Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel California

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 1575 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.3
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.9
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 1575 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.3
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
4.3

Credit cards were not accepted. Price is not final, does not include city tax and other facilities (linen). Sometimes no toilet paper in WC.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.1

The staff was very very kind, helpfull. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
5.7

The staff was not friendly. The toilet paper was in the reception and we just found out in the last day because no one told us so we bought our own toilet paper. The prize that is shown here is clearly just to put the hostel on the top of the search for the most cheaper one, because it doesnt include the city tax and a fee for the sheets. The location is good but the place is not too clean. Anyway, I wouldnt mind any of this if at least the recepcionist was a little bit friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
6.0

Was very cold in the room and there's no space for non smokers. Was very unpleasant to have the dinner in a unbreathable air, as in the night the kitchen is full of people. During the day i noticed the heating is closed and in the night was not enough, was sooo cold!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
5.4

I didn't liked it because the room where I was living in it was really cold and the blanket, that we had to buy it (a stupid policy that they have), it wasn't enough for the cold temperature that was in the room. Another reason for which I didn't liked it, is the behavior of the man from the reception. He was behaving with me as I wasn't one of the hostel's clients,he was treating me with the back when I was speaking with him and he was pretending that he didn't heard me,but this is a lay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Berryq460
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
2.0

No heat-freezing rooms Disgusting shower They kept moving me into different rooms

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
2.6

One of the worst places I had stayed so far. Really far to everything, really cold inside the hostel because the heaters doesn't work, and the principal, all staffs are really impolite, rude and I had to pay things was not described in the web site. I don't recommend this place!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • karinjimenez6189
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.7

Really nice staff specially the one is working at night shift, he helped us when I lost my phone to call and speak in Italian, just the room was cold , the heater didn't work at all so I had to use extra blankets from another beds . Everything else is ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
2.0

Worst hostel ever seen in my life. Please dont stay there. Beds not clean. No security. No customer service. No safe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
5.1

The heating was not on when I arrived. It took quite some time for the heating to work. It was freezing till that time. There was no soap in the toilet. Also, the water flowed out of the toilet when flushed. The location was quite far. The only good thing was that it was cheap, but I have stayed in better hostels before at similar price range.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.