Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel California

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 1,443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 1,443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.8
Hostel California Located at Via Lambrate,18, , Milan.
Hostel California
Italy
Milan 20131 Via Lambrate,18
53% 1443
45.4899360 9.2256953
Hostel California
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
4.6

The staff were deeply unfriendly, and went out of their way to make the stay as unpleasant as possible. They imposed numerous constraints and then proceeded to ignore cases of guests flouting them. Moreover, the place is dishonestly advertised in terms. It states that the use of linens is obligatory, which is a standard demand. However it doesn't permit guests to bring their own, and yet doesn't include the price of linens in the price. If it is a non-negotiable cost, why isn't it in the price?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • diegoquan
  • Guatemala, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2016
5.7

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff wasn't very friendly, you couldn't bring your own drinks, it's far from the center. Can don't better options

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
5.4

Staff: the staff will attempt to overcharge you. They quote 7 euros more than their online price. Facilities: there's no kitchen, but for just 1.60 euro you can have a packaged "croissant" and coffee. They also charge you to store your bags. Lockers and security are not great, also saw no cleaning for my whole stay. Location: area full of immigrants, there's a couple Chinese and Arabic people running pizza places in the vicinity. Not much other than that. Metro is 10 minutes walk away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
6.0

Easy to get to the centre via the metro so would suggest getting a day pass. Very cramped rooms but for the price I wouldn't expect anything more really.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
2.9

Wasn't very good getting hidden fees hiding at the bottom of there page, change it in bold or include it in your actual pricing on hostel world.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
5.1

There are bed bags. I saw some girls who stayed in the same room got same happen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.0

Great value for money, even after you add the city tax and the cost for sheets. The beds were clean, bathrooms okay. Check in at night is no Problem. Some Staff does not speak english but you can still somehow communicate. Metro is ten minutes away, we walked to the Cathedral/inner city though (about 3km).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
7.4

First time in a hostel, good experience. The staff was pleasant. I was travelling with my 2 teen daughters and felt at ease there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
3.4

The prices indicated do not take the extra charges into account, the staff really needs to learn politeness and the place is not really clean.. The bins haven't been changed during our stay so they Were full Really avoid this place

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jul 2016
7.4

This was not as bad as others made it out to be, but I did feel a bit ripped off about the linen. It's not a hidden cost, but there's no reason why they can't include it in the price, other than to appear to be the cheapest in Milan. You pay 2,4 per person per night, but you DO NOT get fresh sheets per day. I was told they would be changed every two days, but I stayed three nights (in assigned beds) and it wasn't changed. It was also just one sheet, so the washing would not have cost 2,4.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.