Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel California

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 1684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.5
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 5.1
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 1684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.5
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 5.1
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 5.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jun 2017
5.7

It is fair for 10 euros/bed, but the matresses and the pillows smells, even than the linens are pretty ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
4.0

The receptionist man asked us for dpuble price at first and he didint let us to connect the WiFi to show him the correct price. We went out to find a wifi and come back to proove the price. And he has no idea how a backpacker hostel works. Our bathrooms door was not closing and there was no toilet paper(we ask to the staff but he told us to go down and bring), soap....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
2.9

When we arrived to check in, we were told there was something wrong with the credit card so they thought we wouldn't come- but we got a conformation mail and no notice of a problem, and we paid the 20% in advance. Eventually they found room for us and we chose our beds. When we came back at night- our beds were taken by other people. We moved to another room were the bath cealing was so low we couldn't shower standing up. We paid extra for linen that were one peice for a sheet and a blacket.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
4.6

Dont stay here. We arrived hostel at 5 pm. The guy at the reception told us he gave our room some other guests. We prepaid for 4 bed private room. He offered us 10 bed dorm room. And he didnt gave the money back that we prepaid and charged us 10 euros more. Also dirty place and horrible staff. Simply dont stay there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2017
3.1

They charged 7 EUR more than they were supposed to. They inform me about the taxes that need to be paid and other stuff and yet they add 7 EUR out of nowhere, and you can't complain about it because they are far away from everything and if you want a place to sleep you have to pay them that. They say they have breakfast for a good price but no one is attending the kitchen. Another thing, bathrooms have no lock so anyone can enter (and apparently no one knocks first).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2017
2.9

Wifi does not work.. There is no kitchen. Just a microwave The hospitality from the guy who was either the owner or manager was terrible. They charge nearly 5 euros for sheets yet some are not even clean sheets as they just give out other peoples bed There was nearly fights between guest because of the awful organisation of the hostel. They do not have numbered beds and literally just ´guess´ when giving beds out. I only went out twice and both times I came back and found some one else in my bed

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Super nice ppl , kool atmosphere , be nice to the capo it may go a long way 😉

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
9.4

Super friendly, amazing vibes would definitely stay again 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jun 2017
10.0

This has got too be the best hostel in the world!!!! The guys who run the place are LEGENDS!!! It's a great price for a lot!!!!!! I was given free pasta and sauce each night and they have a great chill out room upstairs!!!!! Couldn't have enjoyed my times here more! It's super clean too and the I couldn't have asked for more!! STAY HERE!!!!!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
2.0

Not good. Actually NOTHING is good. Beds are dirty, organization is not good. Almost nobody actually works there, no reply on phone either. They charged me double than what is written on the email and on my phone in the HW app-due to some taxes they invented I sure. Never ever go there, please! Better sleep in the street.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.