Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel California

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 1621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 5.7
  • Staff 5.0
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 4.9
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 1621 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 5.7
  • Staff 5.0
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 4.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
3.4

The worst Hostel i have ever seen. The crew or the workers are unfriendly and they do not have any experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
5.7

Really unsafe since you dont need keys to get to the room, and there are no lockers inside the rooms. If you have somehting really valuable, you can leave it in reception. Close to a metro station (Pasteur) which is in the same line as the Duomo, so it was good located compared to other ones with similar prices. The staff was rude but we did not have to talk too much to them, which was good. Bathrooms were cleaned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
2.0

Disgusting rooms and very lazy receptionist.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
3.7

The washroom was not clean and had no lock. The room with beds for ladies had no lock or key. The internet worked only in the cafeteria area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
6.0

The hostel is located a little too far from the centre if you want to walk. We stayed in a 14-beds room and found only one double electrical socket in the entire room - that's unfortunate if there are more people looking to charge their phones/laptops/tablets etc. The bathroom associated with the room could have used more cleaning, but the hallway common bathrooms were pretty neat. Also, a ventilation system for the rooms would be highly welcomed. Friendly staff. 24/7 shop nearby for some drinks

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
3.1

Hostel California is pretty gross. No locks on the doors, the trash in the bathroom was stacked a mile high, no soap, etc. I mean, it just looks like a dump, yet somehow cost me over €35 euro for one night in a 14 person dorm room. I arrived in Milan late at night and had to walk the mile to this hostel. I was so grossed out that I left first thing in the morning. I really do not recommend. Pay a little more and stay somewhere decent instead. This place is a rip-off.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
3.4

My bed was not ready even when I was there 1 hour after check in time, they rushed into cleaning the room [I was the only person in the room] and it smelled like they had mopped a peed bathroom floor rigth before the bedroom. I also requested an all girl bed and they made the room mixed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
2.0

they have now room when I go, so i should look for the other. this is really bad hotel!! ! It was too bad, they cheat you and didn't give the money back! Never book this ! I am asking for hostelworld, but they can't help a lot. And I lost 40 euro with now room!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
5.4

Noisy and a bit dirty place. Nothing horrible, but nothing fancy. Beds were ok, but mattress was dirty. Staff was ok, but hostel was over booked. One morning there was no hot water in shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Apr 2017
6.0

There were not enough lockers for everyone, as many of the lockers were filled with bedding. There was a lack of plugs in the room, there's only plugs in the kitchen which isn't even 24 hours. The doors to the rooms were not locked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.