Hostelworld.com

Hostel California

Prices
map
reviews
5.1
Rating 1,377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.1
Rating 1,377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.7
Hostel California Located at Via Lambrate,18, , Milan.
Hostel California
Italy
Milan 20131 Via Lambrate,18
51% 1377
45.4899360 9.2256953
Hostel California
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
2.0

Bunch of rude perverts. Terrible facilities, terrible people. Way over priced

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
2.9

The Staff is reaaaaaaaaaaaaly bad. dont help and are rude. Not reccomended, and it includes when you arrive they charge more taxis than the cost of night. Please dont go. :(

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
4.0

You really only get what you pay for here. The bare minimum. The bathroom was disgusting and there was no toilet paper! Only in the main hall which was through a different door on the landing. Also, the location is not top notch for walking back alone at night. My bed had a plastic covering on it which made it hotter and very noisy. Obviously, no AC, but again, for 9-ish euros a night, it was okay. They should just include the cost of sheets in the initial price because they are mandatory.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • marieange08
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jun 2016
3.1

Worst hostel ever!! Even if the low price may attract you, I suggest you choose a different hostel. I had the worst experience there: rude staff, bad wifi, bathroom and bedroom not clean. Half of the staff doesn't even speak english so we had a hard time to communicate with them. They wake you up and kick you out of the room in the morning because they have to "clean" (they don't even change the toilet paper). Even if we paid a low price, it wasn't worth it at all

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.0

Nice hostel with friendly staff, great cheap supermarket at one end of the street, and tasty pizzeria at the other! One thing to consider is the city tax of €10 each not advertised in this price, however even with this added this hostel experience is still good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
3.7

Staff were rude, and the shower looked like it had been spunked in. And the vending machine stole my money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
3.7

I found the hostel to be extra cool and quirky. It was like a big role play of a 1942 concentration camp. Every hostel staff member really got into their role and made us feel extremely uncomfortable. Hahaha it was soooo funny and cool. Every time we saw them or asked them for something they made us feel like we had murdered a close member of their family. It was really funny. There was an interior waterfall in our room aswell which was awesome.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
3.7

People at the reception were not friendly at all. The bathrooms were dirty, sometimes broken. A lot of hair in the beds and a lot a dust behind the furnitures.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
5.1

No common space. Not all the staff was friendly. Boring and a bit dirty. Shower door fell on me during a shower...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
4.6

I guess the best way to describe this place is adequate. There is nothing to complain about given the amount of money you are paying, although if you put that aside the staff are not particularly willing or helpful, there is no lock on the dorm rooms, there is a supermarket close by, but the nearest metro is about a 10 minute walk.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.