Hostelworld.com

Hostel California

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 1,316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 1,316 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 5.6
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.1
Hostel California Located at Via Lambrate,18, , Milan.
Hostel California
Italy
Milan 20131 Via Lambrate,18
54% 1316
45.4899360 9.2256953
Hostel California
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
6.0

+ The lockers were large (bring a padlock with you) + 24 hour access/ no curfew + Supermarket at the end of the road + Had plug sockets next to my bed + Communal area, the hostel sells beer for €2.50 and you can bring your own food to eat there - Mattresses not very comfy - Bathrooms fairly dirty - Some of the staff were a bit rude - Dorms have ensuite bathrooms, 1x shower for 12 people means sometimes a long wait & noisy Unless you have quite high standards, it's fine to stay here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
6.3

We lived in the dorm room and, well...it's a dorm room with several bunk beds. When we checked in, it was really late, and everyone else in the room was asleep, so we had to be extra quiet. Lockers in the room, just right for a big backpack but not enough for a luggage. Staff was super nice, I left my wallet there and they helped me with retrieving the wallet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
5.7

Very hard to find, especially at night- I walked right past the small "California" sign several times in the dark. Take note that it's not as inexpensive as you think, after having to pay separately for linens and the city tax. It was fine for what I needed it for - arrived late by plane and left early the next morning by bus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
5.4

This hostel is located 1.5 -2 km far from central. There are lockers but you can not lock them. For it you need to have your own lock. We were given very thin blanket so if you don't want to get cold you have to sleep with trousers and t shirt. Toilets and bathrooms are not clean. Personal it's ok.there is no place to eat inside.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2016
7.1

Definitely get what you pay for! I would stay at this hostel again, it's about a five/ten minute from closest metro station (recommend taking that instead of the bus) the staff were friendly enough, room was clean enough and there was hot water for a shower. They have all the basics you need for a hostel, nothing more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Mar 2016
3.1

The hostel itself was okay. The dorms are fine and the cleaniness is also okay. BUT: they asked for way more money than hostelworld showed. Once you book online and pay the downpayment the price hostelworld displays you is not the one you gonna pay at the reception. They asked for a obligatory fee for linen eventhough we had sleeping bags, charged a city and some kind of services fee. In the end the price was double from what we excepted.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
2.9

It was the worst hostel in my life! 1. The first shocking impression was absolutely unfriendly receptionist. He gave us any single smile. 2. The price was double : insted 11 euro we paid 20. (you have to pay for sheet separately). For this money you guys can find better place! I'm not joking!! And your mood will be much more better! 3. If you have early check out you MUST NOT turn on the ligth in the room. 4. There is no keys in the room! Have you seen smth like this before? I'm not!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
3.1

I was two hours late and the woman at the desk wouldn't let me check in until I paid 3x the price even though I would only be there for 4 hours and she made me wait in the office for an hour before she gave me a bed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • kennyburer
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
28th Feb 2016
3.1

The only reason to stay at this hostel is if you are on a very tight budget. It is expensive, if you see what you get. However, it Milan..everything is expensive...in that respect the value for money is oke. The staff works, but only tells the absolute minimun. However, you get a map when asked. The will show you to a dorm bed, but won't give you the best one (botton bunks). Again, only when asked...they say "okey :c" No locks on the doors, no atmosfeer at all..4/10 No a place to meet people!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Feb 2016
5.4

The hostel was a 15 minute walk from the closest metro station, then it took another 20 minutes to get into the centre. The bathroom was really dirty but there were enough facilities to stay for a night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.