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
4.3

Just a place to crash overnight. The price online is cheap but when you arrive it gets 4.40€ per night more expensive. Of course when you want to add an extra night they tell you a price 5€ more than the online price. They say they have a kitchen which is a big lie so I think its ridiculous the websites like hostelworld and others cannot force them to say the truth regarding their services and of course to have a final price on line with no hidden charges the moment you arrive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
7.4

The cheapest hostel in Milan, it is basic in all respects, but the staff is nice, and stuff works, so a good deal for the very frugal traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Aug 2016
7.1

Everything was just fine. Hope no hidden cost next time. If you saying hostel may not clean enough, I would say everthing comes with a price. Roughly 1.6km from the main metro station, not a big deal to me. However, the wifi is a credit during my stay. Superb fast with good connection.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.